Meath V Cork

Replying To royaldunne:  "Furlong , I would ask you not to take a sabbatical, although I have been thinking about giving this place a rest for while now, if it is to remain any resemblance of what it was when I joined hs many years ago, it needs posters like yourself, knowledgeable, interesting and likeable."
Its a pity then that the knowledgeable bit is a bit rose tinted with regards to the Colm O Rourke/pneumonia starting issue from 91 , Colm Brady Vs Gerry McEntee incident .
If I'm not starting I'm not going on . from the Big Mac

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 20/03/2018 15:41:45    2086285

Replying To meath1977:  "we are playing Louth next"
Wrong ...as i said before we are playing Down next and louth will be the last game.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 20/03/2018 15:46:03    2086290

Replying To royaldunne:  "Furlong , I would ask you not to take a sabbatical, although I have been thinking about giving this place a rest for while now, if it is to remain any resemblance of what it was when I joined hs many years ago, it needs posters like yourself, knowledgeable, interesting and likeable."
Well Its me or him taking a sabbatical..Cant read his nonsense anymore..And I think alot of people would agree..Taking over a thread About a Cork Match and waffling on endlessly about Meath 30 Years ago..Just torture

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/03/2018 15:51:02    2086293

Thanks for your comments Royaldunne. I appreciate them. I have always admired your belief in the county. You are a great Meath supporter through the good days and the bad days.

I will be taking a break for a little while. Truthfully its down to myself my messages r to long and I tend to go off on a nostalgia trip . I need to take a break and come back and be more concise and shorter with my messages. I hope to be back by the championship when we have dethroned Dublin in leinster. keep the faith til then.

Regards Ollie Murphy. What happened was. Ollie was a great finisher. But he wasnt great at winning the dirty ball. Boylan fron 96 to 98 had Giles Geraghty Dowd and Reilly. All finishers and able to win dirty ball. They were picked ahead of Ollie. Boylan always liked to have 2 to 3 hard workers in his forwards and 3 to 4 finishers. Balance in the forwards was important. Something we havent done well since. In late 00s we had to many finishers in the forwards, not enough fellas to win the dirty ball and do the hard work, to many attackers . Same under O Dowd we used to play with 6 attackers in the forwards. Its no coincidence in 2007 one of the our best years in recent times we played Moyles Kevin Reilly and Niall Mcloughlin in the forwards.

Anyway Boylan kept Ollie back for when Dowd and Reilly retired in 98. So by 99 Ollie was like a coil let released, he was unmarkable. Also the real masterstroke was to play Geraghty up alongside Ollie , so Geraghty acted as target man and Ollie worked off him. It worked perfectly. With Giles pulling the strings on 40. Just watch the goal scored v Corkn in 99 final. It was big mac wins the ball pases the Giles, Giles picks out GG with a long pass and Ollie does the rest. That basically is what won us the All Ireland in 99. That triangle of Giles GG and Ollie. Boylan knew how to build teams and knew when players where ready. How he dealt with Ollie is the perfect example. From 99 to 21 Meath never lost a game when Ollie or GG where on the pitch. Ollie was the best corner forward in Ireland between 99 to 01. Two All Irelsnd sucesses in 96 and 99 proved Boylan was right.

Regards Sullivan vision the pass he picked out for lenihans winning goal v Galway last year..Very few players would have that vision. It was Gilesesque. Sullivan just needs more consistently. He has huge potential. But yes he can give the ball away. More experience playing sweepers and blanket defences will help.

Nobull I agree. I remeber the hill after 91 in the sun 10000 Dubs stood their for 5 mins after the game in total shock and slience and you could almost hear them saying in their minds , how the feck did they do that. 91 was nearly as good as winning an All Ireland. Nearly but not really the same.

What I said before when I talked about the old values of Meath football. The reason I talk about them and I have said this above, it is relevant . And the reason nobull is talking about them as well is, if he doesn't mind me saying, is we need to tap into this belief system and values again. I would say alot of people who say stop talking about Boylan years are probaly fans pre 2001. Its understandble. This is our worst decade since independence.

