Meath v Louth

sam 1996

Yeah if Meath play the way they can they will win the game,but if they play the way they have played recently,well,Louth have a great chance...
They recently won in Derry and we where pathetic against Derry..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/03/2012 10:46:53    1138693

I agree meath have been bad and louth had a good result in derry we are still on the same number of points and have home advantage so we will win

sam1996 (Meath) - Posts: 436 - 28/03/2012 10:50:48    1138697

Paulocon

Alas there's a genuine Louth supporters around, who can post on a topic without the urge to throw in sly or derogatory remarks. And to top it all off, a very balanced and well made post as well.
Id agree with you about Tyrone being a class above anything in this division this year alright, they've won every game without ever being really troubled too much at all. I'll hold judgment on Kildare until after Galway as I don't think it's a foregone conclusion of a win in Salthill.
As for Meath and Louth. I think it's fair to say that Louth have has the more impressive campaign overall, even though both teams are on the same number of points. Louth have gotten 2 highly impressive results on the road v Galway and Derry. The only thing with the divisions is that so many teams have taken points off each other that it's hard to know how to judge a team you've played. Like Meath beat Monaghan comfortably, Monaghan beat Kildare comfortably, ye Kildare then beat Meath. Meath beat Westmeath very easily, Westmeath beat Galway, yet Galway then beat Meath. Monaghan beat Louth, Derry beat Monaghan, yet Louth went up to Derry and got a result. and there's more scenario's like that, but it just highlights the fact that you can only take a certain amount from the results.
What is worrying for Meath however is that no matter what the results have been in the last 2 games, the performance was very poor. That's a barometer that doesn't need to be measured up against what other teams are doing, that's something that is assessed week in and week out and normally should be moving in an upward spiral.
However, I'm not looking at it as negatively as a lot of others. We started the O'Byrne cup in decent form with wins over Louth and Wexford. Then in the semi final we were totally flat against DCU, very like the last 2 league games and of course the doom merchants were here to tell us that were are totally fecked and the management are doing things all wrong and so on.
Two weeks passed and the league starts and we have 2 good wins to start and lads are talking about promotion. Saying that if we tweak midfield then we are making really progress. We then had a 3 week break which didn't help momentum at all, much like Louths position, and when we came back we lost in agonising fashion to Kildare. I've no doubt that if the game was played 3 weeks earlier when we had the momentum, then we would have made it over the line in that game and would have a totally different outlook for the rest of the campaign. The following week was the same stor, level with injury time almost up and a defenders takes the wrong option in front of goal, then the opposition go down the pitch and win the game. 2 kicks of a ball away from being top of the table, but instead on 2 defeats. But to that point I wasn't too concerned, we were playing decent stuff and competing to the death in all games & games like the Galway one are ones that we would have totally folded in 12 months ago, so progress had been made to that point.
The last 2 games v Derry and Tyrone however have left people worried. The performances were very flat and lacked any fight or spirit, very like that DCU game in January.
But alot of people are going to extremes with the negative outlook on it. I don't think Meath are anywhere as bad as the last 2 games suggest, and hopefully the break will give them time to refocus and get back on track.
Last year we had plenty of lads telling us it was the worst Meath team they had ever seen before the final league game too, and they produced a very good performance to draw with Tyrone. This year I think the team is slightly better all round than at this point last year, so I expect them to rise up and get back to winning ways against Louth.
A lot of these guys who claim this is the worst they've see a Meath team perform obviously weren't in Clones v Fermanagh in 03, Brewster Park v Fermanagh in 04, Clones v Cavan in 05 or Laois in Navan in 06.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 28/03/2012 11:33:29    1138726

The last 2 games v Derry and Tyrone however have left people worried. The performances were very flat and lacked any fight or spirit, very like that DCU game in January.

Those are the type od performances Meath should never be producing when you have thousands of fans paying a lot of money into see them play. But I agree with your last point those losses to Fermanagh, Cavan and Laois were bad years to be a Meath supporter.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 28/03/2012 13:34:47    1138845

Keep it goin lads with the reverse psycology. Meath & louth games apart from last year are always in the melting pot. We got blown away last year by Meath and deserved every bit of it. Meath are a louths bogy team for definite. however Im not saying we have improved but are fowards are scoring freely and football is all about momentum and we have a lot of that going into this game. If we can plug the gaps at the back enough to keep your fowards to a few points i think our fowards can do the business. We were lucky to draw with derry but worked hard to get it so fair play, we should have beaten galway in salthill, Monaghan bet us well but we were winning by 2 when we had a man sent off it it went pear shaped, Tyrone & Kildare bet us by 4 and we stayed with both of them for 45/50 mins. Not all doom and gloom but it makes for an interesting easter sunday. Good luck to both teams but hopefully it will be red and white in McPhails in Drogheda on easter sunday night !!!

