Keegan Cup

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Fair point..But Going on your performances this year i cant see it...Maybe the year will brings yous on but would be shocked if they get out a group next year...Ourselves (seneschalstown) and Omahonys are very poor this year and yous couldnt even beat us..Blackhall are shocking and could only draw with them.."
Senior experience means a hell of a lot. Something which the likes of Seneschalstown and Blackhall have in spades. In intermediate, you can rely on sheer quality alone, but in senior you have to have that extra bit of experience to put games away. I was at the Cilles - Blackhall game and Cilles were definitely the more skillful team. But Blackhall had the experience to slow the game down when they were in danger of being overrun, to rile certain players up to try and put them off their game and just that little extra bit of cuteness that only comes with years of playing in senior.
I saw it with ourselves last year against the likes of Don/Ash and especially Summerhill (where we threw the game away). The year's senior experience (as well as the winter break and our 'keeper returning) has helped immeasurably. Cilles are heading in the right direction and I can only see them improving over the coming years.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 29/08/2017 19:37:41    2040335

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Agreed huge step up from underage to senior football many dont make it"
Look at the Cuthberts. Loads of underage success over the last 40years but nothing to note at adult level

Lonetone (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 29/08/2017 20:04:10    2040346

Replying To OLLIE:  "Would that group that the Cilles are in be the group of death? From an outsider having O'Mahoneys, Simonstown and Seneschalstown alone is tough enough itself. If the Cilles were in another group would you they do better?"
Hard to say Ollie. Very long year on cilles , on paper it looks very tough. But in fairness nom and senchealstown are quite poor this year for some reason, if they had same next year I'd be supreme confidence of getting out of group. It's been nonstop for too long.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2017 20:32:38    2040362

Replying To JulianstownBoyo:  "Cilles in particular had a lot of underage success in the 2000's and only last year won an intermediate. So the example of how underage success can actually count for nothing is a lot closer to home than you'd expect. However, I'd imagine they won't make the same mistake twice."
Very true. I just cannot see same mistakes happen again. Lot more proper set up now to bring the underage through.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2017 20:34:17    2040363

Anyone know the format for quarter final pairings?

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 29/08/2017 21:23:58    2040396

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Senior experience means a hell of a lot. Something which the likes of Seneschalstown and Blackhall have in spades. In intermediate, you can rely on sheer quality alone, but in senior you have to have that extra bit of experience to put games away. I was at the Cilles - Blackhall game and Cilles were definitely the more skillful team. But Blackhall had the experience to slow the game down when they were in danger of being overrun, to rile certain players up to try and put them off their game and just that little extra bit of cuteness that only comes with years of playing in senior.
I saw it with ourselves last year against the likes of Don/Ash and especially Summerhill (where we threw the game away). The year's senior experience (as well as the winter break and our 'keeper returning) has helped immeasurably. Cilles are heading in the right direction and I can only see them improving over the coming years."
Ye but this year you haven't played any of the big teams yet.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 29/08/2017 21:27:59    2040397

Replying To Maestro:  "Ye but this year you haven't played any of the big teams yet."
Depends on your definition of "big team". Na Fianna made the SFC final 2 years ago. Skryne made last year's semi finals (beating Summerhill). We've beaten (mostly comfortably) all 4 teams we've faced so far.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 30/08/2017 08:45:31    2040576

Cilles won't win the senior any time soon...nor will they be in any danger of relegation either!! /they were far to good for intermediate but as far as senior goes they have only 2-3 forwards that are good enough and defensively are not strong enough at the minute to hold out the likes of Ratoath, Dunboyne, Simonstown!! As far as underage success goes, Ratoath had 3 division 1 winners or finalists at minor between 2010 and 2012 (I think, I could be a year or two off either way) and they only won intermediate 3 years after the last team came through and we will wait to see how they get on this year. Those three teams were far better than any teams the Cilles have underage at the moment in terms of success and are only coming good at adult level now. I would say the furthest the Cilles will go in the next 5 years will be a semi final at most and that is if they avoid any of the above mentioned teams or Summerhill on the way.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 30/08/2017 09:45:57    2040603

Replying To ratlag:  "Cilles won't win the senior any time soon...nor will they be in any danger of relegation either!! /they were far to good for intermediate but as far as senior goes they have only 2-3 forwards that are good enough and defensively are not strong enough at the minute to hold out the likes of Ratoath, Dunboyne, Simonstown!! As far as underage success goes, Ratoath had 3 division 1 winners or finalists at minor between 2010 and 2012 (I think, I could be a year or two off either way) and they only won intermediate 3 years after the last team came through and we will wait to see how they get on this year. Those three teams were far better than any teams the Cilles have underage at the moment in terms of success and are only coming good at adult level now. I would say the furthest the Cilles will go in the next 5 years will be a semi final at most and that is if they avoid any of the above mentioned teams or Summerhill on the way."
How would you all feel about a Cilles/Ratoath final within the next 5 years ??
I think Meath football needs it.....