But if we are to suceed again we need to show more of the never say die spirit of the past. I dont know how you do that. To a young generation who live their lives through social media and iphones talking about 91 to our young players aint gonna work. But we need to get them to believe again in their county , their identity and who they are and what they represent now today in 2018 and what it means to wear that jersey. They have responsibility to themselves to their clubs to their county in 2018, but also to great men and teams of the past. To wear the Meath jersey should not be burden it should be an honour. You have to earn the right to wear the jersey. And until you beat Dublin in leinster you arent a Meath footballer. You are by definition but you are not really deep down. Very harsh. But thats the truth..Other generations we were in worse positions and Dublin were just as strong but great players like O Brien McDermott Quinn O Rourke and Giles led by Fr Tully and Seam Boylan never gave up even when everything seemed hopeless.

If you say in this 21st century gaa go away with your values and tradition. Well look at Codys kilkenny that was built on the values and tradition of kilkenny. Everything Cody did was straight out of the Fr Maher handbook ( Kilkenny coach in 60s 70s) that built great kilkenny teams in the 60s and 70s. For all the talk of finances and resources the core of Dublins sucess has been to carry on the values of Heffernans Dublin. Galvin has spoken over and over again how much Heffernan has had influence. The swagger of Heffernans teams can be seen in the Connollys of today. But when you see the ruthless way Dublin made sure Galway didnt win on Sunday or Mayo last September when in the dying minutes they did whatever it took to win. That is page 1 out of the Kevin Heffernan Dublin handbook to sucesss..Basically do whatever you gotta to do to win just do it. When I saw the footage of Galway v Dublin last sunday All I could think of was 1983 All Ireland when 12 men from.Dublin made sure Galway wouldnt win by whatever means possible. Its funny how things just keep repeating itself. Thats the extraordinary thing about football.and life general. The more you see, its just history repeating itself.

We need to get underage sucess now..All the work at underage needs to turn into silverware now..No if or buts. We need to do what Roscommon Cavan kildare have done. A couple of underage titles. That has to happen..We need to bring in coachs at senior and underage level to coach our players to play the modern way and break down modern defences..Galway have shown the way..We need to look to Ulster to help us to develop further. Outside Ulster with exception of Kerry Dublin Mayo no one has really succeeded in the new modern style of football. It will fascinating to see if Galway will succeed in the summer. Have they peaked to soon. But still they have given themselves a chance..We need to set up our defence properly and break forward in a way that will breakdown blanket defences and sweepers.

Not 1 club team is playing this way not 1 coach at club level or at underage level at club level or intercounty is playing this way. Every county team in Tyrone are playing a similar way from under 14 to senior. We need to bring in the proper support to show us how to break down blanket defences. Nothing wrong with this. Offaly hurling sucess in 80s and 90s was built on kilkenny men eg Diarmaid Healy and Cork men eg Trainers in Birr College showing them the proper way to hurl sucessfully. Down and Meath had allot of coachs passing across the border in the 60s with Joe Lennon and coaching courses in Meath. We need to get to grips with modern football tactics , but we need our players to believe again and when they are playing whoever they are playing they will win the ball ahead of their man because of their hunger and steel and desire. Thats how we won in the past. And for all the talk about gps thats how we will win in the future.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/03/2018 16:02:13    2086299

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Well Its me or him taking a sabbatical..Cant read his nonsense anymore..And I think alot of people would agree..Taking over a thread About a Cork Match and waffling on endlessly about Meath 30 Years ago..Just torture"
If you dont like it, dont read it. No one is forcing you to read it. Again if you dont like it , dont read it.
Simple as . Everyone should be free to say what they like as long as they show a bit of respect. There is allot of Meath supporters here who want to talk about our great teams and great players of the past. Nothing wrong with that. Its pretty harmless.
Again if you dont like if, dont read it.

When this forum is talking about state of Meath football and having great discussions on anything Meath related forum its an excellent place for discussion. But for others they just have nothing positive to say and spend their whole time criticising other contributers comments with what they think are funny putdowns . Having to read those sort of negative comments from the usual suspects are a different form torture. This place should be open to all who freely want to discuss Meath football. Rather then contributers just criticizing other peoples comments on the forum for the sake of it. Manners cost nothing.

Example
Furlo67 Ollie Murphy was a better corner forward then Bernard Flynn
Graham54321 Oh cannot listen to this. Insert negative comment. Insert putdown. Insert attempt at funny quip. And finally end with . This is a torture.
Message folllwed by 5 thumbs up from the rest of Moaming Michael Negative Brigade.
That is the standard putdown on the board. Having to read these diatribes over and over again is a different sort of torture.
People should be free to speak there mind. Once they show a bit of a respect.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/03/2018 23:57:25    2086836

That was a short goodbye........

