Championship 2017

Replying To OLLIE:  "Ziggy there is no home and away arrangement in Leinster with counties. Meath playing in Parnell Park for a championship match is like waiting for Bus. They have waited for ages for one and than all of a sudden two come along. Meath could be going to Aughrim if Wicklow beat Louth."
I thought there was now?

Meath played Wicklow in Navan last.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/11/2016 10:40:45    1935001

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I thought there was now?

Meath played Wicklow in Navan last."
It all depend's on what mood the Leinster Council is in when they are deciding what venue's are gonna be used. Correct me if I am wrong but the Meath and Wicklow game held in Navan was the Royal's first Leinster Championship match at home in 18 years?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2016 11:01:07    1935013

Meath have no home and away arrangement with Louth as Louth have no suitable venue we have with Wicklow

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 17/11/2016 11:34:48    1935021

Replying To OLLIE:  "It all depend's on what mood the Leinster Council is in when they are deciding what venue's are gonna be used. Correct me if I am wrong but the Meath and Wicklow game held in Navan was the Royal's first Leinster Championship match at home in 18 years?"
A bit longer 20 years, prior to Wicklow we last played a Leinster match in PT in 1995 v Offaly. I find this decision a complete joke, Parnell Park was not prepared for the match this year with poor stewarding and as I said they hadn't the shop stocked with enough water and that's beside the known access and parking issues, PT is not in great shape by any means but it's capacity is around 17'000 at the minute and is capable of staging a proposed Meath/Louth fixture, sadly Drogheda is not capable and that is equally a pity. Parnell Park does not deserve this fixture if it happens and I would love to know the reasoning behind this decision.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/11/2016 11:39:27    1935023

I'm sure Andy Mc Entee will be aiming to be in the Leinster Final but let's be honest here,we are miles behind the Dubs at present.Trying to get into division one will be Andy's biggest aim in my opinion and that is quiet possible.We will have to be patient for the next 2/3 years but hopefully we have the right man in this time.Fitness last 3 years under MOD was a disgrace,getting totally outrun in last 10 minutes of every game.

Hopefully our county board give him the full support he will need to achieve what is needed.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1047 - 17/11/2016 11:42:27    1935026

Replying To Richieq:  "A bit longer 20 years, prior to Wicklow we last played a Leinster match in PT in 1995 v Offaly. I find this decision a complete joke, Parnell Park was not prepared for the match this year with poor stewarding and as I said they hadn't the shop stocked with enough water and that's beside the known access and parking issues, PT is not in great shape by any means but it's capacity is around 17'000 at the minute and is capable of staging a proposed Meath/Louth fixture, sadly Drogheda is not capable and that is equally a pity. Parnell Park does not deserve this fixture if it happens and I would love to know the reasoning behind this decision."
Pairc tailtean badly needs a smart, cost effective clean up and refurbishment. Has great history and has the potential to be a fantastic, intimate, classy county ground

mawmouther (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 17/11/2016 11:52:31    1935032

Replying To Richieq:  "A bit longer 20 years, prior to Wicklow we last played a Leinster match in PT in 1995 v Offaly. I find this decision a complete joke, Parnell Park was not prepared for the match this year with poor stewarding and as I said they hadn't the shop stocked with enough water and that's beside the known access and parking issues, PT is not in great shape by any means but it's capacity is around 17'000 at the minute and is capable of staging a proposed Meath/Louth fixture, sadly Drogheda is not capable and that is equally a pity. Parnell Park does not deserve this fixture if it happens and I would love to know the reasoning behind this decision."
Pairc tailtean badly needs a smart, cost effective clean up and refurbishment. Has great history and has the potential to be a fantastic, intimate, classy county ground.

Until then we cannot complain about championship matches not being held there

mawmouther (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 17/11/2016 11:53:20    1935033

The Louth GAA should hang their heads in shame. Drogheda is a joke and an embarrassment. Every year wee hear that there is gonna be progress and then there is nothing. No reason why wee can't have a ground that can hold 15,000 to 20,000 people. In 2002 Louth had home advantage against Meath in the qualifiers and the game was switched to Navan. The same in 2011 and the match was switched to Breffini. I actually don't mind Parnell Park. Tight ground with the crowd on top of the pitch.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2016 12:15:46    1935042

Replying To mawmouther:  "Pairc tailtean badly needs a smart, cost effective clean up and refurbishment. Has great history and has the potential to be a fantastic, intimate, classy county ground.

Until then we cannot complain about championship matches not being held there"
and Parnell Park is better???

