Meath Hurling 2017

Replying To overthehill72:  "all he said was he found out by text and press was told before he was. both of which was wrong.

and it seemed like he wanted to say it was a difficult decision rather than how it was being portrayed...

yet ye slate him and no mention of how manager handled it?

as the old saying goes... you's are only keyboard warriors!"
I'm not slating him and I'm not saying the management couldn't have handled it better, I actually said in an earlier post which was moderated out that he should have been allowed to withdraw from the panel instead of being dropped. I still think it was the right decision to release/drop him from the panel once he decided he wished to focus primarily on the football and would have fully supported Andy Mc dropping/releasing him if it were the other way round.
I'd love to see him back fully committed and Hurling for Meath but if he's happy playing football then I'm happy that he's happy.
He's young, there are plenty of good years of Hurling and Football ahead of him if he changes his mind.
An Mhi Abu.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 12/04/2017 13:21:08    1978789

Replying To billyjack24:  "What I was replying to was the fact tohers statement was improper. I heard Mickey burke interview and he was very mature about it all and said "no man is bigger than the team" he wished them all well and kept saying no hard feelings."
Pity it ended like this as it is very likely that there will be no reconciliation under the current regime even if James loses his place on the football team. Any manager with a bit of class sees beyond his frustrations that the player is unavailable and deals with dropping the player privately and properly and Martin Ennis did not do that.

Irionically he is a better hurler than footballer and if Harry Rooney returns or Flanagan develops then James might not get his place on the football team. Pretty gutting for everyone if he ends up not playing for either team.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 12/04/2017 13:34:23    1978795

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Pity it ended like this as it is very likely that there will be no reconciliation under the current regime even if James loses his place on the football team. Any manager with a bit of class sees beyond his frustrations that the player is unavailable and deals with dropping the player privately and properly and Martin Ennis did not do that.

Irionically he is a better hurler than footballer and if Harry Rooney returns or Flanagan develops then James might not get his place on the football team. Pretty gutting for everyone if he ends up not playing for either team."
That won't happen, I'm sure if either of those players decided to fully commit they'd be welcomed back. They just can't be accommodated into either setup on a part time basis.
Life's too short for bitterness and regret.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 12/04/2017 14:51:17    1978825

Replying To Wedgie:  "That won't happen, I'm sure if either of those players decided to fully commit they'd be welcomed back. They just can't be accommodated into either setup on a part time basis.
Life's too short for bitterness and regret."
I agree,
This is the Leinster championship we are talking about, not the league or CR cup, Meath have battled to win the CR cup for ten years and are now back in Leinster and then some of you want players that are not 100% committed to a squad to be allowed train when the football management allows them!!!!

Some of the people posting her have said that meath hurling team is not always 100% professional, and when the manager makes a decision to leave two players who can not commit fully of the championship squad you are on his case.

Would Andy Mac take less than 100% commitment from any player in Leinster Championship ?
No
Should Martin Ennis take less that 100% commitment from any player in the Leinster Championship ?
No

Fair play to Ennis for making this stand !!!

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 12/04/2017 15:31:57    1978839

Replying To gardentree:  "I agree,
This is the Leinster championship we are talking about, not the league or CR cup, Meath have battled to win the CR cup for ten years and are now back in Leinster and then some of you want players that are not 100% committed to a squad to be allowed train when the football management allows them!!!!

Some of the people posting her have said that meath hurling team is not always 100% professional, and when the manager makes a decision to leave two players who can not commit fully of the championship squad you are on his case.

Would Andy Mac take less than 100% commitment from any player in Leinster Championship ?
No
Should Martin Ennis take less that 100% commitment from any player in the Leinster Championship ?
No

Fair play to Ennis for making this stand !!!"
personally i agree with the manager,but not the way he handled it,that is the point.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/04/2017 17:45:16    1978865

Replying To gardentree:  "I agree,

No
No

Fair play to Ennis for making this stand !!!"
I think that's missing the point slightly. I think everyone can understand why a manager would make this decision - that's not really in dispute.

