Newcastlewest club notes

June 28, 2016

Feile Peil Na Nog 2016

Last weekend was an exciting weekend for the club and in particular the U14 panel as they took part in the Football Feile held between Kerry, Limerick and Cork. Newcastle West hosted Butlersbridge from Cavan. Indeed Feile Peil which began in 1982 was the brainchild of a Butlersbridge man Fintan Tierney. Excitement was building since our groupings were announced and our visiting team was known. We played in Division 3 and were paired with local rivals Fr. Caseys, South London and our visitors Butlersbridge.

It all began on Friday afternoon when our guests arrived to NCW and were greeted by our players, mentors and committee members. It didn't take the lads long to get to know one another and after some food we all set off for Abbeyfeale for our first two group matches. The format was 15 mins a side with a minimum of 4 subs to be used in each game. We had a panel of 22 for the weekend.

NCW 0-5 Fr. Caseys 1-2

We played our old rivals and Limerick Feile champions Fr. Caseys in Round 1. Having lost out to them by a solitary point in last year's U13 final our lads were anxious to give a good performance. In an even game where scores were hard earned we fell behind early on having conceded a goal. The boys didn't panic and edged our way back into the game taking the lead with a few minutes remaining. Fr. Caseys equalised with a last minute point to gain a share of the spoils. All in all a decent start.

NCW 0-2 South London 2-6.

In round two we played the physically strong and eventual cup winners South London. They had earlier beaten Butlersbridge by three points. We competed well for the first 10 minutes but 2 goals just prior to half time saw us 2-5 to no score behind. Our lads put in a great effort in the second half outscoring our opponents 2 points to one and with a little bit of luck could have scored a couple of goals in that half to narrow the gap. However the Londoners deservedly won and proved their ability by beating Lucan in the final.

Following this then it was back to Newcastle West where our visitors were paired up with their host families and settled in for a well-earned rest after a long day. Not all got much sleep and in particular some of the mentors from both teams who decided to evaluate the days' events in the local.

NCW 0-9 Butlersbridge 0-4

We played our hosts in NCW on Saturday morning. Friendship was replaced by footballing rivalry for 45 minutes. Having both drawn with Fr. Caseys this was a game to decide who would qualify for the cup or shield QF. There was very little between the teams and Butlersbridge lead at half time by 0-4 to 0-2. In the second half of this game we played our best football of the weekend scoring 7 points without reply. Our guests having a panel of 18 including some younger lads tired and it was us who qualified for the cup QF after a keenly contested and sporting game. A joint team photo after the game showed the level of sportsmanship from both sides.

We adjourned to the Community Centre where the parents had laid on a fantastic spread for both teams, mentors and parents which was most welcome and enjoyed by all.

From there we had a break until our QF at 4pm in Drom against Boyle of Roscommon. We travelled up at 2.30 to support Butlersbridge in the shield QF which they narrowly lost by 2 points almost snatching it at the death when a blistering shot whistled past the post.

NCW 0-2 Boyle 5-9

The game against Boyle proved to be a step too far for the lads. A strong Boyle team came out with all guns blazing and with a couple of early goals put paid to our chance. Credit to the boys they battled gamely and honestly until the final whistle but it was with that whistle our tournament ended.

While the tournament ended in disappointed the experience gained by the lads was invaluable. They showed dramatic improvement for their early championship matches and showed true battling qualities against much physically stronger opposition. There is no questioning their football ability and with a bit of luck will be in the shake up when it comes to championship.

Panel: Paudie Kelly, Donal Bourke, Michael Cremin, Andrew Mortell, Jody Woulfe, Todd Donovan, Leon Barry, Ethan Hurley, Ruadhan O Connor, Morgan Sheehan, Conor Walker, Oisin Enright, Jack O Connor, Mikey Mc Namara, Jack Duggan, Evan Sheehan, Brian Coughlan, Michael Blashkiv, Rial McGann, Michael Nash, Tyler Clancy, Evan Mc Mahon was unable to play having picked up an injury in our championship game on Wednesday.

Each and every one of the lads performed to the best of their ability at the weekend and should take great pride in their efforts.

Management Team: Joe Lee, Jamie Lee, Robbie Ryan, James Kelly, Eoin Cremin, Derry Mc Mahon

Parade

This year the regional parade was held in Newcastle West and organised by the Newcastle West club. In all 38 teams took part and with great colour and excitement as the teams marched from the GAA field down through the town past the reviewing stand lead by St. David's pipe band. It was widely acknowledged that it was extremely well organised and controlled and the large crowd that had assembled in the square thoroughly enjoyed it.

