Monaleen club notes

October 28, 2014

Congratulations to Eamonn and Sheila O'Connell on the birth of their baby daughter Emma during the week.   We wish them all the best!

LOTTO:   Following the spectacular win of a couple of weeks ago,  the lotto jackpot reverted to €3,000, and began to rise again at €300 per week, and believe it or not, it was won again on Thursday night last with a jackpot of €3,600.  Numbers drawn were 4,10,14 and 17, and the Winner was W. O'Halloran.   Next week's jackpot again reverts to   €3,000.  Tickets can be purchased on a weekly basis from local shops and pubs.  Please support us as this support is vital to the development of the club. 

Race Night: Monaleen GAA Club is currently commencing a substantial redevelopment programme which involves a much needed improvement in our playing facilities to cater for an ever increasing playing population.  The lands have been acquired, planning permission has recently been approved and expenditure in the region of €250,000 is required to cover the costs involved in providing a state of the art hurling wall, juvenile playing field and all-weather tennis courts.  We do have limited existing resources and some lotto funding has been approved.  However we do need to raise monies locally and in this regard we're holding a race night in the clubhouse on Friday 21st November at 9pm.  You can help in any of the following ways:
• Become a Race Sponsor. -  €100.00
• Advertise in the race programme.  Full page €100. Half page €60.00. Quarter page €40.00
•  Nominate a horse. Owner €20.00.Trainer €10.00. Jockey €10.00
For further information talk to Alan Kitson, Tom Crosse, Conor Harty, Kevin Vaughan or Caroline O'Kane.
We also invite you to come along and enjoy an evening's entertainment which will involve Tote Betting, Finger Food and light entertainment.  A donation will be made to the Hope Foundation Transition Year Immersion Trip which is being undertaken by local students attending Castletroy College.  This is in keeping with Club Policy to make a charitable donation on an annual basis.

JUNIOR B HURLING COUNTY FINAL:  Monaleen 1-07  Doon 1-14
Team: C O'Dwyer, B O'Dell, K Mullane N Macken (capt), F Nash, D Smith (0-01 '65), D Power, P McCarthy, D Lehane, S Griffin, D Mulhall, P Griffin (1-01), P O'Kane (0-01), D Hennessy (0-03 - 2 frees), S Ryan (0-01). A De Souza for S Ryan and L Morrisson for B O'Dell
Unused subs, N Madden, R McNamara, S Power, C Gallagher, Philip McLoughlin, Pa Ryan. 
Management: Shane Mullane, Ger Maughan, John O 'Halloran, Paul Coleman, John Mullane. 
Monaleen had a fantastic start leading 4 points to 1 after 15 mins. Our lively forward play was causing Doon serious problems. Peter Griffin struck with a brilliant goal soon after to put the score at 1-04 to 0-02. A series of pointed frees by Doon put them within touching distance at HT.  Monaleen 1-04, Doon 0-06.  With the strong wind at our backs it looked like Monaleen were in a strong position in the second half. However, Doon grabbed control with a series of pointed frees and a late flurry of points in the last 10 minutes to pull away from our lads. The 7 point margin did not reflect on the game, which was dogged and finely balanced throughout.  Credit is due to our lads who never gave up. The Monaleen dressing room was heartbroken afterwards, and this bunch of lads will regroup again next year. Unlucky men, ye did yourselves proud this year.!

INTERMEDIATE HURLING SEMI FINAL WIN!:  Monaleen v Glenroe was played in Kilmallock on Saturday afternoon.  A lively game, played with passion and gusto with a final scoreline of  2-16 to 0-14.  Roll on the County Final!  Great stuff!

LADIES FOOTBALL: For all news and updates, like the Monaleen Ladies Football Facebook page.
Gaelic for Mothers & Others: Gaelic for Mothers and Others (G4MOs).
Training returns to the regular time of 7.30 this Wednesay night.  The numbers at training continue to grow. It is all in fun. New members are always welcome - contact Caroline at 087 6448807. We are looking forward to our next G4MOs blitz to be held in Murroe on Saturday 8th November.  
U10 & U8 Girls - The girls attended the county blitz at Ahane GAA last weekend, playing against Mungret, St Ailbe's, St Brigids, Ahane and West Clare Gaels.  The rain held off for the morning and a feast of football was enjoyed by our youngsters who are showing great promise at the early stage of their development.
Training for this age group returns next Sunday morning.   They will be moving indoors as soon as the weather turns, with Milford Community Gym returning as the indoor venue for these groups.

