Meath v Kildare Semi-final

Replying To TobinsBeard:  "There was an element of being outclassed pure and simple by the better team. But I think on another day our lads could have done much better. Kildare were wide open at times, and we just didn't seem to have the confidence to go at them. I did feel we were a wee bit over-hyped by the media coming into this match, but on the flip side.. we are a much better side than we showed today. We played within ourselves. Graham Reilly typified that sort of performance. He Just didn't show up. As for Kildare, I was hugely impressed by Feely today. They totally bossed us in midfield, even when we won possession , more often than not it was scrappy and we lost it soon after. When Kildare won it, they had the time and the space to set up attack after attack., credit goes to Feely in particular for that. Until we get a similar type of player to compete with the best midfielders on a regular basis we will always struggle. Its an old failing, lets face it. the last top class midfielder we had was McDermott."
We are very unfortunate in the last 10 years with some of the midfield players not available to us. Prior to being injured Gillespie looked very good. Rooney not being available is a huge loss this year. Going back further O'Rourke is another big man who could have done good things but injury destroyed his playing career. We have pace in team but not enough strength.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/06/2017 14:36:00    2001113

Replying To royaldunne:  "I see a few of the usual suspects trying to put the boot into graham Reilly, classy.
He was marked out of game. Simple. He came up against his match. No shame in that. Kept going. Eamonn Wallace is not inter county standard, McMahon didn't look interested
I could pick 12 Meath players who didn't or weren't allowed to play today. Graham among them, keoghan had a bad game as did jones , lenihan wasn't at all as good as he has shown, Tobin and Burke were cleaned out in backs , best player was menton. O'Sullivan did plenty of running with the ball, his finish was shocking and gave ball away more often than not,
Relax the heads. Andy is a fantastic manager, the lads didn't perform today, btw we can't draw mayo, Tyrone or Donegal so please less of the we gone after next game. Regroup, refocus. And above all keep supporting.
Hon the Royal."
Burke did not get cleaned, it was Kildare's inside forwards that cleaned out Meath's defenders, especially Tobin.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 18/06/2017 14:39:28    2001118

You can't start GR the next day. You just can't. No way. If McEntee is a serious manager he'll leave him out. There's no way his performance last night can be justified by anyone.
Centre forward has to be O'Sullivan.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 18/06/2017 14:45:10    2001127

Sorry Royaldunne, Graham Reilly wasn't marked out of the match. He never bothered going for a single ball all game, never broke into a sprint, literally never broke into a sprint. His man didn't "mark him out of the match", he just stood next to him on the 45 for the whole game.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 18/06/2017 15:04:14    2001135

Replying To icehonesty:  "You can't start GR the next day. You just can't. No way. If McEntee is a serious manager he'll leave him out. There's no way his performance last night can be justified by anyone.
Centre forward has to be O'Sullivan."
Icehonesty. Think that's a bit harsh. Graham played a captains part against Louth.Admittedly a poor team as proven yesterday .I was very disappointed when he went missing AGAIN yesterday.Andy took him off and rightly so. I think Andy may review his decision to make him captain.Personally I would play him without the captaincy maybe. The suggestion that he was closely marked is not an acceptable excuse but a tribute to the Kildare manager. Bottom line is hard to accept we need 7 or 8 players.Where are they ? All substitution s yesterday were correct. Players we need have to have the usual ball skills AND mental skills like awareness.speed and presence of mind etc.Players who have COP ON when needed as defined by Kevin Heffernan. He said without than ingredient you were surplus to requirements

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 18/06/2017 15:20:34    2001139

Bryan Menton was outstanding. Got through the work of about 4 men in the middle third. O'Coileáin was good when he came on. Thought Burke was actually okay and Lenihan kicked a few nice scores. That's about it.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 18/06/2017 15:28:54    2001149

Replying To nobull456:  "Icehonesty. Think that's a bit harsh. Graham played a captains part against Louth.Admittedly a poor team as proven yesterday .I was very disappointed when he went missing AGAIN yesterday.Andy took him off and rightly so. I think Andy may review his decision to make him captain.Personally I would play him without the captaincy maybe. The suggestion that he was closely marked is not an acceptable excuse but a tribute to the Kildare manager. Bottom line is hard to accept we need 7 or 8 players.Where are they ? All substitution s yesterday were correct. Players we need have to have the usual ball skills AND mental skills like awareness.speed and presence of mind etc.Players who have COP ON when needed as defined by Kevin Heffernan. He said without than ingredient you were surplus to requirements"
Graham Reilly injured his back during week. Or so I have been told, that would explain his lack of effort yesterday.
Btw he has been the outstanding player during league and championship up to yesterday and after one bad game you want to take captaincy off him? What the f is wrong with some fickle Meath supporters.
Christ grow up will yous

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2017 15:41:26    2001162

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham Reilly injured his back during week. Or so I have been told, that would explain his lack of effort yesterday.
Btw he has been the outstanding player during league and championship up to yesterday and after one bad game you want to take captaincy off him? What the f is wrong with some fickle Meath supporters.
Christ grow up will yous"
First it was he was marked out of the game but now you have changed your mind and have rightfully acknowledged he was poor but the reason he was because he was injured.

