Popular Posts from kildare73

Limerick V Galway - 10 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "well done limerick. chuffed for limerick. good teams win all irelands .. great teams win themore back to back. Galway couldn't do it and u til a team does they can't be compared to great kilkenny teams of the past. Thank God that's over anyway, as the saying goes.. leaving the best til last with the Dubs and Tyrone in a fortnight. Different codes i know but shows how brilliant the dublin footballers are for their hunger to win tight tight games against very good kerry and mayo teams over the years. They are going for 4 in a row and even if we don't do it I won't allow that be forgotten. :) (bait thrown)"
Your lack of class on a thread that has got precisely zero to do with either Dublin or football is hard to forget too. Such self serving rubbish. This is Limerick's day and how they deserve it. Congratulations Limerick, brilliant performance. Enjoy everything tonight, this week and this year brings. Great stuff.

kildare73 (National) - 19/08/2018 21:26:16

Pairc Ui Chaoimh And Liam Miller - 10 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Whats wrong with the AVIVA stadium? The home of Irish soccer to honour an Irish soccer player? what exactly is the problem here? You think because the GAA relented over a dump like St Conlaiths that somehow you have an armya swell of support to "revolutionise" the GAA? If St Conlaiths ever gets to point of being redeveloped who exactly is going to fund it? There is BTW revolution and change or what you are advocating anarchy and destruction. On with your crusade, if the FAI wish to rightly honour the man it should be in the AVIVA."
What a stupid stupid post. If you want to have a bash at 'St. Conleith's' (get it right at least) then there's other threads to do that on rather than attempting to muddy the waters here. For your St.Conleth's I give you Parnell Park, at least our dump gets full use!! It may have escaped your attention but the game is being held in Cork, not Dublin. And the GAA could do with revolutionizing, it's going from one PR disaster to another. Even on here, a site full of GAA heads, is running a poll about whether the GAA should make PUC available. Last time I checked it was 86% in favour. So the GAA is out of step with its patrons, glad to see you are desperately clinging on to the 1900s though.

kildare73 (National) - 21/07/2018 17:44:49

NFL Div 2 - 8 Like(s)

Replying To dunboynelad:  "Yes, I know for a fact; hence you and your giddy lilly muppets looking very stupid. There is no *if* you're dying to throw out over and over, clearly another fan who doesn't know anyone involved. Crack on"
I don't know why my original reply didn't get through but I'll shorten it down to this for you...... Hearsay and accusations from the opposition manager isn't the gospel you think it is so hence....... It doesn't make anyone look stupid except the guy who takes it as gospel. No footage, none of 7 officials see it but two Meath men are sent off. The evidence is against you:)

kildare73 (National) - 16/06/2021 14:59:31

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 8 Like(s)

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "We wont be 1/200 to beat Cork or have a 20 point handicap, it'll be an actual contest"
Go back and read what you said about Leinster teams knowing they wouldn't beat Dublin, then address my questions about the Munster teams you brought up versus Kerry. Don't engage in deflection and avoidance. Either you can back up your point or you can't.

kildare73 (National) - 11/06/2018 23:28:15

If The Dubs Were To Win 4 In A Row - 8 Like(s)
The neediness of a few dubs on here is hilarious. Yes Dublin are a wonderful team, whatever happens on Sunday. We just don't need an excuse to start yet another thread to express it. I think at this stage lads it's generally accepted so you can all relax. If it's not said here every five minutes it's "begrudgery"...............It's not begrudgery, its just not everyone else's job to feed egos. Good luck to both Dublin and Tyrone on Sunday, the best team will win no matter what anyone says.

kildare73 (National) - 01/09/2018 00:04:15

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 7 Like(s)

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Forget about years ago. Right now Dublin are embarassing teams year in year out in Leinster and it will only get worse as Meath and Kildare are getting worse. Tipp Cork and Clare have the potential to reach the super 8s if they got favourable draws in the coming weeks. No team in Leinster outside Dublin have a hope of reaching this stage unless a miracle happens. Its obvious football is dead in Leinster lets hope not for the whole country the way things are going."
Don't talk such rubbish. You can make a case for anyone making the Super 8s if they got "a favourable draw". Munster has been a carve up between Cork and Kerry for a 100 years but nobody was on here moaning about that. Dublin have been embarrassing more than teams from Leinster this last few years. Remember what happened when Monaghan and Tyrone tried to take them on last year? Lost by more than Kildare did in the Leinster Final. Maybe you should look at how awful Munster has been historically before you look down your nose at anyone else. Or does it not matter if you are the ones winning??

