Meath U17s

great to win this u17 tournament and to do it beating kildare and dublin twice too! alot of outstanding players on this meath team.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/07/2017 20:05:35    2021082

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "What a game and what an atmosphere. As a young lad this is what I was told Meath Dublin finals are like. Unreal crowd, massive hits. McBride and Costello the two under 16's were brilliant, Sean Ryan did a brilliant job on Archer. Our first underage title since 08 it's a big deal. Tyrone now next Saturday. A quick turnaround but a big game"
any idea were the game will be?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/07/2017 20:23:19    2021107

Fantastic . absolutely brilliant.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2017 21:37:56    2021188

Replying To ziggy32001:  "any idea were the game will be?"
Not sure, Cavan seems the logical option

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1456 - 22/07/2017 22:01:45    2021217

I am actually getting disillusioned with some so called Meath support, ffs we have just won our first underage title in 9 years and our boards is all talk about Donegal and Galway, and bringing in Bernard Flynn ffs. Jesus Christ, let's enjoy this tremendous win, and bask in a little success, I would hate to be one of these kids tonight looking in to hs to see what plaudits they getting only to see Donegal and a long time ex player getting all the talk. You actually couldn't make this stuff up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2017 00:06:23    2021360

Replying To ziggy32001:  "any idea were the game will be?"
Don't think it is on for two weeks

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 23/07/2017 00:09:17    2021364

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Not sure, Cavan seems the logical option"
Yes I would have thought Cavan or Clones would be the choice

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 23/07/2017 08:31:45    2021433

Replying To Richieq:  "Yes I would have thought Cavan or Clones would be the choice"
A well Brilliant game and a well deserved victory today , the Dublin Tactics were to be defensive and close down the two main attacking threats that Meath would have had up to this point in the tournament . By double making Morris & Walsh . Fortunately that did not work as young Costello and in the second half Jordan Morris broke loose , and literally broke the Dublin resolve .
Setting this group of players up for a Semi final battle against Tyrone . A team that this group of players have experience of playing against , and beating . Well done once again to the Meath U17 team yesterday on building on their early potiental Evan at this stage they have proven themselves to be one of the best group of youth players that Meath have produced in a number of years .

Leinster U15 Academy Winners 2015 .
Gerry Reilly U16 Plate Winners 2016
Leinster U17 Special Winners 2017

An Mhi Abu .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 23/07/2017 09:55:25    2021477

Replying To royaldunne:  "I am actually getting disillusioned with some so called Meath support, ffs we have just won our first underage title in 9 years and our boards is all talk about Donegal and Galway, and bringing in Bernard Flynn ffs. Jesus Christ, let's enjoy this tremendous win, and bask in a little success, I would hate to be one of these kids tonight looking in to hs to see what plaudits they getting only to see Donegal and a long time ex player getting all the talk. You actually couldn't make this stuff up."
Why bring in Bernard Flynn. , what work has he done with Meath Dev squads to date . Cop on

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 23/07/2017 09:56:47    2021480

Replying To Meath_True:  "Why bring in Bernard Flynn. , what work has he done with Meath Dev squads to date . Cop on"
That was my point.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2017 10:25:43    2021511

Replying To Meath_True:  "A well Brilliant game and a well deserved victory today , the Dublin Tactics were to be defensive and close down the two main attacking threats that Meath would have had up to this point in the tournament . By double making Morris & Walsh . Fortunately that did not work as young Costello and in the second half Jordan Morris broke loose , and literally broke the Dublin resolve .
Setting this group of players up for a Semi final battle against Tyrone . A team that this group of players have experience of playing against , and beating . Well done once again to the Meath U17 team yesterday on building on their early potiental Evan at this stage they have proven themselves to be one of the best group of youth players that Meath have produced in a number of years .

