Have Meath improved in 2017?

No I am afraid not . The manger needs to make hard calls with certain players . Andy has showed a lot of inexperienced at this level.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/07/2017 16:05:07    2021804

Really a need for another thread of this?
The one from the kildare, sligo and donegal games have all discussed essentially the same thing, as has a few other threads.

If you have a particular agenda to discuss however, then create a thread for that and be straight up about what you want to talk about, rather than create false threads like this and the one about Bernard flynn when the real agenda is to discuss and air your disapproval at management.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 23/07/2017 16:40:41    2021831

Replying To Jinxie:  "Really a need for another thread of this?
The one from the kildare, sligo and donegal games have all discussed essentially the same thing, as has a few other threads.

If you have a particular agenda to discuss however, then create a thread for that and be straight up about what you want to talk about, rather than create false threads like this and the one about Bernard flynn when the real agenda is to discuss and air your disapproval at management."
a lot of people on here think they are school teachers they like telling people what to do . the question has not been asked yet . I am not calling for the mangers head but he needs to do much better. you are very happy with things in meath at the moment fair enough but you won't stop me from giving my opinion

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/07/2017 16:46:39    2021840

Replying To meath1977:  "a lot of people on here think they are school teachers they like telling people what to do . the question has not been asked yet . I am not calling for the mangers head but he needs to do much better. you are very happy with things in meath at the moment fair enough but you won't stop me from giving my opinion"
There's only call for school teachers when people come on and post with the immaturity of little children.

I'm far from happy with how thongs are in meath, but I've seen enough chopping and changing in the last decade to know another heave isn't the answer. And after 4 games in the championship it's incredibly premature to start judging yet either.

A little bit of common sense would be a welcome change here

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 23/07/2017 17:57:28    2021889

Replying To Jinxie:  "Really a need for another thread of this?

If you have a particular agenda to discuss however, then create a thread for that and be straight up about what you want to talk about, rather than create false threads like this and the one about Bernard flynn when the real agenda is to discuss and air your disapproval at management."
great post this and saved me from saying the same thing.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 18:03:20    2021898

Replying To Jinxie:  "There's only call for school teachers when people come on and post with the immaturity of little children.

I'm far from happy with how thongs are in meath, but I've seen enough chopping and changing in the last decade to know another heave isn't the answer. And after 4 games in the championship it's incredibly premature to start judging yet either.

A little bit of common sense would be a welcome change here"
And some thought I was just a conspiracy theory fanatic.
The agendas against the mcentees is actually disgusting, even people at cb level WANT them to fail.
I can't help but wonder is what is the cause. A few years ago I met a old man at a match and we started discuss potential managers and he said mcentee wasn't wanted I Meath, his reason was he was "the wrong colour" .......

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2017 18:33:21    2021921

No one here is calling for Andy's yet. I think the topic deserves it's own thread as it has been brought up on multiple forums.

We have improved in certain areas we seem fitter not by much however and we have a stronger mentality to see games out when we are in a good position. I didn't expect to see a transformation over night but I had hoped things would have gone a small bit better, we still have no game plan, physicality we are a mile of Kildare, Dublin and all the top teams and I don't think Andy had the best players. I watched 4 club games over the last few days and a lot of the county players didn't stand out

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 23/07/2017 18:42:12    2021923

Replying To royaldunne:  "And some thought I was just a conspiracy theory fanatic.
The agendas against the mcentees is actually disgusting, even people at cb level WANT them to fail.
I can't help but wonder is what is the cause. A few years ago I met a old man at a match and we started discuss potential managers and he said mcentee wasn't wanted I Meath, his reason was he was "the wrong colour" ......."
look I want any manger that brings a little success or even a little improvement I can't bear no improvement I am a very passionate meath supporter. . I am not against Andy and I hoping things will improve next year but I am losing faith in him. I can't understand why he can't find a keeper we can trust. a lot of things has to change but it has to start at number one

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/07/2017 19:21:38    2021955

Replying To Jinxie:  "There's only call for school teachers when people come on and post with the immaturity of little children.

