Team news: McCarthy debuts for Tipp

February 23, 2018

Tipperary manager Michael Ryan with his backroom team before his side's Allianz HL Division 1 semi-final clash against Wexford at Nowlan Park.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Tipperary boss Michael Ryan has handed a first start to Thurles Sarsfields' Billy McCarthy for tomorrow night's Division 1A Round 4 meeting with Kilkenny at Nowlan Park.

McCarthy starts at centre-forward in a side which doesn't include any UL players, as Ryan has kept his word to rest those players involved in tomorrow's Fitzgibbon Cup final with this selection.

Niall O'Meara makes his first start of the campaign in a full-forward line which is made up of the Kilruane MacDonaghs sharpshooter, Michael Breen and Ger Browne. Browne, Alan Flynn, Tomas Hamill, Seamus Kennedy and Cathal Barrett also come in with McCarthy and O'Meara 

Throw-in is at 7pm.

Tipperary (HL1A v Kilkenny): Darragh Mooney; Alan Flynn, Tomás Hamill, Sean O'Brien; Seamus Kennedy, James Barry, Cathal Barrett; Brendan Maher, Ronan Maher; Sean Curran, Billy McCarthy, Patrick Maher; Ger Browne, Michael Breen, Niall O'Meara

Most Read Stories