Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Hurling Counties

National Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Grand entrance for Croker planned
A compromise would be reached if stadium directors did not seem to have an agenda against the local residents

The current handball centre needs to be knocked - nobody disputes that
The new Handball Centre however is not fit for purpose. It is badly designed. It has very few handball courts, for the cost involved. there is are no physio rooms nor is any space for a gym provided. there is no bar for the local residents, handballers and other events to be held there which the current centre has (the bar has kept the place financially viable for years). the main reason for the building seem to be to provide office space for GAA staff on the top floor as well as have a large space for conventions and other events. It is also one of the ugliest buildings you are likely to ever see

valley84 , 07/02/2012 at 10:43

League Attendance
Pinkie
County: Wexford

1107110 €10 in, I got tickets for Leinsters Heineken Cup quarter final for €10. GAA are absolutely deluded if they think €10 in is what games in January are worth. €5 would be more than enough at this time of year.

Pinkie, see you on April 7th! Up Leinster! By the way, in case you don't know, some tickets have become available for Ireland vs Italy in the 6 Nations on February 25th on ticketmaster, if you're interested. There are a few seats going, sporadically throughout different areas of the stadium. I'd hurry though, I don't think they'll last very long. I can only assume these tickets became available after season ticket holders gave them up after Sunday's loss which is bad form in my opinion

Anyhoo, back to GAA, I've attended a fair few league games over the years, of course I wouldn't mind a reduction in price to a fiver, but truthfully take no particular issue with a €10 admission, come the championship those prices will be €25/€35 at a whim. Besides, head into a poxy late bar/club in any town on a Saturday night and they'll expect a tenner from you to let you in the door. A GAA match seems like good value for money by comparison

gigoer , 07/02/2012 at 10:43

League Attendance
I got tickets for Leinsters Heineken Cup quarter final for €10

janey mack, yis actually pay to go to that pinkie!!

Tom1916 , 07/02/2012 at 10:40

The Biggest Game in Town
I have to say Dublin were worthy champions last year, there wasn't much between them and Kerry but at the end of the day they were the better team and won through and no one can take it away from them. Well done Dublin.

Tom1916 , 07/02/2012 at 10:38

Lar Corbett retires
Did Jackie Tyrell let him out of his pocket to make the statement?

Lar was unplayable in 2010. Destroyed us single handedly.

Was the player of the year in Munster.

Scared every full back line when he got ball in hand and you expected a goal.

Hope its not the last of him we see.

Fast Eddie Lar and Mullane would have made a handy full forward line. All potentially gone.

Sad day for hurling when lads retire young like Cha. I think it shows how much commitment and work inter county players have to put in.

Thanks Lar for the memories (except 2010).

Puddersthecat , 07/02/2012 at 10:35

Joe Bergin Scores 0-16 - Highest personal tally in one game?
Dotsy O'Callaghan scored 3 - 10 in a Dublin club game. Only mention that to remind the person who was allegedly 'marking him' that day :-)

hurlingdub , 07/02/2012 at 10:34

League Attendance
€10 in, I got tickets for Leinsters Heineken Cup quarter final for €10. GAA are absolutely deluded if they think €10 in is what games in January are worth. €5 would be more than enough at this time of year.

Pinkie , 07/02/2012 at 10:23

John Mullane is taking indefinite break?
Dont worry Pudders, he'll be back. I absolutely love watching him play, always gives his all and never goes hiding no matter how the game is going. Also took his punishment when he was sent off a few years ago (probably costing Waterford their best chance at an All-Ireland victory), unlike all the other cry-babies and whingers who go running to CCCC to get suspensions overturned. Also speaks out on issues like ticket prices, he sees the issues on the ground which the clowns in the suits in Croke Park dont seem to see.
I hope it's not the last we see of him.

Pinkie , 07/02/2012 at 10:21

League Attendance
Some of those attendances seem disappointing enough. Only three thousand at the ASrmagh V Cork game? There were more at Armaghs games in the McKenna Cup as far as I know.

