Congrats Dublin

Well done Dublin. The better team yet again. We can only look at our own failing again. This Dublin team ARE one of the great football teams. Time to drown the sorrows in the capital yet again. Still proud to be a Mayo man.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 01/10/2016 20:22:13    1921191

Replying To yew_tree:  "Well done Dublin. The better team yet again. We can only look at our own failing again. This Dublin team ARE one of the great football teams. Time to drown the sorrows in the capital yet again. Still proud to be a Mayo man."
And proud you should be!!! What a belter of a fortnight...ye gave it everything, there was no "better team won" though - 2 brilliantly evenly matched teams is what i saw...the dubs just pipped it. Ive no doubt ye be in croker again in sept 2017. Keep the heads up.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 01/10/2016 20:33:34    1921203

Indeed, congrats to Dublin a huge achievement to retain Sam. four titles in six years won't be bettered any time soon. Enjoy.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 01/10/2016 20:34:19    1921204

And so you should be. ye made a team many thought unbeatable sweat like hell for 150 minutes.
Still though, the dubs deserved it, but talk of the blue juggernaut will be on hold for the time being.
They can be beaten.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 01/10/2016 20:35:02    1921205

Fair play yew_tree, very sorry for the likes of yourself.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 01/10/2016 20:37:35    1921207

One of the all time great teams now.

4 All Irelands in 6 years
6 Leinsters in a row
4 National Leagues in a row

Despite clearly being mentally and physically exhausted at the end of the this year they manged to grind their way to an all ireland after Kerry and Mayo throwing everything at them and some of their players will go down as greats of the game and they probably have the greatest substitutes bench of all time.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 01/10/2016 20:40:20    1921211

But for Donegal beating them in 2014 this Dublin team would have 4 in a row today, fantastic team and a deserved hard fought victory.
Thought Díarmuid Connolly's interview was very good after the game, that was some point he kicked today,what a player.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 01/10/2016 20:58:40    1921227

You personally I didn't think Kilkenny has had a great year...not to the level some have said he has. But I thought the leadership he showed in the last 15 mins was unbelievable. He was one of the very few cool heads on the pitch.
Well done Dublin. It's the mark of a good team when you can grind out wins despite being far from their best

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/10/2016 21:06:43    1921229

Congrats Dub

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 01/10/2016 21:48:24    1921244

Congrats Dublin!!

The better team. Now a great team. Dublin players very gracious. Cormac Costello grabbed his chance with both hands. Delighted for him.

Hard luck Mayo. Great heart,

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 01/10/2016 21:56:08    1921253

Replying To yew_tree:  "Well done Dublin. The better team yet again. We can only look at our own failing again. This Dublin team ARE one of the great football teams. Time to drown the sorrows in the capital yet again. Still proud to be a Mayo man."
Proud you can be because you are generally a gracious and decent punter.
I am delighted with what this team has achieved because the begrudgers and snipers were waiting in the wings.
Great times to be a Dub. No quit in these lads just honest graft and by God they deserve everything they win.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 01/10/2016 22:01:09    1921255

Well done today Dublin.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 01/10/2016 22:02:08    1921257

There is a lot to admire in Mayo, not least their fans, especially the little lad in tears beside me today, it will happen for this team though.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 01/10/2016 22:12:37    1921265

Congrats to Dublin today, fantastic achievement to win back to back titles. What makes it an even better achievement is that Dublin haven't been at their best this year.

What can I say about Mayo, my god they tried their hearts out in both games. There just is nothing between these two teams. The decision to drop the goalkeeper really backfired, he cost the goal and at least a few points and his bad kick out led to the Keegan black card.

From a neutral point of view, both teams gave us two great games.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 01/10/2016 22:50:22    1921272

Good game, great team. One of the best ever and play the game with style.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 01/10/2016 23:17:16    1921282

Fair play.

Goalkeeping choice, CoC missed free and that curse...

But ye will be back.

Today our hunger and determination shone through.
Great team and proud to be a Dub.

Dublin back2back All Ireland Football Champions 2015 & 2016

Wow... Amazing feeling.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 02/10/2016 00:32:53    1921305

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Proud you can be because you are generally a gracious and decent punter.
I am delighted with what this team has achieved because the begrudgers and snipers were waiting in the wings.
Great times to be a Dub. No quit in these lads just honest graft and by God they deserve everything they win."
I am annoyed that the rivalry is getting bitter had a guy spewting rubbish beside me about Mayo disgraceful stuff no doubt a mayo man somewhere today spewted something as rotten! That Dublin team are as good as anything in 40 years they are brilliant we are never far off just lack that extra killer instinct in the final third. Come on hats down they are fantastic!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 02/10/2016 04:30:52    1921332

Absolutely well done to the Dubs. Great team. One of the best ever and a great joy to watch when they're on their game and in full flight.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/10/2016 08:09:13    1921339

Well done Dublin. The better team yet again. We can only look at our own failing again. This Dublin team ARE one of the great football teams. Time to drown the sorrows in the capital yet again. Still proud to be a Mayo man.

yew_tree (Mayo) - 01/10/2016 20:22:13

Fair play man, you're one of the top posters around here and deserve to see your team win Sam which I hope you get to do soon, you are the kick of a ball away from a win most games and never far away from the win so you will be back there or there abouts next year and the year after etc. Sport can be a cruel b***h sometimes but in the end you always get rewarded. Hope the few pints helped.
All the best.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/10/2016 09:26:58    1921359

Yew tree,thank you very much.RESPECT.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/10/2016 10:03:05    1921378