Progress or What ?

Replying To nobull456:  ""
Any player standing back when the chips are down has to be substituted promptly. Two key elements in being successful ability x commitment. One without the other is of no value to us from here forward. I do expect MOD will have learned that at this stage.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 17/06/2016 15:42:54    1868235

Its funny to read all the athletes on here who have the ability to get up and down the field kicking points, creating scores with runs on and off the ball and saving points as well at inter county level. I know the guy, GR, deserves criticism as he is not perfect but my god sometimes we really do love to kick our own lads, particularly the lads from the non traditional strong meath clubs. Catch a grip gents and start getting behind our best players. If the chap knocked it on the head yous wouldnt be long longing for him to be back on the scene!

Mayhem (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 17/06/2016 15:51:02    1868236

Replying To Mayhem:  "Its funny to read all the athletes on here who have the ability to get up and down the field kicking points, creating scores with runs on and off the ball and saving points as well at inter county level. I know the guy, GR, deserves criticism as he is not perfect but my god sometimes we really do love to kick our own lads, particularly the lads from the non traditional strong meath clubs. Catch a grip gents and start getting behind our best players. If the chap knocked it on the head yous wouldnt be long longing for him to be back on the scene!"
I think the issue MOST have with Graham Reilly is that fact that they know how talented he is.He is a good runner and can score from distance which is huge.The problem is the fact that he is one of the oldest players on the team and when the going gets tough you need his leadership instead he goes hiding in those moments.Anyone(these days) in the half forward line must be willing to work back and as important his scores can be for Meath,its also as important that he doesn't(or at least tries) not to let his marker get up the field and score or setup scores.Sadly time and time again Reilly is reluctant to do this,it sticks out like a sore thumb.To be a successful team you need players willing to anything and what is best for the team.Look at the work the likes of Paul Flynn does for Dublin.Over the past few years Reilly has been our most talented player in the half forward line.But his marker tends to score more off him than anyone else who plays there.
In conclusion if Reilly worked hard and tracked back his man,put in that real effort,and tried to gather the troops when things are going wrong,he would be a top top player.Is that likely to change now?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/06/2016 18:03:47    1868279

Cillian O'Sullivan suggested that Meath have been looking at Dublin from a long way back,so hopefully we can see an good game plan
ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:5650 - 17/06/2016 11:51:15 1868094.

Aren't we all watching Dublin from a long way back - not sure what that has to do with being able to beat them. Others are posting very detailed game plans -do any of ye manage any club teams as I may be able to hire some of ye come next year!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/06/2016 18:29:53    1868285

Replying To nobull456:  "Any player standing back when the chips are down has to be substituted promptly. Two key elements in being successful ability x commitment. One without the other is of no value to us from here forward. I do expect MOD will have learned that at this stage."
Agree 100%

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 17/06/2016 18:47:35    1868293

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Bob

I think he is a bit down the pecking order to be honest."
Yep but good he has made himself available. Its good when you see the likes of Menton and Ruarai O'C optioning out.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 17/06/2016 21:07:34    1868336

Replying To browncows:  "Cillian O'Sullivan suggested that Meath have been looking at Dublin from a long way back,so hopefully we can see an good game plan

Aren't we all watching Dublin from a long way back - not sure what that has to do with being able to beat them. Others are posting very detailed game plans -do any of ye manage any club teams as I may be able to hire some of ye come next year!"
The rumour has it browncows you gave Banty that Job already and house in the butt hole of Meath hill surrounded by pointy grass(rushes)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 17/06/2016 21:29:58    1868343

Replying To Mayhem:  "Its funny to read all the athletes on here who have the ability to get up and down the field kicking points, creating scores with runs on and off the ball and saving points as well at inter county level. I know the guy, GR, deserves criticism as he is not perfect but my god sometimes we really do love to kick our own lads, particularly the lads from the non traditional strong meath clubs. Catch a grip gents and start getting behind our best players. If the chap knocked it on the head yous wouldnt be long longing for him to be back on the scene!"
Its funny to read all the athletes on here who have the ability to get up and down the field kicking points, creating scores with runs on and off the ball and saving points as well at inter county level. I know the guy, GR, deserves criticism as he is not perfect but my god sometimes we really do love to kick our own lads, particularly the lads from the non traditional strong meath clubs. Catch a grip gents and start getting behind our best players. If the chap knocked it on the head yous wouldnt be long longing for him to be back on the scene!

Mayhem (Meath) - Posts:1 - 17/06/2016 15:51:02 1868236

Listen Meath People know honest hard workers when they see it and don't see it. I am not a huge fan of Mickey Burke ability and he not from a big club but his honesty and hard work it there for everyone to see every single time he takes to the pitch. That's all you can ask.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 17/06/2016 21:56:27    1868350

Replying To browncows:  "Cillian O'Sullivan suggested that Meath have been looking at Dublin from a long way back,so hopefully we can see an good game plan

Aren't we all watching Dublin from a long way back - not sure what that has to do with being able to beat them. Others are posting very detailed game plans -do any of ye manage any club teams as I may be able to hire some of ye come next year!"
Jim McGuinness pointed out that in order to prepare for Dublin you would ideally need a couple of months of preparation such is the complexity and efficiency of their system.

