Face Facts Worst Meath Team In Years

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "
Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "it's still a football related topic,MeathOnHill16 wording of the tread topic may have been over the top ! But he still asked good questions on football related matters but people just got triggered by the heading !

He questioned the "3 sweepers behind ball so if we do turn it over we have no forward line to kick it to" which is a good point !

He questioned why harry Rooney wasn't starting

He questioned ..We had a out ball all second half to Brian Conlon... Gallagher wouldn't look at him to give him ball and we could build up field kept booting ball into middle of field and we couldn't win anything

He asked a lot of good questions but people decided to attack the heading rather than answer his questions ..which is his own mistake

Maybe if his topic heading was.... Face Facts Worst tactically prepared Meath Team In Years people wouldn't have been triggered and may have created more of debate around his questions !"
Excellent post because if im honest i actually didnt even read the rest of his comment...the heading on this just roiled me up."
Loyalroyal17 i am just the best ever...if i was a bar of chocolate i would lick myself to death :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 13/03/2018 19:17:26    2084348

FACTS
Why are we doin the simple things badly
Why do we persist with no full forward line
Why do we just kick the ball out to middle of field and when losing it there persist to do it
Why are teams so easily able to cut thru us for scores
Why very little tackling and intensity in our game
Etc etc

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 13/03/2018 19:45:40    2084358

Replying To MeathOnHill16:  "This is worst Meath team I have seen in years no plan to there game. No hunger to get stuck in. We playing 3 sweepers behind ball so if we do turn it over we have no forward line to kick it to.
Management is struggling, why harry Rooney wasn't starting is a joke. We had a out ball all second half to Brian Conlon Gallagher wouldn't look at him to give him ball and we could build up field kept booting ball into middle of field and we couldn't win anything. Really feel sorry for likes of Keoghan and biggy how they have the passion to go play for that useless team baffles me.
Its embarrassing how bad we are."
Heard this comment a lot of times, when we lost to Limerick and were 20 points down at one time. When we scraped to survive under Banty in division 2 and again when we were relegated to division 3 the following year. When Dublin absolutely hammered us a few years ago, when Westmeath beat us (after a second half collapse) and then when the same thing happened us against Derry. We actually have a lot of bad times in the last 10 years or so. For me this year has not yet proved as bad as MOD's last 2 years (although it might yet)

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1340 - 13/03/2018 20:06:33    2084367

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Heard this comment a lot of times, when we lost to Limerick and were 20 points down at one time. When we scraped to survive under Banty in division 2 and again when we were relegated to division 3 the following year. When Dublin absolutely hammered us a few years ago, when Westmeath beat us (after a second half collapse) and then when the same thing happened us against Derry. We actually have a lot of bad times in the last 10 years or so. For me this year has not yet proved as bad as MOD's last 2 years (although it might yet)"
From a spectators point of view, you could watch meath playing football under MOD, the current setup is depressing to watch. You could hear someone coughing in the stand such is the lack of atmosphere

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 13/03/2018 20:27:11    2084374

Replying To Analyst:  "From a spectators point of view, you could watch meath playing football under MOD, the current setup is depressing to watch. You could hear someone coughing in the stand such is the lack of atmosphere"
For me the worse feeling I ever had supporting Meath was leaving championship games having lost big leads in second half in the MOD years. Hopefully things can get better again, funny to think after first 2 games of league this year things were promising.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1340 - 13/03/2018 21:56:40    2084399

I'm not blaming anyone but the team is no better than 3 years ago, but one can produce their own stats to try to validate their own opinions. Its one thing losing big leads but that shows that you have played well for 35 minutes and that is better than not playing well for 70 minutes!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 14/03/2018 00:16:01    2084419

Have been away for a few days, just seen this disgraceful thread, and we call ourselves supporters!!! A great way of encouraging more young people to get involved in the future, why would anyone give up their free time to leave themselves open to this crap!! Of course we would all like to see the team doing better ,but really, is this helpful!!!!

