Kevin Reilly

Can anyone shed some light on the rumors about him been gone for 12 months? Any factual truth to this? Or is it just mischievous idle gossip?
If this is true, why has their not been a statement about it? The cloak and dagger stuff has taken a new low if this is truth and the fans have been s### on again if we have been kept in dark. Surely the captain of one of the most high profile counties been out for 12 months is news worthy?
I'll keep my council until I find out the facts, but I ain't heard anyone deny it so far. Can someone from nom elaborate?
Thanks

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/09/2014 16:23:13    1651618

Apparently it has yet to be 100% confirmed, waiting on a second opinion, but its more or less been accepted that his latest injury setback will rule him out for up to a year. Expect a statement during the coming week.

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 13/09/2014 17:34:07    1651639

Unfortunate for the lad himself personally but from a Meath point of view I'm not so sure it's such a bad thing.

What's the point in having such a good player when you can never rely on him actually playing and then disrupting the entire back six. Plan without him and you don't have to be worrying about losing him 2 days before every game you play.

Take a long time out like Shane and get fully right. For his own sake first of all.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 13/09/2014 19:24:23    1651681

The concern here is for Kevin Reilly the person, its not about Meath football at this stage. When all the checks have been carried out I am sure the Meath public will be informed. Wishing him well and hope it is not serious.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 13/09/2014 19:57:33    1651697

Jinxie

I think this could be the end of him as a County player,if indeed he is out for so long.Back and hip problems? he has to think of his life after football.
As for him as a footballer? Meath lack leaders and he is one of the few we have.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 13/09/2014 21:34:59    1651763

First off let me say yes the most important person in all of this is Kevin. And let's hope it is Not too serious. Also thanks for clearing up the situation blugosson.
Its a worry for next year to be without not only our captain but a true leader. Best wishes to him in his recovery.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/09/2014 10:36:45    1651806

Only heard about this yesterday, I'm hearing it's a hip issue and he's looking at 7 to 8 months absence, something that happened in the Kildare game. Poor Kevin just has no luck with injuries, best wishes to him it's important that his health and well being are not compromised by football....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/09/2014 08:56:39    1652479

Again though,why did he play against Dublin if his hip was injured?..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/09/2014 10:27:16    1652534

Bad sign for Meath football if MOD thinks an Injured Reilly is a better option than a fully fit squad member. Doesn't bode well for the future

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 16/09/2014 10:52:29    1652552

Kevin Reilly has had a hard time with injuries over the last few years which is a pity because we could really use him when he's 100% so all the best to him in his recovery. Just how long he'll be out for is also uncertain but it looks like we'll have to do without him up till the early parts of the league at least, either way this will hinder his championship preparation for next year, but Reilly is a determined character so hopefully he'll come back as strong as ever.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/09/2014 11:00:36    1652559

Who will Mick O Dowd play at full back now? Conor McGill did well with the under 21s this year. Might be worth a look.

kingofclubs (Meath) - Posts: 321 - 16/09/2014 12:20:59    1652610

Htaem

If I was he,I would consider retiring,he has had awful injury problems.I just wonder if his injury was made worse by playing against Dublin..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/09/2014 12:28:11    1652616

Firstly best wishes to Kevin Reilly the person. Hes an absolute gentleman and i'd hope this latest setback has no impact on him in the long term. It wouldn't be nice to see a footballing injury have an impact on his ability to do his job.

Secondly if this is the end of Kevin in the green jersey, thanks for everything you've done and go in the knowledge that you owe us nothing and the team will be the worse of for not having you in it. Unfortunately Kevin never got the credit he deserved as he came behind Darren Fay. Fayzer was the greatest FB we ever had in my humble opinion so it would've been hard to live with the standard but Kevin never let us down. If he'd not had so many injuries who knows how good he wouldve been.

Lastly in terms of where we go from here with replacing Kevin lets get things straight, he can't be replaced for what he contributed to the green jersey.

I'd suggest Menton being put at 3 and told to make the position his. He's been around for 4 years and never settled in one spot. Now is his chance. Alternatives maybe McGill or Power from Ratoath.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 16/09/2014 13:47:31    1652661

ziggy

Ye I'd imagine the Dublin game done him no favours what so ever, I'm a bit concerned about our physio department for letting him play although Reilly probably would have wanted to play the Leinster final even with a leg hanging off. As far as retiring goes, well I can say from first hand experience that it can be the best/only option, I've been plagued with back trouble since I was 19 and never fully recovered (never played a full game since I was 19) so stopped altogether at 22 because it just wasn't worth it. Now Kevin would be missed by the county but for the sake of his own health and well being later in life he'd be wise to consider his options.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/09/2014 13:48:00    1652663

What age is Kevin?

Massive blow to our promotion hopes next year in the league. Speedy recovery Kev!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/09/2014 14:22:44    1652676

Htaem

Exactly I wouldn't want him to retire,but will the injuries(especially the back and hip),and I think he is 27/28,for his own sake and future,he may be better off calling it a day.
If he did come back,how long till the next major injury too..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 16/09/2014 15:49:18    1652737

Sure look he is never @ for the big games and the few times he is @ he limps of when the pressure is on like "it's an impact bang I'll be grand for the next day" when did you ever hear fay or Lyons or intact any other well respected full game from any county saying that.

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 16/09/2014 21:49:18    1652888

SS6 are you on the wind up???
One of the few players to emerge with any credit v the dubs this year. Things were going so bad everywhere else he had to go to CF to try and influence the performance...
Yea he really let us down that day didn't he

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 17/09/2014 09:09:43    1652915

Here's hoping that he makes a speedy recovery for his own sake, never mind the football. I wouldn't be surprised if he doesn't play for Meath again, has some bad injuries in the last number of years. He should take a year out, get the injuries sorted, and then see if it's possible to play.
He's one of few really good players we have at the moment but with all the injuries, it's probably time to find a permanent replacement at #3, most likely candidate at the moment would be Menton.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 17/09/2014 09:46:18    1652931

SS6

Sure look he is never @ for the big games and the few times he is @ he limps of when the pressure is on like "it's an impact bang I'll be grand for the next day" when did you ever hear fay or Lyons or intact any other well respected full game from any county saying that.

This is the type of tripe that has me seriously worried about the future of Meath GAA, whether a wind up or not this is just beyond stupidity........

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/09/2014 10:11:59    1652946