Meath Hurling 2017

The boys went on the beer and still won by 10. Roscommon are banjaxed so I be right again 20 point mauling on the way

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 12/03/2017 19:17:57    1966469

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "The boys went on the beer and still won by 10. Roscommon are banjaxed so I be right again 20 point mauling on the way"
You are fairly stupid to be putting a post up on this forum saying the hurlers went on the beer and still won.
Totally stupid and untrue statement, I know a good few of the players and they are a real processional outfit in everything they do.
Were you at the game ???
I was I drove down yesterday morning with a car load of true meath gaa supporters to support the boys, you sit at your key board and talk nonsence
You shown now apologize to the hurlers for your comments .

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 13/03/2017 10:23:48    1966622

Hopefully they'll get the job done on Thursday against Roscommon, that'll guarantee them a final place.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 13/03/2017 11:02:23    1966637

Replying To gardentree:  "You are fairly stupid to be putting a post up on this forum saying the hurlers went on the beer and still won.
Totally stupid and untrue statement, I know a good few of the players and they are a real processional outfit in everything they do.
Were you at the game ???
I was I drove down yesterday morning with a car load of true meath gaa supporters to support the boys, you sit at your key board and talk nonsence
You shown now apologize to the hurlers for your comments ."
Don't mind him gardentree. He's got previous for those types of posts.
Well done to the hurlers and fair play to the supporters for travelling over.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 13/03/2017 11:11:17    1966640

Apologise for what. No I did not travel to mayo as I am not into meath hurling.
You are and you should have gone as you did but don't expect a clap on the back

Anyway how many hardy supporters did attend I presume the fair weather guys and gals that were at Christy ring have disappeared but mind you they will be blowing off cobwebs for the upcoming div 4 final v Wicklow as meath can't be caught now and Thursday is irreverent

Anyway the lads had a great time and as I predicted spent the evening in the pub and won by 10 points.

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 13/03/2017 19:05:54    1966814

Lads I also heard this from a reliable source. I thought it was nonsense but seeing someone else post it here it worrying. A couple of players in particular were mentioned but I'm not naming names.

Meathgaa5 (Meath) - Posts: 339 - 13/03/2017 19:38:35    1966824

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "The boys went on the beer and still won by 10. Roscommon are banjaxed so I be right again 20 point mauling on the way"
You are talking pure nonsense, they travelled down that morning so for starters the opportunity was not there. And they have too much respect for themselves and their county.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 14/03/2017 21:07:08    1967095

Replying To MillerX:  "You are talking pure nonsense, they travelled down that morning so for starters the opportunity was not there. And they have too much respect for themselves and their county."
You think so.. my facts are right they left trim on Saturday at 3pm. So I am not the one talking nonsense

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 14/03/2017 22:22:07    1967115

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "Hopefully they'll get the job done on Thursday against Roscommon, that'll guarantee them a final place."
Meath are in the final full stop even if they lose ......Derry and down play each other so can only get 6 points and as meath bet both they can lose to both the rossies and Wicklow and still be in the final

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 14/03/2017 22:26:38    1967116

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "You think so.. my facts are right they left trim on Saturday at 3pm. So I am not the one talking nonsense"
Don't know about the pub but you are right they certainly stayed in mayo Saturday night.

Anyway should easily beat Roscommon. I would imagine it will then be a weakened team to play Wicklow in the last round. Management won't want to be giving too much away ahead of the final. Really important to gain promotion if we want to move forward.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 14/03/2017 22:51:59    1967128

I have to say I have got into Meath hurling since last year and have enjoyed following them. I love the jersey and prob will buy it. hopefully they will get promotion along with the footballers.Up the Royal

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 15/03/2017 04:25:22    1967156

Replying To Meathmen:  "I have to say I have got into Meath hurling since last year and have enjoyed following them. I love the jersey and prob will buy it. hopefully they will get promotion along with the footballers.Up the Royal"
Got myself a Uniflu jersey at Christmas. The colouring is a bit too Mayo but we'll ignore that.
Also really hoping this squad get promotion and have a successful Leinster round robin. The 2 Antrim matches last year were our only chances in many years to feel good about following Meath.

Article below on GAA.ie about the games development in Meath.

http://www.gaa.ie/features/feature/meath-hurling-royal-lineage/

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 15/03/2017 10:45:16    1967197

The hurlers have been a joy to watch for the last number of years, they've done a huge amount to raise the standard and and the feelgood factor of Meath hurling especially after their performance in both legs of the Christy Ring last year.
Unfortunately I didn't get to mayo to see them in action last weekend but I followed their fantastic performance on the twitter machine.
That's pure nonsense about them going out on the beer the night before the game, they're much too professional and dedicated to do that. After last years surprise result against Mayo I have no doubt they went into that game fully focused and determined make amends.
There's no place for harmful gossip like that on a website like this.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 15/03/2017 12:38:39    1967245

Meath V Wicklow on Sunday, dead rubber does not affect any other game in the division and the two teams play in the fial the following weekend
why is this game going ahead ??? no reason for it to go ahead.
the two teams will probably field very little of the starting 15 for the final.
madness

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 20/03/2017 15:06:44    1969129

Replying To gardentree:  "Meath V Wicklow on Sunday, dead rubber does not affect any other game in the division and the two teams play in the fial the following weekend
madness"
Because this is county hurling. Games that are due to be played have to be played. It's not like some mickey mouse U-12 league, where you can skip a round or two, and go straight to the final. Its the National League. You play your games.
It also gives both counties a chance to give game time to the fringe players in the squad, or to try out some youngsters if they wish.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 20/03/2017 15:28:04    1969140

Replying To gardentree:  "Meath V Wicklow on Sunday, dead rubber does not affect any other game in the division and the two teams play in the fial the following weekend
madness"
Would make sense if the league winner got home advantage in the final but there is zero advantage to either team to win this game.
Suppose it has to be played for "completion".

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 20/03/2017 15:29:17    1969143

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Would make sense if the league winner got home advantage in the final but there is zero advantage to either team to win this game.
Suppose it has to be played for "completion"."
Where are these games on?

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 20/03/2017 20:01:06    1969279

Replying To Wedgie:  "Where are these games on?"
Would it actually be an advantage for a team to lose this game? ie go into the final as underdogs?

liam500 (Wicklow) - Posts: 175 - 21/03/2017 11:35:37    1969433

One would assume that the final will be in Parnell Park. Or maybe Newbridge.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 21/03/2017 12:46:16    1969456

Replying To liam500:  "Would it actually be an advantage for a team to lose this game? ie go into the final as underdogs?"
Even if meath lost they would still be favourites for the final. Meath will be giving a run out to a lot of the squad players

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 630 - 21/03/2017 13:15:26    1969476