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 14/03/2018 11:23:43    2084474

Replying To browncows:  "I'm not blaming anyone but the team is no better than 3 years ago, but one can produce their own stats to try to validate their own opinions. Its one thing losing big leads but that shows that you have played well for 35 minutes and that is better than not playing well for 70 minutes!"
Second half performances under MOD were actually worse than now under McEntee (the team probably plays to a similar standard for entire match under McEntee). Beat Louth next up and we will have won 2, drawn 1 and lost 3 out of 6. I still have not given up on things turning around yet.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1340 - 14/03/2018 11:28:46    2084475

Face facts--worst thread in 10 years.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 14/03/2018 11:29:54    2084477

Replying To Footnote:  "Have been away for a few days, just seen this disgraceful thread, and we call ourselves supporters!!! A great way of encouraging more young people to get involved in the future, why would anyone give up their free time to leave themselves open to this crap!! Of course we would all like to see the team doing better ,but really, is this helpful!!!!"
Pure disgrace, total & utter dis respect to our County & players. Its already been mentioned on another Forum about what we think of our own players. It needs to be removed....

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 14/03/2018 11:39:24    2084483

Ridiculous thread. By people who don't understand that in this Century top teams are developed through strong underage structures which were barred in Meath 10 years ago. Lugs who made false and scurrilous claims against Mick O Dowd 3 years ago are still coming on trying to justify their ignorance, See above posts!

Also where is the logic in picking on this team. Meath Hurlers get the same meals and expenses and have been getting beat lately as well. At least footballers take on the best teams and recently would have beaten teams like Tyrone but for bad officiating( penalties for diving etc)

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 14/03/2018 11:47:38    2084487

Replying To browncows:  "I'm not blaming anyone but the team is no better than 3 years ago, but one can produce their own stats to try to validate their own opinions. Its one thing losing big leads but that shows that you have played well for 35 minutes and that is better than not playing well for 70 minutes!"
We are where we are..........comparison with past is just useful for amusement generally , and not helpful if labeling the present team as the "worst".That's very subjective anyway. We have to remember players need appreciation and encouragement for effort,as does Andy. However , it is clear Andy is new to this level, and needs help. Keep him there if he contributes to remedial action required to move forward. ANY man new to a job as big as this needs, and deserves that help. It cannot be imposed on him. I expect Andy himself may use the opportunity to freshen up ,and maybe enlarge his backroom team. Nothing new about that! HELP is what is needed. Cannot understand why some people see any problem with offering constructive criticism as a supporter. We are not talking about one off mistakes. but rather annoying on going mistakes regarding shortcomings in management generally. Neither do i think it is fair to remain silent when some players stand back or seem half hearted .They should remember they have been given the massive honour of wearing the jersey as compensation. Any player not feeling that in their bones is surplus to requirements anyway imo.
Next match is what matters now. Past is history.The only reason to look back is to pick up learning points. If that is not to happen, then we can expect more of the same. Give it a right good rattle . its now or never for a lot of these lads. Remember you are wearing the jersey. Andy shows passion no doubt. Getting that across together with other key requirements can be delivered with help. Having said that maybe Andy has modified his shopping list now. If so Co. Board give him all the help he needs. He deserves it

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1212 - 14/03/2018 12:48:18    2084512

Replying To Ashrules:  "Ridiculous thread. By people who don't understand that in this Century top teams are developed through strong underage structures which were barred in Meath 10 years ago. Lugs who made false and scurrilous claims against Mick O Dowd 3 years ago are still coming on trying to justify their ignorance, See above posts!

