Meath v Fermanagh

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yeah, that's what should happen, But will it ? taking into account how defensive Fermanagh will be, and how we struggle against team like that ,and the fact Fermanagh need to points to survive. I reckon it will tight enough a Meath win 3/4. Also we know what to expect from Fermanagh so should be surprised when hit hit us with everything."
fermanagh are not that defensive from what i have seen over the last number of years,also look at the scores against them so far in this campaign.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/03/2017 12:43:29    1970674

Replying To Htaem:  "Biggy is a good player, no doubt about it, he's a very strong runner and he can do a lot of damage when given the space. The problems begin when we run up against a good defence though, they can swallow him up and turn over possession, as regularly happens when we play better teams.

I'd just like to see him get his head up more often and look for the odd inside pass, of course this all depends on lads making good runs for him and being able to win their own ball. It would add more to his game and make him less predictable, but of course we'd still want him to have a go once the score is clearly on."
Agree with you there..and it will be interesting to see how things go on Sunday in regards to this, i imagine we will see a huge improvement....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 24/03/2017 16:09:15    1970745

Replying To ziggy32001:  "meath will win this sunday and probably do it pulling up."
At present we dont do pulling up, we have two methods stop and go, dosent seem to be any inbetween

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 24/03/2017 18:34:02    1970788

Replying To seadog54:  "At present we dont do pulling up, we have two methods stop and go, dosent seem to be any inbetween"
true that!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/03/2017 20:13:46    1970814

Team named, no changes, not overly surprised at that really

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/03/2017 09:12:58    1970878

So, no changes. I am a bit surprised to be honest especially considering the post match comments. I wonder would it be the same had we not pulled off the draw last weekend.

We can expect a reaction and this team should still win as it's in Navan. Not sure if we will win "pulling up" as the teams in this division are quite close in standard and any team on their day can beat one of the others which is not the case in division 1.

Hopefully there will be a good crowd as it's a must win to keep promotion hopes alive and get a bit of the old spirit back.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 25/03/2017 10:01:07    1970886

Replying To Richieq:  "Team named, no changes, not overly surprised at that really"
Yeah was expecting same team. I think only James McEntee was the one who may have made it in.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2017 10:30:17    1970889

As expected the same team which is a good idea. Midfield will not get better for us if we keep changing it. We also have a lot of guys on the bench to keep the starting 15 on their toes. Last home league game of the season - should be a good home support as usual. UP THE ROYAL

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 25/03/2017 10:57:46    1970896

I am surprised Brian Power made the starting 15 ( i wasn't at the Cork game ) just the clips I saw plus comments on here, and the fact we destroyed in that area. If Andy is giving seconds chances I would like Connor Downey on the bench I think he would make a excellent sub. Couldn't do much worst than some. Hope to weather stays good I am much happier when its dry I think it suits us. #joey wallace # Bryan McMahon.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 25/03/2017 11:38:41    1970905

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "So, no changes. I am a bit surprised to be honest especially considering the post match comments. I wonder would it be the same had we not pulled off the draw last weekend.

We can expect a reaction and this team should still win as it's in Navan. Not sure if we will win "pulling up" as the teams in this division are quite close in standard and any team on their day can beat one of the others which is not the case in division 1.

Hopefully there will be a good crowd as it's a must win to keep promotion hopes alive and get a bit of the old spirit back."
Yeah very surprising considering the giving out Andy was doing.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 25/03/2017 11:54:19    1970910

Lads handiest place to park if you're coming in from the Cavan side?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/03/2017 12:59:34    1970919

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I am surprised Brian Power made the starting 15 ( i wasn't at the Cork game ) just the clips I saw plus comments on here, and the fact we destroyed in that area. If Andy is giving seconds chances I would like Connor Downey on the bench I think he would make a excellent sub. Couldn't do much worst than some. Hope to weather stays good I am much happier when its dry I think it suits us. #joey wallace # Bryan McMahon."
Heard Downey was injured don't know if he's back yet.

