Meath v Donegal

Replying To pauk123:  "This will be a decent test to see if we've gone anywhere under Andy. All evidence so far point to no but let's hope there's a big performance in the team."
Physically and mentally Andy has gotten us where no manager has been able to get us over the years, since Sean Boylan actually. So to say that we have gotten no where is untrue. The lads are looking more in shape now than they have been. Their attitudes have changed (for the better)We are well capable of beating Donegal, its time to put mind over matter to get the job done. There will be no negotiating with this game on Saturday we are just going to have to go hell for leather out there, defend and tackle the **** out of Donegal.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 15:41:09    2009726

I believe we are more than capable of winning this game, no doubt about it, its a case of how much the lads want it. Graham keeps saying that when they play well they will beat any team in the country. I hope this is what he is preaching to his squad. Lack of believe and confidence is going to kill this team. Would love to get in a boot everyone of them up the a@se!!!!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 15:48:43    2009731

We're a very "lighter" team than we've had in the past few years. On Saturday for example we'll most likely have the two McHughs, O'Reilly, Ban Gallagher, and possibly Brennan. We used to have lads like McLoone, MacNiallais, Toye, Ryan Bradley and McFadden to call on.
If the game turns into a physical arm-wrestle type match at the weekend I fear we could be found wanting.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 03/07/2017 15:53:08    2009736

Replying To Lockjaw:  "We're a very "lighter" team than we've had in the past few years. On Saturday for example we'll most likely have the two McHughs, O'Reilly, Ban Gallagher, and possibly Brennan. We used to have lads like McLoone, MacNiallais, Toye, Ryan Bradley and McFadden to call on.
If the game turns into a physical arm-wrestle type match at the weekend I fear we could be found wanting."
We're not exactly the most physical of teams either to be honest.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 03/07/2017 16:08:02    2009755

Replying To Lockjaw:  "We're a very "lighter" team than we've had in the past few years. On Saturday for example we'll most likely have the two McHughs, O'Reilly, Ban Gallagher, and possibly Brennan. We used to have lads like McLoone, MacNiallais, Toye, Ryan Bradley and McFadden to call on.
If the game turns into a physical arm-wrestle type match at the weekend I fear we could be found wanting."
Meath in much the same position, it was very noticable in Kildare game. Our overall fitness has improved but still a bit behind in conditioning. Expect a dour struggle with little in it at end.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 03/07/2017 16:14:39    2009759

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Physically and mentally Andy has gotten us where no manager has been able to get us over the years, since Sean Boylan actually. So to say that we have gotten no where is untrue. The lads are looking more in shape now than they have been. Their attitudes have changed (for the better)We are well capable of beating Donegal, its time to put mind over matter to get the job done. There will be no negotiating with this game on Saturday we are just going to have to go hell for leather out there, defend and tackle the **** out of Donegal."
Didn't we get to an All Ireland semi under EOB? I don't see any improvement personally.
Probably an argument for the end of the season (hopefully around the 3rd week in September!)

Donegal will be a major test in Navan we should be able to give them a decent game. If we get a chance to run at them and get some frees for Newman to send over we've got a shot. I wouldn't say they are a spent force by any means but they're down a level or two from a couple of years ago.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 03/07/2017 16:14:52    2009760

If we play one forward up front and the rest behind the ball progress is what this is????.blame young lenihan for not showing scream at other lads for making mistakes.give me a bucket its a sham full stop.its not in our DNA look at down Derry that's wot we are about put it up to them.players emulate there manager or are suppose to fear is all over this team.its plain to b seen.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 03/07/2017 16:26:11    2009775

If you trawled the forum of every county on this web site you would not find any county that is as negative towards their players and management as Meath "supporters" are. Anybody that knows anything about football in Meath would know that Andy McEntee has the best players in the county on the panel and they have put in serious work and commitment since last October. it is not his fault or the players fault that the talent is not in the county. The reason for this is badly run competitions at both juvenile and adult level which means that the drop out rate of players from minor onwards is alarming.
I would also prefer if a lot of the Meath "supporters" who come to the matches and criticise the players from the minute the ball is thrown in would stay away. Paying a few euro at the gate does not entitle a person to insult these lads who have made real sacrifices for the county jersey.

I wish the lads the very best of luck on Saturday. Play with spirit and confidence and f**k the begrudgers.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 03/07/2017 16:27:03    2009777

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Well is right, after listening to Graham Reilly yesterday they know their mistakes and what they need to work on and with a quick turn around for this game I'm hopfeul...."
Any link to graham comment?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 16:28:12    2009779

Replying To Richieq:  "Oh I am going to enjoy this week......we have a chance here boys, home venue is a big thing here but don't expect it to be pretty, might make last Saturday look like a classic"
As soon as I heard draw, I thought of you Richie, a fun week ahead for you me old friend :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 16:29:46    2009782

Replying To Jinxie:  "MEATH ARE GONE SOFT."
Oh yes, post that up in dressing room, and see how soft we are.
Come onthe royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 16:31:55    2009785

Replying To Htaem:  "Jaysus that's a terrible time for travelling Donegal supporters Lockjaw, you'd think 3 or 4pm would be a lot more reasonable.