kildare73 (National) - 11/06/2018 15:54:58

Teams Peaking For Championship Games Already. - 7 Like(s)
Here in Kildare we are being very careful not to peak too early. I mean REALLY careful!

kildare73 (National) - 29/03/2018 14:42:45

Did Jonny Cooper dive? - 7 Like(s)
After watching the hurling today it's a good thing Cooper doesn't play that. He wouldn't last five minutes if what happened yesterday hurt him so much. And please don't let that awful word "contact" come into GAA. It lets the most pansy looking incidents in soccer become big deals. There's always been decent clashes in GAA and lads get up and get on with things. I hope it's never any different.

kildare73 (National) - 07/08/2017 00:23:36

Falling Football Attendances - 6 Like(s)

Replying To galwayford:  "52,000, at Dubs Leinster final. There was 55,000 at the Rugby last week. Has there ever been a League of Ireland match with 52K at it? Answer no. Has there ever been a Pro 14 rugby match with that crowd, maybe once or twice. So moan, moan, moan- what a crowd of moaners on here!"
Comparing regular League of Ireland and Pro 14 matches to what should be a showpiece event in the GAA calendar is like comparing apples and something that very much aren't apples!! The rugby last week was a sell out if you want to make that comparison. Leinster v Munster matches regularly get huge crowds. Attendances are falling at GAA matches, if you ever get to take your head out of that huge pile of sand you will see it.

kildare73 (National) - 09/02/2019 18:31:17

Leinster Football Championship - 6 Like(s)
Do posts on here have to be so long winded? Especially when they are basically repetitive. At least I don't need the sleeping tablets now.

kildare73 (National) - 15/04/2019 02:46:51

Forum Becoming Boring - 6 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Ive basically given up on this now, used to post almost every day, cant be bothered anymore. Recently tried to set up a basic thread that broke NONE of the "house rules" on what achievement would be bigger, Dublin winning 5 in a row or Mayo breaking their long wait, I tried to post it 3 times as a genuine conversation starter and every time the admin have blocked it. It was GAA games related, family friendly, no bad language or abusive comments and I certainly didnt attempt to post offensive or defamatory contributions and of course I typed the message myself which rules copyright. I just wish we could hear from the admins .. Give us reasons why you wont allow certain posts. This place has definitely become lifeless and boring and id be pretty sure the numbers on these forums are down over the years."
Yep it's definitely getting boring alright. Between people writing novels about a certain county, then repeating the novel countless times, and then the general bull you get anyway, I'm only an occasional poster now too. Your topic is an interesting debate Wayno, can't see why it wasn't let through. Especially when you see some of the rubbish people are allowed to post. This place needs to up it's game.

kildare73 (National) - 15/04/2019 02:52:26

Kildare V Mayo - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Sweetspot:  "A lot of waffle in here. To say Kildare would bring 1/5 of Mayo's support to Croker is lunacy and to give them a 100% chance of winning is as much. Personally I don't see Mayo winning this one.."
Mayo better win it. There's a handful (thankfully) of lads on here with their "what did playing at home do for now?" scripts written already. Be awful to disappoint them!!

kildare73 (National) - 29/06/2018 14:11:01

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ha? What you on about? We bate Cork tonight cork were brutal due to an inept management team, Cork have won lots of U21s over the 10 years , they have the footballers but they need a manager with a tactical brain."
I'm on about Kerry's biggest championship win over Cork since 1938. The game was over long before half time!! It's getting easier and easier for Kerry in Munster and we've had to listen to a over the last while on here about how uncompetitive Leinster is but we have what's proven to be the best team in the country to compete with. The rest of the teams in Munster haven't even got that excuse and Kerry are still walking it. I would take more seriously what you said about Cork's underage teams but Kerry have won a nice few Minors in that time too and your lads are coming thru but theirs dont appear to be.Not nice when the mirror is held up, is it?!

