To all travelling....

Over the last few weeks I've developed a real respect for Mayo fans. Having had kids in the Gaeltacht over in Achill I know how long and arduous that drive over to Dublin is. Tomorrow will be a great occasion no matter what happens. I just hope all those travelling to the match get there and back home safely.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 30/09/2016 09:35:16    1920792

Replying To avonali:  "Over the last few weeks I've developed a real respect for Mayo fans. Having had kids in the Gaeltacht over in Achill I know how long and arduous that drive over to Dublin is. Tomorrow will be a great occasion no matter what happens. I just hope all those travelling to the match get there and back home safely."
Achill is one thing, but I know someone travelling from Qatar for the 2nd time in 2 weeks! I know plenty coming from the UK and I'm sure there's a few coming back from the states as well.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 30/09/2016 09:47:42    1920797

I know a few coming from Chicago, New York and the UK who were here for the drawn game. Thing is they have plenty of $$$. It's the family of 5 from Achill that are heading for their 5th trip to Croke Park since the end of July I would have the heavier cross but sure feck it lads there are 30 counties fans who would love to have the problems Mayo and Dublin fans have. An All Ireland final build up is special so soak it up and enjoy.

It is a very long, tiring and expensive day out.
It's like Christmas eve here now and for the first time I can feel the excitement and tension. Walking down the street today and all the businesses (minus the bar's) have signs up saying "closed tomorrow" or "half day tomorrow"

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 30/09/2016 10:03:21    1920801

Replying To cavanman47:  "Achill is one thing, but I know someone travelling from Qatar for the 2nd time in 2 weeks! I know plenty coming from the UK and I'm sure there's a few coming back from the states as well."
Probably faster traveling from Qatar to Dublin than from Achill

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 30/09/2016 10:05:55    1920804

I'm on my third consecutive weekend of flying back to Ireland at this stage (there was a family occasion in the middle of the two All-Ireland finals) so I really hope a second replay won't be required! I have even heard of people flying back from Australia for previous All-Ireland finals involving Mayo, which shows the level of passion for football amongst our people.

Fair play to fellas jetting in from the Middle East and the States, puts my three hour jaunt in perspective for sure.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 30/09/2016 10:40:05    1920814

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Probably faster traveling from Qatar to Dublin than from Achill"
if there were direct flights it wouldn't be far off!!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 30/09/2016 11:05:39    1920821

...and a little sympathy for all us who have to walk from the likes of Fairview and in our case, Phisboro. That North Circular can be a killer when it's windy.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 30/09/2016 12:21:46    1920844

Let's be honest Gleebo it is passion but it's always wanting to not miss Mayo winning there first All Ireland since '51, like if Mayo win 3 Sam's in the next 5 years the demand won't be as crazy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/09/2016 12:29:06    1920847

Replying To poguemahone:  "...and a little sympathy for all us who have to walk from the likes of Fairview and in our case, Phisboro. That North Circular can be a killer when it's windy."
or after dark down around the sunset house ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 30/09/2016 13:05:42    1920863

After dark? Your a brave man walking down Summerhill at 1pm on a hots summers day.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/09/2016 13:18:45    1920867

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Let's be honest Gleebo it is passion but it's always wanting to not miss Mayo winning there first All Ireland since '51, like if Mayo win 3 Sam's in the next 5 years the demand won't be as crazy."
Probably not, but Gaelic football is woven into the social fabric of Mayo people: it is at the centre of community life for many people there. If we win then I'm sure that it will fall off a bit, but I still believe that our support will be relatively large. Anyway, all conjecture at the end of the day.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 30/09/2016 13:34:58    1920873

Replying To cavanman47:  "or after dark down around the sunset house ;)"
That's now The Brendan Behan.
I'd imagine it's down to recent events no doubt.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/09/2016 13:35:48    1920874

Replying To clondalkindub:  "After dark? Your a brave man walking down Summerhill at 1pm on a hots summers day."
username suggests you'd handle yourself ok ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 30/09/2016 13:59:16    1920880

Replying To Gleebo:  "Probably not, but Gaelic football is woven into the social fabric of Mayo people: it is at the centre of community life for many people there. If we win then I'm sure that it will fall off a bit, but I still believe that our support will be relatively large. Anyway, all conjecture at the end of the day."
Gaelic football is woven into the social fabric of IRISH people: it is at the centre of community life for many people there.

Yis aren't as special as yis like to think.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 30/09/2016 14:11:07    1920886

Replying To Breffni39:  "Gaelic football is woven into the social fabric of IRISH people: it is at the centre of community life for many people there.

Yis aren't as special as yis like to think."
I think you have taken his meaning out of out context Breffni....of course most counties have the GAA at the centre of their world's but the argument was being made that IF Mayo were to win Sam support would not die down. I think you are being over sensitive there.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 30/09/2016 14:26:10    1920891

Ah your right Mayo will always have massive support but not as crazy if they start winning a few Sam's which is quiet possible in the next 10 years.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/09/2016 14:26:36    1920892

Safe journey to all.

May we all be gracious in victory and defeat.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/09/2016 14:30:14    1920896

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think you have taken his meaning out of out context Breffni....of course most counties have the GAA at the centre of their world's but the argument was being made that IF Mayo were to win Sam support would not die down. I think you are being over sensitive there."
Don't think so. I think the point of the post is that Mayo are different.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 30/09/2016 15:32:12    1920914

Replying To Breffni39:  "Don't think so. I think the point of the post is that Mayo are different."
Maybe it's just you that's different Breffni39 ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 30/09/2016 16:03:59    1920920

Tierney Talks -

http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Newstalk_Breakfast/Newstalk_Breakfast_Highlights/159965/The_great_and_the_good_preview_the_All_Ireland_replay

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 30/09/2016 16:33:08    1920927