Kerry v Dublin just got a whole lot bigger

Kerry v Dublin the Gaa's biggest game has just got a whole lot bigger in two weeks time with Dublin travelling down to the kingdom to equal the Kerry record of 34 games unbeaten in league and championship. Don't tell me that Kerry won't want to badly beat Dublin so they won't equal their great record and don't tell me Dublin won't be mad to win so they can equal the record, so I personally can't wait for Saturday week with a sell out game it's going to be a massive occasion.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/03/2017 11:48:42    1964455

Beat a record "supposedly" setup in the 1930's ( very dodgy and suspect stat records from that time)

I don't think the run that Dublin is on is even comparable to that time

The game is far better now, more demanding, and it will be a long time before another team gets even close to what this current Dublin team have accomplished

So for me anyway, beating this "supposed" record setup in the 1930's isn't worth much

In the modern era - Dublin's run is almost freakish and unique.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2017 12:10:27    1964479

It's a Legaue game, while it would be nice to beat Dublin, Kerry are not exactly setting the GAA world alight in the last 4 weeks.

Winning for either will mean sweet eff-A come the summer, just like the League final last year.

P.S. Jimbo I suppose next you are going to say that Dublin doing the back to back last year equates to Kerry's last 4 in a row?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2017 12:32:45    1964496

Kerry v Dublin just got a whole lot bigger

Disagree, it's still just a league match in March.

Hoping for a good performance regardless of result.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/03/2017 12:45:22    1964504

Actually the only prediction I'll make about this game is this. If Kerry win there'll be a lot of crowing (from some yerra merchants) about how it was Kerry that stopped the Dubs run and if Dublin win there'll be some crowing from certain supporters about how the Dubs equaled the record in Tralee.

Next Monday on HS.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/03/2017 12:47:43    1964505

Couldn't care less about that record, it's a great run to be on as it has formed a habit of winning which hopefully will stand to us in this year's hunt for Sam.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 06/03/2017 12:58:41    1964515

Fair play to the dubs should be a great game !! For some to say it dosnt matter its only a league game get real any player of either team that dosnt want to win this one well its time they hung up the boots

hoopman (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 06/03/2017 13:21:56    1964545

Yeah have to say im not one who sees this as particularly huge game, its just another league game, albeit Dublin and Kerry tends to be historically a good game of football. Ill be more interested in seeing the likes of the multi all Ireland winning players who come back and from what i heard there will be a few.

The record means very little to me really, i think it stands alone in the modern era of quarterfinals and competitive championships. I dont think there is any pressure at all and thats an unusual feeling playing a Kerry team, we just need go and enjoy the game. Even if its a defeat we have two nice games to finish and should be competitive for another national title which is the business we are in.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/03/2017 13:22:59    1964546

Replying To MesAmis:  "Actually the only prediction I'll make about this game is this. If Kerry win there'll be a lot of crowing (from some yerra merchants) about how it was Kerry that stopped the Dubs run and if Dublin win there'll be some crowing from certain supporters about how the Dubs equaled the record in Tralee.

Next Monday on HS."
There shouldn't be any crowing done if Dublin equal it, as the record itself is highly dubious

Stats from back in the 30's are pretty fecking sketchy at best

Kerry may have actually won more, or very possibly could have have won less.. and the two era's are just not comparable

Two completely different games in terms of skill set and application

Dublin's current run is of course 100% provable, and in the modern era is head and shoulders above what any other successful county has come even close to matching

So really, it's just another two points on offer as all the other stuff is neither here or there.

Two points in Kerry and then with Roscommon in CP.. should see Dublin into the final

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2017 13:24:38    1964550

Ah come on lads to say you couldn't careless about an unbeaten record is wrong, were one game away from a record that will never be broken again and you don't care? The summer is miles away let's worry about that in time but right now we're going down to Kerry to equal an unbelievable record which would be massive. Don't tell me kerry players don't care about giving their record up at home to the Dubs in a sell out staduim , they want to beat Dublin no matter what but with their record on the line makes it an even bigger game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 06/03/2017 13:41:32    1964569

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah come on lads to say you couldn't careless about an unbeaten record is wrong, were one game away from a record that will never be broken again and you don't care? The summer is miles away let's worry about that in time but right now we're going down to Kerry to equal an unbelievable record which would be massive. Don't tell me kerry players don't care about giving their record up at home to the Dubs in a sell out staduim , they want to beat Dublin no matter what but with their record on the line makes it an even bigger game."
But it's a record that cant really be proven..