kildare73 (National) - 24/06/2018 10:56:17

NFL Division 2 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To gotmilk:  "For those criticising Fermanagh football, how many of you have actually watched Fermanagh this year? The Kildare lads did and got their arses handed to them. I honestly can't remember if it was 28 or 22 shots Fermanagh had against them (very defensive statistics). Some of the Donegal lads saw us on Sunday too where we had 23 attempts on goal. I doubt the poster from Offaly has seen Fermanagh play. I was at the Kerry v Cavan game in Breffni a few weeks ago and having watched both sides play it's clear that they play the exact same style as Fermanagh, only difference is they are better at taking their scores."
Hahaha 2 point win and you handed our arses to us?? What do define what we did to you last summer as then??

kildare73 (National) - 27/02/2019 14:24:39

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha thanks it's hard to take you very seriously though. If there is one thing Dublin fans don't need it's advise from Kildare fans, in fact it's hard to take it seriously. The crowd in Navan at the weekend was disgraceful, but you can bet there will be new crispy white toger knocking around Kildare this week, Croke Park will be full of shouts on "come on no 6". As for us we will keep to our own, we know the score, Galway, Omagh by 2, Castlebar, Portlaoise already this year. If another county can draw the numbers Dublin can away on rainy night in Jan and Feb I've yet to see it. It's part of the problem really so many grounds can't deal with the mass of people. As for Croke Park I agree with you the S8s are unfair and badly structured, hopefully and it will undoubtedly be changed. As for the Leinster last count was 11-1 to keep Dublin in Croke Park. The issue of Dublin in Croke Park is closer to home Kildare were 1 of the 11. I also agree the Leinster effort is a token, may as well play in Aughrim at PL. In PL as opposed to Nowlan. Let's be honest though it's moving deck chairs around in the titanic really."
Kinda hard to take you seriously too my friend. And there's one thing nobody needs is a Dublin fans telling is how much they have travelled in a year because that's a comparison you would lose hands down. The crowd at the Leinster Final was disgraceful too, 41k as opposed to 66k last year with Kildare in it.............where were you all?? THAT'S Dublin drawing numbers?? There was 16k at the first round in Portlaoise last year versus Carlow, really just a scuttle down the road for Dublin bit a really low attendance nonetheless for a county who love their travelling. I would agree with you on the county boards voting to leave Dublin in Croke Park but i think there's a ground swell of opinion against that building against that and it will have to be listened to. Even the Titanic moved around.........unless you are afraid of suffering the same fate:)

kildare73 (National) - 10/07/2018 21:56:42

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "The discussion is the state of Leinster atm. The average handicap in every game with the dubs is closing in on 20 points a game. Its not competitive anymore. The fact is at the moment Munster is at a far healthier state then Leinster. No point trying to deny this. You can look at results from years gone by til the cows come home but its plain for everyone to see."
How then was Leinster the closest provincial final last year if all the other provinces are so superior?? Nobody ever seems to want to address that. None so blind as those that cannot see.

