Meath v Louth

Gammy Knee we are capable of losing to pretty much any team in the country right now.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 25/03/2012 18:06:44    1136707

1 Tyrone 6 6 0 0 106 60 12
2 Kildare 6 4 2 0 114 97 8
3 Galway 6 3 2 1 87 82 7
4 Derry 6 2 3 1 83 94 5
5 Meath 6 2 4 0 80 78 4
6 Monaghan 6 2 4 0 96 101 4
7 Louth 6 1 3 2 90 109 4
8 Westmeath 6 2 4 0 73 108 4

Second lowest scoring team in the division despite our forwards been talked up so much.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/03/2012 18:11:40    1136715

Lads am I wrong to think that if 3 teams end on same points it goes to score difference so even if all 3 loose meath monaghan and westmeath. The head to head means nothing. Its score difference. I e meath could still get relegated Correct me if I'm wrong. Am I?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2012 18:14:26    1136717

Glasagusor this 'natural forwards' thing is the biggest running joke in the GAA.
Not one of our forwards would make the Dublin, Kerry or Tyrone teams.
And that includes Graham Reilly.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 25/03/2012 18:16:59    1136719

Glas we are also second lowest scores against despite our defense been ridiculed so much. I'm a glass half full guy lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2012 18:17:12    1136720

Yes, if all three lose, Meath would end up ahead of the other two. We are +2 with Louth to meet, Monaghan -5 & Tyrone coming, Westmeath - 35 with Derry visiting Mullingar.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/03/2012 18:17:21    1136721

No I do have to disagree. Graham Reilly would make any team in country. The only one who would. And they are our two best players

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2012 18:25:58    1136736

glas- Second lowest scoring team in the division despite our forwards been talked up so much.
thats cause they havent been given any ball cause it never got past the 50 all over the series

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 25/03/2012 18:26:19    1136737

RD, we are getting fewer and fewer scores with each game that passes ... 1-15, 0-17, 2-11, 1-11, 0-9, 0-5 ... granted the opposition is improving each time, but it is a seriously worrying trend.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/03/2012 18:27:27    1136738

RP, their wides tally in some games would suggest it isn't all down to a total lack of opportunities. They may not be getting lots of quality ball or support at times but with every better team you play, the more forwards need to be able to win their own ball, take on a man and slot over scores. Quite a few of them just want teammates to do the donkey work, so they can take a pass inside and try to kick scores at first sight of the posts and from their relative comfort zones.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/03/2012 18:40:25    1136751

Glassagusor. I agree completely our scores are getting less and less. Which is extremely worrying.
They more I think about it the game against kildare seemed to be turning point we were on a high before that and playing quite well even played well that night but it just seemed to be that loosing out disheartened players and management alike. And may have caused irreparable damage to this current team.
They really believed a corner had been turned the system seemed to be working and to loose a game in such circumstances is never good for morale. Just my opinion

By way I remember guys saying that GG been selector/player was harming team before that night yet since then he hasn't been on team list and seems to have de selected himself.
Maybe him been on panel focused other forwards and made them buck up? No evidence that him been both had negative effect on team in actual fact it obviously had opposite. Positive.
As has been proven since

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2012 18:40:26    1136752

Our best two players are easily Kevin Reilly and Joe Sheridan but alas Joe is gone...

I fancy Louth to win this to be fair.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/03/2012 18:51:29    1136772

Hi new hear from dublin originally but married meathman so I'm converted from the dark side lol.
We will stay in div 2 I have no doubt about that.