CAMOGIE:
Monaleen Camogie are well represented at County Minor level - we have 3 players selected for the reigning All Ireland Minor Camogie Champions Limerick squad for 2015.  Great credit is due to the girls -  Megan O Mara, Caoimhe Lyons and Aisling Doyle. The camogie girls are following suit with the boys in having great representation on county minor teams.  We wish them all the best for 2015

Monaleen Tennis Club recently celebrated their 20th Anniversary in the clubhouse, with an evening of craic and entertainment.  We wish them all the best for another 20 years and many more.

JUVENILE HURLING & FOOTBALL: 
Training Times: Don't forget the mouthguards! 
2001 Football: Training takes place each Tuesday evening at 7.15 p.m.
2002 Footballers: Training each Monday at 6.30pm in Peafield Road. 
U6/U7/U8 Hurling: Boys Hurling Groups (Years born 2006/2007/2008/2009) training at Clubhouse pitch Fridays at 6.30.
U6/U7/U8 Football : now training Mondays at the Clubhouse at 6.30 p.m
U10 Hurling: Training continues Friday evening as usual at clubhouse pitch (6.30pm)
U10 Football: Training time has changed for the next few weeks to 6pm at Peafield Road pitch.
U11 Football: Training has resumed on Mondays, at 6.30 in Peafield Road.
U13 Football: Training continues on Tuesday evening s at 7:00 at the clubhouse
U13/U14 Hurling: Training continues on Friday evenings at 5 in the Clubhouse Pitch
2002 Footballers: Training each Monday at 6.30pm in Peafield Road. 
U16 Football:  Training for U15's and U16's has been changed to Thursday at 7.30 in Newtown.
U16 hurling: Training continues on Sunday afternoons 3pm, clubhouse pitch
ONLINE REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN FOR JUVENILE MEMBERS  - www.monaleen.gaa.ie and follow the link on the homepage- Many thanks to all who have registered their children already, if you have not done so, please register your child as soon as possible - there will not be a registration day in the club this year..  Please note also that the registration fees have risen this year for the first time in several years - an instalment plan is available over four months for those who wish to avail of this option.  If you have any queries, contact Conor Harty or Caroline O'Kane.

CLUBHOUSE ACTIVITIES:
Osteo Fit - Every Wednesday at 2p.m - Exercises for Active Older Adults.
Osteofit - Exercise for strong bones and good balance.  Osteofit classes continue every Wednesday in Monaleen GAA Hall  at 2pm. The class is aimed at healthy independent active older adults. It involves a warm up, followed by exercises to help prevent falls and improve balance, strength, posture and bone density as well as some flexibility and relaxation. There is no commitment from you.  You can come along whenever you can.  You are invited to a complimentary first class and then the cost is €8 per session.  Find out more on www.osteofit.ie or call Brenda on 087 2255676.   Regulars (even if it has been a while!) and newcomers always welcome.
Set Dancing has returned on Thursday Nights
Lotto Draw: Every Thursday night at 10
Cards: Every Thursday night at 9
Having a Party? The Clubhouse is available to hire for private parties - 21st, 30th, 40th, Christenings/Communions, etc.  Talk to Tony Power, Caroline O'Kane or Paudie Ryan in the Bar
Monaleen GAA welcomes Slimming World to the clubhouse each Tuesday.  Class times are as follows:  9.30. 11.30. 3.30, 5.30 and 7.30. Everyone is welcome.

CLUB GEAR: Monaleen Club Sports Gear is available to purchase from the Castletroy Car Care shop next to SuperValu in the Castletroy Shopping Centre.
Monaleen GAA Club car stickers are now available from the clubhouse and a variety of sellers. €3 each or 2 for €5. Proudly show your support for your club.
Monaleen GAA is on Facebook - facebook.com/monaleenclubhouse.  Follow us for up to date information and happenings in our club.
If you would like to be included in the email circulation, please send your email address to Caroline at [email protected]

Most Read Stories