Will Meath contest an all Ireland this decade?

So I think Meath have contested an all Ireland final at least once every decade since the 1930s. Lucky enough to go all the way on a few occasions.

What are the chances of us at least competing a final this decade?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 22/08/2017 20:34:18    2036534

No. We don't have the required talent. I think there is much more to say on the subject.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 22/08/2017 20:53:48    2036540

Definitely not unfortunately. We are miles/years behind the big 4

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 23/08/2017 00:16:44    2036602

Ye at Junior Level we will because that's as good as it's going to get for at least another 10 years and maybe longer unless clubs and County Board work harder

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 23/08/2017 05:19:51    2036616

Given we only have two opportunities left to contest one in this decade I very much doubt we have a chance.
The Super 8 format will make it even harder to get there.

Royal_Gunner (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 23/08/2017 08:27:36    2036629

I really don't see the point of asking questions like this, I'm far more concerned with continuing to improve standards and structures in the county and overall team performances at all levels than whether or not we will reach an All Ireland in the next two years, if we did then fantastic but it's unlikely just as it is for about 29 other counties as well

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 23/08/2017 13:33:46    2036767

Not going to happen. too much still to be done before that question should even be asked. county board have to step it up big time. Some clubs also need to invest more in their development of players

trueblue1995 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 23/08/2017 15:44:30    2036827

Here's hoping that the 2020's will be our decade!

House_Royal (Meath) - Posts: 14 - 23/08/2017 21:06:48    2036930

Replying To trueblue1995:  "Not going to happen. too much still to be done before that question should even be asked. county board have to step it up big time. Some clubs also need to invest more in their development of players"
Can not see Meath return to top table in the foreseeable future. At one point a few years ago when a director of football as part of the "3 wise men"steering group was to operate that looked visionary and and a step in the right direction. Alas it appears now as if that was just some sort of publicity stunt.At least they appear to have dissapeared for some reason if they ever existed..Can someone throw some light on this? Reports? Who measures coaching standards in the county for example ?? How much if any of Colm O Rourke's analyis/recommendations were examined or implemented? That was a few years ago. Maybe the county board are much more pro active and visionary than we think? I cannot see that. To talk about peaks and valleys ,and that Meath football is in a valley period is a cop out. The under 17 yes some progress yes. How many of those will hang around? What are we doing to help and encourage players jobs and career wise to stay aboard . Perhaps all these questions are being addressed but i doubt it. Very negative ,but is it not factual ? Meanwhile our hurlers seem to mean business. The very best of luck lads.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 23/08/2017 21:48:01    2036947

Replying To Richieq:  "I really don't see the point of asking questions like this, I'm far more concerned with continuing to improve standards and structures in the county and overall team performances at all levels than whether or not we will reach an All Ireland in the next two years, if we did then fantastic but it's unlikely just as it is for about 29 other counties as well"
Could not agree more.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/08/2017 16:50:33    2037254

In my early 30s but I'm starting to make peace with the idea that I wont see us win an AI again in my lifetime. We are going to way of Kildare, Cavan etc. Hard for many to accept but thats just what I'm observing. I remember walking out of Limerick in 08 thinking we wont win an AI for 20 years but thats now looking optimistic. We've been going around in circles for nearly two decades now and nothing is changing.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 25/08/2017 09:29:33    2037420

Even though I live on the other side of the Boyne I still have to sit back and admire them great Meath teams of the 80's and 90's. Most Meath posters on here are lucky enough to see Meath win an All Ireland.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/08/2017 12:21:08    2037507

Replying To bert09:  "So I think Meath have contested an all Ireland final at least once every decade since the 1930s. Lucky enough to go all the way on a few occasions.

