Meath v Louth

I agree with Westmeath there. Same with Louth. If Louth had have lost to-day they'd be calling for Fitzers head.

Weesupporter (Louth) - Posts: 131 - 08/04/2012 21:05:06    1146621

half backline a disaster today..what possessed banty to keep 5. mc anarney add to that burke not striking the ball and subsequent.4 frees from collins, we got what we deserved 2nd half..louth players falling down injured,gallagher taking forever with long kickouts, meath inherited a second half that could not b described as 'football'. one old timer said if it causes change in meath, it will have been worth it. well done young 13. derek maguire, great loint taking after initial 2 wides (finding his range). i actually fear wicklow round1 SFC now. where ks the team dat put 5 past cluxton 2 years.ago, and 4past louth? banty has to go for nkt changing mcanarney first half.

RoyalSt.Pat (Meath) - Posts: 333 - 08/04/2012 21:40:36    1146680

New managers generally bring one or more of the fllowing
1. Discover new players (be they in the county or bring them through from minor)
2. Add passion
3. Devise a successful game plan based on the players available
4. Add a heightened level of fitness

Seamus McEnaney has brought none of the above. I'm sorry but there is no basis to continue wasting money on the alleged expenses he his taking for training the meath senior team.

1. Are you telling me that Banty has not brought in any new players? How about Tom Walsh, Paddy Gilsenan, Ciaran Lenihan, Donnacha Tobin, Alan Forde, Daragh Smyth, Donal Keoghan, Damian Carroll, Mark Collins, Ciaran McConnell.
2. I saw passion in the first three League games, and in the second Kildare game last year. It's hiding since. But it was added and then somebody took it away again.
3. Well there's signs of a gameplan every now and again. But defenders and midfielders need to show more heart in closing off space/options to opposing players. Get the ball up to Stephen Bray quicker too. And forget about the 3 man FF line. Get Paddy Gilsenan back and give it up to him.
4. I don't know what's going on with fitness. It didn't look good yetserday but part of me would think that it's the heads and not the legs that's the problem.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 09/04/2012 10:00:13    1146751

loyal

Where you not having a go at people for saying the players are not showing the commitment and desire for the cause???
I must say I would like to see more of Donal Keoghan and Dalton(impressed me both when I have seen them play),I don't see any corner backs better.. Shane Mc needs to go,let's try Burke,Menton,Lenihan in the half-back line. Meade and Ward have to go(Walsh,O'Rourke in the middle),and the likes of Farrell and Cian need to be dropped too

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/04/2012 11:23:30    1146803

loyal

All we ask is that the players go out and give 100%,now could they honestly say that in the last 5 league games? Or even come close to it? The answer is no.Look at Westmeath for example,they have showed great character recently and indeed Louth,but have they a panel as strong as ours in terms of individual talent?? No.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/04/2012 11:36:24    1146817

westmeathmiss: "When Brian Meade was sent off and reached the sideliine, Banty went over to say something to him and put his hand on his arm, and Brian shook his arm off and glared at him and stalked on. Complete lack of respect? Never saw the likes of it before."

Well I did a few years ago in the NFL v Armagh in Crossmaglen Brian Meade was replaced by Jamie Queeney (I think) and on reaching the sideline ignored EOB and kicked out on a waterbottle. If he had been dealt with then then his discipline may have improved.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 09/04/2012 12:40:52    1146883

What was the official attendance given?

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 09/04/2012 16:08:06    1147105

And does anyone else think that if Bray wasn't te free taker for most of the campaign we wouldn't have been relegated?

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 09/04/2012 16:14:48    1147114

Yes bettystown ,cause galway he missed 2 ,think 3 against kildare. I feel they were vital frees also ,however im a huge fan of ward with the frees ,but would he have got all of them prob not but ,if he got 1 point in each of those games that bray missed ,there wouldnt be so many angry meathmen posting today

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 09/04/2012 16:26:37    1147132