A little bit of common sense would be a welcome change here"
who is asking for a new manger. maybe like a good man you might read the posts. has meath improved. you said yes that's grand

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/07/2017 19:24:45    2021960

Yes

noelpconnon (Cavan) - Posts: 209 - 29/07/2017 10:37:48    2025262

No, and it's going to get worse, some lads on the panel are already telling me they are thinking off not going back next year because of relationship with manager,

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 29/07/2017 11:33:32    2025280

Replying To SS6:  "No, and it's going to get worse, some lads on the panel are already telling me they are thinking off not going back next year because of relationship with manager,"
Your really stirring the pot here, I heard from a few players myself who are very optimistic about next year, time will tell

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 29/07/2017 13:08:08    2025311

Things have improved all right. Remember how bad things had gotten. After beating Carlow in June 2014 we went 9 championship games in succession where we were outscored in the second half. The team was way off the pace in terms if fitness for a few years. Failed to win a qualifier match for years before this year. MOD stayed in too long after all lost confidence in him (after Westmeath disaster or maybe even after the beating Dublin gave us the year before) and in his last year because of this morale was at an all time low. We are still well off the standard of the better teams but fitness and morale has defiantly improved this year.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1344 - 29/07/2017 19:03:07    2025451

This was the rating given for top 13 listed on 27th July on home page, movement from last year given in brackets: Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone, Mayo, Kildare (+3), Galway, Roscommon(+4), Monaghan (-3), Donegal (-5), Down (+4), Cork (-2), Armagh (+6), Tipperary, Meath (-3).
You all can make what you like out of above and obviously as championship progresses the rating numbers for some counties will change. I do not know how the ratings are formulated.

I would say that nobody should pay too much attention to comments like ; I heard a guy say 'this' or 'that' as most such comments remind be of pub talk or similar. I see now that the Donegal tread is giving the same abuse to their manager as some posters here gave to the previous manager. I would like to think/hope that abuse like that is not repeated again as it is more a reflection on the poster/posters.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/07/2017 19:58:03    2025473

Looking at Kildare today getting beating by a limited Division 3 team....it hard to know really ! Kildare win against Meath in June was it a fluke performance ? were one team didn't show up?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 29/07/2017 20:47:34    2025494

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Looking at Kildare today getting beating by a limited Division 3 team....it hard to know really ! Kildare win against Meath in June was it a fluke performance ? were one team didn't show up?"
to be honest kildare always think they are on the way up. flatter to deceive as usual.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/07/2017 20:52:42    2025498

Replying To ziggy32001:  "to be honest kildare always think they are on the way up. flatter to deceive as usual."
again it's show where meath are at. no improvement the two teams that beat us are gone now and they were only middle of the road teams. we didn't give away big leads this year but we didn't have them to give away either

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 29/07/2017 20:59:56    2025507

Replying To ziggy32001:  "to be honest kildare always think they are on the way up. flatter to deceive as usual."
As i posted after the Meath v Kildare game that Kildare might not win another game for a whole year..i just can't see them winning any games in Division 1 next year ! and i am not being disrespectful about it.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 29/07/2017 21:06:54    2025518

Kildare are a good enough side, however Armagh has improved as championship progressed and maybe were lucky enough to win some of the earlier backdoor matches. When there's only a point or two in a match it can go either way. A decent run in the championship gives a team confidence and that improves all teams. Donegal were in Div 1, Monaghan were in Div 1 and were very close to getting to the Div 1 final. Either of those teams would have great difficulty beating Armagh who were lucky to survive in Div 2.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/07/2017 21:09:29    2025523

Shows ye were ye are RD stop trolling other counties and concentrate on ur own
1 bit of advice is the league is finished don't try so hard in it next year a lot of teams paying for it last 2 years ourselves included

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 29/07/2017 21:18:54    2025531