Thoughts on this

Championship game last week had umpires come out to our fulllback and corner back saying he warned about them and will b watching them. I found this very unfair to us undue pressure on the lads concerned b in there heads then about making tackles etc.anyone else experience this

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 10/08/2016 07:57:23    1899209

Replying To Reco:  "Championship game last week had umpires come out to our fulllback and corner back saying he warned about them and will b watching them. I found this very unfair to us undue pressure on the lads concerned b in there heads then about making tackles etc.anyone else experience this"
It's part of their job and glad to see there doing it. Nothing worse than an umpire leaning up against the post not paying attention to anything other than if the ball goes over the bar or not.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 10/08/2016 09:11:59    1899217

Replying To Reco:  "Championship game last week had umpires come out to our fulllback and corner back saying he warned about them and will b watching them. I found this very unfair to us undue pressure on the lads concerned b in there heads then about making tackles etc.anyone else experience this"
Agree with black spot if the defenders were misbehaving umpire right to warn them if the messing continued then he could bring it to refs attention , told him he had warned them the ref would then issue cards

royler (Meath) - Posts: 259 - 10/08/2016 09:49:27    1899241

Replying To royler:  "Agree with black spot if the defenders were misbehaving umpire right to warn them if the messing continued then he could bring it to refs attention , told him he had warned them the ref would then issue cards"
Ok but in the first half they called in the red and the number 14 from the other team said he wasn't touched fair play to him for that. It would have been a yellow card for nothing.ref at half time said to our lads I know it's frustrating what's goin on. If he said that then he had seen more than he letting on. We had same ref and umpires 2 weeks in a row.not saying ref lost us game but the consistency was not there.we targeted before we even started game the umpires said this as well watching ye from last week to. In my book give a lad a chance before that rubbish.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 10/08/2016 10:27:50    1899267

Replying To Reco:  "Ok but in the first half they called in the red and the number 14 from the other team said he wasn't touched fair play to him for that. It would have been a yellow card for nothing.ref at half time said to our lads I know it's frustrating what's goin on. If he said that then he had seen more than he letting on. We had same ref and umpires 2 weeks in a row.not saying ref lost us game but the consistency was not there.we targeted before we even started game the umpires said this as well watching ye from last week to. In my book give a lad a chance before that rubbish."
Umpires should not commicate with players full stop they have a right to call ref in if they notice anything. We have a few that appear to have a bigger say than the ref .... What venue was the game at

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 10/08/2016 10:45:58    1899278

At a game recently when ref spent mote time running in and out to umpires than following the play it annoyed players on both sides , the line and supporters. Yellow cards all over the place not one red shown . To be honest the ref looked embarrassed by the end

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 10/08/2016 10:58:29    1899293