However, as mentioned by several posters, the manner in which it was dealt with was very poor. A bit of respect costs nothing. I can't understand why a manager (this isn't the first time we've heard stories like this across the country) can't pick up the phone or talk to a guy face-to-face and handle it like a grown-up. Sending a text just sours things all round. Now the statement doesn't help things either really, but it would probably have been avoided if ME had spoken to JT properly.

The upshot is the same of course insofar as Toher is gone from the panel, but there are ways to deal with these things and this was pretty ham-fisted to say the least.

It wouldn't surprise me if there's more going on here than meets the eye tbh, it seems fairly acrimonious on both sides.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 12/04/2017 17:55:37    1978870

Replying To BarneysTie:  "I think that's missing the point slightly. I think everyone can understand why a manager would make this decision - that's not really in dispute.

However, as mentioned by several posters, the manner in which it was dealt with was very poor. A bit of respect costs nothing. I can't understand why a manager (this isn't the first time we've heard stories like this across the country) can't pick up the phone or talk to a guy face-to-face and handle it like a grown-up. Sending a text just sours things all round. Now the statement doesn't help things either really, but it would probably have been avoided if ME had spoken to JT properly.

The upshot is the same of course insofar as Toher is gone from the panel, but there are ways to deal with these things and this was pretty ham-fisted to say the least.

It wouldn't surprise me if there's more going on here than meets the eye tbh, it seems fairly acrimonious on both sides."
I think most people are missing the point here. Tohers statement was dealing with with the manner in which he was dropped - by text. Not the fact he was dropped at all. Weather you've been on a panel for 6 years or 6 days, to get dropped by text is completely unacceptable. Fair play to Ennis for taking a stand and sticking with the lads who are fully committed, by he's gone down in my estimation after not evening giving Toher a phone call.

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 12/04/2017 18:28:47    1978884

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "I think most people are missing the point here. Tohers statement was dealing with with the manner in which he was dropped - by text. Not the fact he was dropped at all. Weather you've been on a panel for 6 years or 6 days, to get dropped by text is completely unacceptable. Fair play to Ennis for taking a stand and sticking with the lads who are fully committed, by he's gone down in my estimation after not evening giving Toher a phone call."
In all fairness JT probably knew he was off the panel when he failed to make himself available for the league final, the text would merely have confirmed this

He would have had discussions with both management teams in the run up to this, he can't honestly be surprised by any of this.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 12/04/2017 19:06:15    1978898

Replying To Wedgie:  "In all fairness JT probably knew he was off the panel when he failed to make himself available for the league final, the text would merely have confirmed this

He would have had discussions with both management teams in the run up to this, he can't honestly be surprised by any of this."
Some amount of assumptions in that post.

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 12/04/2017 19:35:55    1978903

I have heard from one of the players that there was constant meetings with the lads about how they could play both codes and how the hurling management did accommodate them as much as they could. The last meeting was the Monday night before the final when they told the mamagement that they wouldn't be available for training or the match so it's not all as cut and dry as JT made out. He didn't just find out out of the blue this has been on going.

billyjack24 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 12/04/2017 19:51:07    1978905

Replying To BarneysTie:  "Some amount of assumptions in that post."
The suggestion that he only learned his fate in a text message at eleven o'clock at night is a little fanciful to say the least.
He knew his fate was sealed long before that. The decision was his, end of story.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 12/04/2017 20:06:27    1978909

A convenient distraction from the championship preparation for both codes....

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 12/04/2017 20:28:49    1978914

Replying To Wedgie:  "In all fairness JT probably knew he was off the panel when he failed to make himself available for the league final, the text would merely have confirmed this

He would have had discussions with both management teams in the run up to this, he can't honestly be surprised by any of this."
With respect to Toher he's not complaining about being dropped just the manner of it in all fairness it wouldn't have killed somebody from the hurling management to give the chap the decency of a phone call and at the very least let him know before anyone else surely that's not too much to ask but they do need to put this to bed asap and focus on the round robin of the SHC

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 12/04/2017 20:38:48    1978915

Replying To Wedgie:  "That won't happen, I'm sure if either of those players decided to fully commit they'd be welcomed back. They just can't be accommodated into either setup on a part time basis.
Life's too short for bitterness and regret."
Nah, Toher wont play again under Ennis you can be sure of that. It's pretty obvious for the fact that he went to the Chronicle to express his bitter disappointment at the manner of his expulsion from the squad.

