The end of "The Roc"

With the news coming out today that Rory won't be returning to play for Dublin next year that all but ends his Dublin career. I Just want to say thanks to the best Dublin full back there's ever been.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/10/2016 15:41:14    1927296

Replying To clondalkindub:  "With the news coming out today that Rory won't be returning to play for Dublin next year that all but ends his Dublin career. I Just want to say thanks to the best Dublin full back there's ever been."
He's only been in NZ a short while now so it's all still ahead of him

Listen he owes us nothing and leaves with 3 Senior All Ireland medals and a lot of other gold medals

He could never kick a ball again and still be one of the most decorated Dublin players of all time

All the very best to him and I hope it proves to be a massive success for them both over there, a beautiful country, great people, lots of opportunity

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/10/2016 16:09:48    1927313

This is a great place for retiring players. First Gooch, now this.

Maybe set up a pre-emptive Diarmuid Connolly one so you can resurrect it whenever he eventually does retire. Imagine you gotten beaten to the punch for that thread!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 18/10/2016 17:05:01    1927341

Replying To Breffni39:  "This is a great place for retiring players. First Gooch, now this.

Maybe set up a pre-emptive Diarmuid Connolly one so you can resurrect it whenever he eventually does retire. Imagine you gotten beaten to the punch for that thread!"
Ha ha
Very good Breff

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 18/10/2016 17:13:00    1927345

Replying To clondalkindub:  "With the news coming out today that Rory won't be returning to play for Dublin next year that all but ends his Dublin career. I Just want to say thanks to the best Dublin full back there's ever been."
I'm going to jump to the defence of Gerry Hargan here who I thought was a fantastic full back. Despite playing in a less successful era for the Dubs and enduring many heartaches his performances were constantly top class, O'Carroll is a fine fine footballer but the best ever Dublin full back?? I think he wound need a year or two extra to claim that title

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/10/2016 19:30:18    1927384

3 All Ireland senior titles

1 All Ireland club title

1 U 21 All Ireland title motm as well marking Micheal Murphy

6 Leinster titles

2 All stars

All won by 25

What more does he have to do man?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/10/2016 20:00:15    1927391

Replying To clondalkindub:  "3 All Ireland senior titles

1 All Ireland club title

6 Leinster titles

2 All stars

All won by 25

What more does he have to do man?"
Not disputing the man's record at all but the majority of that list of awards is based on a team/squad effort, his individual achievements being two All Stars and a man of the match display against Murphy (which does warrant serious merit). If I recall correctly Hargan also won two All Stars during his career, O'Carroll may be back for more and if he does return I'd be pretty sure he will win more personal awards. As I say not trying to rain on his parade at all just think the title of best Dublin full back ever could wait a while longer or maybe I'm a bit too old school, I had a lot of respect for Hargan during those years.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/10/2016 22:49:08    1927414

Was chatting to someone very involved in Crokes a week after the All Ireland final, said Rory won't be back this year at least, he's been Chicago most of the year and actually been playing football there, Mannion did something similar.

Also mentioned that avian O Sullivan has been playing with a very prohibitive hamstring injury all year and got progressively worse, he attributed Keegans goal in the final as a case in point. Apparently it's getting sorted in the close season. Also said Mannion is turning into some beast of a unit, the lads didn't recognise him when he turned up at Crokes.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/10/2016 23:18:05    1927422

I would have Paddy Christie and Sean Doherty up there too

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 19/10/2016 03:25:29    1927439

Replying To Richieq:  "Not disputing the man's record at all but the majority of that list of awards is based on a team/squad effort, his individual achievements being two All Stars and a man of the match display against Murphy (which does warrant serious merit). If I recall correctly Hargan also won two All Stars during his career, O'Carroll may be back for more and if he does return I'd be pretty sure he will win more personal awards. As I say not trying to rain on his parade at all just think the title of best Dublin full back ever could wait a while longer or maybe I'm a bit too old school, I had a lot of respect for Hargan during those years."
You not giving any credit to the other 2 Dublin players marking Murphy that day. ROC had the easy job of breaking the ball.
I can think of other times where he was brilliant but I actually wouldnt pick that one out.

Here overall I still think he was improving as a player and hadnt reached his potential which was to be an absolute leader of that defense. But the way football has gone it makes it very hard to play football and have a life. Fair play to him for achieving what he did and then trying to live a life.

If he is back in a year or 2 I see no reason why he cant come back but with the class waiting to come into the team he will find it difficult.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 19/10/2016 08:34:30    1927445

Full back was a real problem position for the Dubs after Christie's retirement.

ROC was the first player to come in and make the position his own.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 19/10/2016 09:51:44    1927458

He won't be back he's obviously not consumed by football this is not the first time he's walked away ,at 19 after playing against Westmeath he left the panel to go travelling. Even if he did want to return that's two years of no football he's not the most gifted athlete anyway so two years away he would find very hard to get back to the level required, Paul Mannion left for 6 months came back played club champo and then for the league game v Kerry was puking at ht and he was only 22. I honestly don't think a player like Rory can leave football for two years and just come back into the team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/10/2016 10:15:12    1927470

TheUsername Cian done his hamstring at the end of the replay Daly came on for him it's been a problem of his for years now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/10/2016 10:17:11    1927471

Heffo used to say that if you didn't have a stand out fb you wouldn't win anything. Things have changed a bit and the position isn't the be all anymore. I thought Mayo were definitely targeting COS seemed to be getting past him a bit easy.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 19/10/2016 11:34:08    1927503

Dermot Deasy is my own favourite

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/10/2016 11:50:50    1927517

Replying To clondalkindub:  "3 All Ireland senior titles

1 All Ireland club title

6 Leinster titles

2 All stars

All won by 25

What more does he have to do man?"
What did he allow Murphy to score that day?

No harm to ROC but he didn't make Murphy miss the penalty and chances are he gave it away in the first place if he was marking him, it's not to say he marked Murphy out of the game and that's why they won. They're a good team and they got lucky

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 19/10/2016 14:10:36    1927591

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He won't be back he's obviously not consumed by football this is not the first time he's walked away ,at 19 after playing against Westmeath he left the panel to go travelling. Even if he did want to return that's two years of no football he's not the most gifted athlete anyway so two years away he would find very hard to get back to the level required, Paul Mannion left for 6 months came back played club champo and then for the league game v Kerry was puking at ht and he was only 22. I honestly don't think a player like Rory can leave football for two years and just come back into the team."
They say that about american footballers in the NFL and they have to be the most catered to athletes in the world.

1 year out it's possible to knock off the rust

More than 2 and it's curtains

Tommy Walsh is a good example, maybe a top 5 forward before he left

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 19/10/2016 14:16:50    1927593

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dermot Deasy is my own favourite"
A sound man had the pleasure of working with him, gent and a good laugh too

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/10/2016 16:01:49    1927623

Replying To Richieq:  "A sound man had the pleasure of working with him, gent and a good laugh too"
100%

A hero of mine across that time, and of course a Ballymun man

Think of the great defenders Kickhams has given Dublin GAA

He had his fecking AI medal stolen from his house last year

Not sure what happened in the end with that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/10/2016 16:25:58    1927632

Replying To jimbodub:  "100%

A hero of mine across that time, and of course a Ballymun man

Think of the great defenders Kickhams has given Dublin GAA

He had his fecking AI medal stolen from his house last year

Not sure what happened in the end with that"
I remember hearing that alright but had actually forgotten about it, excellent footballer and certainly enjoyed the banter with the Meath heads, had no issue poking fun at himself either and is very quick witted, somehow hope he got that medal back.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 19/10/2016 17:34:16    1927657