As for the game itself, neither team appears to be firing but the experience of playing in a higher division could well stand to Donegal. Big improvements needed from both teams though if they want to make the last 8 and put up a decent showing."
Aye we'd need to be away at 2 at the latest I'd say. Then, depending on how the games goes (who knows, extra time might be needed) it could be 8 or 8.30 before we get away from Navan. A long aul day of it. If the game was fixed for 3 it wouldn't be too bad.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 03/07/2017 16:32:31    2009788

Replying To pauk123:  "Didn't we get to an All Ireland semi under EOB? I don't see any improvement personally.
Probably an argument for the end of the season (hopefully around the 3rd week in September!)

Donegal will be a major test in Navan we should be able to give them a decent game. If we get a chance to run at them and get some frees for Newman to send over we've got a shot. I wouldn't say they are a spent force by any means but they're down a level or two from a couple of years ago."
I think EOB had a better team back then though. Andy has this team to the peak fitness wise. We have been simply awful the last 5 years in the second half of matches players were burnt out of it by the 40th minute in so many games. We should push Donegal to the end this is already an improvement from the last 5 years as we finally won a backdoor game. if this was last year Sligo would have had us no doubt about that. We have had bad losses to Laois , Armagh and Derry in the last few years and I would rate Sligo similar to these teams

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 03/07/2017 16:33:16    2009789

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "
Replying To TobinsBeard:  "[quote=Administrator:  "This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

bert09
Meath

03/07/2017
09:06

Meath v Donegal

Right lads and lassies...let's quit the whining and get out in force in Navan to support the lads. Expect another slug fest--the home crowd will be the 16th man.

I believe we can win this."
Judging by the negativity oozing from the terrace In PT the last day. The crowd might be the 16th man for Donegal. I thought the whole idea of being a "supporter" was to get behind the team. Two geniuses behind us spent the entire first half criticising the players. Calling for them various players to be taken off. (By the end of the first half they had called for most of the team to be substituted). Shouting abuse. Constantly criticising Graham Reilly. It was so bad we had to move. They weren't alone, I thought the crowd were very quick to get on players backs... if people are that negative about the team why don't they just go do something else with their Saturday afternoon."
I was in the stand and the crowd were a bit muted but certainly not negative. I think there was a frustration in how the team were playing but it didnt manifest itself in abuse in my area anyway.

Last time Donegal played us in Navan Michael Murphy gave an exhibition."]I was in stand too and no abuse, only from a steward at halftime wanting menton , lenehane and biggy dropped and Andy to be fired even if we won on Saturday night.
Gabe me a giggle though. :)
But yes if you going to criticism of players dont go to games, unlike some who stroll into pt from home i drive 50 km to see a home game , I was in Derry last year and as much as I had no time for mod remaining it was not right the abuse he was getting from across pitch from me, a quite its just not working out for you mick, good luck and thanks. Would have been enough. I travel lots looking at cilles this year and great atmosphere at games.
We need to be16 man, lets make pt the most inhospitable place to be for a Donegal player, but also very enjoyable for their supporters
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 16:45:25    2009805

Replying To pauk123:  "Didn't we get to an All Ireland semi under EOB? I don't see any improvement personally.

Donegal will be a major test in Navan we should be able to give them a decent game. If we get a chance to run at them and get some frees for Newman to send over we've got a shot. I wouldn't say they are a spent force by any means but they're down a level or two from a couple of years ago."
Im only talking about the physicality of the lads. We weren't in that great of shape back in EOB days im just saying that they have the potential to do it and they are alot stronger so hopefully they can combine everything together and win this game. Im hoping on this form this day next week we will all be happy campers. Newman back please God hes fit enough for 70mins. If they lose the pattern on themselves early on i cant see them coming back from it.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 16:48:20    2009807

Replying To Jinxie:  "MEATH ARE GONE SOFT."
No such thing Jinxie as a soft Meath man #angryface

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 16:49:52    2009809

Replying To TobinsBeard:  "
Replying To Administrator:  "This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

bert09
Meath

03/07/2017
09:06

Meath v Donegal

Right lads and lassies...let's quit the whining and get out in force in Navan to support the lads. Expect another slug fest--the home crowd will be the 16th man.

I believe we can win this."
Judging by the negativity oozing from the terrace In PT the last day. The crowd might be the 16th man for Donegal. I thought the whole idea of being a "supporter" was to get behind the team. Two geniuses behind us spent the entire first half criticising the players. Calling for them various players to be taken off. (By the end of the first half they had called for most of the team to be substituted). Shouting abuse. Constantly criticising Graham Reilly. It was so bad we had to move. They weren't alone, I thought the crowd were very quick to get on players backs... if people are that negative about the team why don't they just go do something else with their Saturday afternoon."
100% agree with you, if you cant support your home team you don't belong in PT or any other GAA ground acting as a supporter.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 16:51:30    2009812

Replying To royaldunne:  "Any link to graham comment?"
Will get it when i get home and post up.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 16:58:10    2009818

Anyway game itself.
Last Saturday will look like a beautiful game compared to this, if Donegal came out and went for it, I be more Tha hopeful we would win in a shoot out man on man game , we more use to playing like that and I think O'Sullivan biggie lenehane possibly newman would have a field day , keoghan keeping mcbrearty quote .
However in a blanket defensive set up we have to mirror it (that's what happened v Sligo) we don't do it as well as most counties, and tend to struggle particularly against ulster teams.
However we have lads that can kick ball from distance over bar. Meath 12 Donegal 11. A great win but terrible game. I don't care if we win playing badly and ugly once we win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/07/2017 17:00:18    2009820

Replying To royaldunne:  "Any link to graham comment?"
https://twitter.com/LMFMRADIO/status/881553329821806597

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/07/2017 17:01:01    2009821