From there adults and kids adjourned to the Ballintemple for a night of entertainment where we were joined by our neighbours St. Kierans and their guests and the Old Mill Ladies and their guests much to the delight of the lads. A great night of entertainment, good food and conversation ensued and by the end of the night a tired but happy bunch of boys and girls returned to their hosts for the last night together.

Farewell

We met our guests for the final time on Sunday morning at 10am to say farewell. It was obvious that the lads had bonded and made friends. It must be said that both the Butlersbridge and Newcastle West boys were a credit to the families, clubs and parish throughout the weekend and we could not have hoped for better guests. Their mentors and parents approached the weekend with a great spirit and it was a pleasure to host them and their attitude on and off the field was top class. The final act was an exchange of gifts as a token of respect before the lads headed back to Cavan hopefully with only good memories of their visit to Newcastle West. Hopefully we will meet again in the future.

Thanks

There were many people who contributed to what was a very successful weekend. Players, Mentors, Committee members, Parents, Stewards from Newcastle and St. Kierans, The Gardai, all too numerous to mention by name. However two people deserve a special mention. Without the tireless and selfless work of Valerie and Austin Geraghty none of this would have been possible. The amount of time and effort they put in over the past few weeks to ensure everything was meticulously organised and every detail covered it would not have been such a success.

U14 Hurling Championship

NCW 6-7 Belville Gaels 1-5

The U14 Hurlers continued their good form with a victory of the Feenagh/Feohanagh combination.

Belville started well and we found ourselves behind early on. We were struggling to find form and only a couple of opportunistic goals kept us in it early on. We gradually got more into the game and lead at half time 4-3 to 1-5. We dominated in the second half and added a further 2-4 without reply to finish comfortable ahead at the final whistle.

Our Next Game is at home to table topper Killacolla Gaels in Newcastle West on 6th July at 7.15.

Under 14 Football Championship

NCW 3-9 Claughan 1-6

NCW 2-12 St. Patricks 1-3

The footballers also continued their good form with good wins in their last two games. Both of these games took on a very similar pattern with us finding ourselves in arrears at half time but scoring 2-8 in the second half of both to secure comfortable wins. If we are to progress in this championship we will have to start games better and play for the full hour. Credit however to the lads for turning it around in both games.

Our next game is against the unbeaten Fr. Caseys on 13th July in Abbeyfeale at 7.15

Summer Camp 2016 4th-8th July

The summer camp will take place next week beginning July 4th 2016. Please return the forms to managers . Please contact Pa Keane on 0861507745 with any queries.

Topaz for Clubs

Newcastle west GAA Club are signed up for Topaz Cash for Clubs so if you are a Play or Park user please assign your points to us (Club Code: 2785). When you get fuel in Topaz over the next 12 weeks your points will then be credited to Newcastle west GAA club & give us an opportunity to be included in the overall draw.

Newcastle West U6's

Training has resumed for Newcastle West U6 Footballers and hurlers and is held in the all-weather field in Newcastle west 12 noon on each Saturday for all aspiring hurlers and footballers

Newcastle West U8's

U8's hurling training is now on every Wednesday and Saturdays. Wednesday evening training is on in the all-weather pitch from 7 until 8pm. Saturday morning training remains the same at 10am.

Sympathy

Deepest Sympathy from Newcastle west GAA on the death of Jim Linehan late of Kileedy Sadly missed by wife Anne, sons Mark and Andrew, parents John & Mary, brothers John, Simon & Gerard, sisters Catherine Frances Martha Mary Charelotte Eileen, grandchildren.

Mark is a current player with Newcastlewest GAA Hurling intermediate Team

Newcastlewest Gaa Club extends deepest sympathy to the Horgan family Tournafulla

on the death of Timmy  deeply regretted by his loving wife Peg, sons Dan, Michael and Timmy-Joe, daughters Bridget, Margaret and Edel, brothers Seamus, Pat and Connie, ons-in-law, daughter-in-law, sisters-in-law, grandchildren, nephews, nieces, relatives and friends

Timmy played for a number of years with Newcastlewest winning various titles along the way, His nephews Donal also played for the club and Pat is currently a coach of the U8 Team

Ar dheis lámh Dé go raibh a anam dhílis

Results

U14  Football Championship

Newcastle west 2-12  Vs St Pats 1-03 

Fixtures:

