Meath U17s

Replying To Meath_True:  "This years U17 squad , just like this years U16 squad have beaten Dublin on numerous occasions . It is only that there are no competitions to compete in , that reduced the relevance in other years . This is not a breakthrough , it is only a reflection on where the squad is with regards to Dublin.Neither squad fear Dublin . And this augurs well for the future especially at this age juncture ."
true,but huge difference between blitzes and games.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 15:48:28    2021785

Replying To ziggy32001:  "how are the u15's doing this year?"
U15s doing well.so far this year they have beaten Armagh longford roscommon westmeath and lost narrowly to tyrone and kildare. Great potential in the team

bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 23/07/2017 16:30:37    2021823

Replying To bobjaffacake:  "U15s doing well.so far this year they have beaten Armagh longford roscommon westmeath and lost narrowly to tyrone and kildare. Great potential in the team"
cheers for that. any players to look out for?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 18:05:38    2021904

I posted this on the main page , you guys any idea what happens now to your under 17s ? The problem lads is how do you look after these lads , there is no u18 no u19 next stage is under 20 , This is a problem now for every county as minor next year goes to under 17 , we have a gap of two years where the question has to be asked can you keep squads together without tournament play.
I don't know if our county board have plans for anyone after this year , no one seems to know , would like to hear your take on how its possible to keep them together

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/07/2017 18:12:59    2021909

Replying To Damothedub:  "I posted this on the main page , you guys any idea what happens now to your under 17s ? The problem lads is how do you look after these lads , there is no u18 no u19 next stage is under 20 , This is a problem now for every county as minor next year goes to under 17 , we have a gap of two years where the question has to be asked can you keep squads together without tournament play.
I don't know if our county board have plans for anyone after this year , no one seems to know , would like to hear your take on how its possible to keep them together"
Sounds like an opportunity for a club or county to establish a comp (& make a few €) at U19 level to help prepare teams for Leinster/National comp? Maybe Meath can take a lead?

MeathGAAHead (Meath) - Posts: 87 - 23/07/2017 19:10:11    2021948

Replying To Damothedub:  "I posted this on the main page , you guys any idea what happens now to your under 17s ? The problem lads is how do you look after these lads , there is no u18 no u19 next stage is under 20 , This is a problem now for every county as minor next year goes to under 17 , we have a gap of two years where the question has to be asked can you keep squads together without tournament play.
I don't know if our county board have plans for anyone after this year , no one seems to know , would like to hear your take on how its possible to keep them together"
Damo
This has always been the case with no competition for 2 years, nothing new as when minor was 18s next competition was U21
So now new minor is U17 and next competition is U20
What's the problem??

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 23/07/2017 20:51:22    2022034

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "Damo
This has always been the case with no competition for 2 years, nothing new as when minor was 18s next competition was U21
So now new minor is U17 and next competition is U20
What's the problem??"
Not a problem as such , but a second year minor most likely is 18 going to college , some of the lads playing yesterday are still 16 in many ways very young adults , without the discipline of say another year there is a bigger chance of fellas falling by the way side , just my thoughts

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/07/2017 21:11:28    2022049

Replying To ziggy32001:  "true,but huge difference between blitzes and games."
Agree, Massive difference , Blitz scenario is a lot more difficult , attrition issues from 3-4 games games in rapid succession all on the one day . Planning for achieving the best results over the range of games , first to last . Ensuring the players keep their energy reserves topped up etc . You can't just whip you cite players to death to be successful at these blitzes , you have to spread your resources over a number of games . It's s lot easier to pick 15 - 20 players for a single game and to set out your stall for 1 game .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 24/07/2017 08:33:14    2022228

Replying To Meath_True:  "Agree, Massive difference , Blitz scenario is a lot more difficult , attrition issues from 3-4 games games in rapid succession all on the one day . Planning for achieving the best results over the range of games , first to last . Ensuring the players keep their energy reserves topped up etc . You can't just whip you cite players to death to be successful at these blitzes , you have to spread your resources over a number of games . It's s lot easier to pick 15 - 20 players for a single game and to set out your stall for 1 game ."
Is this a wind up or do you actually believe that??? Could be one of the most ridiculous posts ever on hoganstand...and there has been a few belters

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 24/07/2017 10:14:37    2022307

You obviously know s lot about it once the only thing you say is that the post is ridiculous . The only other point here that may not have been mentioned , but was assumed . Is that the single game scenario tends to be a finite issue , such as s championship match . So picking your best 20 players that will deliver is critical . Unlike s Blitz where you have to spread these CORE players throughout the game schedule to endure they are fresh . So SMG what's your take on it .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 24/07/2017 13:37:13    2022565

Well all , I've been following this thread with intrigue. I have to agree with SMG on this one that it's probably the most ridiculous post ever. Whoever this meath true lad is ihe is definitely taking the pee out of us all. To compare a Leinster final with a blitz is just the funniest thing ever , or to even suggest that it's harder to pick a team to win a blitz ( which I presume is fie practice and development purpose only ) than to win a leinster championship final is off the Richter scale with nonsense. Ah well whoever you are true your a funny man. As someone said earlier , please entertain us some more.

