Meath taking on Dublin subs......

This is a new low for Meath football
I may never love Meath, but i respect them. Perhaps more than I respect any of the other 31.
However, when I read this article on the main page, that Meath are basically recruiting lads who cant get a game for Dublin.with all that goes with the Dublin Meath rivalry...
I dunno. Meath lads, is this where its at?!
Jesus!

(Merry Christmas to all)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/12/2016 11:59:38    1941615

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "This is a new low for Meath football
I may never love Meath, but i respect them. Perhaps more than I respect any of the other 31.
However, when I read this article on the main page, that Meath are basically recruiting lads who cant get a game for Dublin.with all that goes with the Dublin Meath rivalry...
Jesus!

(Merry Christmas to all)"
Not much wrong with it in my book.

If it's within the rules it's all fine.

Dublin are happy to use players who've played their whole club career for Ashbourne, why shouldn't Meath use the best players available to them?

A bit too much pride has probably hindered Meath over the last 15, they were slow to adapt to the modern game.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 22/12/2016 13:08:46    1941636

Nice time of year for ice fishing Liam! ;)

Seriously tho, the Lownes one is straightforward as he's now with a Meath club.

I don't know where O'Connor is originally from, but if he's originally a Meath man or has Meath parents, etc. then it's another straightforward one.

The "subs" line will draw in a few tho so fair play.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 22/12/2016 13:33:26    1941644

Nobody is likely to be too bothered to be honest, especially when Dublin clubs actively go around doing something similar.

Meath people will know more about their own county than us, but any player that is eligible and can improve, why would you not take a look at them. Anything that gives the county that bit extra, sure, go for it.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 22/12/2016 13:40:30    1941646

Jesus!

It is Xmas Liam, we like to help our neighbours in their hour of need.
LOL

Could be interesting seeing the Lowndes brothers lining out for opposing counties.

Add this to Joe Sheridan being drafted back into the Meath panel for 2017 as a goalie just sums it up.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 22/12/2016 13:48:10    1941648

Bit of pot calling kettle black here in my opinion.

For years south meath clubs have had to put up with losing some of their best underage to the dubs so ye can't have it both ways.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 22/12/2016 13:52:48    1941649

I'd imagine Meath people have a bigger issue with bringing back in a forward who is well past his sell by date and putting him in goals. If I was a Meath person my confidence in the management would be gone already
They're slide down the pecking order is continuing at a huge rate

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/12/2016 14:17:42    1941657

Replying To Uncle_Fester:  "Bit of pot calling kettle black here in my opinion.

For years south meath clubs have had to put up with losing some of their best underage to the dubs so ye can't have it both ways."
South Meath , sure that is now part of Dublin. Dublin has been expanding over the past decade or two and have helped to broaden the potential for Meath people to develope it's population in terms of culture and the finer things in life through watching and learning from you're more aristocratic neighbours.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/12/2016 14:36:38    1941663

Replying To cavanman47:  "Nice time of year for ice fishing Liam! ;)

Seriously tho, the Lownes one is straightforward as he's now with a Meath club.

I don't know where O'Connor is originally from, but if he's originally a Meath man or has Meath parents, etc. then it's another straightforward one.

The "subs" line will draw in a few tho so fair play."

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/12/2016 14:39:21    1941667

Players playing for their rival counties has happened before. Not a thing wrong with it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 22/12/2016 14:43:20    1941668

Liam as you well know December is slow season in the GAA, but I thought you were around long enough to pass over 99% of GAA stories that circulate at this time of year.The is really a non story as there are currently over 50 lads working their ass off to get a position on the Meath team. According to accounts everyone of them is been given an opportunity to impress on Andy that they have something to give come May to September. For the first game against either Louth or Wicklow half of these lads will be gone. So at the minute all that matters it that everyone is given a fair shout to impress. Regarding these two players who had former involvement with Dublin, they both have Meath connections and one of them is actually playing club football in Meath. This sort of thing happens all the time and once it is within the rules then that is fine. Ashbourne players playing with Dublin, Declan Darcy moved to play with Dublin. Indeed the 1948 All Ireland had brothers playing against one another when Meath were playing Cavan.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 22/12/2016 14:50:41    1941671

The only issue I see with it is Meath taking Dublin players. If those lads were good enough they would be starting for Dublin yet meath are bringing in lads not good enough for them to there panel. Not really setting a high standard and also very unfair on genuine Meath footballers to see subs from Dublin taking maybe some lads dream place on a Meath panel. What makes it worse is the rivalry. Not one player from another Connacht county would I welcome to join Roscommon

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 22/12/2016 14:51:20    1941672

Lowndes left for a family private reason with club politics playing a huge part , his family and cousins an Dad are from Meath at no stage was this to do with representing Meath , his club teammates brother Craig and Dublin under 21 all Ireland winner for Dublin Robbie McCarty left for very same reasons .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/12/2016 15:32:53    1941690

Sure 50% of meath and kildare will be known as greater dublin in a few years time anyway..ha

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 22/12/2016 16:48:53    1941708

Replying To GGdub:  "Sure 50% of meath and kildare will be known as greater dublin in a few years time anyway..ha"
You should try walking into a pub in Dunboyne or Maynooth and announcing that and wait for the hospitality.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 22/12/2016 17:05:03    1941718

Gone on for years

Look at the Dublin hurlers darragh o'connell and Ryan o'dwyer at the moment and niall coronan and maurice o'brien who retired in the last few seasons

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 22/12/2016 19:14:20    1941761

Jesus!

Ah Liam your some man for going fishing at this time of year. :)
Look O'Connor family from Meath and seemingly this was flagged last year to previous manager who didn't take up the offer, Andy did, master stroke, Lowndes. Is a different kettle of fish , he lives and plays his football in Meath so that's a natural thing, will either make the team? Or even final panel? I doubt it, while your at it sure you might as well give us back dean rock and mick deegans young fella, and we will call it quits :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/12/2016 19:41:07    1941767

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'd imagine Meath people have a bigger issue with bringing back in a forward who is well past his sell by date and putting him in goals. If I was a Meath person my confidence in the management would be gone already
They're slide down the pecking order is continuing at a huge rate"
Well you know very little about Meath people, generally couldn't care less, this is a master atroke by Andy, Joe will never play competitively in goal for Meath, Joe knows this too, however his experience and others like him have been sadly missing in Meath dressing rooms of past.
I'll give you a quote from Michael Dara McCauley, "Andy McEntee is the best manager I have played for".
Now when we want advice on hurling we will give you a shout, however. until then......

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/12/2016 19:59:45    1941769

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ah Liam your some man for going fishing at this time of year. :)
Look O'Connor family from Meath and seemingly this was flagged last year to previous manager who didn't take up the offer, Andy did, master stroke, Lowndes. Is a different kettle of fish , he lives and plays his football in Meath so that's a natural thing, will either make the team? Or even final panel? I doubt it, while your at it sure you might as well give us back dean rock and mick deegans young fella, and we will call it quits :)"
Dean rock grew up in garristown didn't he and has played for ballymun the entire time hasn't he or am I missing something?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 22/12/2016 20:41:52    1941775

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "Nobody is likely to be too bothered to be honest, especially when Dublin clubs actively go around doing something similar.

Meath people will know more about their own county than us, but any player that is eligible and can improve, why would you not take a look at them. Anything that gives the county that bit extra, sure, go for it."
Exactly...

Meath are looking at 50 players right now(not including U21's) so it is up to O'Connor to prove himself.I belief his mother is from Meath.But he is on trial like the other 49 or so Meath players.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 22/12/2016 20:44:01    1941776