St. Pats Club Notes

September 03, 2014

St. Pats Survive In Div One

In their final League match for 2014 seen St.Pats scheduled at home to play already relegated Oldcastle however St. Pats were given a walkover in their final match & awarded the Pts. So all the attention led to Simonstown v Gaeil Colmcille with a win for the Kells men would condemn St.Patricks to Div 2 football for 2015. So St.Pats were relying on Simonstown to take the pts in order for St.Pats to stay in Div 1 and send Gaeil Colmcille to Div 2 & that sure happened as Simonstown won by a scoreline of 0:15 to 0:10. It was only back in St.Patricks day of this year that we were defeated to Gaeil Colmcille by 3pts but our "St.Patricks Day" has really arrived a relief for all at the club to remain in top flight football for 2015.  Let hope that the lads can build on this, improve & have a much better league season for 2015 & not see themselves in this position again.

Underage Football - News & Results

Pats Og

Pats Og  training takes place every Saturday morning. As always new children are always welcome. Times are 10.30am - 11.15am - for children born in 2010 & 2011 & 11.15am - midday - for children born in 2009. For more information on Pats Og call into the clubhouse and contact John Cullen.

Juvenile U'8 Hurling

The U8's travelled to Ratoath with two teams to play in 2 arranged friendly games. The kids displayed wonderful hurling skills on this outing clearly showing that they are learning the skills that they are been thought weekly by their mentors. Thanks to Ratoath for the invite & a great morning of hurling. The Following evening St.Pats held a double training session with St.Colmcilles in Stamullen.  Numbers again were out in force for this outing which resulted in two games been played on the evening.  Towards the end of the month the kids visited Kilberry for another round of Blitz's & proved worthwhile a great morning of hurling against Ratoath, St.Colmcilles & Wolfe Tones.

U8's

The U8's visited Seneschalstown with two teams to take part in their Blitz along with Donaghmore/Ashbourne. The kids put in a great performance in both of their matches and gave a good account of themselves on their skills that they are been mentored in.Unfortunately the rain didnt hold up and ended the last game early. Thanks to all at Seneschalstown for the refreshments that followed later. In their next blitz the U8's hosted in Stamullen where teams from Walterstown & Navan O'Mahoneys visted for the morning.  The Kids put on a great show of Gaa displaying wonderfull Gaa to watch.  Week by week its proving that the mentoring that they are receiving is doing them good. Thanks to all that served the refreshments that followed once the games were completed.

U10's Boys

The U10 visited Seneschalstown to take part in their blitz. 2 teams took part on the day and played in four very good games.  You can clearly see at this level while getting themselves ready for U11 winter league that the kids are quite competitive in their attacking defending and taken of a score.  Thanks to all at the host club for hosting a great morning of Gaa. The U10's next blitz was their home blitz in Stamullen with the visiting teams from Walterstown & Navan O'Mahoneys. Two very well drilled teams lined out for the Pats both equally good and displayed some lovely Gaa. Other games for the U10's that took place was the visit of St.Colmcilles and Louth team Naomh Martin.

Boys U12's

The U12's were successful in their semi final summer league group B knockout game against Ratoath coming away with a 14 pt win and making it to the final where they would play Duleek-Bellewstown. Final score was St.Patricks 0:24 - Ratoath 0:10. In the final both teams travelled to Skyrne to compete for the prize.  So to the final with both team evenally matched there was very little to seperate the teams in both of their matches however this ended in Extra time with St.Pats advancing with a 5pt win to take the title of "U12 Summer League Football Group B Winners" Final Score Duleek/Bellewstown 0:36 - St.Pats 0:41. Well done to all the boys, their manager/mentors on a great successfull 2014 Gaa Season.

L.G.F.A - St Pat Girls Update
The annual St Pats girls summer league once again through up same great matches this summer. We had four teams made up of U16's U14's & U12's this year's theme was "The Apprentice" the idea behind this was to involve the U16 girls in the management side of things with two U16's taking charge of each team.
The girls named their own teams and once again you just didn't know what they were going to come up with, so we had The Dominos Managed by Ciara Rothwell & Ciara Mc Quillan, The Russian Grannies Managed by Emmer Mc Causland & Sarah Sheridan, The Wibbly Wobbly Wonders Managed by Ciara Darby and 13 Direction Managed by Emma Whyte and Emma Dowling.
It was the Dominos who showed all the form in the league round stages and indeed the went through the whole competition without suffering any defeats at all, so hats off to the two Ciara's who it has to be said always had their team very well prepared before matches and some very good positional management from the two girls had a big part in their success. Well done to all the girls who took part.
The Pats ladies are still growing in strength and this is of real benefit to our up and coming underage girls who see that we have a senior team that they can look up too.
Coming up for the girls is the U14 Summer League shield Final replay Time & Date TBC. Then we have the start of the Autumn leagues and this year it looks as though St.Pats representation will be made up of, Two U13 Teams one U15 Team a Minor Team and a Senior Team so some exciting times ahead.
Finally Date for you diary is Friday 10th October The Pats Ladies section are holding a Pre Loved Dress Evening, this is your chance ladies to pick up a top designer dress for as little as €10 and with every purchase you will also enter into a free draw on the night, all moneys raised will go into the ladies section and any dresses left over on  night will be donated to local charity shops. More details to follow closer to the dates.