Culann , 07/02/2012 at 10:17

NFL Division Two Forecast
Monaghan v Kildare - Kildare ( by 4 )
Westmeath v Meath - Meath ( by 3 )
Galway v Louth - Galway ( by 8 )
Tyrone v Derry - Tyrone ( by 4 )

RenardRedHand , 07/02/2012 at 10:12

Joe Bergin Scores 0-16 - Highest personal tally in one game?
Scored 6-9 in a game for the School myself years ago playing Midfield. Was one of the Ulster Colleges competitions in the early rounds.

Offside_Rule , 07/02/2012 at 10:11

John Mullane is taking indefinite break?
First Lar last night, now John Mullane. I wasn't a huge fan of John's initially over an incident in a match years ago but the lad grew on me. Always wore his heart on his sleeve. Was Waterford's best hurler in the final and added a bit of spice to Waterford. A great hurler who put his heart on his sleeve.

Puddersthecat , 07/02/2012 at 10:10

Monaghan v Kildare Kildare
Westmeath v Meath Draw
Galway v Louth Galway Mulholland would need to make sure the Derry win doesnt go to their heads though
Tyrone v Derry Tyrone If Tyrone play like they did against Kildare and Derry like against Galway this could be a drubbing!

bosch , 07/02/2012 at 10:01

Lar Corbett retires
Very surprised, but want to wish him all the best, was a joy to watch and will be remembered as one of the best forwards of his time. I though he struggled for a few years but played the best hurling of his life in the last 2-3 years which shows what can be achieved through dedication.

On a realted point, and I appreciate this could be totally wrong as I don't know the individual circumstances (and I apologise up front if I am) but is this a micro example of the difference between KK and tipp in the last 40 years. In KK you need to have at least a full handful of AI medals before you are considered a success and players are driven to win again again and again.

onlyhurling , 07/02/2012 at 09:54

The Biggest Game in Town
LohansRedHelmet, how dare you speak such nonsense......talk bout sour grapes in the extreme....Is it cos of your own beloved Clare's poor record in football??? Yea thats right, Dublin were unbeaten in the League till the one point victory that Cork had over them in the League Final and they went unbeaten in the championship too, no back door needed to get to the Final...You are pathetic to make such a statement, shame on you.

Mollymalone , 07/02/2012 at 09:53

Lar Corbett retires
apparently john mullane has also left the intercounty fold for the "foreseeable future" at least. Two of the most exciting forwards in munster hurling over the past years will be sorely missed by their respective counties. Still though it gives another lad an opportunity to prove his worth!

deiseblaa , 07/02/2012 at 09:41

Grand entrance for Croker planned
arock what's the story? There's some dispute between local residents and Croke Park over the use of a private local handball alley or something? I think this has been raised on the board a few times before.

The plans the GAA have sound good, surely some compromise could be reached to benefit everyone?

Goodfella, Tir , 07/02/2012 at 09:29

Lar Corbett retires
Very surprised at this.

We don't know the exact situation and he obviously has his reasons but it'll be a big blow to Tipp if he sticks to his decision. He should have had at least another 3-5 good years in him.

But the demands being placed on county players now are making it increasingly difficult for lads to commit to it, especially as they get a bit older and maybe have more reposnsibilities in terms of work/marriage/mortgage/kids and all the rest of it. A shame to see one of the top forwards in the game gone at such a relatively young age, but top level GAA is increasingly becoming a game for lads in their early to mid 20s.

ormondbannerman , 07/02/2012 at 09:28

Just rewatched the game from saturday night with a clearer head and less beers last night. Only taking this one game at a time but still very excited about this year. Boys seem very fired up and where as in years gone by they are maybe looking past teams they seem to be striving at every oppurtunity to make it on to the starting 15. We could see a new sean cavangh this year now too knowing that he has to nail his place down again.

I just hate us playing in omagh though, dont see us playing that well there to often so can see it being a very tight one. Mickey should take stevey o'neill and mugsy and hide them in an underground chamber til the championship, 2 boys are on fire just hope for steveys sake he can be injury free for probably his last year as a red hand, he deserves it!

redhanddefender , 07/02/2012 at 09:08

The Biggest Game in Town
To be fair though Joker..lets be honest...last years winning Dublin team were one of the poorest to win the All Ireland in past memory

LohansRedHelmet , 07/02/2012 at 08:59