Meath v Louth

So its official, I dropped herself to in-laws and toddled in to todays game in Parnell, Louth at times were at sixes and sevens, and yet at other times were clinical. I honestly came out of game more confused about what our approach should be then when I went in.
But it is finally here, a chance of if not redemption for last number of years, certainly laying the foundations for optimism, ahh the championship the bug is back and I for one cant wait.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2017 17:52:38    1988869

Replying To royaldunne:  "So its official, I dropped herself to in-laws and toddled in to todays game in Parnell, Louth at times were at sixes and sevens, and yet at other times were clinical. I honestly came out of game more confused about what our approach should be then when I went in.
But it is finally here, a chance of if not redemption for last number of years, certainly laying the foundations for optimism, ahh the championship the bug is back and I for one cant wait.
Hon the Royal"
Didn't see you posting any of your nonsense on the forms giving out hell about Andy not letting lads play with clubs and training them so much,

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 21/05/2017 19:39:37    1988950

Replying To SS6:  "Didn't see you posting any of your nonsense on the forms giving out hell about Andy not letting lads play with clubs and training them so much,"
Then you didn't read it very well. I clearly stated the county manager has been as accommodating to clubs more so than majority of counties. Maybe you would prefer a situation like in Donegal? Btw your comments are nonsensical and totally nothing to do with Meath v Louth, our first game under a competent manager in many years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/05/2017 20:23:35    1988988

no disrespect to louth,but if we want to go well this summer and show we are getting better,then i would think we should win this game pulling up..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/05/2017 20:24:59    1988990

Couldn't see anything today to indicate that Louth can trouble Meath in 2 weeks time. 1976 was the last time Louth beat Meath in the championship but all records must come to an end. It will happen but maybe not this time. Up Louth. Bring it on.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 21/05/2017 20:38:10    1989003

Replying To royaldunne:  "Then you didn't read it very well. I clearly stated the county manager has been as accommodating to clubs more so than majority of counties. Maybe you would prefer a situation like in Donegal? Btw your comments are nonsensical and totally nothing to do with Meath v Louth, our first game under a competent manager in many years."
I think you should be manager.... you know everything

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 21/05/2017 20:47:21    1989008

Replying To royaldunne:  "Then you didn't read it very well. I clearly stated the county manager has been as accommodating to clubs more so than majority of counties. Maybe you would prefer a situation like in Donegal? Btw your comments are nonsensical and totally nothing to do with Meath v Louth, our first game under a competent manager in many years."
I think you should be manager.... you know everything

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 21/05/2017 21:03:46    1989019

Replying To ziggy32001:  "no disrespect to louth,but if we want to go well this summer and show we are getting better,then i would think we should win this game pulling up.."
Agree with ziggy, Louth were well beaten in the league final and only just about beat a poor Wicklow side, if meath struggle here we will have a short summer, on a side note why is this game not in navan last years game was Louths home game they choose Parnell park, therefore this year should be in navan

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 22/05/2017 20:32:04    1989566

Agree with Royal.Legend after recent results if this is not a handy one it'll be a very short summer indeed.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 22/05/2017 21:24:20    1989593

Agree Louth might have struggled over Wicklow. But you can be guaranteed they will be up for it the next day. As this will be Louth's All-Ireland final. So don't be surprised if you see an much improved side the next day. If its enough to beat Meath that's another thing. I still expect us to win. But nobody gave them a snowballs in 2010. They seem to be missing some good players Andy Mc Donnell for one, not sure if he will be back the next day.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/05/2017 09:12:58    1989684

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Agree Louth might have struggled over Wicklow. But you can be guaranteed they will be up for it the next day. As this will be Louth's All-Ireland final. So don't be surprised if you see an much improved side the next day. If its enough to beat Meath that's another thing. I still expect us to win. But nobody gave them a snowballs in 2010. They seem to be missing some good players Andy Mc Donnell for one, not sure if he will be back the next day."
Would agree with you, Louth are a hard opposition for Meath at anytime, even in 80s and 90s. I already see the anti Andy group getting in their "has to be handy win" bs, a win is a win, doesn't have to be easy win, actually look at last years easy win with arms folded ,didn't do us much good, I want to see Meath have to fight for a win, to bring them on. The disrespectful arguments to a side in same division as us next year is laughable