J.F.C
In the Junior C Football Championship Semi Final St.Pats winners of Group B travelled to Donore to take on Syddan runners up group A where the Winners would meet either Blackhall Gaels or Simonstown. St.Pats came away with a victory by winning by 7pts with Cormac Sullivan bagging a goal while the on song Barry Campbell took 7pts. Final score St.Patricks 1:11 - Syddan 0:07. In the final St.Pats faced last years runners up Blackhall Gaels in what was billing to be an exciting match was really flat & never really got going with neither team taken advantage of the wind when they both had it. The match with a couple of yellow and red card had a draw written all over it and thats how it finished with St.Pats getting the equalizer with seconds remaining. Final Score St.Pats 0:8 - Blackhall Gaels 0:8 Replay T.B.C Images on our Facebook page.
Senior Mens League

In their second last league match St.Pats found themselves up against Skyrne. Some St.Pats errors led to Skyrne taken advantage and leading by 7 in the 1st half. St.Pats came out in the second half & quick succession got 2 scores a goal and a point reduced it to 3 but Skyrne kept plugging away eventually winning the match by 7pts.  Final score Skyrne 2:18 - St.Pats 3:08.  Images of the game can be found on our Facebook page.

Senior Men Championship

The return of the Championship seen St.Pats travel to Dunshaughlin to play Summerhill in rd 4 Group C of the Hoganstand.ie Senior Football Championship in where both sides played out a draw with Niall Mooney taken the last score to make things level.  Final score St.Pats 0:10 - Summerhill 1:07. The draw puts Pats in 2nd place on 4pts with St.Pats final group game a must win game against Donaghmore/Ashbourne to have any chance of continuing in the championship. This match took place at the end of August in Pairc Tailteann. With Niall Mooney getting the goal just before halftime gave the Pats some hope going in at halftime level. With Don/Ash eventually coming out for the 2nd half & bagging the 1st score they continued like they had in the 1st half. Eventually it was'nt to be for the Pats as they bowed out of the championship on a scoreline of 0:17 - 1:11. Well done to all the lads on their championship season throughtout 2014.

B-League

In the football B League Division 3 rd 9 St.Pats were scheduled to host the visit of Trim to Stamullen but the Pats were awarded a W/O. The Pats now lead Div 3 on 17pts two clear of 2nd place Na Fianna.

Senior Hurling

The Hurlers were in action in Kilmessan in the JHC Group A Round 4 match against Rathmolyon. The lads played a very good first half taken the lead at half time against a very well fancied Rathmoylon team. However things changing in second half allowing Rathmoylon back into the game.  Goals from Brian Farrelly and Brian Calvey kept the Pats plugging away but Rathmolyon were holding on by a single score until the dying seconds only to give away a Penalty.  St.Pats put it over the bar to level the scores. Final score Rathmoylon 2:11 - St.Pats 2:11. Next up for the hurlers in the JHC Group A Round 5 was Boardsmill this match took place in Dunsany & what a result for the Pats as they recorded a win against Boarsdsmill on a scoreline of 1:09 to 3:05. In their Semi final St.Pats will face Boardsmill again on 7th September with the winner facing Kildalkey in the Final.

Astro Outdoor Pitches

Autumn/Winter season is fast approaching & at St Patricks GAA the club has great facilities in the form of two Outdoor fully floodlight Astro Turf pitches. Since opening began it has been full on action with all different type of ages and groups using the Astro.

Now open & fully running the club are take bookings for the pitches & look forward to welcoming you & your group to St.Patricks Gaa Centre. Rates for a pitch are as follows : Monday to Friday Daylight hours €40.00 per hour. All other times €50.00 per hour. Last game slot is 9-10pm. Pitch Closure on Sunday's.

Don't miss out on your evening training during the fall & winter months. For more information contact any member within the club.

