Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Hurling Counties

Kildare Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Lack of midfielders
RadleyParkLily, I think it's Konstantine you're talking about. Looked a tight marker alright. Moolick is big and strong enough for intercounty football, has a great pair of hands.

Daith , 02/09/2010 at 19:30

Minor B championship
Semi Final draw
no date set
Na Fianna v Sallins
Monasterevin v St Kevins

Final to be played same day as intermediate final on october 17th

Trueblu10 , 02/09/2010 at 16:53

Minor B championship
Ye heard abou that sallins v suncroft match
Heard the scoreline flatters a bit though . Apparently suncroft missed 3 or 4 goal chances

Trueblu10 , 02/09/2010 at 16:45

Lack of midfielders
dat lad from celbridge is considine dont know his first name
I duno havent seen a lot of lynch but he didnt field much ball
If any minors are t b given a chance in the next few years for me it would be
1 Paul cribben (If he comes back from collingwwod)
2 Moolick
3 Donnelan
4 Johny byrne (played super at full back and wing back)
5 Dowling

Trueblu10 , 02/09/2010 at 16:43

Kildare SFC 2010
Weekend after next as far as i'm aware. 11th/12th of September

Tobealily , 02/09/2010 at 15:04

Lack of midfielders
Thats true they didn't over achieve but they were the best minor team to come out of this county in the last few years anyway. I was at most of the games and each and every one of them showed serious bottle (not just the big names) in every game and if it wasn't for scrappy goals going against them in Longford match I think they would have gone a long way. They beat the cork minor team this year in challenge games and they are all-ireland finalists.
I do agree though that they will need a few more years before they can be full fledged seniors but there is no reason to not give them their chance at their young ages, sure wasn't Dermot Earley only 19 in an all-ireland in '98. The young lad from Celbridge they had at corner back looks a serious talent aswel but can't think of his name now. Brilliant man marker and sweeps up a lot of ball in front of full back line.

RadleyParkLily , 02/09/2010 at 14:04

Lack of midfielders
I might just add that these lads come from a minor team that didn't exactly over achieve.

daytona11 , 02/09/2010 at 13:51

Lack of midfielders
The step up from intercounty minor to senior is huge. Donnelan and moolick are to young and not good enough yet. 3 to 4 years is time enough for these lads.

daytona11 , 02/09/2010 at 13:48

Lack of midfielders
Saw Moolick in last minor game for Leixlip against Hurly and balyna.He took over the second half and should surely feature for the seniors soon.Hurly too was excellent but ran out of steam in the game.Moolick dragged Leixlip through the game.

dubya , 02/09/2010 at 13:48

Lack of midfielders
Haven't seen enough of Lynch in a Kildare jersey to be honest but from what I have seen in the last two games and in club games for Confey he is definetaly a man for the next few years. His passing in the last two games was second to none and I think if Kildare are to continue the two man full forward line he would be a vital asset further out the field as a playmaker.
As for Donnellan in goal, he should be first team Maynooth keeper, his age is playing a huge part in him not being selected in my opinion as he's only seventeen.
Wouldn't mind seeing a few of the last two years minor teams gettin a run out in o'byrne cup and league next year.
Dowling, Moolick and Cribbin have all trained with the seniors since their exit and have impressed (Cribbin is off to Collingwood though next year). Sean Hurley was also amazing for the minors this year also, dominated all of the Dublin games and was a big loss against longford. Himself and Moolick will be serious contenders for midfield in the years to come if they keep right.

RadleyParkLily , 02/09/2010 at 13:33

Minor B championship
heard sallins won last nigh 1-17 te 1-9.. sallins v na fianna in semi final should be a cracker!!

toprow2010 , 02/09/2010 at 10:31

All Ireland Minor "B" Final
What will team be ??

updedeise , 01/09/2010 at 20:19

All Ireland Minor "B" Final
best of luck lads.. hope ye's do the county proud

toprow2010 , 01/09/2010 at 19:04

Kildare SFC 2010
when and where are these matches being played?

kildare4sam2010 , 01/09/2010 at 17:59

Kildare SFC 2010
Round 3 Draw :

Celbridge - v - Moortefield - Celbridge (just)
Round Towers - v - Athy - Athy
Kilcock - v - Ellistown - Kilcock
Sarsfields - v - Clane - Sarsfields
St Laurences - v - Carbury - Carbury (very close one)
Allenwood - v - Naas - Naas
Maynooth - v - Leixlip - Maynooth
St Kevins - v - Suncroft - Suncroft

sammaguire09 , 01/09/2010 at 17:22

Hard Luck Kildare
well we certainly get enough practice at the holding the heads up high were kildare fans that all we ever seem to do cause at the end of the yet another year there is no silveware in the trophy cabinet

lillymadfan , 01/09/2010 at 15:47

Reasons to be positive
i agree with the find new players surely as well in this time of high unemployment lads want to have something to do how about those who are good at the game beig coached daily etc

lillymadfan , 01/09/2010 at 15:42

Reasons to be positive
THE O BYRNE CUP IS IT WORTH PLAYING IN these games sometimes only cause injury to players that we need in the championship etc the league needs a re run through out thye summer the 4 provinical champions could still be left out till round 2 or 3 of it i'm sure there are lads out there with good ideas vamp i dont agree with the drop sweeney bit he is a good player and gives his all to the county. is it not about time to re vamp the whole gaa system the league to be replaced by the provinical championships and then the all ireland series be run the provinical champions could be left out of the first ound of it etc just an idea or IS IT NOW TIME TO START THE PROFESSIONAL GAME ROUTE in the gaa

lillymadfan , 01/09/2010 at 15:38

What went wrong ?
Tactic wise the sideline didn't have any answer to the down sweeper. We only started playing in long ball in the last ten minutes and down started to crack under it. This should have been the plan for the entire second half. I just don't think McCormack is good enough. You don't need to be huge (cluxton is an obvious example) but you need to be decisive. One way or the other Coulter shouldn't have been getting up.

daytona11 , 01/09/2010 at 14:33

What went wrong ?
also I will add that while shortie is a decent goalkeeper. he is just too small. if flood or corley were in goals v Down, they would have taken ball and man when the high ball went into coulter...that needs to be sorted for next season

gini , 01/09/2010 at 14:12