Meath juniors

Replying To ziggy32001:  "not a bad meath junior side on paper,but no moriarty or conlon?"
No Toher either.. Any other members of the senior squad eligible?

Seems strange to be holding players back. You'd imagine game time would be good for these players as they've been off a while now since the end of the league.

Why sacrifice winning a Leinster/All Ireland Junior for not winning a Senior.

begining (UK) - Posts: 300 - 24/05/2017 12:25:27    1990206

Line up for Wednesday:
Meath (JFC v Kildare) - Johnny Lynch (Moynalty), Jamie Reilly (St Michaels), Luke Moran (Trim), Michael Flood (St Brigids), David Toner (Curraha), Declan Smyth (Dunsany), Sean Reilly (Moylagh), Adam Flanagan (Clonard), Conor Farrell (Dunderry), Paddy Kennelly (Dunderry), Ben Brennan (St Colmcilles), Stephen Coogan (Dunderry), Jason Scully (Oldcastle), Daire Rowe (Syddan), Kevin Ross (Castletown).

Subs - Jordan Browne (St Colmcilles), Jamie McDonald (St Colmcilles), Ciaran O'Rourke (Trim), Neil Shortall (Curraha), Cathal McConnell (Bective), Niall Jones (Dunboyne), Paul Lynch (Moynalty), Kevin Traynor (Syddan).

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 24/05/2017 13:50:28    1990256

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "Seems like a decent team better looking than in recent years no James toher which is a bit of a surprise"
Might be better waiting to see how they play before judging how great they look.

neverForAl (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 24/05/2017 15:45:42    1990299

Replying To begining:  "No Toher either.. Any other members of the senior squad eligible?

Seems strange to be holding players back. You'd imagine game time would be good for these players as they've been off a while now since the end of the league.

Why sacrifice winning a Leinster/All Ireland Junior for not winning a Senior."
It seems Andy and Co want all 'their' players wrapped up in cotton wool......risk of injury as if there was no risk of injury when they take the field for real.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 24/05/2017 15:46:35    1990300

Replying To MillerX:  "It seems Andy and Co want all 'their' players wrapped up in cotton wool......risk of injury as if there was no risk of injury when they take the field for real."
well we do have the least injuries that we have had in years.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/05/2017 16:26:38    1990322

Replying To MillerX:  "It seems Andy and Co want all 'their' players wrapped up in cotton wool......risk of injury as if there was no risk of injury when they take the field for real."
Well James Conlon and Moriarty aren't on the senior team so Andy and is clearly holding them back ...

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 24/05/2017 20:36:05    1990418

Andy is the senior manager and owes the juniors nothing. Why should he risk his players for a lower tier competition, the harsh truth. Yous would be the same people complaining if Toher had have started tonight and got injured ruling him out of the Louth game. The lads that played tonight off the senior panel haven't seen much game time at that level and are all 99% certainties not to start against Louth, fair play to Andy for letting them play. We're here to compete for Sam, not the junior all Ireland

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 24/05/2017 21:49:53    1990431

Couldn't make it to the game tonight was there a big crowd at it. Who played well and who was disappointing? Was daire Rowe captain tonight and did Kevin traynor come on?

Meath4Sam2020 (Meath) - Posts: 132 - 24/05/2017 22:29:54    1990444

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Andy is the senior manager and owes the juniors nothing. Why should he risk his players for a lower tier competition, the harsh truth. Yous would be the same people complaining if Toher had have started tonight and got injured ruling him out of the Louth game. The lads that played tonight off the senior panel haven't seen much game time at that level and are all 99% certainties not to start against Louth, fair play to Andy for letting them play. We're here to compete for Sam, not the junior all Ireland"
Absolutely agree, pointless to risk toher who may very well start but will definitely be a sub used v Louth in juniors, no Damien Carroll is surprise to me though, is he injured?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/05/2017 22:48:20    1990455

Replying To Meath4Sam2020:  "Couldn't make it to the game tonight was there a big crowd at it. Who played well and who was disappointing? Was daire Rowe captain tonight and did Kevin traynor come on?"
Small crowd. Very open game up and down pitch Meath started well Rowe was captain took off at half time having scored 4 points must have been injured. Traynor did not play think he injured in IFC. Brennan also went off injured. Flannagan took off with 15 to go Kildare pulled it back from 7 down to level as mass changes had an effect Meath . Meath worked a goal late on and won

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 25/05/2017 00:10:36    1990474

Replying To neverForAl:  "Might be better waiting to see how they play before judging how great they look."
when does decent become great. I said decent team and that is what they where

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 25/05/2017 00:12:57    1990476

Replying To glenny:  "Small crowd. Very open game up and down pitch Meath started well Rowe was captain took off at half time having scored 4 points must have been injured. Traynor did not play think he injured in IFC. Brennan also went off injured. Flannagan took off with 15 to go Kildare pulled it back from 7 down to level as mass changes had an effect Meath . Meath worked a goal late on and won"
would you have rowe on the senior panel?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2017 08:09:24    1990496