It keeps getting better.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 18/06/2017 15:56:42    2001173

If he had a bad back, maybe he shouldn't have played? All I'm saying is, for whatever reason, the man never broke into a sprint for the duration he was on the field. Not once did he go on a hard run either for the ball or to chase his man. I'm not doubting he was good before, I was in Parnell a few weeks ago and he was unstoppable. But yesterday he never went for a single ball.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 18/06/2017 15:57:00    2001174

Replying To royaldunne:  "Graham Reilly injured his back during week. Or so I have been told, that would explain his lack of effort yesterday.
So first he was marked out of it and now he had a bad back? He was awful like most of the players yesterday. No way should he be dropped given that the next game he will be more able to show his talents against lesser opposition but it should be made clear to him that he simply cannot continue to go missing in big games, especially now that he's leading the team.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 18/06/2017 16:14:55    2001183

Having talked to one of the backroom staff this morning I can confirm that Graham had no injury whatsoever and he was substituted due to his below par showing. However, in fairness he was one of a number of players to have played well below his best.
All eyes on the Qualifier draw in the morning

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 18/06/2017 16:18:02    2001186

Reply to royalduune....some fickle supporters don't have blind loyalty. Its not the first time Graham went missing when needed. Good captains don't do that they rally the troops and lead. Thankfully Andy seems to not possess blind loyalty .He took off his son against Louth and the captain yesterday.That is leading by example. I will not be surprised if Andy changes the captain who was NOT injured. E xcuses excuses.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 18/06/2017 16:21:15    2001189

He was doing ok in the warm up, including sprints and tackling. Certainly wasn't being minded before the game.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 18/06/2017 16:26:16    2001194

Replying To nobull456:  "Reply to royalduune....some fickle supporters don't have blind loyalty. Its not the first time Graham went missing when needed. Good captains don't do that they rally the troops and lead. Thankfully Andy seems to not possess blind loyalty .He took off his son against Louth and the captain yesterday.That is leading by example. I will not be surprised if Andy changes the captain who was NOT injured. E xcuses excuses."
Reilly needs space to be his most effective. I see him as a Jody Devine type player, in absolutely no way is this a bad thing Jody was a fantastic player. When others are tiring he would be lethal coming off the bench. Unfortunately we don't have that luxury and he's one of our best forwards. Against the best teams he doesn't have the space so he tends to be marked out of it/anonymous/have a phantom injury! what ever way you what to explain it.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 18/06/2017 16:36:56    2001200

Replying To icehonesty:  "You can't start GR the next day. You just can't. No way. If McEntee is a serious manager he'll leave him out. There's no way his performance last night can be justified by anyone.
Centre forward has to be O'Sullivan."
sorry had you a drink to come out with that statement

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 18/06/2017 17:34:30    2001227

Lads, its not that he played badly or was marked out of it.

He simply never ran for a ball.

There's a big difference. Anyone can play badly. Anyone can be tightly marked out of a game. But to not bother?

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 18/06/2017 18:28:18    2001269

Replying To meath1977:  "sorry had you a drink to come out with that statement"
Id say its more than A drink. Yes lets leave off the only player with a Leinster medal, the player who was best Meath player in league (including v Kildare) who scored 14 from play in two games, who destroyed lee Keegan in club final (something Connolly has never done)
Oh and our captain.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2017 18:39:32    2001275

Reilly had a bad game​ but so did 90% of the team so it'd be unfair to solely focus on him.

Our biggest problem was primary possession anyway. We were living off scraps and Kildare looked likely to score with every attack such was the quality of our defending but it's even more difficult when we're on the back foot for the majority of the game.

Collectively the defending was sub par to put it mildly. Donnacha Tobin is not a corner back and I don't care what anyone says. It was novice stuff the way he let his man round him for the goal. We allowed Kildare to penetrate us very easily and even our counter attacks were dreadful. Lenihan got isolated and was Bryan McMahon even playing yesterday? I don't remember seeing him at all.

I could focus on more things but the bottom line is Kildare looked a level above. There's no shame in being beaten by a superior team. We couldn't get to grips with them and they totally dominated every area of the field. At least we know where we're at but McEntee can't be judged on this year. He needs time to mould a proper team so we need to be patient.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/06/2017 18:54:00    2001287

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id say its more than A drink. Yes lets leave off the only player with a Leinster medal, the player who was best Meath player in league (including v Kildare) who scored 14 from play in two games, who destroyed lee Keegan in club final (something Connolly has never done)
Oh and our captain."
Oh god you're not trying to say Reilly is a better player than Connolly now are you?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/06/2017 19:08:26    2001299

Replying To royaldunne:  "Id say its more than A drink. Yes lets leave off the only player with a Leinster medal, the player who was best Meath player in league (including v Kildare) who scored 14 from play in two games, who destroyed lee Keegan in club final (something Connolly has never done)
Oh and our captain."
Destroyed probably the best man marker in the game but couldn't deal with Kildares man marking :D

Only scored 2 from play in that game as well.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 18/06/2017 19:16:19    2001304