Meath v Sligo

Replying To LoyalRoyal:  "My take on the last game was this. First of all there was a game plan, it was the same game plan as the Louth game. Anyone watching that game knew exactly what we were going to do and how to counteract it i.e. cut off the routes for Biggy and Cillian to run. Especially since we picked the same team again.

Saying that Graham didn't perform seems to ignore the fact that Kildare were focused on neutralising him. When a game plan doesn't work it's up to the players to find a different way to win. The management can't do much once the ball is thrown in but perhaps we should have had a plan b. Although I'm sure Andy wanted us to impose our game on them but he wouldn't have anticipated how much fitter and stronger Kildare were. Also Kildares tackling was superb. How long do you give it till abandon your game plan. You want to have faith in your players to influence the game.

One analysis on the42.ie shows how our forwards and half forwards didn't put enough pressure on them when they got the ball. Also we had to get more of our guys attacking the breaking ball off the kick outs. This was something Mick O'Dowd failed to sort out and its was still there quite a bit last week. Having said that, our kick out execution simply wasn't good enough to begin with.

Going forward we need a clear idea of what to do if they try shut down Graham and Cillian from running. We need our forwards putting on more pressure when not in possession that might stop such dangerous ball going into our backs."
Alot of time we where kicking long ball into Leinhan and Mc Mahon with 3 men on them. What type of game plan is that ??

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/06/2017 10:17:55    2003881

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Name the players he dropped who are still top club players? Have any of them returned to the fold? If not, why hasn't Andy brought them back?"
cian ward for one

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/06/2017 10:25:55    2003885

Replying To meath1977:  "cian ward for one"
This is the same Cian Ward who said on podcast that Andy has the best players in the squad ?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 23/06/2017 10:54:02    2003901

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "This is the same Cian Ward who said on podcast that Andy has the best players in the squad ?"
Dropping Cian at the time was a little harsh! No point in arguing about it now!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 23/06/2017 11:56:53    2003941

Replying To meath1977:  "cian ward for one"
OK I will give you that one. I was a big fan of Cian Ward and while I don't think he quite fulfilled his potential in a Meath shirt, I did think it was harsh to drop him at the time.
Apart from Cian though (and I don't think he would add anything to the current squad), I can't really think of any players that were actually dropped by MOD who would have improved the squad by any great measure.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 23/06/2017 12:32:11    2003953

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "OK I will give you that one. I was a big fan of Cian Ward and while I don't think he quite fulfilled his potential in a Meath shirt, I did think it was harsh to drop him at the time.
Apart from Cian though (and I don't think he would add anything to the current squad), I can't really think of any players that were actually dropped by MOD who would have improved the squad by any great measure."
Cormac mc Guinness paddy Gillespie Oldcastle Mark ward( I know he would not be on now but at the time he was good enough) brien farrell nobber . David Gallagher . Cormac mac Gill p Bryne brain meade Jamie queeny ciaran lehanen skryne and big Joe yes some of these players are not top of the club world at the moment but they were only in there early late twentys when he dropped them all

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/06/2017 13:07:40    2003974

Barry Dardis, David Larkin, David Dalton (Summerhill)
Sean Curran, Shane Melia (Ashbourne)
Seamus Mattimoe, Barry Tormey (Kells)
Robbie Burnlingham (Simonstown)
Cian Ward (Wolfe Tones)
Darragh Smyth (O Mahonys)

There is 10 lads who I believe are good enough to make an impact. The 2 Ashbourne lads are great defenders and I really don't know how they aren't on the panel the same with Dardis he has a great eye for a score. Robbie is a natural choice for goals he was the best keeper in the championship last year and he has continued the good form this year. I think he is a better option than Joe or Paddy as they both play out field for their clubs.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 23/06/2017 13:17:53    2003982

Replying To meath1977:  "Cormac mc Guinness paddy Gillespie Oldcastle Mark ward( I know he would not be on now but at the time he was good enough) brien farrell nobber . David Gallagher . Cormac mac Gill p Bryne brain meade Jamie queeny ciaran lehanen skryne and big Joe yes some of these players are not top of the club world at the moment but they were only in there early late twentys when he dropped them all"
They were all past it/not up to it. We have short memories sometimes.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 23/06/2017 13:21:35    2003985

David Gallagher?? He was 33 when he played in goals in 2012 under banty and dropped himself off the panel post championship. Where do some off yee come up with this stuff

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 23/06/2017 13:57:46    2004010

Replying To seadog54:  "A lot of our old problems surfaced last week (as they did from time to time during league). Many should have been sorted by now, especially kickout strategy both our own and theirs. We have to focus on aspects of game under our control and build from there."
players need to be willing to put in the work requires,this was the biggst problem.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/06/2017 14:37:44    2004036

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Barry Dardis, David Larkin, David Dalton (Summerhill)
Cian Ward (Wolfe Tones)

There is 10 lads who I believe are good enough to make an impact. The 2 Ashbourne lads are great defenders and I really don't know how they aren't on the panel the same with Dardis he has a great eye for a score. Robbie is a natural choice for goals he was the best keeper in the championship last year and he has continued the good form this year. I think he is a better option than Joe or Paddy as they both play out field for their clubs."
Sean Curran is on the panel he is injured. joe melia has been in/out for ashbourne alot and needs to play a good season. dalton had far too many injuries and withdrew himself a few seasons ago.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/06/2017 14:40:36    2004038

