Meath v Louth

Great to win and score 27 points but don't forget it was Louth we were playing, no disrespect but hardly a benchmark. Kildale will be a good test for this team. Again they are far from World class but are improving

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/06/2017 10:10:53    1995408

Replying To dunboynelad:  "A lot of positives to take, main ones for me being:

Biggy - 14 from play in his last two games? Absolute class, long may it last.

Ronan Jones - what a way to arrive on the county scene, at 20 years of age. Forgetting for a minute how good he can be, we were badly in need of a midfielder now. It was widely agreed after the Kildare game this was priority, I reckon we now have one.

Forwards - we are motoring really well as a unit here, 27 points is seriously impressive and showed our big scores in the league weren't a flash in the pan. We can give any team plenty to think about.

Fitness & character - if we had have gone 2 points down in the 2nd half in that fixture last year, we'd have been rightly worried, especially after dominating the game, but this team is showing something different, and that is down to Andy Mac."
Agree wholeheartedly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/06/2017 10:28:24    1995423

Attitude and work rate are the buzzwords this year, both of which were outstanding at the weekend. Being able to keep at it consistently for 70 mins will please the management. Our fitness levels were far superior to Louth's who weren't up to it at all. It was clear from early on that we were well in command but the goals kept them in it for 50 or so minutes. We're starting to finish games with a flourish which makes for a change from last year.

Forward unit was impressive and linked up to great effect at times. Don't think we took on many shots from outrageous angles which we've seen in the past. Only disappointment was not hitting the net a few times but on another day we'd have knocked in three or four. I had mentioned that Jones looked a great prospect in the challenge games and playing the full game on Sunday will do him the world of good.

Can't really fault any of the backs individually but as a collective we were a little disorganised. McGill was a big loss and perhaps not having Donal inside was unsettling. Couple of big decisions to be made here before the Kildare game. Don't have a problem with Paddy in goals. His distribution was outstanding apart from the second goal which can only be put down to a lapse in concentration. Made a few top drawer saves and was unlucky not to keep out the penalty and the third goal.

Kildare game has the makings of a cracker. Hopefully we'll bring a decent crowd to Tullamore and get behind the boys again. Must mention that it was refreshing to see the interaction between players and supporters after the game too. Nice to have that bond back.

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 06/06/2017 11:28:36    1995464

Replying To OLLIE:  "Congrats to Meath yesterday. Biggy Reilly had some match. Disappointed with Louth yesterday but wee will still rally the Wee troops. Best of luck for the rest of the championship and I am really looking forward to the Meath/Kildare match. It is one of my fav fixtures in Leinster."
Best of luck Ollie with the rest of the Championship...Hope ye get the win against Longford.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 06/06/2017 11:37:34    1995478

Overall a win is a win and to score 27 points is a great tally but Louth were so open all day it was almost unbelievable to watch. I wasn't overly impressed with Meath, they let Louth back into the match so many times I nearly lost count, hard to believe that with 20 mins to go Louth were 2 points up despite hardly winning a kick out. I think we need to improve dramatically to beat Kildare but I think we can, definite progress from last year. POR still a concern for me, doesn't need to do short kick outs when we are so dominant in midfield.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 06/06/2017 13:48:14    1995589

Replying To dunboynelad:  "A lot of positives to take, main ones for me being:

Biggy - 14 from play in his last two games? Absolute class, long may it last.

Ronan Jones - what a way to arrive on the county scene, at 20 years of age. Forgetting for a minute how good he can be, we were badly in need of a midfielder now. It was widely agreed after the Kildare game this was priority, I reckon we now have one.

Forwards - we are motoring really well as a unit here, 27 points is seriously impressive and showed our big scores in the league weren't a flash in the pan. We can give any team plenty to think about.