Jimmytheginnit (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 24/07/2017 17:13:54    2022718

Replying To Jimmytheginnit:  "Well all , I've been following this thread with intrigue. I have to agree with SMG on this one that it's probably the most ridiculous post ever. Whoever this meath true lad is ihe is definitely taking the pee out of us all. To compare a Leinster final with a blitz is just the funniest thing ever , or to even suggest that it's harder to pick a team to win a blitz ( which I presume is fie practice and development purpose only ) than to win a leinster championship final is off the Richter scale with nonsense. Ah well whoever you are true your a funny man. As someone said earlier , please entertain us some more."
Thanks jimmytheginnit.......saves me responding to him. Basically exactly what I was gonna say. Priceless stuff altogether from himself

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 887 - 24/07/2017 19:02:25    2022772

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Thanks jimmytheginnit.......saves me responding to him. Basically exactly what I was gonna say. Priceless stuff altogether from himself"
I wasn't at any of the U 17 games but I hear they are a superb outfit playing a lovely brand of football. I will definitely be at the next one though. I hear there is a big Mc Bride lad who is only 16 but a real one to watch along with the number 6, 11 and 14 in particular but an all round well balanced team. Fair play to them is all I can say ,

Jimmytheginnit (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 24/07/2017 21:52:25    2022828

I'm new to this so I posted the last one before I finished but as I said FairPlay to them and I wish them the very best in the semi , but to have beaten Dublin twice is some achievement in all fairness, and Kildare also. Don't understand the nonsensical comments or why anyone has to negative towards young lads or the lads that are managing them. They must be doing something right

Jimmytheginnit (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 24/07/2017 21:58:30    2022832

Replying To Jimmytheginnit:  "I wasn't at any of the U 17 games but I hear they are a superb outfit playing a lovely brand of football. I will definitely be at the next one though. I hear there is a big Mc Bride lad who is only 16 but a real one to watch along with the number 6, 11 and 14 in particular but an all round well balanced team. Fair play to them is all I can say ,"
yeah all round a balanced team. seen them 3 times this year. if i had to pick some out they would be,mcbride(as you say still 16),reminds me of nash a bit so hope we keep him he also plays rugby i think. the full back dunne looks a talent,strong and quick. the number 6 byrne(from dunboyne as it dunne),walsh at 11 and morris at ff,oh and courtney at wing back too. the other corner forward costello is also still 16 and can play for the u17s in 2018. other good players too,but these guys are the standouts up to this point of their careers.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/07/2017 08:49:08    2022968

Replying To Jimmytheginnit:  "I'm new to this so I posted the last one before I finished but as I said FairPlay to them and I wish them the very best in the semi , but to have beaten Dublin twice is some achievement in all fairness, and Kildare also. Don't understand the nonsensical comments or why anyone has to negative towards young lads or the lads that are managing them. They must be doing something right"
there is another thread 'agendas',but if people are moaning and having a go at this group,be it management or whatever,then there is an agenda and it is not what is the best for meath football. personally that is all i care about.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/07/2017 08:51:10    2022970

Have the U17 semi final details been published yet? Haven't seen anything. I see U16 cup final against Monaghan is now fixed for Sun at 7pm with Dublin v Laois plate final on Sat at 7pm. Will McBride and Costello be released to U16s for there final? Would be a big help to them given both are eligible and how well they are playing.

MeathGAAHead (Meath) - Posts: 87 - 25/07/2017 17:38:34    2023381

Breffni Park on 12th Aug time tbc

u17s semi final

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/07/2017 18:41:12    2023411

Replying To MeathGAAHead:  "Have the U17 semi final details been published yet? Haven't seen anything. I see U16 cup final against Monaghan is now fixed for Sun at 7pm with Dublin v Laois plate final on Sat at 7pm. Will McBride and Costello be released to U16s for there final? Would be a big help to them given both are eligible and how well they are playing."
I hope they are released , haven't got to any of these games yet but I will definitely go to the G. Reilly final , I'd love to see these lads playing, hearing a lot about them , even if they start with the team that won the semi and bring them on if under pressure. It would be a lovely thing for these young lads to have both a leinster and Gerry Reilly medal in the same year. Maybe the 16s manager might want to stick with the lads that got them there but I'm sure he would also like to field his strongest 15 that are available on the day

Jimmytheginnit (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 25/07/2017 20:02:06    2023449

Replying To Jimmytheginnit:  "I hope they are released , haven't got to any of these games yet but I will definitely go to the G. Reilly final , I'd love to see these lads playing, hearing a lot about them , even if they start with the team that won the semi and bring them on if under pressure. It would be a lovely thing for these young lads to have both a leinster and Gerry Reilly medal in the same year. Maybe the 16s manager might want to stick with the lads that got them there but I'm sure he would also like to field his strongest 15 that are available on the day"
All Ireland semi final 13 days later I doubt very much they'll be released.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 25/07/2017 21:55:50    2023506