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 25/03/2012 18:54:16    1136777

But equally we could say Geraghty coming on for Graham Reilly when game was in the balance v Kildare did more harm than good. Last weekend forward subs v Derry were left far too late. Overall we can count ourselves lucky that the fixtures threw up Monaghan and Westmeath first. Despite a positive and encouring start it was a false dawn.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 25/03/2012 18:56:25    1136782

I still say GG should reinstate himself on panel. If for nothing else than for the lads on team to say ok if we don't perform this guy is going to replace us with himself.
Taking reilly out of it was a big mistake and it should have been anonther but GG should have remained both.
I was so tired of hearing about all the great players who were missing out because he had returned. That was CR*P been spouted. Fact is even at 39 gereaghty is miles ahead of most of these and that is a disgrace.
But work what we have reinstate GG to panel for louth game it just might make some of the players know what a real meath player is all about

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/03/2012 19:26:38    1136826

Graham Reilly would not make any team in the country now.
He would have 2 years ago though.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 25/03/2012 21:15:18    1137039

(1)You'll beat Louth in Navan... sure if theres one team you'd want to beat at home its Louth...

(2)But Banty has failed with the current set of players. He's had plenty of time... they should have adapted by now if they were willing enough

(3)Its not rocket science...

(4)2 points from play against Tyrone... thats not Meath... as for Banty. Well he's not Meath either...

(5)The sooner he's gone the better it will be for ye to get things going again... because there's a fair few teams further down the road now and getting better all the time.

(6)Will we see a Meath panel revolt?

...............................................................................................................

(1)maybe

(2)Very true

(3)True

(4)True

(5)True

(6)Hard to know.....i suppose it would be the start in the making of sum leaders in this meath team if they did revolt which is lacking at present since Nigel Crawford left or retired from the panel!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 25/03/2012 21:26:52    1137056

After sitting back, reading and digesting all that has gone on over the last few weeks, I really do think Meath has sunk has to it's lowest ebb in 30 years. And I for one, am great fearful of the team being beaten by Louth on going in to Div 3.

This is the second year in a row Meath are going in to the last league game, fighting for their lives to stay in Div 2. I cannot even believe I am writing those lines. And to be bluntly honest, going on recent form I fully expect Louth to beat Meath, by at least 3/4 points.

Then I look back at the campaign and think that we won our first two games, were only beaten by Kildare and Galway by a point, had an off day at home to Derry and were blown out of the water by the runaway league leaders Tyrone. So where are Meath actually at?

Louth, on the other hand have had some fantastic results, drawing away to Galway and Derry and running up big scores albeit losing to Kildare and Monaghan.

This is as level a playing field I can remember between the two teams. In fact, I'd give Louth the edge on recent form and momentum going in to the game. Meath do have a mental hoodoo over Louth and home advantage might help Meath but at the end of the day Meath are going to have to produce a performance of the year to get out jail ths time.

Massive game and I dont expect Banty to last beyond the Summer.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 26/03/2012 08:53:36    1137125

The Banty's time is nearly run now; it's just a matter of will it be before or after the Championship. If we loose to Louth on Easter Sunday I think he should be asked to resign. If we survive then it's up to the players if they wish to proceed into the championship with him on the line. The Banty has been a bad experiment for us in my opinion. How can he stand on the line at every game and look at the shambles that is our midfield, no matter what combination he puts out. We have good defenders, as proven by the low score conceded, we have decent forwards. But we can't win any ball around mid field mean the forward get limited or poor supply and there is constant pressure on the defence.
I personally would loved to have seen Paddy O'Rourke get a decent run at midfield he would have mastered it with his unique determination.

If the Banty goes pre-championship what's the bets on a Boylan / Geraghty combination of management????

antomeath (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 26/03/2012 10:59:22    1137220

antomeath

1137220 The Banty's time is nearly run now; it's just a matter of will it be before or after the Championship. If we loose to Louth on Easter Sunday I think he should be asked to resign. If we survive then it's up to the players if they wish to proceed into the championship with him on the line. The Banty has been a bad experiment for us in my opinion. How can he stand on the line at every game and look at the shambles that is our midfield, no matter what combination he puts out. We have good defenders, as proven by the low score conceded, we have decent forwards. But we can't win any ball around mid field mean the forward get limited or poor supply and there is constant pressure on the defence.
I personally would loved to have seen Paddy O'Rourke get a decent run at midfield he would have mastered it with his unique determination.

If the Banty goes pre-championship what's the bets on a Boylan / Geraghty combination of management????

Zero.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 26/03/2012 11:08:57    1137228