The Warrior O'Mahony

Another Kerry legend walking away after 13 years of giving it all. Ah Warrior, 5 All-Ireland's and 8 Munster titles and still fighting to the very end against the Dubs last August.

I hope retirement is good to you Aidan, no one deserves it more and kick ars* with the dancing :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/01/2017 13:59:11    1948089

Replying To TheHermit:  "Another Kerry legend walking away after 13 years of giving it all. Ah Warrior, 5 All-Ireland's and 8 Munster titles and still fighting to the very end against the Dubs last August.

I hope retirement is good to you Aidan, no one deserves it more and kick ars* with the dancing :D"
Kerry to the core and a pure gent off the field.
Enjoy your retirement Aidan.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2017 19:39:26    1948209

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry to the core and a pure gent off the field.
Enjoy your retirement Aidan."
A very good, solid player. Played a bit on the edge and will not go down as one of the Kerry greats but no shame in that.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/01/2017 20:48:05    1948226

Old player retires shocker.

Should be on the Kerry forum

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 23/01/2017 20:49:53    1948228

Great servant, has bags of medals ala Kerry player and the best of luck to him.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 23/01/2017 22:04:34    1948263

Replying To kanu:  "Old player retires shocker.

Should be on the Kerry forum"
An old player that played in 9 allireland finals winning 5 , he played in 4 league finals winning 3 and won about 8 Munster medals, he also represented his province and country.
Hi lad that's not bad for an old player .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/01/2017 22:42:53    1948269

Dear Kanu,

'Can-u' just leave, thanks.

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 23/01/2017 22:42:56    1948270

Replying To TheHermit:  "Another Kerry legend walking away after 13 years of giving it all. Ah Warrior, 5 All-Ireland's and 8 Munster titles and still fighting to the very end against the Dubs last August.

I hope retirement is good to you Aidan, no one deserves it more and kick ars* with the dancing :D"
9 thumbs down for simply acknowledging a great players retirement. Jaysus yer a bitter bunch.

Newsflash that lad has as many/more All-Ireland's than 27 counties (including Cavan)...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/01/2017 23:37:00    1948277

Class footballer, one of th best of his generation. best of luck to him

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 23/01/2017 23:41:24    1948280

Replying To TheHermit:  "9 thumbs down for simply acknowledging a great players retirement. Jaysus yer a bitter bunch.

Newsflash that lad has as many/more All-Ireland's than 27 counties (including Cavan)..."
Ah hermit, relax man, I think some of the lads are taking the pee because yer hammering them in the likes button stakes :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 24/01/2017 00:02:02    1948285

Great Servant to Kerry. No need for any negativity on this issue lads in fairness. The man gave everything for club,county and country and has had more success than most players can ever even dream off. It's a lot to look up to and admire rather than to take digs at.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/01/2017 06:42:44    1948295

Replying To TheHermit:  "9 thumbs down for simply acknowledging a great players retirement. Jaysus yer a bitter bunch.

Newsflash that lad has as many/more All-Ireland's than 27 counties (including Cavan)..."
Ah hermit there was no need for that!

If a lad has only 130 odd posts canot u not see he's only WUMming?

No need to insult an entire county, even if we did beat ye in the 'game of the century'. ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 24/01/2017 09:10:00    1948305

I wonder what football_man from Leitrim thinks of this
He's a serious football man

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 24/01/2017 09:23:23    1948308

Never took to him like other Kerry greats but I suppose that was just his style, he made no apologies for doing whatever it took for Kerry and didn't ask or want to be liked anyways. Some medal haul from him, a great servant to Kerry, enjoy the retirement

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 24/01/2017 09:26:36    1948310

fantastic player , well done on a fine career

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 24/01/2017 09:28:59    1948313

He was some boy. He sailed close to the wind in many a match but you need that kind of ruthlessness in every team if you'rte serious about winning honours. He was the type of player opposition fans loved to hate. But those in Kerry colours probably loved him all the more for it. He shackled Murphy well in the 2014 final, using fair and foul means. I remember being livid with the officials that day.

He'll be missed around the Kerry set up no doubt. The kind of standards himself and Marc O'Sé set in the camp, and their big game experience is not easy to replace. Up to the younger generation now.

Enjoy the retirement lad!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 24/01/2017 09:33:26    1948318

Not a great player IMO, Tyrone really made him look like a very average player in the great all ireland finals

ulster83 (Tyrone) - Posts: 114 - 24/01/2017 10:39:48    1948349

Replying To kanu:  "Old player retires shocker.

Should be on the Kerry forum"
To be fair it's national news. He was a household name, so not just any old player.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/01/2017 11:25:45    1948362

Those tight pants though in Dancing with the Stars ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/01/2017 11:36:03    1948364

Nice to see the Dubs retiring another Kerry man.Aidan,the cute Kerry hoor,knew the game was up.In fact it looked like he was running in quicksand the last few years.He should have a good chance of winning this RTE show as hes used to a multitude of Dubs dancing rings around him.Happy retirement kid.You were good many years ago but your race is well and truly run.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/01/2017 12:08:44    1948375