Minor Hurling Championship

Newcastle west Vs St Kieran's on Fri Jul 1st in Newcastle west at 7.30pm

U16 Football Championship

Newcastle west Vs St Kieran's on Mon June 27th in Newcastle west at 7.15pm

All County Hurling League

Newcastle west Vs Monagea on Sat Jul 2nd in Newcastle west at 7.30pm

U16 Hurling Championship

Newcastle west Vs Kilpeacon on Mon Jul 4th in Newcastle west at 7.15pm

All County Football League

Newcastle west Vs Fr Caseyson Tue Jul 5th in Abbeyfealet at 7.30pm

Master Fixture List 2016

The Master Fixture list is available to view on Newcastle west GAA Website.

http://ncwgaa.com/news/10000185/Master_Fixture_Program_2016

Limerick Yearbook

The Limerick year book is currently available from Newcastle west GAA club, as 2015 was a very successful year for our club sand the book contains an article with many photo's from 2015 and is definitely a good buy for the people of Newcastle west, these are currently available at a cost of 10 Euro from Margaret Hannan in Delicate Lingerie Boutique

University of Limerick Sports Scholarships Closing Date for Applications 1st of July at 5pm

The closing date for applications for the new UL Sports Scholarship scheme and for the Bank of Ireland GAA High Performance scheme is the 1st of July at 5pm. The University of Limerick has a long and proud record of supporting some of Ireland's best young athletes and this scheme along with our fantastic facilities coaches and scientists will give you the best environment possible to have academic and sporting success.

To find out more and apply please visit http://www.ul.ie/sportsscholarships/

Please share this information with anyone you think might be interested in coming to train and study at Ireland's best University for Dual career athletes.

CLUB LIMERICK TWILIGHT RACINGTHURSDAY 21ST JULY 2016, FIRST RACE 5.30PM

Club Limerick will host their annual evening at the races at Limerick Race Course on Thursday evening, 21st July 2016. The racing action starts at 5.30pm with 7 NH races, matched by plenty of entertainment off the track. After racing put on your dancing shoes and trip the light fantastic with music by country music star, Johnny Brady in the Tote Hall or enjoy the company of the wonderful Billy Nagle with our guests in the Greenmount Panaromic Suite

1. General Admission

Purchase prepaid admission tickets for your Club members. Normal admission is €15, however we have negotiated a special discounted rate of €10 and for every ticket your Club purchase in advance they can retain €5 for their own funds. Prepaid tickets are available from Oliver Mann (City Division), Seamus Twoomey (South Division), John Cregan (West Division) and Dave McGuinness (East Division). Tickets are also available from Siobhan at the Club Limerick Office at Aras Mumhan and can be purchased in any quantity required. To improve efficiencies Clubs are asked to pay for tickets at time of purchase.

2. Restaurant Reservation

Make a reservation in the Greenmount Panoramic Restaurant where you can enjoy a 3 course dinner, full bar facilities, waiter service and tote betting. Entry fee to include admission, race card and reserved table is €100 per person.

3. CLUB Limerick Novelty Race

Enter CLUB Limerick Novelty Race with a prize fund of €1,300. We have arranged to run a Club Race over 800 meters prior to the feature race on the card. Entries are limited to 30 runners who must be paid up members of their Club. Simply sell 20 general admission tickets to qualify for entry. Prize fund of €1,300, 1st€500, 2nd €300, 3rd €200 with vouchers to the value of €100 for each of the first 3 runners home. Full details available from Siobhán at the office.

4. Bord na nÓg Teams

Arrange to give your underage teams a well earned day off where they will be entertained by Noel Hartigan and his coaching staff. All teams in Club colours will enjoy free entry, an opportunity to meet Limerick Hurling and Football Players for autographs and photos, and there will be lots of prizes and giveaways to be claimed on the day.

5. Enter the Best Dressed Lady Competition

Take the ladies in your Club shopping and treat them to a great day out in appreciation of all the hard work, patience, understanding and acumen that they bring to the Club. Winning Club will receive €500 voucher proudly sponsored by The Crescent Shopping centre. 

Lotto Draw Results: Jackpot is 20,000 Euro

The result of the Lotto Draw for Monday June 27th 2016

Numbers drawn 01, 02, 09, 19

No Winner

Bonus prize of €100 Eoin Cremin

There were 5 lucky dip winners of €40 each

Mary Copse

Martina Mcauliffe

Michelle Brouder

John Reidy
Noreen McCoy

The Next draw will take place on Monday 4th July in the central Bar.

Best of luck to everyone in the next draw.

Website

For all the latest news please visit our website www.ncwgaa.com

Most Read Stories