Cmc100 (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 25/03/2017 13:37:10    1970927

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yeah very surprising considering the giving out Andy was doing."
I'm not surprised. As I said on the Cork thread, there is no point in throwing out an ultimatum to the players to change their attitude, if he then doesn't give them an opportunity to do exactly that. whatever happens from here, the players certainly can't say that they were not given warning, or that they weren't given ample opportunity to play the way he wants them to play.
Now if we see the same things against Fermanagh that mcEntee was so annoyed about the last day, then I think that there will be changes made for the last game of the league, and probably for the championship as well.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 25/03/2017 13:54:43    1970929

Replying To Cmc100:  "Heard Downey was injured don't know if he's back yet."
Oh I just presumed he was dropped, Hopefully he can make a return :)

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 25/03/2017 14:06:10    1970932

Replying To anfearbeag:  "I'm not surprised. As I said on the Cork thread, there is no point in throwing out an ultimatum to the players to change their attitude, if he then doesn't give them an opportunity to do exactly that. whatever happens from here, the players certainly can't say that they were not given warning, or that they weren't given ample opportunity to play the way he wants them to play.
Now if we see the same things against Fermanagh that mcEntee was so annoyed about the last day, then I think that there will be changes made for the last game of the league, and probably for the championship as well."
anfear beag.............Yes thats the point . His remarks were to the players that were playing on the day,and logically he is giving each one the chance to deliver. Andy has done his bit. The really critical bit is their response. Some players may not just have what is required at this level. Our options are limited also. However,this is it... measure up or you will be substituted anyway. For now ,because of where we are at for the last few years i define a win tomorrow as all players giving it everything for the full duration. Working as a team. Showing support to each man on a run.Forwards showing for the ball every time....same for kickouts. When possesion is lost, you win it back as a first option ,rather than complain to the ref,and stand with hands on hips. So maximum effort is a win. Impossible to know what match result will arise because its on the day ,and do not really know Fermanagh. Plus dont really know how our lads will respond to new situation of increased pressure. Those players that just have will relish the challenge. I expect a Meath win on the scoreboard also,

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1221 - 25/03/2017 14:58:43    1970943

Two ways to look at team selaction, he laid down the law and they get a last chance. However Andy did make a big point about current team waiting until they are in trouble before they react. Is he not just contradicting himself by doing the same thing?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 25/03/2017 15:27:41    1970948

Replying To gotmilk:  "Lads handiest place to park if you're coming in from the Cavan side?"
If you are not in a hurry to get out, the nearest location is in the Navan O'Mahony's ground-beside the main entrance to pitch. You would need about 10 minutes after match to get out, but you should have no problem getting on to the old Navan to Kells road. As the weather is good there should be a big crowd.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/03/2017 16:08:53    1970953

suppose the idea of going with the same side is to see the players who respond and the ones who may not.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/03/2017 16:30:35    1970960

Interesting to read peoples reactions to McEntee going with the same team again, especially since he was clearly so frustrated after the Cork game.

Personally I have no issue with him picking the same 15, we need to have a consistent selection to make any progress (obviously injuries can upset that). Now fair ebome lads may have to pull the socks up but maybe McEntee feels that if we can play for 50-60mins the way we did for 20mins against Cork then we can be a real danger.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/03/2017 16:51:44    1970964

Replying To gotmilk:  "Lads handiest place to park if you're coming in from the Cavan side?"
If you're coming down the M3 and take the Navan north exit in towards the town you can park on the N51 (which is the road into Navan) along the footpath over the bridge, or if you're a bit earlier you can park along the R161, which is closer to the pitch again. Both are less than a 10mins walk to the ground and it's much easier to get away than if you go into the car park.

The car park is fine in fairness though, you'll be waiting a bit to get out of it but it does move.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/03/2017 17:57:37    1970977