"Taking a break for a while my posts are too long"

Leaves one of the longest posts he ever posted and is back about 7 hours later posting again

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 22/03/2018 12:28:42    2086928

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "That was a short goodbye........

"Taking a break for a while my posts are too long"

Leaves one of the longest posts he ever posted and is back about 7 hours later posting again"
And what r u Roscommon man so interested in whats on a Meath forum. What is this strange obession with Roscommon supporters here with Meath. Its doesnt make any sense whatsoecer. We dont have a rivalry. We havent played in the championship what twice in 70 years. We are not in the same provience. We play an odd time in the league. Would a Roscommon supporter be better off discussing the game with Cavan and worrying about Galways rise to prominence as Connachts top team in the future. Then throwing negative comments on a other counties forum that has no upcoming games, no link, no rivalry, no interest in Roscommon football whatsoever.
Again its just another example of making negative comments criticising other contributers instead talking about GAA matters, just interested in putdowns.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/03/2018 13:25:34    2086951

"Would a Roscommon supporter be better off discussing the game with Cavan and worrying about Galways rise to prominence"

We beat Cavan last week so i have no business discussing the Cavan game its over in the past and i dont spend hours a day going over games that happened in the past unlike your good self. Galways rise to prominence remains to be seen another ridiculous comment we are current provincial champions.

And get off your high horse i do make the odd troll comment mainly aimed at troll who claims we were the worst side Meath played all year dispite us currently topping the table. You have banged on for over 24 hours about you taking a break from posting but your still here and i called you out on it.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 22/03/2018 14:50:46    2086990

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  ""Would a Roscommon supporter be better off discussing the game with Cavan and worrying about Galways rise to prominence"

We beat Cavan last week so i have no business discussing the Cavan game its over in the past and i dont spend hours a day going over games that happened in the past unlike your good self. Galways rise to prominence remains to be seen another ridiculous comment we are current provincial champions.

And get off your high horse i do make the odd troll comment mainly aimed at troll who claims we were the worst side Meath played all year dispite us currently topping the table. You have banged on for over 24 hours about you taking a break from posting but your still here and i called you out on it."
Thank you for calling me out .
But why r u here?. How many Meath men are on the Roscommon forum currently. Wud u be better off talking about Cork and Roscommon.

I said Galways future dominance. When Mayo decline the power of connacht football does tend to swing back to the tribesmen. Not all the time but allot. The last time Roscommon dominated Connacht football really was with a brillant team in the late 70s.
With 4 All Ireland winning under 21 teams backboning the current Galway set up . And with their tradition and belief. Galway see themselves as equals to Kerry and Dublin in the game down through the decades. Only kerry and Dublin have won more Sams. With Galway now adapting and playing a modern tactically aware game and if this form continues in the summer. It would be fair to say that Galway could potentially win Sam Maguire in the coming 3 to 4 years. I dont think any of that is an outlandish thing to say. I was talking about the next 3 to 4 years. And Im not only who has been impressed with Galways current form. Galway always come every 20 or 30 years. Definatly a team for the future.
Im just answering back some of ur comments.

To tell the truth I have had a very sick parent recently. And I found this forum a great place just to take my mind of things. And write about better days watching football. It was never my intention to take over any thread. This place is a great spot for talking about the gaa. But just less negativity to each other and even the team and management would be best all round .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/03/2018 15:43:12    2087013

I comment on plenty of threads. i didnt realise i wasnt allowed post on other counties thread i must have missed that rule. I dount there are many lads still involved with Galways current squad that won the 2002 and 2005 u21 championships. I do believe they have lads from 2011 and 2013 however. Roscommon have won 4 u21 provincial championship this decade compaired with Galways 3 and Mayo's 1. We were robbed in 2013 and 2016. Anyway although i do think Galway will be very competitive in years to come you are giving out so wrong stats.