Fitness & character - if we had have gone 2 points down in the 2nd half in that fixture last year, we'd have been rightly worried, especially after dominating the game, but this team is showing something different, and that is down to Andy Mac."
Agree that Jones made a great impact for a 20 year old making his debut. However I thought he was quiet in the first half and Menton was the more dominant of the 2 midfielders and dominated Durnin who was eventually substituted. Jones and Menton are a good combination as Jones likes to go forward and Menton who is a more natural half back does a lot of unselfish work tackling and tracking back.

Regarding Biggy, his work rate this year has made him the complete player. Any time you score 7 points from play regardless of opposition is a serious contribution.

subzero (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 06/06/2017 14:37:13    1995641

Replying To MarkMyWords:  "Attitude and work rate are the buzzwords this year, both of which were outstanding at the weekend. Being able to keep at it consistently for 70 mins will please the management. Our fitness levels were far superior to Louth's who weren't up to it at all. It was clear from early on that we were well in command but the goals kept them in it for 50 or so minutes. We're starting to finish games with a flourish which makes for a change from last year.

Forward unit was impressive and linked up to great effect at times. Don't think we took on many shots from outrageous angles which we've seen in the past. Only disappointment was not hitting the net a few times but on another day we'd have knocked in three or four. I had mentioned that Jones looked a great prospect in the challenge games and playing the full game on Sunday will do him the world of good.

Can't really fault any of the backs individually but as a collective we were a little disorganised. McGill was a big loss and perhaps not having Donal inside was unsettling. Couple of big decisions to be made here before the Kildare game. Don't have a problem with Paddy in goals. His distribution was outstanding apart from the second goal which can only be put down to a lapse in concentration. Made a few top drawer saves and was unlucky not to keep out the penalty and the third goal.

Kildare game has the makings of a cracker. Hopefully we'll bring a decent crowd to Tullamore and get behind the boys again. Must mention that it was refreshing to see the interaction between players and supporters after the game too. Nice to have that bond back."
good post and the players were more than happy to sign autographs for the kids and chat with people. fair play to them for that because sometimes you just want to go in,change and get that shower!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2017 18:28:29    1995850

Replying To subzero:  "Agree that Jones made a great impact for a 20 year old making his debut. However I thought he was quiet in the first half and Menton was the more dominant of the 2 midfielders and dominated Durnin who was eventually substituted. Jones and Menton are a good combination as Jones likes to go forward and Menton who is a more natural half back does a lot of unselfish work tackling and tracking back.

Regarding Biggy, his work rate this year has made him the complete player. Any time you score 7 points from play regardless of opposition is a serious contribution."
jones was a bit nervous or seemed to be in the first half,but showed great character to perform 2nd half. menton is under appreciated imo.tactically he is top class.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/06/2017 18:31:02    1995852

Replying To OLLIE:  "Congrats to Meath yesterday. Biggy Reilly had some match. Disappointed with Louth yesterday but wee will still rally the Wee troops. Best of luck for the rest of the championship and I am really looking forward to the Meath/Kildare match. It is one of my fav fixtures in Leinster."
Gent as always, cheers OLLIE and best of luck to Louth going forward, a home draw v Longford offers a good chance to bounce back.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/06/2017 18:57:38    1995877

Replying To Barney123:  "Best of luck with it Ollie, I could never understand some of the hatred Louth fans had for Meath(even before big joe). I always hope Louth do well except against us of course. Delighted when yous got promoted and hopefully it will help yous improve over the coming years."
Barney I don't mind Meath myself (just as long as they are not winning All Ireland's haha). I have some good friends who are from the Royal County. The banter is mighty with them and you have to give as good as you get. I think myself the hatred from some Louth supporters towards Meath goes back to the 50's when Louth or Meath were winning Leinster title's. When Louth won Sam in 1957 Meath supporters along the route put out black flags. It also did not help during the 90's and 00's when a Meath publican who owned a much well known pub in Drogheda would refuse lads wearing Louth jersey's in to his premises but yet would let in lads with Meath jersey's in to his pub. Karma came back to bite him in 2004 when he was grinning and crying in the Drawda Indo saying how much he spend on his pub when the smoking ban came in. It did not matter me to me because I never drank in that place.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/06/2017 16:29:05    1998605