kildare73 (National) - 11/06/2018 16:29:53

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Dublin supporters. Welcome to Meath footballers Tyrone footballers and Clare hurlers world. There has been massive increase in criticism regards Dublin recently. This is very unusual. I cannot remember much or any criticism of the Dubs in 90s or 00s. They werent as sucessful of course. When Dublin won in 2011 there was alot of praise and people saw this as good thing. 7 years later the Dubs are being heavily criticised. I have a theory why?. In the GAA world if anything new or unprecedented happens people are more likely to criticise. Let me explain. When kilkenny Tipp or Cork win liam Mcarthy or kerry Dublin Cork or Galway win Sam everything is rosey in GAA land. Any other county is nearly always criticised if they suceed. Anything unprecedented , outside the traditional top counties it gets more criticism. Well of course Dublin are a traditional county. When Dublin win 1 All Ireland there is no problem. But Dublin winning 6 in 8 years. That is unprecedented. When kilkenny or kerry win multiple All.Irelands there is little criticism. This is not new or unprecedented. People accept this. Yes the Dubs are being treated unfairly. There is a definite difference in the way kilkenny or kerry or praised when they win multiple All.Irelands. The Dubs get criticised . The reason is say you are beaten by a team. You say Meath are to rough, Tyrone play puke football and underhand tactics Clare are to physical and Dublin have a money advantage. Then it gives a county an excuse. It like they were not beaten fairly. Its like they were not beaten at all. I dont know if that makes sense. But there is no doubt, people accept kilkenny and kerry winning 4 in a row. But not Dublin. The same way people accept kilkenny Tipp and Cork winning hurling titles, but not Clare. Here is some examples In late 80s Galway won 3 hurling titles. This was unprecedented for Galway. Galway were heavily criticised at the time for ruining hurling with their short passing possession game. 20 years later Cork won a two in a row with a more possession game. They were described as revolutionising the game and highly praised. In late 90s Clare won 2 titles in 3 years. This was unprecedented for Clare. Clare were heavily criticised at the time for bringing to much physicality to the game of hurling. 10 years later kilkenny won 4 in a row bringing physicality to a level we had never seen before in hurling. They were called greatest team ever. In 60s Down won 3 All-Irelands . This was unprecedented for Down and new. Down at the time were called upstarts. They were criticised at the time for ruining football by a playing a short passing possession game. In the next decade kerry and Dublin won All-Irelands with a more hand passing game. The Dubs and kerry were called grreatest teams ever. In 1988 Meath won two in a row..This was unprecedented for Meath and new. In 88 final Meath were criticised and the final was criticised for being a rough match. It was a tough hard match between two big physical teams. Nothing more nothing less. 5 years earlier Dublin won an All-Ireland in the most violent final in Irish sporting history. The Dublin players were praised and called heroric and labeled the 12 Apostles. In 00s Tyrone won 3 All-Irelands this was unprecedented. Tyrone had a defensive system with sweepers and blanket defence. There football was called puke football and they were criticised for underhand tactics eg sledging. Donegal won All All Ireland in 2012 with a more defensive system they were labelled as destroying gaelic football. Kerry in 2014 won an All-Ireland with a defensive system eg sweepers blanket defence. There was no criticism , they were praised. Dublin won 6 All-Irelands in 8 years in this decade. This is unprecedented and new in the GAA world .They are criticised about their finances and money buying All-Irelands. In 70s kerry won 8 Sams in 00s kilkenny won 6 All-Irelands they were not criticised at all. So to Dublin supporters welcome to Meath Tyrone and Donegal footballers and Clare and Galway hurlers world. Any county that has unusual levels of sucess outside the norm are criticised in gaa land."
Do you not get tired posting the same list of statistics over and over again?

kildare73 (National) - 08/09/2018 10:26:43

Replying To carlowman:  "Looks like Kildare will host the match after all in Newbridge... My view is that the ground is very small for such an important fixture... the GAA has has had as its core the principle of trying to ensure that as many patrons as possible should be able to see the match live - you can't beat being there- ... How is it possible for all Kildare and Mayo fans to fit in Newbridge...? I remember following Eire Og from Carlow in numerous club Leinster games and Newbridge was the perfect venue - small and compact- almost no seating room- yet perfect for the 60 min match back in the 90's. The venue has not come on since then. Tullamore and Portlaoise are superb provincial venues and I am disappointed that these were not been suggested by Kildare If I want to go to the game as a neutral - can I get a ticket? The Kildare fan who has missed no match or the Mayo person? What about those? The limit is around 8,000 - how are the tickets going to be given out... who will have first call on them... will Mayo get half... Kildare may have 'right' on their side but they have conveniently used the rules to bolster their chance of defeating Mayo and have said - forget about the fans... that is my interpretation as a neutral. I think that the first consequence of this decision is that central Council will address the rules governing such fixtures in the future and ensure that counties will either nominate grounds apart from their own or that competition committees will have sole power in fixing venues. And what about the players... has Kildare thought about those players who have not ye had the chance of playing in Croke Park - and for most players it is a definite highlight to play at headquarters. Some commentators have suggested that this reflects a battle between the 'powers that be ' in Croke Park and the country Gael... believing that Croke Park does things for the sake of money and for Sky. Those people are deluded in my opinion. The reality is that the people in Croke Park - made up mind you of committees with particular responsibility for different sectors - are the very same as anybody else in the GAA - there for the betterment of the Association. I would fear if it were any different. Kildare may have won the battle but I fear that they will definitely lose the war."
What an absolute load of rubbish. 1. If they GAA were so worried about people getting to see the game, why is it behind a pay wall on SKY? They don't seem too worried about people who won't see it there! 2. I went to every single match in 1998 but I couldn't get a ticket for the All Ireland final. I may never ever see Kildare in an All Ireland final in my lifetime again but thems the breaks following your county. You may not get a ticket every single time. 3. Of course you fight for home venue to improve your chances of beating the other team. That's gone on since sport began, are you expecting us to apologise for it?? Maybe your county should have done the same last year when playing Dublin. There was a strong principle at stake here and we stood up to for ourselves and we are very grateful for the support of the majority of the country for rowing in behind us. Democracy won its day as it always should. 4. Don't worry about our lads or the Mayo lads playing in Croke Park, both have played there many times before. Not to much success for our lads I will concede. But playing there is nothing new to either. 5. If "the powers that be" clean up their rules after this then so be it. Everyone will know where they stand good and early and no more making it up as you go along. If the people in Croke Park are so worried about the greater good, why were they so intent on going against what the vast vast majority of the country was telling them? Polls on any platform you like were giving Kildare 80-90% support nationally. Do Croke Park know what is better for us than we do? 6. With the support of the country we won the battle AND the feckin war!

