Meath v Dublin "incident" puts us in a bad light

I think the fuss caused by the Meath camp surrounding the bite allegation sheds us in a bad light especially after the footage of the incident has been shown and that those from Meath involved should be embarrassed with themselves. Personally I think the Dublin player in question has very little to answer for. Dermot Earley made an excellent point on the Sunday game that the time to be a hard man is when going for the football (in a fair manner) and not when you have capitulated totally for an hour and decide to show how tough you are by trying to take lumps out of the opposition, when the game is in effect over. I know that a lot of this probably stemmed from frustration with the way the game had developed but this is hardly an excuse.

bluegossun (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 21/07/2014 21:16:15    1623511

So we shoukd allow biting?

qprmeath (None) - Posts: 434 - 21/07/2014 21:22:43    1623526

qprmeath

Burke was all over him to be fair,I'm sure O'Gara was wearing gumshields,how bad of a bite could he give?Q

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 21/07/2014 21:31:06    1623543

Agreed, makes us look like whingers. Move on.

northwest (Meath) - Posts: 107 - 21/07/2014 21:45:10    1623573

Poorly judged reaction from Meath, makes ye look like cry babies.

There was no bite, that's plain it's an embarrassment to the great fighting tradition of Meath teams.

Stop whinging and start worring about Armagh.

wackermann (Dublin) - Posts: 4 - 21/07/2014 21:53:56    1623589

O'gara deserve to have players all over him. He fouled kevin reilly and while he was down preceded to bash him into the ground after the ref blew for a meath free. what does he expect with carry on like that. MDMC and connelly also had numerous issues but the media love dublin so they won't be painted in a bas light. Just move on and forget about it.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2014 21:57:46    1623596

Let's be honest mod handled this badly. Shouldn't have wentto media

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2014 08:46:29    1623612

Well I do agree that there was an off the ball elbow from Connolly that I spotted..But all that is over with,I only be worried about these issues,if the game was close.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/07/2014 09:00:03    1623621

Heinsight is a brilliant thing. I'm sure looking back Micko realizes it wasn't the best thing to do as it put himself and Mickey Burke in the limelight. Emotions were running high and it was a tough time for him, I don't think there's a need to start a thread about it. He never let's hisguard down

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 22/07/2014 10:45:53    1623713

Look boys and girls.

I personally don't think the allegation itself is embarrasing.

I feel if there is a case to be put forward, Then Meath's county board have every right to try and have it investigated.

I dont even feel there is too much of a problem with Mick O'Dowd coming out and saying it. People have argued about the timing but i dont believe there is any right "timing" in saying it. He was damned if he came out and said it, and damned if he didn't.

As it where, he came out after the game and said it and people say its too soon, its sour grapes. But we all know if he had have left it for a few days, You'd have the same people asking why he didnt come out straight after the game and say it. He couldn't have won either way. But at the end of the day he is the Meath manager and he will defend his players.

The end scoreline is irrelevant in the context of the incident which the SG felt panelists felt had a relevance. I do agree that the whole shamozzle was probably 63 minutes too late and if Meath had have maybe been a bit more physical instead of showing Dublin as much respect as they did, And if MOD was more tactically aware and not as naive then it would have been a much closer contest. But when it comes to biting, The gap on the scoreboard becomes irrelevant

With regards the allegation itself. Its only right that it is investigated. Look i'm a Dublin fan and i've seen the same video and pictures as everyone else. My view is that Eoghan O'Gara and Kevin Reilly got in a scuffle. Some Meath fans will say O'Gara shouldn't have pinned him down, Dubs will probably say Reilly threw digs at him and 2 or 3 Meath players including Burke got involved in something that frankly had nothing to do with him.

I would agree with that. I also agree that still images of the incident in question make it seem like there was a bite, And that there also was a fish-hook. Wether we will all agree on that i don't know, But thats how it looked to me. I can only assume (again bearing in mind i am a Dublin fan and i may be biased), That Burkes finger ended up in O'Garas mouth and O'Gara instictively bit back. Wether Burke intentionally did it or not we cant prove. He will say he didn't, Other will enquire what his hand was doing around EOGs mouth area in the first place.

Regardless of all of this, Biting is wrong. It's not a nice thing to see regardless of wether EOG was getting digged and dragged. I can understand if he was protecting himself, Why he would have done it, But it still doesn't make it right and so if it was found O'Gara did bite and he is punished, I would accept the punishment personally and move on. If there was no case to answer i'd also move on.

Similarly If roles where reversed and it was Mickey Burke who allegedly bit Eoghan O'Gara, I'd fully expect it to be investigated at the very least.

For me as an outsider looking in, The embarrasment should not be over this allegation, The embarrasment should be the over-reaction of some of your fans (note, some) on here. It was a bad day at the office for Meath and i think we can all agree that on the day, Meath just didnt have the experience, and the the know how. They had a manager who got tactics wrong. But Meath and Mick O'Dowd will move on. Win against Armagh and its a season of progress for Meath football.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/07/2014 12:08:32    1623822

Well said Wayne. The most sensible post on this thread yet.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 22/07/2014 13:31:28    1623942

I think the subject has been well summed up by Wayno, lets leave it at that and see what the powers that be come up with

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 22/07/2014 13:32:10    1623943

great post wayno..