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/11/2016 12:52:47    1935056

Replying To OLLIE:  "The Louth GAA should hang their heads in shame. Drogheda is a joke and an embarrassment. Every year wee hear that there is gonna be progress and then there is nothing. No reason why wee can't have a ground that can hold 15,000 to 20,000 people. In 2002 Louth had home advantage against Meath in the qualifiers and the game was switched to Navan. The same in 2011 and the match was switched to Breffini. I actually don't mind Parnell Park. Tight ground with the crowd on top of the pitch."
Only county with no suitable ground?

Invade Oriel Park! :P

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/11/2016 12:53:40    1935058

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Only county with no suitable ground?

Invade Oriel Park! :P"
Unfortunately Ziggy wee are. There is even talk of Dundalk FC moving to a new ground or redeveloping Oriel Park. The Drogs supporters call Oriel the Bouncy Castle.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2016 14:04:31    1935084

Replying To brian:  "So no home game again this summer
Leinster council are a joke"
Well, just looking at the maths, it's unlikely that we'll get a home match on any given year.

Since we're straight into the QF there's 7 counties we could draw. We've home/away arrangements with at most 6 of these, and a guaranteed neutral game with the last (Louth). So if we drew one of the other 6 teams we'd have a 50/50 chance of a home game, and if we drew Louth we've a 0% chance of a home game. So in any year our chance of a home Leinster match is about 40% or so.

It's a bit ridiculous giving out about how the toss of a coin didn't go our way.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 17/11/2016 15:19:19    1935105

Replying To ziggy32001:  "and Parnell Park is better???"
Parnell Park is better, yes. It has a nice stand. It also has a decent small terrace behind one goals. Pairc Tailtean is in a state of bad repair. If you go in and walk around it, you can't deny that. Saying that, I am a big fan of Pairc Tailtean and love going there.

I wouldn't like to see millions spent on doing it up in a completely new way, I would like to see parts of it retained and upgraded. A 20,000 capacity with a nice small stand would be great I think. Imagine 20,000 people packed in on a summers day watching a first round championship match

mawmouther (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 18/11/2016 08:37:23    1935239

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Well, just looking at the maths, it's unlikely that we'll get a home match on any given year.

Since we're straight into the QF there's 7 counties we could draw. We've home/away arrangements with at most 6 of these, and a guaranteed neutral game with the last (Louth). So if we drew one of the other 6 teams we'd have a 50/50 chance of a home game, and if we drew Louth we've a 0% chance of a home game. So in any year our chance of a home Leinster match is about 40% or so.

It's a bit ridiculous giving out about how the toss of a coin didn't go our way."
Never mind the toss of a coin......it's being dragged into Donnycarney again that bugs me, I'd rather play Louth in Tullamore or Portlaoise than that kip. We were in there this year so I see no reason for potentially having to go there again especially given the attitude of stewards present and lack of preparation that prevailed, it looked as if those in control landed in just before the crowd and had nothing ready, why should such incompetence be potentially rewarded with a repeat fixture?? As I said Navan is far from great but it can hold that potential fixture and should be in line to do so.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/11/2016 19:28:03    1935414

Replying To CastleBravo:  "Well, just looking at the maths, it's unlikely that we'll get a home match on any given year.

It's a bit ridiculous giving out about how the toss of a coin didn't go our way."
Never mind the toss of a coin......it's being dragged into Donnycarney again that bugs me, I'd rather play Louth in Tullamore or Portlaoise than that kip. We were in there this year so I see no reason for potentially having to go there again especially given the attitude of stewards present and lack of preparation that prevailed, it looked as if those in control landed in just before the crowd and had nothing ready, why should such incompetence be potentially rewarded with a repeat fixture?? As I said Navan is far from great but it can hold that potential fixture and should be in line to do so.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/11/2016 20:28:00    1935419

Not a fan of either Aughrim or Parnell Park to be honest, so it's lose lose regarding venue.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/11/2016 08:08:54    1935443

Replying To Richieq:  "Never mind the toss of a coin......it's being dragged into Donnycarney again that bugs me, I'd rather play Louth in Tullamore or Portlaoise than that kip. We were in there this year so I see no reason for potentially having to go there again especially given the attitude of stewards present and lack of preparation that prevailed, it looked as if those in control landed in just before the crowd and had nothing ready, why should such incompetence be potentially rewarded with a repeat fixture?? As I said Navan is far from great but it can hold that potential fixture and should be in line to do so."
Got to agree. That place is a kip. Anywhere else would have been grand, will we be ruining another christening? How long will we have to que this time? I dont want it in navan, let Louth decide where to play, I just cant go to donnycarney again.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/11/2016 09:22:12    1935449

Actually I have a stag that weekend lads so I couldn't give a monkeys where the game is, I'll be locked somewhere else!

In all honesty though I hate missing championship matches, haven't missed many but I have to strike this one off the list, ah well, yiz will have to do it without me. Ps the bollox needn't get married on a weekend that Meath are playing, I'm not missing 2 games over him!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/11/2016 12:41:39    1935458