Replying To glenny:  "Small crowd. Very open game up and down pitch Meath started well Rowe was captain took off at half time having scored 4 points must have been injured. Traynor did not play think he injured in IFC. Brennan also went off injured. Flannagan took off with 15 to go Kildare pulled it back from 7 down to level as mass changes had an effect Meath . Meath worked a goal late on and won"
Anyone pushing for a senior place in your opinion?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2017 08:53:35    1990511

played well in the first half and fell asleep in the 2nd half few nice scores but wouldnt say anyone bar maybe daire rowe impressed enough to get called up

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 25/05/2017 09:47:02    1990521

Replying To ziggy32001:  "would you have rowe on the senior panel?"
Dont know he probably would be an addition to extended panel but hardly a starter yet

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 25/05/2017 10:19:49    1990537

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyone pushing for a senior place in your opinion?"
Kevin Ross, Ben Brennan

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 25/05/2017 10:20:20    1990538

Replying To ziggy32001:  "well we do have the least injuries that we have had in years."
Which means that if things go well it's was all down to injuries , and not Management , and if things go bad , it's down to Management is that correct ?
Trevor Giles put it on paper by saying that only for the injury load on the Meath team during his involvement , they would have been competitive enough to cause problems to Dublin.

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 25/05/2017 12:20:47    1990594

Replying To Meath_True:  "Which means that if things go well it's was all down to injuries , and not Management , and if things go bad , it's down to Management is that correct ?
Trevor Giles put it on paper by saying that only for the injury load on the Meath team during his involvement , they would have been competitive enough to cause problems to Dublin."
o'dowd was unlucky that we lost gillespie,reilly and o'rourke were more injured than not. they would be huge players for meath if not prone to injury. o'dowd cannot be blamed here..
however he did have a habit of playing players just returning from injury and rushing them back. it would appear that andy is a bit more patient and measured in this aspect of managing the team.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/05/2017 12:51:24    1990621

Replying To Meath_True:  "Which means that if things go well it's was all down to injuries , and not Management , and if things go bad , it's down to Management is that correct ?
Trevor Giles put it on paper by saying that only for the injury load on the Meath team during his involvement , they would have been competitive enough to cause problems to Dublin."
Tbh all those players are still gone, Gillespie, O'Rourke, Reilly. All would probably still on Andy team if fit. . I loved Trevor as a player but he just couldn't do it with mod in management, and things like that statement along with we havent any top players apart from Donal Keoghan, were actually a insight into what that management team were like and what they instilled in players, defeatist attitude, ah sure we doin best we can, only for injuries, only the dog ate me homework type of nonsense . The injuries had nothing to do with how unbelievably unfit we were,no plan A never mind a Plan B . Players in wrong positions , complaining about managers saying stuff, then going out and complaining about bites, throwing unproven teens into a Leinster final to be destroyed, glorifying teams that you went toe to toe with for 20 minutes. I could go on but I wont. None of that had anything to do with been unlucky with injuries. The last 3 years have been like watching a train wreck in slow motion. Times thankfully have moved on, Alan Forde is a huge loss to Meath this year , but if/when we get beat Andy or any of his backroom team will not try to pin defeat on his absence. That is the difference,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2017 18:37:34    1990769

Replying To royaldunne:  "Tbh all those players are still gone, Gillespie, O'Rourke, Reilly. All would probably still on Andy team if fit. . I loved Trevor as a player but he just couldn't do it with mod in management, and things like that statement along with we havent any top players apart from Donal Keoghan, were actually a insight into what that management team were like and what they instilled in players, defeatist attitude, ah sure we doin best we can, only for injuries, only the dog ate me homework type of nonsense . The injuries had nothing to do with how unbelievably unfit we were,no plan A never mind a Plan B . Players in wrong positions , complaining about managers saying stuff, then going out and complaining about bites, throwing unproven teens into a Leinster final to be destroyed, glorifying teams that you went toe to toe with for 20 minutes. I could go on but I wont. None of that had anything to do with been unlucky with injuries. The last 3 years have been like watching a train wreck in slow motion. Times thankfully have moved on, Alan Forde is a huge loss to Meath this year , but if/when we get beat Andy or any of his backroom team will not try to pin defeat on his absence. That is the difference,"
Royal Dunne , as stated before you appear to speak with Authority, and if I may with a Gerbels tone, propaganda distribution and all , but from where do you have proof that things are better , and that they have moved on .... Pray tell me where you see this now . The fact that a number of players have returned to play for Andy is not an indication that things are better , when we start winning , and I mean winning Leinsters again , and not just been competitive ,then you can say things are better . I'm a kind a half empty glass guy , until proven otherwise . Up to this point there's nothing concrete to say things are much better, lets see how we compete in Leinster , and if we get to the final . Louth first that is . , tiny steps before shouting from a high about entering a new era .
All good decisions, and hopefully opinions are based on fact not hearsay .Where's your facts . ?

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 26/05/2017 10:08:30    1990915