I think Micko is under pressure now,because there are suggestions that Burke and Reilly could(harshly) get suspended..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 22/07/2014 14:29:49    1624029

I must say in all honesty that if I was a Meath defender looking at what O'Gara was doing to Reilly on the ground, which included leading with the head, then I would have pucked the head off him myself, equally both Connolly and McAuley should have seen cards of some colour too but look those things are frequently overlooked, unless we do them it seems. If we had a full role reversal here and a Dub was allegedly bit then I would love to see the reaction, likely the Dubs would call for a huge enquiry to ensure fairness and equity after the McBrearty incident, the outcome of which was a travesty. This only paints Meath in a bad light because that's the way the media and certain others want it to be painted, we don't have many friends outside the county and Dublin are rapidly becoming Teflon when it comes to controversy or anything that would harm their PR or marketing machine

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 22/07/2014 15:00:26    1624089

Well said wayno. I wish more people took that view on this I for one believe that it's got out of hand now and the thing that annoyed me most about it after the game was that people were saying we were sore loser for bringing up the bite. I believe that most fans have come on here and said their piece about how dublin were fully deservant of the win I will however still laugh at the people saying we should be ashamed of ourselves and we've painted ourselves in a bad light nit picking and someone to have a swipe at is all that is I'm over it armagh in 2 weeks time let's focus on that

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 22/07/2014 16:19:25    1624219

If some stuck their fingers in my mouth in a game I would clamp down my teeth as im not going to kiss them!

Its not as if O Gara went and bit a lump out of someone

But - Would Mickey Burke 'fish hook' a player and think he would get away with it? Nonsense, he was pulling O Gara away from his captain and jerking back someones.head his hand would inevitably be on the face.

I do think that sanctions should be giving to the players involved.

But also I think its horrendous that people are saying MOD should not have mentioned it he had every right to.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 22/07/2014 17:00:40    1624256

Beautiful.Meath

Nah like i said. Meath have a right to bring it to the attention of the powers that be if they feel they have a case and id expect my side to do the same, And again MOD couldnt have won regardless of when the allegation came out. I dont believe either side has covered themselves in glory on here, But then again, You will always fight for your teams corner when you have people from other counties slaughtering you.

At the end of the day still images prove nothing, Fish hook looks like it could have happened, So does a bite. Either way there is more discussion on fora like these than is necessary. If its investigated fine. If its not i dont think Meath or Dublin will lose too much sleep over it one way or the other.

I think Charlie Redmond and other former footballers dismissing Meaths claims are completely wrong to do so.

Also, If im not mistaken, Burke and O'Gara where booked for that incident, Doesnt that mean retrospective action cant be taken as the ref took action ? Hmmmmm i dono how it works.

Either way its all after getting blown out of proportion. Shame really that it cant be discussed without bias. But i tried to be as unbiased here as i can regarding the incident and i maintain regarding provocation, If its investigated and O'Gara is guilty Its wrong and he should be banned. I'm not fussed about what Burke done either way i only really worry myself about our own players.

Genuine hard luck the other day, Thats sport. It happens unfortunately. Meath as i said, arent as bad as that game made out. We where very good but MOD got alot wrong. I know after hammerings against rivals that it seems like the end of the world and its all doom and gloom but as you said, Armagh next up, Time for Meath fans and players to turn their attentions to that and try and bounce back which i expect they will.

Finally BM, You wont like this part, But i was genuinely gutted we didnt beat you by more, Greedy ?? yea it is, But again thats just the rivalry involved in Dublin v Meath, We always wanted more and no margain of victory would be enough, Im sure you understand that POV. But i wont rub it in either. You know i get on with a lot of you down here, Gone are the childish arguments. Well..............................Almost gone.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/07/2014 17:03:38    1624261

wayno

Ye you're right, it was handled poorly by all sides, I'd have personally much preferred if MOD said nothing about the incident until maybe the next day when everybody had calmed down, maybe then nothing would have been said at all, but there you go, the heat of the moment can be a b*tch.

I'm going to keep this brief because I just want rid of this nonsense, everyday this goes on I think it will effect our preparations for the Armagh game and they're going to be loving this.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/07/2014 18:05:32    1624324

Lads please let's move on from the Dublin game,and "bitegate" all a load of nonsense ..game over beaten out the gate need to regroup and show we are not
that poor..Armagh now big challenge and we need big men to overcome not moaners and Molly's ..let's go again in true Meath style. last game is over still where we were last week 1 step away from a Quarter Final

blind ref (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 22/07/2014 20:02:07    1624436

Look both Burke and O Gara will shake hands before start of semi final, all we be forgotten

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 22/07/2014 20:11:28    1624457