Wishing the lad and Burke the very best with the footballers. I hope he keeps his place. Burke's place on the football team will be under serious threat and Toher could also struggle if Rooney returns.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 12/04/2017 22:44:46    1978958

Toher didn't suddenly find out he'd been dropped by a text message at eleven o'clock on Saturday night, in fact he wasn't exactly dropped he opted out when he chose football instead of Hurling. I would suggest the moment he decided to this he knew was out of the Hurling panel. He would have also known he was out of the panel when he didn't show up for the training sessions ahead of the final or the game on the day of the final. Rumours were already circulating in the week leading up to the final That he was leaving the panel (I heard it myself) so this text can't have come as a bolt from the blue for him, he'd already made his mind up and was gone from the panel long before Martin Ennis confirmed his departure by text.

He's a great hurler but we're fortunate enough to have quite a number of great hurlers on the panel at the moment, he's also a great footballer and I absolutely believe he took the right decision to try his hand with the footballers. He has nothing to prove when it comes to Hurling, I hope he has the same success with the footballers but this thread is about the current Meath Senior Hurling team.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 12/04/2017 23:12:51    1978966

I heard they had a challenge tonight in trim against kildare and won Well, anyone at it or know the team or score? I had to work. Not long ago they were stronger than us and seemed to be our bogie team. It shows how strong the hurlers have become. I would give them every chance against Kerry but will need our full back line on form for full 70mins. I personally think Healy should be our full back for the championship.

billyjack24 (Meath) - Posts: 40 - 13/04/2017 00:07:33    1978970

Replying To billyjack24:  "I heard they had a challenge tonight in trim against kildare and won Well, anyone at it or know the team or score? I had to work. Not long ago they were stronger than us and seemed to be our bogie team. It shows how strong the hurlers have become. I would give them every chance against Kerry but will need our full back line on form for full 70mins. I personally think Healy should be our full back for the championship."
Yea Challenge last night against Kildare but it was in Dunganny, My brother was at it, He went out to see U17 Hurling match against Wicklow At 6:30pm but Wicklow did not show up. He found out that seniors were playing at 8pm so he waited for the senior match. Said that Meath played really well, moving well, looked very fit and ran Kildare off the pitch.

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 13/04/2017 10:39:17    1979012

Replying To gardentree:  "Yea Challenge last night against Kildare but it was in Dunganny, My brother was at it, He went out to see U17 Hurling match against Wicklow At 6:30pm but Wicklow did not show up. He found out that seniors were playing at 8pm so he waited for the senior match. Said that Meath played really well, moving well, looked very fit and ran Kildare off the pitch."
I wouldn't read too much into challenge matches but yes the fitness levels of the panel has been quite high for the last couple of years.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 13/04/2017 12:42:45    1979051

Replying To Wedgie:  "I wouldn't read too much into challenge matches but yes the fitness levels of the panel has been quite high for the last couple of years."
its not reading to much into it but the bro said that they look sharper, faster and fitter on that hard fast Dunganny pitch last night. Kerry in PT nest Sunday week cant wait, hope that the county gets out to support the lads.

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 13/04/2017 20:46:48    1979223

So their is two side to ever story , I read in the Star this morning a statement From Martin Ennis an the hurling management team a reply from the player that made a statement nduring the week, in the article it lists everything that went on with the player over the last few months.
Its an eye opening read as it says that the player was told during a phone call 6 days before the league final that he was not going to be included in the squad for The leinster championship. So it looks like the player was telling porkies to the paper.
It also gives examples of the training schedule that the hurlers had and how many times the player attended compared to another player that had attended all the training and did not make the 26 the final.
I would say to all of you on this forum should read the article in the news paper and then eat the bad words you dished out to Ennis when you believed the player was dropped by a text message. Their is always two sides to every story and some of you convicted Ennis before you knew the facts.
I wonder did the local paper contact Ennis and seek his side of the story before they went to press with the players statement ?????
I would love to know the answer to that question ,, I dowt it very much.
Now after all of this lets look forward to Sunday week in PT V Kerry
Anybody know if the hurlers are playing a challenge this weekend ?

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 14/04/2017 13:39:01    1979382