Meath v Donegal

Replying To royaldunne:  "Firstly if you bothered to read my post you would have seen I was in relation to current team, of which only keoghan and burke is on, Donal fantastic player, has had a very poor year to his standards , as for burke? (the man you wanted dropped) best year in a Meath shirt. The other two? K Reilly too often injured to be considered a great player , bray now definitely, but you missed out Seamus kenny, as good as any of them, Joe Sheridan, brian Farrell, anthony Moyles. Think you owe them a apology for not mentioning these great Meath players"
More waffle........i never suggested Burke should be dropped..never .i will say yes SEAMUS KENNY would be the one i would include under 'ohers"in my listing. Quite clearly the others you suggest i would consider very average indeed.. In fact i said it at the time that was 1 correct decision MOD made to drop them. Finally to undo another attempt at twisting you updated it to read " the last 10 years" not a mention of present day players only.. just read back on your posting.........Royaldunne as another poster suggested to you only to day STOP DIGGING....now run along good man as you say yourself ...... over and out!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 04/07/2017 23:45:13    2010796

Replying To royaldunne:  "Firstly if you bothered to read my post you would have seen I was in relation to current team, of which only keoghan and burke is on, Donal fantastic player, has had a very poor year to his standards , as for burke? (the man you wanted dropped) best year in a Meath shirt. The other two? K Reilly too often injured to be considered a great player , bray now definitely, but you missed out Seamus kenny, as good as any of them, Joe Sheridan, brian Farrell, anthony Moyles. Think you owe them a apology for not mentioning these great Meath players"
Big game at the weekend and here yous are arguing about great retired players ! Lads a little perspective come on...

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/07/2017 08:42:41    2010825

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "No one doubts your passion for Meath football nor the fact that you have supported the team for a long time, but your opinion of G Reilly is at times over the top. By the way I do not see Donegal being too worried about any Meath player, I think they tend to be more concerned with getting their own 'System' of playing right and that this will take care of any threats in any team they are playing but I could be wrong.

Blind faith in an individual, cause or religion is all very well but having an open mind on everything is a trait I admire more in an individual these days.

Likewise a lifetime following a team or a sport does not automatically grant someone a greater knowledge of the present game.

I was asked recently by my future son in law what my earliest GAA memories were and whilst my answers made me realise how old I was getting, he was dumbfounded when I showed him a picture taken of me on my late fathers shoulders in Croke Park in 1962 when Galway beat Meath in an all Ireland semi final.
He did not believe me when I told him I stood in Ludlow St in Navan in 1968 when an Austrailian team marched behind a band down to the Russell Hotel and that I remember watching them play Meath in Navan later that weekend and being amazed by how far they could punch a ball ( They had to punch it because they could not kick a round ball!!).
I told him though that whilst I remembered the 67 final and the crowds lining the Dublin rd to welcome the team home that it was really 1970 that I remember the most, from the greatest Leinster final I ever seen, against offaly who scored 5-12 but we beat them by a point, to crying after Kerry beat us in the first 80 minute final . Later in the year after Meath played Derry in the old grounds tournament in Croke Park, I remember my father bringing me out on the pitch and standing on the spot where we had watched Tony Brennan kick a point in that Leinster final and being amazed at how far away the goal posts were.

Truth is however that when we watch games together now, he will see things developing in a game far quicker than me because his mind has adapted to present day tactics and styles of playing and I am only playing catch up.

Anyway RD I'M not having a go at you, I enjoy reading your posts and I admire your passion for Meath and I hope you never lose it. Sometimes though we all have to take a step back and re-evaluate our opinions on players and if Graham turns in a few match winning performances over the next few games I will certainly be more than happy to change my Eamon Dunphy tune of 'He's a good player....not a great player but.......'"
Everyone enjoys my posts :)
Look enjoy your time on here, might not always agree with each other, but sure that's life. Be boring if we all were robotic.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2017 08:55:08    2010831

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "Donegal girls have lovely accents! I'll have to try and keep a few seats for them at the top of the stand."
Ahh glas, you going for the girls, ; )

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2017 08:56:15    2010832

Donal Keoghan has been a more consistent top player for us than Biggy has the last few years and if you cant agree with that maybe you should go to Meath matches and watch the team and not just Biggy

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 05/07/2017 09:44:59    2010847

Replying To royaldunne:  "Everyone enjoys my posts :)
Look enjoy your time on here, might not always agree with each other, but sure that's life. Be boring if we all were robotic."
Royaldunne it wouldn't be the same without you ! Long may it continue :)

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/07/2017 10:29:03    2010852

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Big game at the weekend and here yous are arguing about great retired players ! Lads a little perspective come on..."
Handbags at dawn....