royaljackeen (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 30/08/2017 11:34:56    2040662

Replying To ratlag:  "Cilles won't win the senior any time soon...nor will they be in any danger of relegation either!! /they were far to good for intermediate but as far as senior goes they have only 2-3 forwards that are good enough and defensively are not strong enough at the minute to hold out the likes of Ratoath, Dunboyne, Simonstown!! As far as underage success goes, Ratoath had 3 division 1 winners or finalists at minor between 2010 and 2012 (I think, I could be a year or two off either way) and they only won intermediate 3 years after the last team came through and we will wait to see how they get on this year. Those three teams were far better than any teams the Cilles have underage at the moment in terms of success and are only coming good at adult level now. I would say the furthest the Cilles will go in the next 5 years will be a semi final at most and that is if they avoid any of the above mentioned teams or Summerhill on the way."
Cilles have some of the best coaches in meath in their setup. Jude mc Nabb is up there with the best. If they can hold on to the likes of him they will go far

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 30/08/2017 11:39:08    2040664

Replying To royaljackeen:  "How would you all feel about a Cilles/Ratoath final within the next 5 years ??
I think Meath football needs it....."
Personally I wouldn't mind it, the semi final they played in the intermediate was a great game of football in not so great conditions!! Its nothing against the Cilles, I just think they will struggle defensively against the teams I mentioned and if Brennan, Conlon and Biggy aren't on song then they struggle to score. They won't struggle at all in senior, I just don't see any inroads into winning it or making a final for at least 5-6 years minimum until the underage teams come through and get used to senior football.....and that's if they transfer from underage to adult football which isn't always a guarantee.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 30/08/2017 12:07:32    2040678

all this "Cilles" talk imagine if the won a game in the championship this year...There not winning anything anytime soon,,

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 30/08/2017 12:36:29    2040693

Replying To grahamc9897:  "all this "Cilles" talk imagine if the won a game in the championship this year...There not winning anything anytime soon,,"
If you think Cilles are so poor, why did it take a "masterclass" from big Joe and him having to kick a last minute point to win the game ???? Yet you think Senchalstown are good enough to go on and beat NOM and progress ???
I do agree with you about big Joe... I don't think there's another player in Meath football that can win a ball with his back to goals and just turn and put ball over bar from any angle..

royaljackeen (Meath) - Posts: 37 - 30/08/2017 13:49:39    2040737

Well lads a staunch Mayo supporter but a member of Ballivor GFC. Any tickets going for the AIF I'd appreciate a lot more then your neighbouring Dubs. Thanks.

JK51 (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 30/08/2017 14:27:20    2040750

Replying To royaljackeen:  "If you think Cilles are so poor, why did it take a "masterclass" from big Joe and him having to kick a last minute point to win the game ???? Yet you think Senchalstown are good enough to go on and beat NOM and progress ???
I do agree with you about big Joe... I don't think there's another player in Meath football that can win a ball with his back to goals and just turn and put ball over bar from any angle.."
Seneschalstown along with O,Mahonys have no hope of winning anything either..of course we could beat them and progress but who ever wins will be going out next round..You dont hear anyone else banging on about there clubs underage teams and how there going to make them so much better in the next 5 -10 years never heard so much rubbish and great coaches and how they will go far...they wont win anything next year not a hope..Simple as

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 30/08/2017 14:59:56    2040771

Replying To Maestro:  "Ye but this year you haven't played any of the big teams yet."
Who are the big teams? I think that's a very relevant question in Meath right now

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 30/08/2017 16:05:43    2040803

Replying To Richieq:  "Who are the big teams? I think that's a very relevant question in Meath right now"
Top Six are Simonstown ,Ratoath ,Sumerhill ,Dunboyne ,Wolfe Tones ,Moynalvey in my opinion

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 30/08/2017 16:36:47    2040817

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Top Six are Simonstown ,Ratoath ,Sumerhill ,Dunboyne ,Wolfe Tones ,Moynalvey in my opinion"
I would out Kells or NaFianna ahead of Wolfe Tones!! Agree on the rest though.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 30/08/2017 17:01:41    2040824

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Depends on your definition of "big team". Na Fianna made the SFC final 2 years ago. Skryne made last year's semi finals (beating Summerhill). We've beaten (mostly comfortably) all 4 teams we've faced so far."
Well if your definition of a big team is 2 teams that haven't won one of their 4 matches in the group stages this year then good luck with that.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 30/08/2017 17:23:35    2040830

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Top Six are Simonstown ,Ratoath ,Sumerhill ,Dunboyne ,Wolfe Tones ,Moynalvey in my opinion"
Spot on there

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 30/08/2017 23:11:24    2040932