375k rejected!!

I dont know the full story, but to turn down 375k from a company involved in windfarms seems curious to say the least.. 375k could have provided alot of financial assistance to the county GAA coffers..right or wrong?

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 08/08/2014 18:41:36    1633586

sob

Again I don't know the ins and outs,but I hope they have another good offer on the table,because that is serious money to be turning down..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/08/2014 19:47:10    1633610

They were dead right to turn it down...Element Power should by right give €375,000 to the GAA in Meath every year not just a once of payment!

Here is the break down on figures https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xap1/t1.0-9/q71/s720x720/10492404_10203927270933931_4889422848939830120_n.jpg

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 08/08/2014 19:54:32    1633616

Bring back kepak

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/08/2014 19:55:32    1633617

seemly the 375k was part of a 3.5 million package Element were offering as a package to local community projects, but again i dont know the whole story except most of these 100m plus turbines were to be based in north Meath,i take it Meath clubs wont be voting on it?

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 08/08/2014 20:06:23    1633619

Anybody know if the steam thrashing is going ahead in Moynalty this weekend?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/08/2014 20:36:29    1633625

€375'000 is a lot of money to any County Board and money that quite frankly should not have been refused, we have Dunganny to finish and Pairc Tailteann to redevelop, it would have been very easy to accept that money and conditionally state that it was being accepted as a donation and in no way showed support of Meath GAA to the company or their endeavours. Money like that is hard earned, I hope the clubs that didn't want this donation accepted ensure that the inevitable draw tickets for redeveloping our county grounds and training facilities are sold aplenty and that the levies are paid promptly and in full

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/08/2014 21:09:41    1633635

I'd suggest lads do a bit of research on this and talk to their club delegates before commenting on this. The money was never guaranteed to be given even if accepted by Co. Board. Also it would alienate communities and community is the bedrock of our association.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 08/08/2014 21:47:34    1633654

Jack

Ya as I said I don't know the ins and outs,but I wonder if the county board have any offers from someone else in the pipeline.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 09/08/2014 10:13:25    1633698

375k rejected!!

Well that certainly is an eye catcher but I'd say there's far more than meets the eye with this supposed 375k and of course we don't know any of the intricate details of the offer so I'll give the CB a pass on this one, for now anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/08/2014 10:48:17    1633714

Didn't the CB try to pass this couple months back until delegates asked questioned , where it was deferred so clubs could discuss ?so reality is it would destroy relationships between neighbouring clubs .Anyway 365 k was only pennies Over the lifetime of these turbines . Well done delegates for speaking up

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 09/08/2014 11:30:06    1633727

375k is nothing to be flippant about. Does this mean we would turn down kepak incase we offended vegetarians? Or is it morally just to have a high calorie snack emblem on the shirt?
I'll state my position on this I work in the renewable energy sector (not element power). But the scare mongering and misinformation about wind turbines is astonishing.
But this is a sports forum and I ain't going into this here. But the money would have been beneficial and should at least have been put to the clubs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/08/2014 12:22:52    1633748

All well and good until these windfarms are granted... and 3.5 million will go back to the community in terms of contributions for roads and services such as improved internet speeds but not one cent goes into P.T or Dunganny. And try go to HQ asking for funding after refusing that sum!!

It is always too early to comment and it should not be in the public sphere..it is an entrapment ploy and i think a decision should have been deferred rather than rejected

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 09/08/2014 13:38:27    1633773

i take it the CB made the decision and not the clubs of the county?

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 09/08/2014 14:36:59    1633798

Whatever the ins and outs about wind farms and their effects, if these turbines go ahead it'll seem regrettable that we didnt get some money out of it while we it was there. If they dont get built than no loss.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 09/08/2014 16:27:04    1633837

Castlebravo

I was thinking this earlier,could go ahead regardless,and the CB lose out on a lot of money..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 09/08/2014 16:54:30    1633844

I would think that the CB made their decision on the basis of a vote from the clubs. The amount of money contributed should be based on a yearly figure (not a lump sum). About the money being rejected- it is not on the table until planning permission is granted and there is no certainty that planning will be granted. I do agree with royaldunne in some aspects here. There is a lot of fear being generated by the anti wind turbines folk in the same way as fear was generated by the erection of telephone masts (now these masts are not a problem and we have moved on the turbines).

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/08/2014 13:07:32    1634239

I actually don't see any problem with turpines at all..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 10/08/2014 19:26:20    1634513

I have no problem with them either and would welcome loads in my area. We are destroying the planet as it is and I hate all these grumpy miserable sods with this not in my town attitude. The funny thing is all the people affecting them get favourable grants. Must be no shortage of money up in north meath.

This could easily have been accepted as a no strings attached donation and if plans that are not community friendly were to proceed nothing to stop the GAA in Meath backing the locals campaign. That money won't be easily replaced but I doubt the people that would have a go at Meath GAA for accepting it would really care if where we are in 20 years or not.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 10/08/2014 21:45:56    1634666

I cant believe the reaction. I'd saye the same lads would be on here giving out of the money was accepted. The GAA has long been branded the grab all association and now, when they stand with local communities and refuse what in all likelihood was payoff to designed to further devide those communities, they are lambasted for it.
Your all very innocent if you think this money was really coming with "no strings".
Ziggy- Wait till you have a 100foot moving turbine behind your house and I'm sure you'll figure out the fuss.

Fair play to the CB & delegates for showing its not just about the €€€. We'll keep improving our facilities over time and dont need this type of money in my opinion.

GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 303 - 11/08/2014 10:26:31    1634759