Mohill GAA Notes

October 20, 2014

Paul WynneThe Club extend deepest sympathy to the Wynne Family on the tragic death of Paul on Saturday. He played underage with Mohill winning a minor League medal in 1976 and under 16 Championship in 1974. He also won an Under 21 Championship with Lough Rinn Gaels in 1979 then he continued his playing days with Eslin. Paul's nephews, brothers, Darragh, Ronan, Gavin Gordon and Conor Mulligan are at present playing for Mohill. May he rest in peace. Ar dheis Dé go raibh sé.

Michael Whearty

The Club also extend sympathy to the Whearty Family on the untimely death of Michael during the week. His sons played underage football for Mohill, John Paul, Jo Jo, and Michael Patrick. May he rest in peace.  Ar dheis Dé go raibh sé 

Horse Fair

This year again, the Club are having a cake sale in conjunction with the Horse Fair. As usual we are calling on our ladies to provide their confectionery and if the men want to cook there will be no complaint. Cakes to be brought in before 9am to the stall on the street outside Gala. We will also be selling €10 tickets with enormous prizes all donated from Croke Park. The club will offer five additional prizes of €100, so your chance of winning a reasonable prize is increased.

Div 1 Final

Sat was not a good day for the Mohill Club as we lost two finals. But at least we reached the finals, so we should be thankful for small mercies. We contested 9 finals and won 4. In the Div 1 Final our seniors contested well against the wind and were only one point down at half time but Manorhamilton showed more power in the second half and won by 4 points.  

Under 16 Final

Our Under 16 footballers were very disappointed on Sat last when they were beaten by the magnificent young men from Fenagh. Fenagh were best on the day, but our lads never gave up and the loss of our captain David Mitchell just before half time did not help the outcome. It was a very sporting game played by two teams who just want to play football and have the utmost respect for each other. Thanks to Managers Simon McGuinness and Mal Gaffey for their hard work all year.

Down Memory Lane by Gerry Bohan

This week we go back to 1985 and remember our minor team of that year who's photo is currently on our Facebook Page and includes the following players (team and Subs) Jimmy Stenson, (Goalie), Fintan Reynolds (Captain), Cormac Rowley, George Dugdale, John Reynolds, Eddie McGlynn, Gerry Costello, Liam McCrann, Thomas Egan, Cormac McManus, Dermot McKeon, Gerry Foy, Kieran Butler, Kieran Moran, Mattie Gaffey, Dermot "Yogi" Logan, Declan McDonald, Padraig Cassells, Gerry Cosgrove, David Sloane, Aiden McKeon, plus Manager Matt Gaffey. This particular team mirror this years St Mannachans minor team as they won the League title and were Championship runners up with Ballinamore winning the Championship, another similarity.    

Liam Ellis,

Liam's name was inadvertently omitted from the Under 12 team that played in the final with Gortletteragh last Saturday. The young boys entertained us all summer with their stylish game and they were very disappointed with the result in the final. Liam played heroically in every game as did all the boys. We look forward to seeing him with the Under 14s next ye

Most Read Stories