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 05/07/2017 10:41:15    2010860

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sorry to inform you, I dont watch soccer. You that long on here and you didn't know that. Again all the talk from Donegal is stopping Reilly. If he as bad as some think , why oh why do they think that ?? Serious question."
Simply put , stopping Reilly appears to stop Meath ..... When Reilly plays or is allowed to play , Meath can scrape a result .....

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 05/07/2017 10:48:50    2010870

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Great post, could have written that myself."
The Sligo GAME was about getting over the line . It wasn't pretty but it was achieved ...Just ... We were more defensive than normal , and some will say that its a new system that we are trying out ..... But I recall Andys exploits with the Minors a number of years ago, well beaten in the Leinster Final by a free flowing Dublin minor team , achieving AI qualification in the back door with a couple of last minute wins against more vaunted Ulster Opposition. and then getting to the final against Dublin , and playing a very defensive system for 80% of a match to reduce the score difference .......however we were still beaten by Dublin using their free flowing attacking game ........
Donegal tried this system out initially when they were in at their embryonic stage with McGuinness , but they realised that defending isn't going to win you games, and they developed their lightening quick counter attack .........which won them an AI . Can we do any better ? .
I'm afraid the term puke football may raise its head next Saturday , but depending on the result "Who cares what others think" . A managers job is to win at all costs . If that is what it takes to win , well then onwards and upwards .
Best of luck on Saturday Boys , An Mhi Abu .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 05/07/2017 11:03:13    2010873

Replying To meathforsam09:  "Donal Keoghan has been a more consistent top player for us than Biggy has the last few years and if you cant agree with that maybe you should go to Meath matches and watch the team and not just Biggy"
Didn't say he wasn't, where did I say that he hasn't been? What I said was he has had a bad year so far compared to previous years, that's true, it probably has mire to do with him been played at 6 ,but like all great players I expect him to keep whoever he marks (probably mcbrearty) very quite on sat, as that's what great backs do, and he is a great back

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/07/2017 11:40:00    2010892

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Royaldunne it wouldn't be the same without you ! Long may it continue :)"
Replying to Royaloptimist.........more power to you for your balanced views. Unfortunately i seem to have even more miles on the clock. I was at the all Ireland final when Meath beat Kerry by 6 points in 1954,there again in 55 when the prince of full backs Paddy "hands" O Brien was totally outplayed by the man who started all the tactics and "systems" Kevin Heffernan .Paddy walked off in frustration in the winter of his career. There again in 1967 Meath beat cork in the final. The era of the "red" COLLIER.. Another memory i have was the league final in 1975 .Meath won. The great jack Quinn gave an exhibition of full back play and outplayed none other than Jimmy Keaveney. Then we had the poor years travelling to matches . Then came Boylan the greatest man manager of them all.That golden era started when we beat Monaghan in the centenary cup in 1984.My one and only time sitting in the Nally stand . Then the disaster in 1986 when Mick Lyons and Joe Cassells both went for a high ball toghether with time nearly up. fumbled it and goal by Mickey Sheehy.That put paid to that year for Sam. 87 and 88 wins for one of the all time greats Colm O Rourke. Nobody deserved it more than himself ,Mick Lyons Joe Cassells and Gerry Mc entee. . Colm o Rourke scored a very important point with his RIGHT foot in the replay against Cork in 88 Meath won.. There for every match under Boylan 1990 the 4 in a row of 1991 and Foleys goal. There for the final against Down same year. Disaster o Rourke can play flue. half time Down 11 points ahead. on comes O Rourke and demonstrates what courage and sheer determination ,pride in the jersey can do. Himself ,and Flynn bring us back from the dead just 2 point down. O R ourke Stafford Flynn the great full forward line. On with Boylan to enjoy more greats like Fay, Giles, Gerathy .Ollie Murphy. M c Dermott
Ok the game has changed dramatically,and we have had to change with it..Meath football to me means pride in the jersey, never say die ,courage and determination, belief. I watched many training sessions under Boylan in Dealgan Park to see the wizard at work. As the dub would say DEM WERE THE DAYS . Yet the greatest all round footballer i ever saw was Jack O Shea of Kerry. I asked Jack Quinn that question and he said Sean O Neill from Down. So yes we want to see us back to the top...pride,true grit, never give up and if medals follow better still.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 05/07/2017 11:42:56    2010893