I will leave yeah too it best of luck against Down i think ye will have more than enough for them. We would have beaten them if we hadnt to play 65 minutes with 14 men. Also i never asked you to leave forum it was yourself who stated you were leaving numerous times makes little difference to me if you stay or go. Best of luck to your Parent i really hope they overcome the illness i am sure its a tough time for ye all.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 22/03/2018 16:06:02    2087027

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "I comment on plenty of threads. i didnt realise i wasnt allowed post on other counties thread i must have missed that rule. I dount there are many lads still involved with Galways current squad that won the 2002 and 2005 u21 championships. I do believe they have lads from 2011 and 2013 however. Roscommon have won 4 u21 provincial championship this decade compaired with Galways 3 and Mayo's 1. We were robbed in 2013 and 2016. Anyway although i do think Galway will be very competitive in years to come you are giving out so wrong stats.

I will leave yeah too it best of luck against Down i think ye will have more than enough for them. We would have beaten them if we hadnt to play 65 minutes with 14 men. Also i never asked you to leave forum it was yourself who stated you were leaving numerous times makes little difference to me if you stay or go. Best of luck to your Parent i really hope they overcome the illness i am sure its a tough time for ye all."
Thanks for your comments Cuckoosinging.
With all those U21 Connacht titles, Roscommon I think have huge potential also..In the next 4 to 5 years I can see allot of Roscommon v Galway Connacht finals. Roscommon have allot of good young footballers who you can see playing in div 1 Connacht finals and Super 8s over the next few years. Both have coming teams and you could potentially see both Galway and Roscommon reaching an All Ireland final each in the coming 4 to 5 years. The only thing is Galway have an aura about them the same way Dublin have in the east and Kerry in the south. Watching Galway teams of 98 to 01, they had serious swagger and self confidence.
Thanks again for ur comments.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/03/2018 17:00:45    2087046

Furlong1949 (Meath)- I wish a speedy recovery to your parent and hope all goes well into the future for you. We all give our opinions about football and sometimes we make comments to give a bit of a rise. However, there are much more important things in life with the health and welfare of those close to us the most significant.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 22/03/2018 19:31:25    2087089

Replying To browncows:  "Furlong1949 (Meath)- I wish a speedy recovery to your parent and hope all goes well into the future for you. We all give our opinions about football and sometimes we make comments to give a bit of a rise. However, there are much more important things in life with the health and welfare of those close to us the most significant."
Thanks Browncows. I appreciate.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/03/2018 23:45:33    2087143

Last last word. ( I should have had the username Columbo then Furlong . One more thing.......)

I just really want to say this that I regret what I said above. I mentioned Graham9798. I regret what I said Graham. There was no need for it. It was said in haste. The minute I sent I regreted it. I hope no hard feelings. Any offence to anyone else I apologise. It was a childish rant. I know everyone here wants the best for the county. I really wanted to say that.

As I said this place is a great place for information and robust debate. For someone like myself where there is few places for Meath GAA on the net. This place is my daily fix. And I check it everyday.

So RoyalDunne , Nobull , Brownscow, Jinxie, Htaem, Graham9798, Meathwawa, Whythelongface , Castlebravo, Seadog, GlasgarsOr, Royaloptimist, Southmeathgael and all the other Meath supporters keep the green and gold flag flying high. (I also must mention Ollie , louths greatest supporter) . We might agree and disagree on allot of thing's but we all agree on one thing we are a great football county with great football tradition and we all hope one day again see a strong sucessful Meath gaelic football team. We have a good robust debate. But when the players enter the field we give our full support as so many of us travel the country in support of our county . And in Andy we trust. Hopefully things will change and upturn soon enough.

Hopefully we get a good result on Sunday. I think we will win both games and stay up. I think we will beat Longford. And actually give the Dubs a good rattle. I think we will give a good competitive performance v Dublin. That wil really surprise people. That sounds far fetched. But I think its probaly the best time to play them. And I just have a feeling we r due a big game v them. But I still think we will be knocked out mid July. We probaly wouldnt reach Super 8. Next year looks a tougher division with Kildare Armagh and probaly Donegal or maybe Mayo. But I believe in his third year we will get promoted. I know there is no hard evidence to say that. Its just feeling in my water for the want of a better way of saying it.

Keep the faith. We are definitely not as bad as things are at the moment. And if we do go down. While it will seem like a low point for us. And it will be a blow a massive blow to our pride. But building up from Division 3 we could get momentum and start building up again. Being stuck in divsion 2 for so long it has been like football pergurtry . Like we have been stuck in division 2 football rut for a decade. Being stuck permanently in division 2, its led to lack confidence with our players and allot of pessimism and disappointment for us as supporters. A feeling of frustration is I would say the overwhelming emotion for Meath supporters in the recent past.
Anyway keep up the great work and passionate debate. Thats really it is. I just really wanted to say that.
Anyway,I promise this is for good. I have had more comebacks then Sinatra. Anyway
Furlong has really left the building this time. Slan.
Meath leinster Champions 2021.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 23/03/2018 23:22:51    2087341

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Last last word. ( I should have had the username Columbo then Furlong . One more thing.......)