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Barry Dardis, David Larkin, David Dalton (Summerhill)
Cian Ward (Wolfe Tones)

There is 10 lads who I believe are good enough to make an impact. The 2 Ashbourne lads are great defenders and I really don't know how they aren't on the panel the same with Dardis he has a great eye for a score. Robbie is a natural choice for goals he was the best keeper in the championship last year and he has continued the good form this year. I think he is a better option than Joe or Paddy as they both play out field for their clubs."
I think Barry Tormey is taking time out to get consecrate on club football this year.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 23/06/2017 16:32:57    2004095

Replying To meath1977:  "Cormac mc Guinness paddy Gillespie Oldcastle Mark ward( I know he would not be on now but at the time he was good enough) brien farrell nobber . David Gallagher . Cormac mac Gill p Bryne brain meade Jamie queeny ciaran lehanen skryne and big Joe yes some of these players are not top of the club world at the moment but they were only in there early late twentys when he dropped them all"
Some of those retired themselves (McGuinness and Meade are two anyway). And some of them had been off the intercounty scene for quite a while (Mark Ward hadn't been a starter on the senior team for years by the time MOD came along). Gallagher was in goals in Banty's last year and was massively culpable in us losing to Laois and needing a replay against Carlow. McGill hadn't regularly played for Meath under EOB and Banty for whatever reason. Gilsenan (I presume you mean), Queeney and Farrell weren't any better than the players that replaced them at the time in my view. Queeney especially never seemed to take the step up from impact sub to regular starter. Joe came on against Tyrone in MOD's first year and we may as well have been playing with 14 men. While he may still be able to get decent returns against poorer defenders with Seneschalstown, he simply hasn't been up to intercounty standard for a long, long time.

Actually, another player that you could say got treated harshly under MOD was Seán Curran. Despite him being (in my view) the best option in the opposite corner to Keogan, I think it was Caolan Young who was mostly picked instead of him.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 23/06/2017 17:21:28    2004115

Jaysus I never seen so much nonsense in all my life, lads picking players that were finished at county level 4 or 5 years ago and thinking they can still make an impact. People read match reports and see a player scored 4 or 5 points and think hes good enough for the county, club league football (and early rounds of championship) are desperately poor.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 23/06/2017 18:33:25    2004130

Replying To Barney123:  "Jaysus I never seen so much nonsense in all my life, lads picking players that were finished at county level 4 or 5 years ago and thinking they can still make an impact. People read match reports and see a player scored 4 or 5 points and think hes good enough for the county, club league football (and early rounds of championship) are desperately poor."
you may get a pair of glasses what I said was he dropped all them players in 2013 when they were in their late twentys and we would have got more years out of them and their experience would have helped the young lads . I never said you should pick them players now.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/06/2017 19:23:48    2004142

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Some of those retired themselves (McGuinness and Meade are two anyway). And some of them had been off the intercounty scene for quite a while (Mark Ward hadn't been a starter on the senior team for years by the time MOD came along). Gallagher was in goals in Banty's last year and was massively culpable in us losing to Laois and needing a replay against Carlow. McGill hadn't regularly played for Meath under EOB and Banty for whatever reason. Gilsenan (I presume you mean), Queeney and Farrell weren't any better than the players that replaced them at the time in my view. Queeney especially never seemed to take the step up from impact sub to regular starter. Joe came on against Tyrone in MOD's first year and we may as well have been playing with 14 men. While he may still be able to get decent returns against poorer defenders with Seneschalstown, he simply hasn't been up to intercounty standard for a long, long time.

Actually, another player that you could say got treated harshly under MOD was Seán Curran. Despite him being (in my view) the best option in the opposite corner to Keogan, I think it was Caolan Young who was mostly picked instead of him."
Sean Curran is not up to this level in my own opinion.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/06/2017 19:31:37    2004143

to be honest losing gillespie and o'rourke through injury while kev reilly was injured or playing with an injury the last few years were far bigger loses and unlucky.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/06/2017 20:24:52    2004154

Is it time to start talking about the future of Meath football rather than dwelling in the past?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 23/06/2017 21:10:14    2004163

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "OK I will give you that one. I was a big fan of Cian Ward and while I don't think he quite fulfilled his potential in a Meath shirt, I did think it was harsh to drop him at the time.
Apart from Cian though (and I don't think he would add anything to the current squad), I can't really think of any players that were actually dropped by MOD who would have improved the squad by any great measure."
The one who stood out for me that I could never fathom been dropped was juicy O'Connor. Even after been dropped he was one of best backs in Meath clubs, also a star of the juniors. I just don't understand why mod never even gave him one game. He was first to be dropped. And he actually delivered in a Meath shirt many times. He never had a mare of a game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/06/2017 21:55:37    2004184

anyone worrying about Big Joe in goals after scoring 1-3 He went in goals to save a last minute penalty against Rathkenny ! Great game though !!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 23/06/2017 22:01:22    2004185