A Leagues Schedule

I see the round by round schedule for the B Leagues is on the site but is there a round by round available for the A leagues anywhere?

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 27/01/2015 11:40:05    1686820

Looking for this myself. How are teams set for this weekend? Are most teams only back the last 2 weeks?

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 27/01/2015 12:12:16    1686835

I seen A league on hogan stand few weeks ago... Most players I am talking too are delighted with early start

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 27/01/2015 13:43:12    1686877

Think its a joke there's almost a full round of league games Sunday with Meath playing. How many people can't go to Salthill now because of it?! They should have been all put on Friday night or Saturday.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 27/01/2015 14:43:06    1686926

I wonder did many club players invest in a season ticket only to discover they'd have to play the same day as the county team they looked forward to following.

happydude (Meath) - Posts: 232 - 27/01/2015 20:59:09    1687198

I would seriously doubt that any club player playing A league on Sunday, will be disappointed in not being able to go to Salthill. Club before county

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 28/01/2015 09:37:18    1687261

Has the aul masterplan been shelved already? Thought it was back to back A League rounds but now I see it's B league the weekend of Feb 6/7/8

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 28/01/2015 13:34:12    1687366

The Ripper
A leagues to start followed by B leagues on following weekend according to master planner

emmet (None) - Posts: 33 - 28/01/2015 16:12:43    1687429

Folks...Have to say I absolutely agree with Meathmaster...I'm finished playing football long time now but still support my club and county through the years and have been to all the O'Byrne Cup matches this year and would love to support the lads in Galway on Sunday.....but club comes first and will support club on Sunday in first round of league. Disappointed also as did purchase Season ticket and then followed that up with +club upgrade so loose out on value of Season ticket for County this week. Im sure there is a lot of real true Meath fans in same boat.....hopefully fixtures committee will think of us next time round....I think theres a duty of care there somewhere.

seanpeiladoir (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 28/01/2015 17:56:57    1687483

Jaysus lads you're a hard bunch to please.

Ye want the county board not to start the league till march, but they have to have it over with by late Augusst. You also dont want them to play any matches on weekends that Meath are playing any sort of match, or pplay them midweek while lads are away, or during the holiday period. Apparently they also shouldnt play league matches the week before championship in case lads get injured.

Add on top of that possible match weekends lost to championship, knockout cups, Meath championship matches, and there isnt much time to play the leagues. Then reduce that number again to take every hurling competition into account, and you probably have about one weekend in the year left to play off 13 rounds of the league.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 28/01/2015 18:03:06    1687489

Good man CastleBravo.....sense you're in a bit of a hot seat on this one...and have rolled that poem out many times possibly to club secretaries......much of which I entirely agree with.....BUT...myself or Meathmaster never mentioned not wanting the league started till March, nor not playing weekends when Meath are playing nor lads away, holiday periods or Hurling.
Meathmaster asked why the league matches could not have been played this fri night or Sat to allow meath fans support their county in Galway on Sunday.
I usually hold my whist as you will see from my 2 posts to your 646 but feel this is something that was really missed by Fixtures Committee in this instance.....but its early in the year, and if noted, can be avoided in future. I respect time and efforts of all folks who give their time and energies to County Board but we have to live, learn and keep improving....so we're not such a hard bunch.
Anyways....Ill hold me whisht again.

seanpeiladoir (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 28/01/2015 20:17:04    1687533

Time to cop on lads how many players in your club go to watch Meath away in the League, In my mind the Followers to away games this early are the older generation and the lads and lassies up for a bit of a hoolie in a new spot on a Saturday night.. To be honest if Leagues weren't on most clubs would be playing challenges or training Sunday

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 28/01/2015 20:55:57    1687552

Seanpeileadoir.

I'm probably about 20 years too young to be involved in county board work!

I wasnt really directing it at anyone specific, just listing the various complaints I've seen before. My point was more "You can please some of the people some of the time, but never all people all the time". No matter how you do things, someone will be unhappy for every and any reason.

For my 2c I just think there's too many fixtures really. You could easily streamline the leagues into more divisions of smaller groups. The 14 team league is too much and results in too many dead rubbers and fixtures nobody cares about. It'd also help tighten up the fixtures, so you can avoid clashing with Meath matches etc.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 28/01/2015 21:36:34    1687567

Fair enough lads - I hadn't realised they'd released a version 2 of the plan last week. The one I was looking at had A league for the first two weekends

The_Ripper (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 29/01/2015 08:19:43    1687582

All matches have been called off due to inclement weather. Majority of pitches unplayable

Bread (Meath) - Posts: 53 - 29/01/2015 10:40:09    1687624

Are they definitely off? Our own pitch isn't actually in bad nick at all

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 29/01/2015 12:38:29    1687685

Yeah as far as I know our game is still on as well?!

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 29/01/2015 13:28:59    1687706

Are the games going ahead on Sunday?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 29/01/2015 13:39:37    1687709

The Meath GAA website now has the full fixtures for all rounds of the A Leagues up.

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 29/01/2015 15:34:43    1687749

Exact same schedule of fixtures as last year for my club anyway i.e. the team we played in round 2 last year we play in round 2 again this year and so on, but with home venue switched. Groundhog day!

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 29/01/2015 15:48:37    1687751