St.Pats Old Memorablia

Club PRO Gareth McDonnell is calling on all former members, players & Gaa club Fanatics to get in touch with him on "old photo memorabila" that they may have whether in their attics or framed. As our building is now up and running & our walls are bare Gareth is looking for team photos or winning team images, newspaper cuttings etc dating back from 1950 to present.  If thats you that might be able to help please contact Gareth on 0873147326 or [email protected] All material will be looked after safely & returned to their owners.

Club Lotto

Our club lotto continues to go from strength to strength with the fantastic support of the public within the local community however we are always looking for new people to give it a go.  Club lotto can be done within the club or any committee member within the club. Lotto take place every Tuesday night in Whytes of Stamullen. The Cost is €2 a ticket and there also is a "Crossbar Challenge". Enquire within the club. Your Support is greatly appreciated.

Stamullen Physiotherapy

Stamullen Physiotherapy (Lisa Hutcheson) will Officially have its "Grand Opening" on September 7th at 3pm - Make sure to drop by & visit Lisa as she opens her new premises in the Village. Special appearances at the guest opening will be Graham Reilly of Meath & St.Colmcilles & Dean Rock of Dublin & Ballymum Kickhams & Grace Davit of the Irish Ladies Rugby team. Best of luck Lisa from all at St.Patricks C.L.G. For more information email at [email protected]
website stamullenphysiotherapy.com or facebook stamullenphysiotherapy

Scott Gets The Silver
Congratulations to St.Pats U10 player Scott Guildea who won the silver medal in the U10 Comminity Games Hurdles Finals in Athlone recently. Scott won his heat & went on to win his semifinal to take his place int he final. He was awarded a silver medal after a nail-biting photo finish. Scott did both his parish & his county proud. Well done Scott from all your team mates in the U10's at St.Patricks Gaa.  An All Ireland medal at age 9 that is one great achievement.

Pre Loved Dress
Date for you diary is Friday 10th October The Pats Ladies section are holding a Pre Loved Dress Evening, this is your chance ladies to pick up a top designer dress for as little as €10 and with every purchase you will also enter into a free draw on the night, all moneys raised will go into the ladies section and any dresses left over on night will be donated to local charity shops. More details to follow closer to the dates.

DVD - All Ireland Heroes

St Patricks GAA have released a DVD of the St Pats Tribute night honouring their 5 Meath All Ireland winning stars. Starting in '54 right through to '99 , This is your chance to hear the stories of every Ireland final won by the Royal County (bar one) first hand by those who took part. Hosted by RTE Sports presenter and Commentator Daragh Maloney, the night was magical from start to finish. See Kevin "Gus" Lenehan , Pat "Red" Collier, Michael Mc Quillan, Cormac Sullivan and Cormac Murphy entertain a packed clubhouse while Sean Boylan sits back and smiles throughout as he kicks every ball in every final listed here. A must buy for GAA enthusiasts everywhere. Limited stock Available now at St. Patricks Clubhouse Stamullen price €10 or contact Myra on 087-9139268.

Contacting the Club

St.Patricks Gaa can be contacted on all types of media for 2014 choose any of the following
Email : [email protected] - Website : www.stpatricksgaa.com - Facebook : stpatricksgaastamullen - Twitter : @stpatsmeath

Juvenile presentation photos.

Images from Juvenile matches to Senior matches are available to purchase at any times. Reprints at any sizes or canvas. We also have images dating back some 10yrs. If Interested in purchasing any image of your Son/Daughter whether they were an individual award winner or part of a team group shot then please contact Gareth McDonnell Club PRO on 087-3147326 or email [email protected].

St.Pats Sports Shop

Our club gear is available to purchase at any time within the clubhouse. All sizes available to suit for both juvenile to senior men to ladies. Be seen to wear your club colours. For more information and a complete list of items with prices visit the club & Contact Myra O'Flaherty in the Club shop any evening from 7pm.

Country Pride - Dance Night

Come Dancing "Country Pride Dance Band" made a welcome return to St.Patricks Gaa Centre. As before this proved out to be a  great enjoyable social evening for all that attended just like the previous event that was held in Summer Festival at St.Patricks Gaa. Thanks to all that attended on the night. On the following evening was the return of the Junior Disco for 8/12yr olds. Proving to be another success for the club attracted a lot of the underage children for a fun night of dancing and meeting up with their friends. Thanks to St.Pats members for a Fully Supervised night. As usual there was a full shop providing Drinks/Bars/Crisps & all kinds of goodies for the kids. Thanks to all St.Patricks officials who deputisied on the night for both events.

Most Read Stories