Replying To Meath_True:  "The Sligo GAME was about getting over the line . It wasn't pretty but it was achieved ...Just ... We were more defensive than normal , and some will say that its a new system that we are trying out ..... But I recall Andys exploits with the Minors a number of years ago, well beaten in the Leinster Final by a free flowing Dublin minor team , achieving AI qualification in the back door with a couple of last minute wins against more vaunted Ulster Opposition. and then getting to the final against Dublin , and playing a very defensive system for 80% of a match to reduce the score difference .......however we were still beaten by Dublin using their free flowing attacking game ........
Donegal tried this system out initially when they were in at their embryonic stage with McGuinness , but they realised that defending isn't going to win you games, and they developed their lightening quick counter attack .........which won them an AI . Can we do any better ? .
I'm afraid the term puke football may raise its head next Saturday , but depending on the result "Who cares what others think" . A managers job is to win at all costs . If that is what it takes to win , well then onwards and upwards .
Best of luck on Saturday Boys , An Mhi Abu ."
If we win I couldn't care less how it happens , Just don't want to play ultra defensive and never go for the win ! I have a fear of that and losing by 12 points to 8 or something like that ! Thinking what could have been

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/07/2017 12:01:48    2010905

Replying To royaldunne:  "Didn't say he wasn't, where did I say that he hasn't been? What I said was he has had a bad year so far compared to previous years, that's true, it probably has mire to do with him been played at 6 ,but like all great players I expect him to keep whoever he marks (probably mcbrearty) very quite on sat, as that's what great backs do, and he is a great back"
well then I'd be expecting Biggy to step up and kick 3-4 points and lead throughout as that's what great forwards would do

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 05/07/2017 12:22:54    2010925

team for Saturday, think we need a change or two
Paddy
Keoghan
McGill
Burke
Harnan
Conlon
Power/McEntee
Jones
Menton
Ruari
CO'S
J.McEntee
Biggy
S.Tobin
Lenihan

Looking at getting on the likes of Newman, Wally, D.Tobin (if fit, haven't heard anymore), O'Reilly and Toher in 2nd half to freshen things up. Can see it being a 20 man game.

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 05/07/2017 12:26:15    2010929

Replying To nobull456:  "Replying to Royaloptimist.........more power to you for your balanced views. Unfortunately i seem to have even more miles on the clock. I was at the all Ireland final when Meath beat Kerry by 6 points in 1954,there again in 55 when the prince of full backs Paddy "hands" O Brien was totally outplayed by the man who started all the tactics and "systems" Kevin Heffernan .Paddy walked off in frustration in the winter of his career. There again in 1967 Meath beat cork in the final. The era of the "red" COLLIER.. Another memory i have was the league final in 1975 .Meath won. The great jack Quinn gave an exhibition of full back play and outplayed none other than Jimmy Keaveney. Then we had the poor years travelling to matches . Then came Boylan the greatest man manager of them all.That golden era started when we beat Monaghan in the centenary cup in 1984.My one and only time sitting in the Nally stand . Then the disaster in 1986 when Mick Lyons and Joe Cassells both went for a high ball toghether with time nearly up. fumbled it and goal by Mickey Sheehy.That put paid to that year for Sam. 87 and 88 wins for one of the all time greats Colm O Rourke. Nobody deserved it more than himself ,Mick Lyons Joe Cassells and Gerry Mc entee. . Colm o Rourke scored a very important point with his RIGHT foot in the replay against Cork in 88 Meath won.. There for every match under Boylan 1990 the 4 in a row of 1991 and Foleys goal. There for the final against Down same year. Disaster o Rourke can play flue. half time Down 11 points ahead. on comes O Rourke and demonstrates what courage and sheer determination ,pride in the jersey can do. Himself ,and Flynn bring us back from the dead just 2 point down. O R ourke Stafford Flynn the great full forward line. On with Boylan to enjoy more greats like Fay, Giles, Gerathy .Ollie Murphy. M c Dermott
Ok the game has changed dramatically,and we have had to change with it..Meath football to me means pride in the jersey, never say die ,courage and determination, belief. I watched many training sessions under Boylan in Dealgan Park to see the wizard at work. As the dub would say DEM WERE THE DAYS . Yet the greatest all round footballer i ever saw was Jack O Shea of Kerry. I asked Jack Quinn that question and he said Sean O Neill from Down. So yes we want to see us back to the top...pride,true grit, never give up and if medals follow better still."
Good read ! Unfortunately most of the players were before my time ,My first visit to croker was v Kildare in 1997 for the drawn games ! Remember Jody Devine coming on and saving the day ! We really were spoilt during the Boylan days maybe Andy can begin to rebuild us .