Also where is the logic in picking on this team. Meath Hurlers get the same meals and expenses and have been getting beat lately as well. At least footballers take on the best teams and recently would have beaten teams like Tyrone but for bad officiating( penalties for diving etc)"
Get over your own self importance coming on here to tell us what we should be talking about on Meath forum. I talked about MOD (and other bad times that happened in Meath football) in responses to show that the problems we have now after last 3 league losses are far from unprecedently bad if you were to compare to whats went before in last 10 or so. That's the problem with this thread.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1340 - 14/03/2018 13:41:25    2084527

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Get over your own self importance coming on here to tell us what we should be talking about on Meath forum. I talked about MOD (and other bad times that happened in Meath football) in responses to show that the problems we have now after last 3 league losses are far from unprecedently bad if you were to compare to whats went before in last 10 or so. That's the problem with this thread."
BDbuddah. How were you fit to judge MOD? He was capable and loyal like the present management and not the source of the problem if there is one.
North Meath traditionally supplied strong players to the Meath Team. You guys did nothing to help bring on the youth in your area. Result there was nothing to pick from in North Meath and you wanted rid of MOD to get players of your own picked. Blaming a good man for your own inadequecies.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 14/03/2018 13:58:54    2084538

Replying To Ashrules:  "BDbuddah. How were you fit to judge MOD? He was capable and loyal like the present management and not the source of the problem if there is one.
North Meath traditionally supplied strong players to the Meath Team. You guys did nothing to help bring on the youth in your area. Result there was nothing to pick from in North Meath and you wanted rid of MOD to get players of your own picked. Blaming a good man for your own inadequecies."
Its called having an opinion. For me 2015 and 2016 (MOD's final 2 years) were the worst years I can remember supporting the Meath team. Thats not to say there was not also bad also in previous years when other managers were in position. For me the main issue I have with this thread is it's sensationalist after 3 losses in the league that people now say this is the lowest point ever. I've heard it all said before. Truth is if Meath stay in Division 2 and perform relatively better than recent years in Championship these games will fade from memory. Personally I have nothing against MOD (was just using his time there so people remembered things were not rosy a few years ago, bad Meath performances have been happening for years). By the way your not Einstein to realise Meath have issues at underage.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1340 - 14/03/2018 16:47:23    2084591

Lack of underage investment is to blame.

The work should have been done when you were winning titles. Winning breeds winning and you failed to capitalise.

Also jumping between managers when silverware wasn't being delivered didn't help and I was happy to see yiz get rid of O'Brien from a purely selfish point of view!

Dodgy thread alright but I know all too well how some of yiz are feeling!

96-2011 wasn't great laugh as a Dub supporter and in fact was the worst period in Dublin GAA history.

Get the underage structures in place ASAP copy the Dub model or Tyrone model and try and build again and hope the 2020's are better but as yiz know yourselves it won't be easy and it could be a long time before Meath win anything significant at senior level. I'd be targeting 2025 onwards as a realistic time frame.

Perhaps this two tier competition idea may suit Meath better at the moment?

You're not top tier anymore and maybe that's where you'll have to find yourselves until you bring in more players.

You can't give up. Get the right men and women in place and build for the future.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/03/2018 22:09:48    2084650

Replying To jimbodub:  "Lack of underage investment is to blame.

The work should have been done when you were winning titles. Winning breeds winning and you failed to capitalise.

Also jumping between managers when silverware wasn't being delivered didn't help and I was happy to see yiz get rid of O'Brien from a purely selfish point of view!

Dodgy thread alright but I know all too well how some of yiz are feeling!

96-2011 wasn't great laugh as a Dub supporter and in fact was the worst period in Dublin GAA history.

Get the underage structures in place ASAP copy the Dub model or Tyrone model and try and build again and hope the 2020's are better but as yiz know yourselves it won't be easy and it could be a long time before Meath win anything significant at senior level. I'd be targeting 2025 onwards as a realistic time frame.

Perhaps this two tier competition idea may suit Meath better at the moment?

You're not top tier anymore and maybe that's where you'll have to find yourselves until you bring in more players.

You can't give up. Get the right men and women in place and build for the future."
I understand were you coming from get your underage system in orders which is fair point Jimbodub....Kerry won the last 4 Minor All Ireland titles and probably have some of the best underage players coming through....But Dublin wasn't long knocking the snot and confidence out of does young lads Last Sunday !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 14/03/2018 22:32:09    2084656