What to do?

All Ireland Final injury time, your team leading by 2 points, a forward on the opposing team baring down on your goal, you are the nearest player to him or her in Ladies football, what do you do? Or as a supporter in the stand what do you expect your player to do?
For me it's simple, win at all costs, take the player down no matter what happens, don't let him/her score, take the punishment if it means winning the title, a classic example is Tyrone's Sean Cavanagh foul/ rugby tackle on Monaghan's Conor McManus, was Cavanagh right? Yes win at all costs, this was the main reason the black card was brought in, to prevent that, it doesn't. The best solution is a professional foul and a straight red. Don't care I'd take the red if it meant winning and any person would say and do the same.
What would you do?

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 08/11/2016 12:18:46    1932657

Replying To riverboys:  "All Ireland Final injury time, your team leading by 2 points, a forward on the opposing team baring down on your goal, you are the nearest player to him or her in Ladies football, what do you do? Or as a supporter in the stand what do you expect your player to do?
For me it's simple, win at all costs, take the player down no matter what happens, don't let him/her score, take the punishment if it means winning the title, a classic example is Tyrone's Sean Cavanagh foul/ rugby tackle on Monaghan's Conor McManus, was Cavanagh right? Yes win at all costs, this was the main reason the black card was brought in, to prevent that, it doesn't. The best solution is a professional foul and a straight red. Don't care I'd take the red if it meant winning and any person would say and do the same.
What would you do?"
Exactly the same.

Anyone who says they wouldn't is either lying or shouldn't be playing the game at a serious competitive level.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/11/2016 13:14:48    1932690

Replying To riverboys:  "All Ireland Final injury time, your team leading by 2 points, a forward on the opposing team baring down on your goal, you are the nearest player to him or her in Ladies football, what do you do? Or as a supporter in the stand what do you expect your player to do?
What would you do?"
in this scenario is your keeper muck?

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 08/11/2016 13:18:55    1932694

What would you do?"
I'd try to tackle properly and if the guy evades me at least I'll know I'm destined to be considered a wonderful human being.

Like f8ck I am, the guy is not going to get a shot away if I can help it, in whatever way possible!

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4223 - 08/11/2016 14:03:54    1932704

If you are close enough to foul him you are close enough to put in a decent tackle, particularly in hurling.
Keegan is an expert at getting away with it as we seen in the semi final this year. I believe he had 3-4 black card offences this year before he got one

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/11/2016 14:04:23    1932705

Depends on what county you are discussing:

Dublin - Strip the ball from the forward, romp down the pitch, stick it over the bar for a 3 point game. Develop a small back strain from the weight of Celtic crosses in your back pocket.
Mayo - Watch helplessly as the forward rounds you and buries the ball into the net, keeper well beaten owing to accidentally tying his bootlaces together a moment ago. Ah well, maybe next year.
Kerry - Flatten the forward, raise hands in a gesture of innocence. Look bewildered when red carded.
Tyrone - Exactly the same as Kerry, but for some reason all six defenders are sent off.
Donegal - Fling yourself on the ground as if shot from close quarters with a cannon. Protest that it was a clear free out. Brolly concurs.
Everyone Else - This is an All Ireland final - wake up, you're dreaming.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 08/11/2016 14:15:48    1932709

Replying To Jaden:  "Depends on what county you are discussing:

Dublin - Strip the ball from the forward, romp down the pitch, stick it over the bar for a 3 point game. Develop a small back strain from the weight of Celtic crosses in your back pocket.
Mayo - Watch helplessly as the forward rounds you and buries the ball into the net, keeper well beaten owing to accidentally tying his bootlaces together a moment ago. Ah well, maybe next year.
Kerry - Flatten the forward, raise hands in a gesture of innocence. Look bewildered when red carded.
Tyrone - Exactly the same as Kerry, but for some reason all six defenders are sent off.
Donegal - Fling yourself on the ground as if shot from close quarters with a cannon. Protest that it was a clear free out. Brolly concurs.
Everyone Else - This is an All Ireland final - wake up, you're dreaming."
Good post. The only one I'd disagree with is the Dublin one, where there would be pressure on the referee in the run up to the final, and with the opposition attacking towards the Hill 16 end he would blow the full time whistle as the ball was about to cross the line. Even though they won the Dubs would still insist he was biased.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 08/11/2016 16:03:35    1932766

Replying To tiobraid:  "If you are close enough to foul him you are close enough to put in a decent tackle, particularly in hurling.
Keegan is an expert at getting away with it as we seen in the semi final this year. I believe he had 3-4 black card offences this year before he got one"
Imagine, and he still got player of the year! Tut tut.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 08/11/2016 16:05:21    1932767

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "

Good post. The only one I'd disagree with is the Dublin one, where there would be pressure on the referee in the run up to the final, and with the opposition attacking towards the Hill 16 end he would blow the full time whistle as the ball was about to cross the line. Even though they won the Dubs would still insist he was biased."
Ha agreed, we are scamps like that.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/11/2016 17:42:55    1932808

If managing an u-10 team and the same situation arose what would you tell your fullback to do in that situation?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 08/11/2016 18:11:38    1932816

Replying To Soma:  "If managing an u-10 team and the same situation arose what would you tell your fullback to do in that situation?"
Id tell him to tackle the forward I hope your not expecting 9 year olds to be taking forwards out!

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 08/11/2016 18:56:43    1932830

Replying To Soma:  "If managing an u-10 team and the same situation arose what would you tell your fullback to do in that situation?"
Take the man down.

Ruthlessness is part of the game, whether we like it or not. If a player is to make it at the top top level, they need to learn this as early as possible.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/11/2016 19:13:54    1932837

excellent

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/11/2016 19:27:42    1932841

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "

Good post. The only one I'd disagree with is the Dublin one, where there would be pressure on the referee in the run up to the final, and with the opposition attacking towards the Hill 16 end he would blow the full time whistle as the ball was about to cross the line. Even though they won the Dubs would still insist he was biased."
Hahaaa! That's why we only had 8 minutes extra time is it ?
I mean he gave ye every chance.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/11/2016 19:32:44    1932844

Replying To cavanman47:  "Take the man down.

Ruthlessness is part of the game, whether we like it or not. If a player is to make it at the top top level, they need to learn this as early as possible."
Jaysus lads don't forget you'll be playing U 11 next year

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 08/11/2016 19:52:34    1932851

What would you do?"
no question he'd be taken out. However, a dismissal still wouldn't deter me from bringing a man down if it was at the death. The only thing that would make me think twice about it would be if a penalty was awarded because that could obviously be a game changer, a penalty anywhere from the 45 in, if its deemed cynical. I believe that is the only way to bring an end to all of that.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 08/11/2016 20:51:24    1932875

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "
Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "[quote=Jaden:  "Depends on what county you are discussing:

Hahaaa! That's why we only had 8 minutes extra time is it ?
I mean he gave ye every chance."]His conscience was at him!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 08/11/2016 21:07:28    1932882

What would you do?"
Try dispossess the man with the ball if that fails and he is about to get past take him down and make sure there's a knee in after (the old favourite from a recently successful football team) for good measure and if anyone says anything keep telling yourself that your lads don't do anything dirty and eventually you will believe this lie to be true! Happy days!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 08/11/2016 22:09:54    1932894

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Imagine, and he still got player of the year! Tut tut."
Ya and I'm still waiting to see white blackbirds flying around the place. I think I could explain them easier.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/11/2016 10:03:39    1932936

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ya and I'm still waiting to see white blackbirds flying around the place. I think I could explain them easier."
yeah you could always blame the drink for that one.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 09/11/2016 13:12:49    1933003