kildare73 (National) - 27/06/2018 14:09:30

Replying To jimbodub:  "It'll be more like a Mayo home game by the sounds of ticket allocations Looking at the numbers could be as high 6 thousand Mayo fans It'll be more Castlebar than Newbridge Ah well sure Mayo fans were always going to outnumber Kildare fans either way.. but a little more jarring seeing as Kildare are at home. Probably many of the Kildare players first ever experience playing a senior championship game there and they look up to see mostly green and red.."
I think we have your thoughts on it by now Jimbo. Time to let it go. You plainly don't agree with the stance we took but don't really want to come out and say it. We fought for the decision, are proud of the outcome, we own it whatever happens. Mayo were favourites before any of it, still are. But the victory Kildare had this week won't be forgotten regardless. I'm sure there will be plenty of keyboard warriors hovering over their laptops on Saturday evening to trot out their prepared script telling us how wrong we were to insist on Newbridge should we loose. Not all victories are won on football pitches though. Might do a couple on here no harm to remember that.

kildare73 (National) - 28/06/2018 18:43:11

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Of course Clare believed they were going to win!!! Why do you think the handicap was only 6 points and bear in mind the game was in Killarney where we haven't lost since 1995 so thats worth at least 4 points of the handicap. They had a bad day, they are a normal county and aren't robots it happens!!!! I don't even need to talk about whether or not the Rebels believe they can beat Kerry least of all on their home turf!!!!!!! I never criticised the other Leinster teams - I admire and respect their tradition and I hugely enjoyed watching it in the 90's and 00's it was always the most enjoyable of the 4 provinces in terms of colour, skill, enjoyment and unpredictability my worry is if all that can be wiped away so quickly , what is stopping the AI itself becoming irrelevant. If a team that has won every game this year can't even be competitive then it prove beyond doubt it is finished which is sad"
Ah give over, Laois were in div 4 all year and have done well to reach a Leinster Final but teeing it up that if they can't now beat the best team in the country is the death knell of a province isn't logical. You wouldn't apply that philosophy to a Munster team so you can't lay it at the door of anyone in Leinster either. Clare did indeed have a bad day but everyone was well aware they hadn't a hope of beating Kerry, I contend they even knew it themselves and they played like it too. What I will say is, if you are declaring Leinster dead and you fear the same thing will happen in the rest of the championship then it's up to counties like yours to stop it happening. I actually think your lads are an exciting bunch coming along so we'll see what happens. On the evidence I've seen over last year and this year Leinster is no real worse off than anywhere else. Every province has it's problems. P.s. Kerry can play Cork anywhere these days and Cork still wouldn't win. Kerry will have just as easy a provincial title as Dublin will.

kildare73 (National) - 12/06/2018 17:22:27