Fair play TG4

Just want to say fair play to tg4. Streaming more underage games and schools games now. I would actually rather watch tg4 now than any other station.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 21/03/2017 15:46:52    1969557

Replying To wd45:  "Just want to say fair play to tg4. Streaming more underage games and schools games now. I would actually rather watch tg4 now than any other station."
Brilliant coverage of games just a pity it's in Irish for us non Irish speakers.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/03/2017 13:30:33    1969956

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Brilliant coverage of games just a pity it's in Irish for us non Irish speakers."
Ah sure that's the whole point of it. Can always pick up radio commentry is you're really that bothered.
Great coverage though .. outrageous that seo spoirt is going ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 22/03/2017 13:42:19    1969966

They're coverage is excellent. I'd give them the championship and feic RTE if I had my way. It doesn't take too much Irish to follow what's going on btw. They used to have a glossary of hurling and football terms as gaeilge on their website too, not sure if it's still there.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 22/03/2017 14:33:04    1969987

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Brilliant coverage of games just a pity it's in Irish for us non Irish speakers."
I've definitely reclaimed a lot of my former Gaeilge from watching sport on TG4. Open your mind & your ears & the words will flood back to you.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 22/03/2017 15:16:40    1970013

Great news.
The way I now ork I would miss attending these games if my county was involved.
Fair play to TG4, a proper GAA station.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/03/2017 16:16:38    1970031

you should learn! :)

seriously though,way better than the game on sunday..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/03/2017 16:52:46    1970047

I'd happily see tg4 broadcast the championship only if they gave a language option, other then that they do give a good coverage of the gaa

TrevorPhillips (Cork) - Posts: 28 - 22/03/2017 16:53:53    1970048

TG4 is very good on sport, its coverage on Gaelic Games is really good. It is not just sport,
it is a lovely TV channel to watch. It has some very good documentaries, a very good folklore
programme, also good on current affairs. I very much like the Nuacht on TG4 as it reports
on local news that RTE may not cover. It is a brilliant forum for the Irish Language.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 597 - 22/03/2017 17:28:58    1970063

I watched a rugby match last year on Welsh TV & they had an option of either Welsh or English through the red button.

TG4 could use the same system I'm sure.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/03/2017 18:00:57    1970081

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I watched a rugby match last year on Welsh TV & they had an option of either Welsh or English through the red button.

TG4 could use the same system I'm sure."
I don't think Clondalkin has any Welsh either

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 22/03/2017 18:49:30    1970097

Replying To fainleog:  "TG4 is very good on sport, its coverage on Gaelic Games is really good. It is not just sport,
it is a lovely TV channel to watch. It has some very good documentaries, a very good folklore
programme, also good on current affairs. I very much like the Nuacht on TG4 as it reports
on local news that RTE may not cover. It is a brilliant forum for the Irish Language."
all true

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 23/03/2017 11:00:25    1970314

I had TG4 Player on the telly but it vanished! Saw a bit of a rugby game live on it. Will these games be live on the player?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 23/03/2017 17:53:46    1970504

Agree love sitting down on a Sunday afternoon watching the league games..same for Eir sports excellent coverage and analysis of league games RTE coverage of the league is nothing short of a disgrace league Sunday highlights programme is a joke would love to see TG4 and Eir get championship games.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/03/2017 18:24:14    1970507

I always hear this old chestnut of 'TG4 coverage is great, fairplay to them', but what makes it great? I mean the show to game alright, that's grand, but so does RTE, Eir, Sky etc etc. All I want to see is the game and preferably in a language I understand, which is not Irish!

Ps, no I'm not going to learn a language I have no interest in just so I can understand an Irish commentator, seriously life is busy enough, I have too much shít on for that!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/03/2017 21:19:46    1970545

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Ah sure that's the whole point of it. Can always pick up radio commentry is you're really that bothered.
Great coverage though .. outrageous that seo spoirt is going .."
cant watch tv and listen to the radio because they are never in sinc, one is always seconds behind the other

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 23/03/2017 22:23:59    1970561

As an Irish person who left school with the national average rubbish standard of Irish but whose on a bit of a re-learning stint for the past 15 years (give or take) and that will probably last my whole life, I say fair play to TG4, even if they never, past and future, showed a sliotar or a football. The fact that they do is a bonus.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 23/03/2017 23:31:37    1970576

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "cant watch tv and listen to the radio because they are never in sinc, one is always seconds behind the other"
I've synced youtube footage of the odd Dublin/Kerry match with Radio Kerry commentary, its gas craic altogether.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 24/03/2017 00:32:12    1970583

Replying To Mickmick:  "They're coverage is excellent. I'd give them the championship and feic RTE if I had my way. It doesn't take too much Irish to follow what's going on btw. They used to have a glossary of hurling and football terms as gaeilge on their website too, not sure if it's still there."
Couldn't agree with you more, well said.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 24/03/2017 08:20:09    1970595

Replying To Breffni39:  "I don't think Clondalkin has any Welsh either"
Gwych Breff!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 24/03/2017 08:57:38    1970600