Having a plan is one thing but to fine tune that so everyone is on the same wavelength and so everyone knows what they're doing is another thing altogether. I genuinely believe all MOD has been thinking of since the start of the O'Byrne cup has been Dublin because we're gonna inevitably run into them at some point. He's obviously had a lot of time to prepare for this and we probably didn't see his hand against Louth. Hopefully he surprises us all with what he sends out Sunday week. Although I'm sceptical that we have the players of the calibre required to really unsettle Dublin.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 18/06/2016 01:40:50    1868390

Mcentee won't be starting a sunday

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 18/06/2016 06:35:30    1868394

RoyalClass- I don't pay much attention to J. mcGuinness as he over analyses everything and then ends up talking about himself. When 'they' played Dublin under his leadership, they would have been beaten out the gate except for the Dubs missing a few very easy chances of goals when 5-6 points up.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/06/2016 10:55:28    1868431

Replying To Htaem:  "I hope we see a big improvement as well nobull, I'll be honest I have little faith in MOD at this stage but I hope the players rally together and leave everything out on the pitch. The sight of a Meath player throwing in the towel and standing there with hands on the hips rather than getting stuck in for 70mins drives me mad and I don't want to see it next Sunday."
Would totally agree with this, mod has said he is building a team for croke park and to beat dubs , this game will tell us how far we are away from these objectives.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2016 12:38:22    1868449

Kerry snd Mayo have far superior teams to us and they too every year prepare for the Dubs but rarely succeed in recent past

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 20/06/2016 13:21:17    1869587

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I think the issue MOST have with Graham Reilly is that fact that they know how talented he is.He is a good runner and can score from distance which is huge.The problem is the fact that he is one of the oldest players on the team and when the going gets tough you need his leadership instead he goes hiding in those moments.Anyone(these days) in the half forward line must be willing to work back and as important his scores can be for Meath,its also as important that he doesn't(or at least tries) not to let his marker get up the field and score or setup scores.Sadly time and time again Reilly is reluctant to do this,it sticks out like a sore thumb.To be a successful team you need players willing to anything and what is best for the team.Look at the work the likes of Paul Flynn does for Dublin.Over the past few years Reilly has been our most talented player in the half forward line.But his marker tends to score more off him than anyone else who plays there.
In conclusion if Reilly worked hard and tracked back his man,put in that real effort,and tried to gather the troops when things are going wrong,he would be a top top player.Is that likely to change now?"
Comparing reilly and flynn is a little silly to be honest as he has vastly superior team mates, if reilly had this then you would see him in a much better light. Flynn can do his work as he knows he has lads alongside him who can do the necessary damage. Reilly doesnt have that in the HF line until now possible with COS. All i am saying is the chap gets caught between trying to damage ie score and trying to do donkey work particularly against Dublin and probably ends up failing on both sides. Also if you dont feel he is double marked by dublin on the occasons we have played them, then you have not been watching closely at all.

Mayhem (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 20/06/2016 14:15:21    1869647

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Its funny to read all the athletes on here who have the ability to get up and down the field kicking points, creating scores with runs on and off the ball and saving points as well at inter county level. I know the guy, GR, deserves criticism as he is not perfect but my god sometimes we really do love to kick our own lads, particularly the lads from the non traditional strong meath clubs. Catch a grip gents and start getting behind our best players. If the chap knocked it on the head yous wouldnt be long longing for him to be back on the scene!

Mayhem (Meath) - Posts:1 - 17/06/2016 15:51:02 1868236

Listen Meath People know honest hard workers when they see it and don't see it. I am not a huge fan of Mickey Burke ability and he not from a big club but his honesty and hard work it there for everyone to see every single time he takes to the pitch. That's all you can ask."
Agreed and fair play to Mickey, he should be appauled for making the most of his ability and talent. However he does not shoulder the same amount of expectation as reilly particularly against dublin. He also is never double marked by all star winners.

Mayhem (Meath) - Posts: 9 - 20/06/2016 14:17:06    1869651

Replying To Mayhem:  "Comparing reilly and flynn is a little silly to be honest as he has vastly superior team mates, if reilly had this then you would see him in a much better light. Flynn can do his work as he knows he has lads alongside him who can do the necessary damage. Reilly doesnt have that in the HF line until now possible with COS. All i am saying is the chap gets caught between trying to damage ie score and trying to do donkey work particularly against Dublin and probably ends up failing on both sides. Also if you dont feel he is double marked by dublin on the occasons we have played them, then you have not been watching closely at all."
Never said he wasn't double marked.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/06/2016 15:23:15    1869714

Replying To Mayhem:  "Agreed and fair play to Mickey, he should be appauled for making the most of his ability and talent. However he does not shoulder the same amount of expectation as reilly particularly against dublin. He also is never double marked by all star winners."
Its the lack of work that Reilly dose without the ball seems to be the issue. Not when all them all-stars that are double marking your talking about. What Allstars are doubling marking in Div 2 ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 20/06/2016 16:02:39    1869751

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Its the lack of work that Reilly dose without the ball seems to be the issue. Not when all them all-stars that are double marking your talking about. What Allstars are doubling marking in Div 2 ?"
Yes indeed a contrast in players and style. I applaud Mickey Burke for his work rate. Yes he makes mistakes, but never short on effort . Mickey will give his best,and that is all you can ask for. A definite starter. Graham plenty of ability.Highly talented. A fine athlete. I wonder could he just borrow some of Mickey's workrate ? A definite starter though. Always seems a confidence player. Just wonder how that could be handled by someone like Sean Boylan ? Just think that is a general area around mental fitness that players like Graham need and deserve. Do not know if or how this critical area is handled when it is needed with the current regime.
It does seem through 2 nd half "collapses " in some recent matches that this relates to mental weakness . I believe in order to progress this development is very important. Yes we all know some players have this toughness built in with their DNA . But some players require assistance also. The foundation stone for any team has to begin with physical and mental fitness,assuming that all players have the footballing skills of course. I also applaud all players and management who devote so much time and effort at these barren times for Meath football.I also believe that the reward of wearing the jersey of a proud footballing county that has such a rich tradition is full reward for the effort. I fully expect Meath will give it a right good lash next Sunday.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1211 - 20/06/2016 16:55:48    1869787