Monaleen GAA notes

May 25, 2015

LOTTO:   The jackpot currently stands at €12,100.  There was no winner of last week's jackpot of €11,800 which was drawn on 21/05/2015.  The numbers drawn were 7, 19, 34 and 36. Lucky dip winners were M Power, J O'Hara, M Moloney and S Sheehan. Tickets can be purchased on a weekly basis from local shops and pubs.

Family Fun Day: One of the big events of the summer. It will be on Sunday 14th June in the Clubhouse Field from 1.30 p.m. and will include Children's Games  & Entertainment, Cakes,  Tea/Coffee, Music, Ice Cream, Penalty Shoot Out, Tug of War, BBQ, Spot Prizes, Sponge Throwing, Grand Raffle, Prizes and MUCH MUCH MOREDog Show will include a fancy dress category for owners and their dogs!To help support our book tent, please drop all unwanted books, in good condition, to the GAA Clubhouse any evening after 8 p.m.Looking  forward to seeing you all on the 14th June, For a day filled with fun, games and craic - For more information, contact Caroline at 087 6448807

MEMBERSHIP CARDS MONALEEN GAA Membership cards out now! Cards can be collected from the Clubhouse for all memberships paid before March 31. Use your card to gain offers in Brew Bros, Morrissons, The Lodge and 10% off in ELVERYS non sale stock. 

SMARTPHONE APP Download the TEAMAPP App in the App Store. Search for Monaleen GAA. Save as an app on your Home Screen.
Up to date News, Fixtures, Events, Photos, Weekly Notes, Standings, links to social media and Membership payment in one easy to use APP
. Our New Website is currently under construction and will be launched mid June.

SENIOR  CLUB NEWS. 
• Great win for Limerick Hurlers on Sunday in Thurles. Well done. Looking forward to meeting Tipperary in the Munster Semi Final on 21st June, 4pm, Gaelic Grounds. 
• Our Intermediate hurlers face Blackrock in Championship on Thursday night in Hospital. Throw in 7:30pm. After an impressive victory in the last round against Dromin Athlacca, a victory on Thursday would set up the summer very nicely. Please show your support on Thursday.
• Intermediate Hurling League. MONALEEN 5-24 Knockaderry 0-10

Training Times
• Intermediate hurling on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 7:30pm in Peafield Road
• Senior/Junior/Minor Football on Monday and Wednesday at 7:30pm in Peafield Road

JUVENILE CLUB NEWS
Summer Camp. Following on from the massive success of our first Monaleen GAA Summer Camp in 2014, the Club has decided to run it again this year.  Our camp will take place from Monday June 29th to Friday July 3rd from 10.00 a.m. to 2 p.m. daily for children aged 5 - 12Cost will be €45 for first child, €35 for second and €20 for third and any subsequent child.If you have any questions please contact Caroline at (087) 6448807

Results and Fixtures
• U14 Hurling: Excellent start to the league campaign last week with a win over St Patricks, 3-8 to 2-7. Paul Ross, Paul O'Shea and Nicky O'Dwyer getting the goals, with Caolan Madden and Ronan Lyons also getting some good points. Donnacha O 'Dalaigh was excellent in goal, the highlight  being a superb save late in the game. Next up is an away game at Garryspillane this Tuesday 26th, with league games coming up in each of the next 3 weeks. Good luck to all of our players in a unique primary schools Olo cup final between Milford and Monaleen this Thursday.

Training Times:

Juvenile Hurling, Football: 
• U6/U7 football Mondays 6:30 clubhouse from April 13th.
• Boys U6 to U10 Hurling training takes place on Fridays, 6.30 at Clubhouse pitch. Coaches will be in contact with their groups for dates of blitzes
• U-11 Football: Training at the clubhouse pitch on Monday nights at 7.30pm.
• U11/12 hurling training continues every Friday night at 7.30pm at clubhouse pitch. 
• U14 /13 hurling Fridays 6pm Peafield
• U14/13 football Mondays 6:45 Peafield