What are the chances of us at least competing a final this decade?"
Here is my opinion for what it is worth! Meath has the benefit of bordering Dublin and many young couple are now starting their lives off by moving to Meath. These people will have families and the population of the county will grow. If the County Board prepare for this well they can capture many of this next generation into GAA. The more players the more opportunity to develop a strong team. However, the structures have to be right! The results of both the Under 17 and Under 16 boys teams were encouraging - now the challenge is to transition those groups into adult football and develop them further. I don't know if that was by design or by accident but it does look like there is some good talent coming through. I certainly think Meath is better placed than most other counties in Leinster to compete. I know it is not about the number splaying - Look at Tyrone. They are an example of efficient structures working well. I think the county board needs to think more broadly about teh development of the juvenile teams and many other things need to be professionalised! I also think the club championship structure needs to be revised to make it more compatible with the County team playing in the All Ireland - but I would be more hopeful than most that Meath can contest an All Ireland in teh next 20 years!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 25/08/2017 13:44:46    2037564

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Here is my opinion for what it is worth! Meath has the benefit of bordering Dublin and many young couple are now starting their lives off by moving to Meath. These people will have families and the population of the county will grow. If the County Board prepare for this well they can capture many of this next generation into GAA. The more players the more opportunity to develop a strong team. However, the structures have to be right! The results of both the Under 17 and Under 16 boys teams were encouraging - now the challenge is to transition those groups into adult football and develop them further. I don't know if that was by design or by accident but it does look like there is some good talent coming through. I certainly think Meath is better placed than most other counties in Leinster to compete. I know it is not about the number splaying - Look at Tyrone. They are an example of efficient structures working well. I think the county board needs to think more broadly about teh development of the juvenile teams and many other things need to be professionalised! I also think the club championship structure needs to be revised to make it more compatible with the County team playing in the All Ireland - but I would be more hopeful than most that Meath can contest an All Ireland in teh next 20 years!!"
By and large would agree with that. And the points you made are very valid. However some seem to think our championship structure is grand lad, I don't , will changing it help the current players? Doubtful, but failing to plan for the future is what has us in this situation in first place. I'm not optimistic that what needs to be done wil be done. However if they were I'd have little doubt we will contest a all ire within next 20 years, but you know what? I'll also think we can contest one over next couple of years too, but that's the fan in me.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/08/2017 15:29:35    2037627

Some good points Royalblufill. The worrying thing for Meath regarding clubs bordering Dublin is the tendency for the better players to play for their clubs in Meath but play their underage county football with Dublin. This has happened with a number of players from Ashbourne and Ratoath. For the clubs themselves it is an even bigger worry when the more promising players decide to transfer to their parents clubs in Dublin after being brought through the under age system in their Meath clubs, There should be rules in the GAA that prohibit this.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 25/08/2017 15:34:51    2037628

Ah lads, then you'll have a load of Dubs playing for ye and we'll have to claim any success you may have :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 26/08/2017 02:08:32    2037825

Replying To subzero:  "Some good points Royalblufill. The worrying thing for Meath regarding clubs bordering Dublin is the tendency for the better players to play for their clubs in Meath but play their underage county football with Dublin. This has happened with a number of players from Ashbourne and Ratoath. For the clubs themselves it is an even bigger worry when the more promising players decide to transfer to their parents clubs in Dublin after being brought through the under age system in their Meath clubs, There should be rules in the GAA that prohibit this."
This thing about players along the Dublin border transferring to Dublin has got legs of its own- none of the players transferring would make any great impact-maybe it would improve those border clubs. The clubs need to improve but this will be difficult as most resources are being pumped into county teams of all grades ( in most counties) and the club is becoming a very poor relation -all you have to do is look at the fixtures v's the counties.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 26/08/2017 11:37:26    2037890

By 2019 they have a small chance to make an all Ireland final if they avoid Dublin. But they'd be playing Dublin in the final so no chance of winning.

Meath if they get to a leinster final over the next few years should play a reserve team against Dublin and rest their main players for the last round of the qualifiers to give them the best chance of an all Ireland quarter final appearance. If they got a lucky draw like roscommon in the quarters and tipp in the semis it would be possible. longshot though.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/08/2017 19:39:49    2039566

A few meath lads who played this year will be unavailable next year from what i have heard.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 29/08/2017 13:21:40    2040042

Replying To 11jm11:  "A few meath lads who played this year will be unavailable next year from what i have heard."
Only jones. And Rooney returning. One cancel out the other, but be better if we had bothe.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/08/2017 16:28:53    2040211