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2017 11:18:00    1989726

Replying To royaldunne:  "Would agree with you, Louth are a hard opposition for Meath at anytime, even in 80s and 90s. I already see the anti Andy group getting in their "has to be handy win" bs, a win is a win, doesn't have to be easy win, actually look at last years easy win with arms folded ,didn't do us much good, I want to see Meath have to fight for a win, to bring them on. The disrespectful arguments to a side in same division as us next year is laughable"
Louth had decent teams in the 80s and 90s much better sides then this current one, if it's not a 6 plus point win I be very fearful for them against Kildare or who ever we meet in the qualifiers

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 23/05/2017 12:21:48    1989767

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Louth had decent teams in the 80s and 90s much better sides then this current one, if it's not a 6 plus point win I be very fearful for them against Kildare or who ever we meet in the qualifiers"
Louth will be tougher than Kildare Imo. Too much been read into the league game where Kildare had stole a march on everyone regarding early season training, by end of league everyone else had caught up and them. If Meath had played Kildare at end of league we would have beat them handily, but them are the breaks.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/05/2017 13:10:05    1989789

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Louth had decent teams in the 80s and 90s much better sides then this current one, if it's not a 6 plus point win I be very fearful for them against Kildare or who ever we meet in the qualifiers"
Spot on again Royal.Legend. This hyping up of a clearly poor opposition is laughable. If you think Louth, on current form, will present a major challenge I'm afraid you don't much faith in the team.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 23/05/2017 13:14:26    1989797

look six points plus win stop with the bull talk. we have to win the game and go on to the next one does not matter if it's 1or six or 20

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/05/2017 13:15:34    1989798

Replying To ged:  "Couldn't see anything today to indicate that Louth can trouble Meath in 2 weeks time. 1976 was the last time Louth beat Meath in the championship but all records must come to an end. It will happen but maybe not this time. Up Louth. Bring it on."
It was 1975 when Meath were red hot favourites after winning the league against the then All Ireland champions Dublin.Meath scored the last 8 pts to record a 0.16 to 1.9 win.

jake1 (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 23/05/2017 13:38:04    1989808

'Anti Andy group' - this has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with being anti-Andy as you put it. I feel we will comfortably beat Louth, they are a very mediocre side. Kildare on the other-hand, provided they get over Laois, will be a good test for the lads.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 23/05/2017 13:43:16    1989809

So it's "disrespectful" to write off a team that will be in the same division as us next season but it's A-OK to write off a team that will be a division above us next season....
And stating that Andy has built a team that fans believe should easily account for Louth is all of a sudden "anti-Andy"? The mind boggles.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 23/05/2017 14:32:27    1989824

Replying To jake1:  "It was 1975 when Meath were red hot favourites after winning the league against the then All Ireland champions Dublin.Meath scored the last 8 pts to record a 0.16 to 1.9 win."
Ah I always had it in my head that it was 1976. As Johnny once sang "what's another year". Some Meath supporters writing us off and history suggests that they should. I haven't seen anything in our last 3 games to suggest that we can turn Meath over but the potential is there. I seen it against Tipp in Thurles. For it to happen though in my opinion, we would need all our top players to click on the same day and we're short Maguire and maybe McDonnell.
This rarely happens but lining out against Meath always adds more kick to the lads. I'll be abroad for this one and if Louth do manage to win it will be bitter sweet as it's a day I've dreamt of for decades. The league and OB wins were good for the heart but the championship is a different story.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 23/05/2017 15:30:01    1989849

Replying To jake1:  "It was 1975 when Meath were red hot favourites after winning the league against the then All Ireland champions Dublin.Meath scored the last 8 pts to record a 0.16 to 1.9 win."
Ah I always had it in my head that it was 1976. As Johnny once sang "what's another year". Some Meath supporters writing us off and history suggests that they should. I haven't seen anything in our last 3 games to suggest that we can turn Meath over but the potential is there. I seen it against Tipp in Thurles. For it to happen though in my opinion, we would need all our top players to click on the same day and we're short Maguire and maybe McDonnell.
This rarely happens but lining out against Meath always adds more kick to the lads. I'll be abroad for this one and if Louth do manage to win it will be bitter sweet as it's a day I've dreamt of for decades. The league and OB wins were good for the heart but the championship is a different story.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 23/05/2017 16:14:52    1989873