CAMOGIE CLUB NEWS

• A quiet week for the club with only our U12s girls in competitive action. The girls played Ballybrown at home on Thursday. In a tough encounter against a very good team Monaleen got off to a great start with goals from Niamh Moloney (2-0) & Aoife Doyle helping to settle the team. Ella Hession, Aoife Nelligan and Mia O Halloran were strong in midfield against some very good Ballybrown players. Leading 4-0 to 0-1 at half time the players knew the game was not over. Ballybrown began the second half very well and it took some great play from Clodagh Power; Juliette Pinson; Emily O Halloran and Charley Drury to keep Monaleen ahead. Final score 5-1 to 1-2.
Niamh Moloney(2-0); Mia O Halloran; Charley Drury; Emily O Halloran; Caoimhe Brady; Aoife Sheehan; Aoife Nelligan; Aoife Doyle(1-0); Amy Burke; Ella Hession(1-1); Ella McCarty; Juliette Pinson; Fia Robertson; Caitlin Power; Emily O Brien(1-0); Martina Sheehan & Kerri Carey.

LADIES FOTBALL
For all news and updates, like the Monaleen Ladies Football Facebook page.
New members are welcome just come along to the relevant time from the list below. We are also looking for mentors particularly Moms for each age group.
• Our adult girls train as part of Groody Rovers in St Patricks on Saturdays at 5:00pm
• G4MOs are back on the club pitch on Wednesdays.

Monaleen GAA Tennis Club Notes
Last weekend saw the culmination of our three weeks of singles and mixed doubles championships. The prizegiving was held on Sunday. Congratulations to all participants and winners. We had 76 entries in total for the club championships. The roll of honour was as follows:
Women's Singles 1: Winner: Jennifer Colford; Runner Up: Gillian Carragher
Women's Singles 2: Winner: Cecilia Mansfield: Runner up: Cattleya  Petchsingh
Men's Singles 1: Winner: Tommy Judkowiak ; Runner Up: Declan O'Dalaigh
Men's Singles 2: Winner: Alan Jenkins;  Runner Up: Pat O'Shaughnessy
Men's Singles 3: Winner: Aaron McCann; Runner Up: Ian Murray
Mixed Doubles 1: Winners: Tommy Judkowiak and Betty O'Brien; Runners Up: Nicky Mullen and Jennifer Colford
Mixed Doubles 2: Winners: Brendan Carragher and Eithne Harty; Runners Up: Ian Murray and Cecilia Mansfield

Reminder to all that registrations for 2015/2016 were due in April. Please arrange for payment of your subs as quickly as possible. Social tennis continues on Sundays 6pm and Tuesdays 7pm. Details of the club's tennis ladder/box league will be circulated shortly. Club merchandise is available from the club. Come and see our fantastic new courts behind the clubhouse! The club now has 4 professional tennis coaches available to assist players of all levels in the club. Contact Jennifer Colford for further info.

Please visit our facebook page 'Monaleen Tennis Club' for club news and recent photos from the Winter League matches.

Monaleen Club Shop at Elverys. ELVERYS have restocked their MONALEEN GAA section at the weekend with €1600 of new stock. Avail of your current Membership card for your 10% discount off all non-sale stock

CLUBHOUSE ACTIVITIES:
OSTEOFIT classes have resumed every Wednesday afternoon in the Clubhouse.
If you are in your 60s 70s or 80s and would like to participate in exercise classes in your area OSTEOFIT classes might be of interest to you.  OSTEOFIT group exercise classes are specially designed for both men and women in this age group and aim to maintain bone density,  improve strength and flexibility, improve balance and reduce the risk of falling. OSTEOFIT is on Wednesdays at 2pm in Monaleen GAA Hall Newcomers are welcome at any time.  Contact Brenda on 087 2255676 or visit www.osteofit.ie.
Lotto Draw: Every Thursday night at 10
Cards: Every Thursday night at 9
Having a Party? The Clubhouse is available to hire for private parties - 21st, 30th, 40th, Christenings/Communions, etc.  Talk to Tony Power, Caroline O'Kane or Paudie Ryan in the Bar

Monaleen GAA welcomes Slimming World to the clubhouse each Tuesday.  Class times are as follows:  9.30. 11.30. 3.30, 5.30 and 7.30. Everyone is welcome.

Monaleen GAA Club car stickers are now available from the clubhouse and a variety of sellers. €3 each or 2 for €5. Proudly show your support for your club.
Monaleen GAA is on Facebook - facebook.com/monaleenclubhouse.  Follow us for up to date information and happenings in your club.

If you would like to be included in the email circulation, please send your email address to John at [email protected]

Most Read Stories