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/07/2017 13:01:09    2010945

Replying To nobull456:  "Replying to Royaloptimist.........more power to you for your balanced views. Unfortunately i seem to have even more miles on the clock. I was at the all Ireland final when Meath beat Kerry by 6 points in 1954,there again in 55 when the prince of full backs Paddy "hands" O Brien was totally outplayed by the man who started all the tactics and "systems" Kevin Heffernan .Paddy walked off in frustration in the winter of his career. There again in 1967 Meath beat cork in the final. The era of the "red" COLLIER.. Another memory i have was the league final in 1975 .Meath won. The great jack Quinn gave an exhibition of full back play and outplayed none other than Jimmy Keaveney. Then we had the poor years travelling to matches . Then came Boylan the greatest man manager of them all.That golden era started when we beat Monaghan in the centenary cup in 1984.My one and only time sitting in the Nally stand . Then the disaster in 1986 when Mick Lyons and Joe Cassells both went for a high ball toghether with time nearly up. fumbled it and goal by Mickey Sheehy.That put paid to that year for Sam. 87 and 88 wins for one of the all time greats Colm O Rourke. Nobody deserved it more than himself ,Mick Lyons Joe Cassells and Gerry Mc entee. . Colm o Rourke scored a very important point with his RIGHT foot in the replay against Cork in 88 Meath won.. There for every match under Boylan 1990 the 4 in a row of 1991 and Foleys goal. There for the final against Down same year. Disaster o Rourke can play flue. half time Down 11 points ahead. on comes O Rourke and demonstrates what courage and sheer determination ,pride in the jersey can do. Himself ,and Flynn bring us back from the dead just 2 point down. O R ourke Stafford Flynn the great full forward line. On with Boylan to enjoy more greats like Fay, Giles, Gerathy .Ollie Murphy. M c Dermott
Ok the game has changed dramatically,and we have had to change with it..Meath football to me means pride in the jersey, never say die ,courage and determination, belief. I watched many training sessions under Boylan in Dealgan Park to see the wizard at work. As the dub would say DEM WERE THE DAYS . Yet the greatest all round footballer i ever saw was Jack O Shea of Kerry. I asked Jack Quinn that question and he said Sean O Neill from Down. So yes we want to see us back to the top...pride,true grit, never give up and if medals follow better still."
nobull456 should be giving the team talk on Saturday !

matrixroyal (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 05/07/2017 13:10:55    2010949

Replying To meathforsam09:  "team for Saturday, think we need a change or two
Paddy
Keoghan
McGill
Burke
Harnan
Conlon
Power/McEntee
Jones
Menton
Ruari
CO'S
J.McEntee
Biggy
S.Tobin
Lenihan

Looking at getting on the likes of Newman, Wally, D.Tobin (if fit, haven't heard anymore), O'Reilly and Toher in 2nd half to freshen things up. Can see it being a 20 man game."
For me Conlon starts at CHB. Power, gone as not a chance should he be there. Newman also needs to come in and probably for Tobin. Apart from Reailly we have no one better and we need a 90% free taker

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 05/07/2017 13:31:56    2010961

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) -Your second post was one of the better balanced contributions to this tread/board in a very long time. You dealt with specific points and without any offending/negative remarks about past or present teams/management.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 05/07/2017 13:35:42    2010963

Replying To pretender:  "For me Conlon starts at CHB. Power, gone as not a chance should he be there. Newman also needs to come in and probably for Tobin. Apart from Reailly we have no one better and we need a 90% free taker"
Newman certainly is not a 90% free taker.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 05/07/2017 14:09:27    2010988

1.Paddy O'Rourke
2.Donal Keoghan
3.Conor McGill
4.Mickey Burke
5.P Harnan
6.Brian Power
7.Shane McEntee- Tobin if fit
8.Brian Menton
9.James Toher - Jones if fit
10.James McEntee