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 28/03/2012 16:56:25    1138969

Joej, Joej, Joej, for louth to be meath's bogey team louth would have to BEAT us at least once.

An_Oifigeach (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 28/03/2012 17:53:16    1139002

All I ask from this game is that Meath play well, because when Louth win I don't want to have to listen too how badly Meath were, all time low, no game plan etc etc.
Meath playing well should put a stop to the excuses, however if they don't play well it'll be because they weren't allowed too by Louth.

No whinging or crying about how bad the current manager and or players are will wash with me.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 28/03/2012 18:31:35    1139015

An_Oifigeach, He said Meath are Louth's bogey team, not the other way around.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 28/03/2012 18:49:26    1139027

I think Louth will beat Meath by at least a couple of points I hate to admit it but I don't see how we can over come Louth unless we make drastic changes to the Midfield and Foward line and we might be able to change to change the foward line around abite but we will not be able change midfield because we do not have the players to do so and our managment seem reclumant to make to many changes as evidence of this can be found in the teams they have picked up till now, and the realistic matter of situation is that Meath at the monment are only a division 3 standard team and thats were i think we will playing next year and its whats we desevre as the powers that have neglected Meath football at school and underage level football for the last number of years and Meath football is at very low level at the minute and showing no sign of improving any time soon and until we start producing some good competitve underage teams especially at Minor and U21 level Meath are going remain a divison 3 standard team.

ThickandTin (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 28/03/2012 19:15:15    1139043

28/03/2012 18:31:35

squidword
County: Louth

All I ask from this game is that Meath play well, because when Louth win I don't want to have to listen too how badly Meath were, all time low, no game plan etc etc.
Meath playing well should put a stop to the excuses, however if they don't play well it'll be because they weren't allowed too by Louth.

No whinging or crying about how bad the current manager and or players are will wash with me.

And what if meath win and louth loose? Will it be louth were safe in div therefore they didn't play? What excuse wiLl you come up with?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/03/2012 20:00:20    1139059

Honestly despite our poor form in the last 2 games I think the lads will be well up for this one. Banty will most likely let go of the reins and let the lads play the game as they want which will probably free up our forwards to play in their normal positions. The back line hasn't been much of a problem this year apart from the mauling by Tyrone but then again if your middle third is getting nothing there's not a whole lot the backs can do.. if we can win 50:50 of the breaks I think we'll have that bit more quality than Louth. I think if Louth had caught Meath in the midst of the league campaign instead of at the end, they would probably have had a better chance but now since its a do or die game right at the end.. I'd have to say Meath especially since its in Navan.

I really am expecting a backlash from Meath in this one because if they can't motivate themselves to retain their division 2 status, especially against Louth.. then we've got a serious problem.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 28/03/2012 20:22:58    1139077

a loss for meath will probably not relegate them,because monaghan will to beat or draw tyrone and likewise westmeath will have to win ior draw against derry. a loss for will relegate them regardless of what happens elsewhere. a draw could save Louth however depending on results elsewhere.
meath are in the driving seat really, they don't need a result unlike louth and westmeath. monaghan are in the most precarious position of all because defeat is almost inevitable against tyrone with damage limitation for them their biggest concern i would say. derry are in an pretty awkward situation also because defeat for them against what will probably be westmeaths strongest team to date could well relegate them. if i had to pick a team the least likely to get relegated it would be meath, not because they are better than the others but because they need a number of resluts to go against them to be relegated.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 28/03/2012 21:18:55    1139130

All the best to Louth and Meath on there big game coming up. Meath should win handy 6 out of the 10 best forwards in Ireland sure how could they not?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/03/2012 21:34:55    1139143

I agree with Gammy Knee, Meath are very unlikely to be relegated even if they lose, they'd need a host of other results to go against them to get relegated. They have a much better score difference than Monaghan and Westmeath, and have beaten both of them. Both those teams arent likely to beat Tyrone and Derry, so Meath are fairly safe, they have more points now than they did after 7 games last year and they survived that time

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 28/03/2012 21:39:17    1139148

do one or two teams get relegated?

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 28/03/2012 21:50:18    1139159

Two go down Betty.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 28/03/2012 21:55:34    1139165

So if Meath lose and finish on the same points total as Monaghan and Westmeath do Meath stay up because we beat both of those or does it go to score difference because there is more than two teams tied on points.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 29/03/2012 12:37:46    1139333

Word is GG is gone

drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 29/03/2012 12:40:54    1139337

Wow if true, that not good for moral, eh? Or is there something we don't know?

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 29/03/2012 12:49:31    1139350

royalpainter

1139350 Wow if true, that not good for moral, eh? Or is there something we don't know?

Judging by many posters on here, him being there was not good for morale. now IF hes gone its not good for morale? Sometimes ya just cant win

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 29/03/2012 13:17:26    1139378