Leinster U15 Academy Winners 2015 .
Gerry Reilly U16 Plate Winners 2016
Leinster U17 Special Winners 2017

An Mhi Abu ."
how are the u15's doing this year?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 10:51:18    2021534

Replying To ziggy32001:  "how are the u15's doing this year?"
I, d have thought you'd have the finger on the pulse there Ziggy , Conor O Donoughue from D/boyne is with them .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 23/07/2017 12:24:43    2021624

Replying To royaldunne:  "I am actually getting disillusioned with some so called Meath support, ffs we have just won our first underage title in 9 years and our boards is all talk about Donegal and Galway, and bringing in Bernard Flynn ffs. Jesus Christ, let's enjoy this tremendous win, and bask in a little success, I would hate to be one of these kids tonight looking in to hs to see what plaudits they getting only to see Donegal and a long time ex player getting all the talk. You actually couldn't make this stuff up."
we are delighted about the u 17 it's a first step but you don't live in the real world you see things true green glasses. this is meath 1999 since last all-Ireland 2001 since last final one leinster win in 2010 since 2001. no all- minor since 1992 no u21 all-Ireland since 1993, one leinster minor since 1993 and one u21 leinster since 1993 have not been in division one since2008 two back doors wins from 2012 to this year. another new manger in Andy and he thinks he can play Kildare man to man after giving away three goals against louth. nearly loses to sligo and ye on here are delighted we nearly bet a wonderful Donegal team. Andy brings Joe in at number two goalie and leaves paddy in goals who with mistakes gives away 3.5 scores a game. so yeah we should be all jumping up and down about the u17s

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/07/2017 12:43:28    2021638

Replying To Meath_True:  "I, d have thought you'd have the finger on the pulse there Ziggy , Conor O Donoughue from D/boyne is with them ."
not seen the u15's this year to be honest. only u16's and u'17s

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 13:18:21    2021666

Replying To meath1977:  "we are delighted about the u 17 it's a first step but you don't live in the real world you see things true green glasses. this is meath 1999 since last all-Ireland 2001 since last final one leinster win in 2010 since 2001. no all- minor since 1992 no u21 all-Ireland since 1993, one leinster minor since 1993 and one u21 leinster since 1993 have not been in division one since2008 two back doors wins from 2012 to this year. another new manger in Andy and he thinks he can play Kildare man to man after giving away three goals against louth. nearly loses to sligo and ye on here are delighted we nearly bet a wonderful Donegal team. Andy brings Joe in at number two goalie and leaves paddy in goals who with mistakes gives away 3.5 scores a game. so yeah we should be all jumping up and down about the u17s"
wrong thread for this debate..

in other new best of luck to the u16's later!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 13:19:28    2021668

Replying To ziggy32001:  "wrong thread for this debate..

in other new best of luck to the u16's later!"
is the Gerry Reilly final today ? Thought it was next week

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1456 - 23/07/2017 14:40:45    2021732

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "is the Gerry Reilly final today ? Thought it was next week"
Definitely next week

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 23/07/2017 14:52:18    2021738

Well done to the U17 players and management. Great game and display by the lads in green and a breakthrough at underage after a drought beating Dublin and Kildare along the way. Doesnt get much tougher than that in Leinster. According to Oldcastle website this years Meath U17s won the GR plate last year when Dublin lost out to Cavan in the cup final proper. Good progress made by this team in the last year but thats also two final losses for that Dubs side. Thought our U16s due to play this weekend but they are now playing in GR cup final Sun 30th. Good to have won yesterday and it would be great for Meath if the U16s can follow up with a Cup win too. Monaghan beat the Dubs to book their place.

MeathGAAHead (Meath) - Posts: 87 - 23/07/2017 15:01:02    2021747

Replying To MeathGAAHead:  "Well done to the U17 players and management. Great game and display by the lads in green and a breakthrough at underage after a drought beating Dublin and Kildare along the way. Doesnt get much tougher than that in Leinster. According to Oldcastle website this years Meath U17s won the GR plate last year when Dublin lost out to Cavan in the cup final proper. Good progress made by this team in the last year but thats also two final losses for that Dubs side. Thought our U16s due to play this weekend but they are now playing in GR cup final Sun 30th. Good to have won yesterday and it would be great for Meath if the U16s can follow up with a Cup win too. Monaghan beat the Dubs to book their place."
This years U17 squad , just like this years U16 squad have beaten Dublin on numerous occasions . It is only that there are no competitions to compete in , that reduced the relevance in other years . This is not a breakthrough , it is only a reflection on where the squad is with regards to Dublin.Neither squad fear Dublin . And this augurs well for the future especially at this age juncture .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 23/07/2017 15:16:07    2021763

Replying To Blackspot09:  "Definitely next week"
yes my mistake,thats good because i can go then!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/07/2017 15:43:23    2021782