I just really want to say this that I regret what I said above. I mentioned Graham9798. I regret what I said Graham. There was no need for it. It was said in haste. The minute I sent I regreted it. I hope no hard feelings. Any offence to anyone else I apologise. It was a childish rant. I know everyone here wants the best for the county. I really wanted to say that.

As I said this place is a great place for information and robust debate. For someone like myself where there is few places for Meath GAA on the net. This place is my daily fix. And I check it everyday.

So RoyalDunne , Nobull , Brownscow, Jinxie, Htaem, Graham9798, Meathwawa, Whythelongface , Castlebravo, Seadog, GlasgarsOr, Royaloptimist, Southmeathgael and all the other Meath supporters keep the green and gold flag flying high. (I also must mention Ollie , louths greatest supporter) . We might agree and disagree on allot of thing's but we all agree on one thing we are a great football county with great football tradition and we all hope one day again see a strong sucessful Meath gaelic football team. We have a good robust debate. But when the players enter the field we give our full support as so many of us travel the country in support of our county . And in Andy we trust. Hopefully things will change and upturn soon enough.

Hopefully we get a good result on Sunday. I think we will win both games and stay up. I think we will beat Longford. And actually give the Dubs a good rattle. I think we will give a good competitive performance v Dublin. That wil really surprise people. That sounds far fetched. But I think its probaly the best time to play them. And I just have a feeling we r due a big game v them. But I still think we will be knocked out mid July. We probaly wouldnt reach Super 8. Next year looks a tougher division with Kildare Armagh and probaly Donegal or maybe Mayo. But I believe in his third year we will get promoted. I know there is no hard evidence to say that. Its just feeling in my water for the want of a better way of saying it.

Keep the faith. We are definitely not as bad as things are at the moment. And if we do go down. While it will seem like a low point for us. And it will be a blow a massive blow to our pride. But building up from Division 3 we could get momentum and start building up again. Being stuck in divsion 2 for so long it has been like football pergurtry . Like we have been stuck in division 2 football rut for a decade. Being stuck permanently in division 2, its led to lack confidence with our players and allot of pessimism and disappointment for us as supporters. A feeling of frustration is I would say the overwhelming emotion for Meath supporters in the recent past.
Anyway keep up the great work and passionate debate. Thats really it is. I just really wanted to say that.
Anyway,I promise this is for good. I have had more comebacks then Sinatra. Anyway
Furlong has really left the building this time. Slan.
Meath leinster Champions 2021."
No harm done ,I apologise myself I was a harsh also.I hope we can forget about it and move on ! My advice would be to stay to topic and by all means talk about the old days but maybe start another thread !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 24/03/2018 08:59:07    2087366

Replying To grahamc9897:  "No harm done ,I apologise myself I was a harsh also.I hope we can forget about it and move on ! My advice would be to stay to topic and by all means talk about the old days but maybe start another thread !"
No problem Graham. Thats fair enough. Staying on topic and starting a new thread on the old days is good advice.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 24/03/2018 15:51:03    2087435

Replying To Furlong1949:  "No problem Graham. Thats fair enough. Staying on topic and starting a new thread on the old days is good advice."
Furlong1949 do whatever you want lad...if they are not interested in what you write why do they still read it? Its there problem not yours ....post whatever you want and don't let other people tell you how you should post.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 24/03/2018 16:57:32    2087455

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Furlong1949 do whatever you want lad...if they are not interested in what you write why do they still read it? Its there problem not yours ....post whatever you want and don't let other people tell you how you should post."
Obviously he can do whatever he wants..Im just giving my opinion its not Gospel..Just some of the posts not really relevant!! Anyway no big deal either way

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 24/03/2018 19:50:16    2087511

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Obviously he can do whatever he wants..Im just giving my opinion its not Gospel..Just some of the posts not really relevant!! Anyway no big deal either way"
wasn't having a go at you graham lad..

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 25/03/2018 18:42:40    2087831