Listen it's another accolade but I'd much prefer to make the final and challenge for 5 in a row

So it's the two points I'm after, and if it means that Dublin equalise a "supposed" record (again stats from that era are highly dubious) then ok, it's a bit of an add on, but I can only give my opinion but I just don't think the two are in anyway comparable

Almost two different games

But again for me... Dublin's current run far outweighs anything that has come before it and pointing that out maybe distasteful for some, but the truth hurts I guess.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2017 13:58:39    1964578

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah come on lads to say you couldn't careless about an unbeaten record is wrong, were one game away from a record that will never be broken again and you don't care? The summer is miles away let's worry about that in time but right now we're going down to Kerry to equal an unbelievable record which would be massive. Don't tell me kerry players don't care about giving their record up at home to the Dubs in a sell out staduim , they want to beat Dublin no matter what but with their record on the line makes it an even bigger game."
I don't really care about a record that I hadn't heard about until two weeks ago.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/03/2017 14:08:47    1964585

Well clon it's not our current players record its the record of a bunch of Kerry players from nearly 80 odd years ago,

I can guarantee you none of this current bunch of Kerry footballers even knew about this record till ye all brought it up.

The important thing for us in Kerry is that we survive in div1 and unearth a few good players for the summer which I think we'll do.

The important thing is getting the team ready for the championship.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/03/2017 14:19:26    1964596

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well clon it's not our current players record its the record of a bunch of Kerry players from nearly 80 odd years ago,

I can guarantee you none of this current bunch of Kerry footballers even knew about this record till ye all brought it up.

The important thing for us in Kerry is that we survive in div1 and unearth a few good players for the summer which I think we'll do.

The important thing is getting the team ready for the championship."
The media have got their claws into it now..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2017 14:43:38    1964613

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well clon it's not our current players record its the record of a bunch of Kerry players from nearly 80 odd years ago,

The important thing is getting the team ready for the championship."
Aye let the Dubs cloak a League game in whatever clothing they want if it helps them sell a few more copies of the Evening Herald.

We are looking for some signs of what Kerry might potentially be like come the summer, that's all I'm after for this match.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2017 14:45:39    1964616

In fairness I think this unbeaten run by today's Dublin team is a bit more meaningful given the higher standard of today's game.The Dubs will want very much to break this record.It continues to add to their claims of being one of the best sides ever. People always rattle of stats when arguing over the best teams ever. Besides,Kerry have their own records to crow about,they're Kerry. Both teams will be wanting very much to win this one for the sake of this record and many reasons more.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/03/2017 15:20:33    1964634

On yesterday's performance, I can't see Kerry stopping Dublin. They were poor against Roscommon and were lucky to nick the points.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/03/2017 15:31:34    1964641

Don't think this match requires Super Sunday LIVE only on SKY Hype , it sells itself , hands up who knew about the record lets say two months ago I'm betting most hands stay in their pocket , so why on earth would it suddenly matter now , they can keep the record as long as we get to keep Sam.
Kerry will want to beat us for no other reason than our current success is getting right under their skin , they honestly believe they lost two games they should have won.
With regards the record itself could care less , no record ever beat a roll of honour.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/03/2017 15:31:44    1964642

Look it's a great record and I'm sure the Dubs would love to keep it going, and Kerry would love to stop the run as well. I don't think it has anything to do with some record hardly anyone knew about until a week or so go, it's more about the here and now, setting down a marker, that kind of thing.

No more than ourselves, there's an element of "coming onto our patch" about the game, to say that Kerry lads won't care too much about this game is nonsense, I wouldn't have pretended the Donegal lads would be shrugging their shoulders if we'd lost to the Dubs last week. It matters and while a loss for either side isn't the end of the world, enough of the yerras and "no big deals", neither county will have much of a challenge til the All-Ireland series after this game being honest.

Should be a great game, no more than our own against Tyrone at the same time.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/03/2017 15:38:30    1964650

Replying To TheHermit:  "It's a Legaue game, while it would be nice to beat Dublin, Kerry are not exactly setting the GAA world alight in the last 4 weeks.

Winning for either will mean sweet eff-A come the summer, just like the League final last year.

P.S. Jimbo I suppose next you are going to say that Dublin doing the back to back last year equates to Kerry's last 4 in a row?"
I don't know about that thehermit

Beating Kerry in the 2016 S/F and all off the back of beating Kerry twice in the league (by 11 points in the final) was pretty sweet

It def. made 2016 all the better.. it certainly didn't feel like sweet FA to us Dub fans

If the shoe was on the other foot, you'd have taken more from it.

I mean Dublin went unbeaten last year and won a treble... it's weighty stuff and to accomplish it all at Kerry's direct expense

Well as a fan, that's means a lot, and I mean that as a compliment, beating Kerry is the pinnacle.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2017 15:40:37    1964653