Supporters talking some sh**e on here about getting sean Boylan back, everyone was calling for his head when he did eventually go, then they wanted Coyle out, then O Brien despite the team improving, no pleasing the Meath supporter because they think that because we are Meath and had a great team a while back that we have a god given right to beat the likes of Louth and Westmeath, too many egos and too much status attached to current panelists and when a new manager comesin he needs patience and time and he dosen't need to be a "big name" from past Meath teams, someone who can command respect will do for me. When players gain any level of control, that spells disaster

drona (Meath) - Posts: 135 - 09/04/2012 18:15:36    1147243

The thing that annoyed me when I travelled to Galway was that Bray missed a few bad frees then ward comes out and kicks an amaing 45 but then Bray goes and takes the next free we get in an easier position and misses.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 09/04/2012 18:20:28    1147248

Player ratings
1 Gallagher..............6
2 Burke...................6
3 O'Connor..............5
4 King.....................7
5 Shane Mc.............5
6 Menton.................8
7 Tobin...................8/9
8 Meade..................4
9 Ward....................3
10 Kenny................5
11 G.Reilly...............6
12 Queeney ...........4
13 Ward..................4
14 Bray...................7
15 Farrell.................3/4

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 09/04/2012 19:25:51    1147320

Lads, get behind your county and get them back on track ! Get a new stand up and support the draw and GO to games !

MR (Louth) - Posts: 2570 - 09/04/2012 19:53:20    1147350

Yesterday was both shocking and disgraceful.

An_Oifigeach (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 09/04/2012 20:33:16    1147395

lads, youse all need to get behind youre team in this terrible time because theres not alot of other teams behind you at the moment!! some tough games next year against clare and sligo etc etc but thats just the way sport goes!!! au revoir from division 1

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 09/04/2012 20:54:16    1147423

Meath have some serious re-building to do.Dismal.

bradysleftfoot (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 09/04/2012 21:29:54    1147472

Everybodies seeing 'Banty out Boylan in and well walk Leinster' The lack of consistency in Meat football is incredible, everyone is seeing Boylan as a quick fix, at this stage we need a little more than a quick fix. We need a manger who is going to lay his cards on the table and say, Give me 3 years, they will be a fairly depressing 3 years but that is what is need, 3 years to bring up players through the minors and 21's to regain passion and a fight within the county, to rebuild Meath football. It mightn't even take 3 maybe on 2. But the supporters on sites like this won't allow this to happen, everyone just wants a quick fix and for Meath to go back to the team of old. But we still are the team of old which is our biggest problem, at the moment there is nothing new, no excitement are the county about this meath team.

Meath222 (Meath) - Posts: 16 - 10/04/2012 10:26:37    1147573

Its now monday morning and it still has not sunk in that

A. We finally beat meath in their own back yard
B. We relegate them to div 3
C. Not only did we beat them we totally demoralised their inner spirits.

I have never seen such a poor peformance on and off the pitch. Where were the cries of c'mon ye boys in green, where were the hoards of green jerseys worn by what can be described now as fair weather meath fans who only want to come out and follow meath when things are going well. The Sean boylan era is over lads and you are no longer in the top 10 teams in the country and thats hard to take I know

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 10/04/2012 11:42:25    1147659

joej
County: Louth

1147659 Its now monday morning and it still has not sunk in that

A. We finally beat meath in their own back yard
B. We relegate them to div 3
C. Not only did we beat them we totally demoralised their inner spirits.

This post is funny...by the way its actually Tuesday and not Monday. The thrill that some Louth people have taken from beating Meath says as much about Louth football as it does about Meath, imagine if you's actually ever experience the feeling of real success... the majority of supporters from Louth and Meath are decent GAA people but I seen some real childish people from both counties on Sunday.

Meath are poor but in reality we knew this was coming for a while so it wasnt that big of a shock perhaps the nature of this defeat will serve as an eye-opener, if we had been beaten by a point or two it might have papered over the cracks. The jeering of the Louth fans to every pass at the end of the match will no doubt come back to haunt them... it came back to haunt plenty of Meath fans in 2001 when we jeered Kerry; for now though narrow minded fans like yourself joej should make the most out of this victory because just like Meath; Louth will win nothing this year and they wont win anything for many years to come.

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 467 - 10/04/2012 12:08:39    1147701

Thunderstruck, let the Louth folk have their day in the Sun, they deserve it after last Sunday's performance. If we relegated Dublin or Kildare, we would probably take some satisfaction from it as well, even if we wouldn't rub their noses it in. No doubt a tiny few probably would.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 10/04/2012 12:24:53    1147730