Four nominated for Laois hotseat

November 22, 2017

O'Moore Park Portlaoise

The race to replace Gerry Kavanagh as Laois GAA chairman has really stepped up a notch as four candidates have let their names go forward for the position.

It has already been known that former chairman Brian Allen, Peter O'Neill and Sean Mortimer were letting their names go forward for the role, but they have now been joined by Portarlington's Kieran Leavy.

The Laois GAA convention takes place on Monday, December 4th leaving the candidates with only a few weeks to canvass for votes.

Meanwhile, former Laois senior football goalkeeper Fergal Byron has let his name go forward for the role of Coaching Officer, but he will receive opposition from Jody Conway.

Outgoing chairman Kavanagh is seeking the Central Council Delegate role.

Most Read Stories