Replying To OLLIE:  "Barney I don't mind Meath myself (just as long as they are not winning All Ireland's haha). I have some good friends who are from the Royal County. The banter is mighty with them and you have to give as good as you get. I think myself the hatred from some Louth supporters towards Meath goes back to the 50's when Louth or Meath were winning Leinster title's. When Louth won Sam in 1957 Meath supporters along the route put out black flags. It also did not help during the 90's and 00's when a Meath publican who owned a much well known pub in Drogheda would refuse lads wearing Louth jersey's in to his premises but yet would let in lads with Meath jersey's in to his pub. Karma came back to bite him in 2004 when he was grinning and crying in the Drawda Indo saying how much he spend on his pub when the smoking ban came in. It did not matter me to me because I never drank in that place."
well that indeed is pathetic..

him not you.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/06/2017 18:44:40    1998686

Replying To OLLIE:  "Barney I don't mind Meath myself (just as long as they are not winning All Ireland's haha). I have some good friends who are from the Royal County. The banter is mighty with them and you have to give as good as you get. I think myself the hatred from some Louth supporters towards Meath goes back to the 50's when Louth or Meath were winning Leinster title's. When Louth won Sam in 1957 Meath supporters along the route put out black flags. It also did not help during the 90's and 00's when a Meath publican who owned a much well known pub in Drogheda would refuse lads wearing Louth jersey's in to his premises but yet would let in lads with Meath jersey's in to his pub. Karma came back to bite him in 2004 when he was grinning and crying in the Drawda Indo saying how much he spend on his pub when the smoking ban came in. It did not matter me to me because I never drank in that place."
i though it was Death Mass cards we sent you Ollie :)

i think a lot of the stories from yesteryear were made up...just like how years ago everybody would see the banshee or moving statues !

Its all Aliens and UFOs now sadly ..

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 12/06/2017 18:54:07    1998694

Replying To ziggy32001:  "well that indeed is pathetic..

him not you."
It sure is Ziggy. It used to be the main spot for Meath supporters that ventured in to Drawda. When Meath beat Louth in 2002 he had a free bar for half an hour. One of the rival pubs in the town rang that pub in 2001 the night when Meath lost the All Ireland final to Galway. When the barman picked up the phone and said hello. The rival pub said is Sam here? The barman said back to him Sam who? The rival pub said Sam Maguire and slammed down the phone. Even the pubs were at each other back then.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/06/2017 20:51:16    1998739

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "i though it was Death Mass cards we sent you Ollie :)

i think a lot of the stories from yesteryear were made up...just like how years ago everybody would see the banshee or moving statues !

Its all Aliens and UFOs now sadly .."
Oh yes I forgot about the mass cards long

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/06/2017 20:52:31    1998740

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "i though it was Death Mass cards we sent you Ollie :)

Its all Aliens and UFOs now sadly .."
Oh yes I forgot about the mass cards WhyTheLongFace. They were send after Mayo beat Louth in the 1950 All Ireland final. Jaysus you should go to Storm nightclub in Drawda. You would see plenty of banshees and moving statues in there. Aliens and UFOs like what happened in Roswell in the USA in 1947. Another American government cover up.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/06/2017 20:56:13    1998741

Replying To OLLIE:  "It sure is Ziggy. It used to be the main spot for Meath supporters that ventured in to Drawda. When Meath beat Louth in 2002 he had a free bar for half an hour. One of the rival pubs in the town rang that pub in 2001 the night when Meath lost the All Ireland final to Galway. When the barman picked up the phone and said hello. The rival pub said is Sam here? The barman said back to him Sam who? The rival pub said Sam Maguire and slammed down the phone. Even the pubs were at each other back then."
sounds like moe from the simpsons!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 12/06/2017 21:57:27    1998773