Meath v Sligo

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Best wishes tonight in Navan lads. Hopefully royaldunne's journey back to Westmeath will be a short one!"
Cheers me old friend, stuck in omahoneys car park at moment and a bit in two minds as to what I just saw. Need time to.process it properly. Lolz.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2017 19:59:29    2008485

Mickey Newman should start the next day out, he looked good when he came in.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1333 - 01/07/2017 20:02:33    2008487

All that matters is the result. Meath are capable of so much more.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 01/07/2017 20:07:12    2008491

Oh my nerves are just about settling down after that game. First of all well done to the lads for grinding out a hard fought win. Sligo pushed us all the way and almost forced extra-time in the closing stages. Newman did well when he came on and has to start the day day. We're going to be right up against it the next day and Clare, Mayo and Donegal will all want us in the draw but that's the way we want it. Roll on the draw Monday morning, it's great to be still in there.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 01/07/2017 20:07:49    2008493

Disappointed with the result but well done to Meath. Surprised that a lot of Meath supporters here didn't give Sligo a chance beforehand. There was never going to be much in it. Hope ye got a bit of a fright anyway.

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 01/07/2017 20:08:04    2008494

Really poor standard of football. We made error after error and whilst I understand that the players are doing their best I don't think we make it past the next round.
Free taking was abysmal and you can't miss frees at this level. Before Newman came on there was too much pressure on the free taker and guys really should have shown for the short ball to give him an option.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 01/07/2017 20:19:16    2008499

Replying To letsgosligo:  "Disappointed with the result but well done to Meath. Surprised that a lot of Meath supporters here didn't give Sligo a chance beforehand. There was never going to be much in it. Hope ye got a bit of a fright anyway."
Cheers letsgosligo and hard luck to Sligo, could easily had won it, personally I was surprised myself with the confidence in here. Now I'm not criticizing lads for having faith in the team, but after the consession of 3-9 v Louth and the hammering by Kildare I couldn't see us running over Sligo.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/07/2017 20:22:17    2008502

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Mickey Newman should start the next day out, he looked good when he came in."
Can't believe its taken this long to have him play

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 01/07/2017 20:22:34    2008503

Well done to the lads for finishing the game strongly, all round the manager won't be pleased with the lacklusture performance but we're still in there, that's the main thing.

As for the draw, it makes absolutely no difference who we get, if we play like that again then it's curtains, no question about it. We have a mountain of work to do before the next day out, but let's do our bit and behind the team!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/07/2017 20:26:28    2008505

By the sounds of it, a less than convincing win, but a win nonetheless. Think this is as far as we'll go this year sadly, but I hope they'll prove me wrong.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 01/07/2017 20:28:44    2008506

That was far too close for comfort. Sligo kicked a fair few wides in that second half or it could have gone either way. I know Meath kicked a few as well. The team's confidence has taken a big hit from the Kildare game. But there was a serious lack of hunger for large spells of that game. Good job Sean Tobin and Mickey Newman could tale those late scores when others were wasting good chances, with a strong enough breeze behind them. Jones was the pick of the bunch early on till he picked up a knock and had to go off. Biggy only plays when it suits him (fits and starts), not good enough for a captain. COS was very poor apart from a nicely taken point. Why did they play a counter attacking game in the second half, with so many players behind the ball ... allowing Sligo far too much possession and inviting them on to them ... instead of taking the initiative, controlling possession and dictating play. I thought Conlon did well second half and is worthy of a starting position.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 01/07/2017 20:41:18    2008515

ya it was a nervy display,but look we won it and we are through. but look mayo and donegal struggled today too. thought conlon did well when he came on,also newman did well too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2017 20:43:21    2008518

Firstly a wins a win so well done for that ! Team pulled it out when needed so fair play.We will have to improve big time to progress any further and hopefully that will happen ! I was critical of Graham Reilly but without him we wouldn't have won that game ! He showed leadership when needed ! Now for the negatives firstly Paddy O'Rourke is an accident waiting to happen ! Such a defensive set up 15 players in our own half at times ,little or no gameplan still ! Too many passengers ! Sean Tobin should is not good enough in my opinion! O'Sullivan making wrong decisions ! Sligo were beyond terrible that should have been an easy victory .

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 01/07/2017 20:44:03    2008519

People now understand why Newman is needed big time ,

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 01/07/2017 20:45:22    2008520

Well it was as ugly a meath performance as I've ever seen but we got the win in the end which is all that matters. Important for this team to be able to grind out a result in game like that.

Burke for me was man of the match never put a foot wrong led by example the whole way through. Conlon was very impressive and has to start next week. Newman also very good brought a bit of composure to the team at time it was needed. In fairness to biggy who takes a lot of stick. He really stood up today when we needed him. Ronan Jones was a huge loss he started the game brilliantly winning the ball in midfield and kicking a great point.

Major improvement needed next week but have a feeling we have one big performance in us. Roll on next week hopefully another home game. Hon The Royals

royalfollower (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 01/07/2017 20:45:55    2008521

Big plus newman played well has to start mickey burke played well so did menton james toher was poor o sullivan the same biggy got better as game went on mcgill keoghan wer good but it was very poor bad passing simple stuff i know we won but the effort thats been put in by the panel you wonder what they wer at .2 sweeper s back covering the full backs 13 players back which worked will enough but going forward we wer a mess players tried alot harder but thivs team needs game to bring them on play like that against a better team and our summer will be over but 1 or 2 more games will bring us on but on today we are miles off the top

matthematx (Meath) - Posts: 177 - 01/07/2017 20:49:11    2008524

Team for next day

1.Paddy O'Rourke
2.Keoghan
3.McGill
4.Power
5.Harnan
6.Conlan
7.Tobin
8.Menton
9.Jones if fit or Toher
10.James McEntee
11.O'Sullivan
12.Reilly
13.O'Coilean
14.Newman
15.Lenihan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 01/07/2017 20:50:05    2008525

Can't remember the last time I was so disappointed after a win. I'm not sure what it is about us, are we moving the ball too slowly?

Thought biggy had one of his better games for Meath today, won a few free's and scored one or two if I remember correctly still a lot more in him though. This would have been the type of game Conlon should have started, looked good when he came on but didn't have too much to do defensively. Hard to pick our best player today, I would probably give it to Menton, has improved a lot since the league and fair play to him.

A lot of disappointing performances though but at least our terrible record in the qualifiers comes to an end. I look forward to hearing Andy's comments after the game.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 01/07/2017 20:53:22    2008530

Lads I'm having a much needed stiff drink after that, Christ on a bike but that was too close for comfort with some terribly frustrating play at times. Thank God for Mickey Burke who I thought had a stormer today, good grit shown at the end but it was an ugly win, anyway back to my pint to sooth my strained throat

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/07/2017 21:01:56    2008543

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Team for next day

1.Paddy O'Rourke
2.Keoghan
3.McGill
4.Power
5.Harnan
6.Conlan
7.Tobin
8.Menton
9.Jones if fit or Toher
10.James McEntee
11.O'Sullivan
12.Reilly
13.O'Coilean
14.Newman
15.Lenihan"
What did mickey burke do wrong to be dropped?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 01/07/2017 21:07:21    2008545