Why no Kerry retirement's?

Why has there been no Kerry retirements yet? Honestly if the old guard stay on there only holding back the great players that are coming through , I think it would be crazy for these guys to hang on another year. Theyve been unbelievable players for Kerry but there time is up.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2016 11:18:54    1918286

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Why has there been no Kerry retirements yet? Honestly if the old guard stay on there only holding back the great players that are coming through , I think it would be crazy for these guys to hang on another year. Theyve been unbelievable players for Kerry but there time is up."
It could still happen. A different manager might have prompted a few players to call it a day.
Kerry have a good minor team, expect those to come through.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 23/09/2016 11:34:10    1918294

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Why has there been no Kerry retirements yet? Honestly if the old guard stay on there only holding back the great players that are coming through , I think it would be crazy for these guys to hang on another year. Theyve been unbelievable players for Kerry but there time is up."
It could still happen. A different manager might have prompted a few players to call it a day.
Kerry have a good minor team, expect those to come through.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 23/09/2016 11:35:06    1918296

Will create great competition for places if they stay for now and they can help the newer younger players coming through to senior ranks. Squad won't be picked for championship until next May and that will have some serious talent. Even though it was us they beat in the Junior Final it was great to see the way their Junior team played ball, passing and movement was top class and most are eligible to be picked by the seniors. Despite shouting for Galway I'd have to say their minors were also great. Apparently the only team to beat the Kerry minors in 2016 was the Kerry U17s !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 23/09/2016 11:41:43    1918299

Maybe no one to replace the Old with the new, they really need to grasp this nettle.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 23/09/2016 11:49:33    1918309

It's only September, in Kerry lads usually bow out quietly around November once the County Championship is done and dusted.

Personally I think Marc and Bryan will go and in my opinion it is time for them to as I don't think they can offer much more.

But I'll never understand this obsession with getting rid of every lad on a panel just because they are over 30, what is the modern GAA turning into - Logan's Run??

Darran, Gooch, Donaghy and Aidan showed this year that they still have the talent and ability to make an impact in games. Maybe the days of them starting are gone but are you telling me these guys can't make a difference coming off the bench? Never mind what they can do in a mentoring and standard setting role for the young lads in training.

I mean its not as if Kerry are failing off a cliff into oblivion.

On another day we could have beaten Dublin and you can argue Dublin put everything into beating us and might not have anything left in the tank. Not having a decent game until the Semi hurt us too.

We'll be back again next year to give it another serious push, Kerry are more than capable of making the 2017 semi-final/final.

Good manager, good players, plenty of talent to push into the group.

I'd still expect us to pick up another All Ireland in the next couple of years and then hopefully have a real period of dominance again after 2020.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/09/2016 12:08:51    1918326

As above, no need to cull half the squad. Marc O'Sé, Aidan O'Mahoney and Sheehan are probably going to call it a day. If they stay on they will be bit-part players at best. I'd prefer to see a few younger lads come in now. The physical nature of the game now means that players are often in their twenties before they are ready for senior though. Cooper, Darren O'Sullivan and Walsh all have a bit left to give in my opinion and will help the younger lads ease their way into the team. They will probably be substitutes from now on. We had a horrendous year with injuries this year and as long as we don't have a similar experience next time out most of our starters will be under 30.

It would be great to get Geaney and JOD fit at the same time and get them in to the same FF line for example. There is plenty to build on with a few additions to the squad. I'd put the house on us being in the Semi again next year and who knows what might happen after that.

Possible team for 2017 assuming no injuries and no additions to the squad

Kelly
Begley, Griffin, Enright
Young, Crowley, Morley
Moran, Maher
Murphy, Buckley, O'Brien
JOD, Geaney, Cooper / O'Sullivan

Subs: Donaghy, Lyne, M. Geaney Walsh etc.

Plenty to work with there and lets assume there are at least 3-4 new squad members, a couple of which make an impact. Staying injury free will be important but we're not in as bad a shape as some people want to believe IMO.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 23/09/2016 12:30:35    1918336

Replying To TheHermit:  "It's only September, in Kerry lads usually bow out quietly around November once the County Championship is done and dusted.

Personally I think Marc and Bryan will go and in my opinion it is time for them to as I don't think they can offer much more.

But I'll never understand this obsession with getting rid of every lad on a panel just because they are over 30, what is the modern GAA turning into - Logan's Run??

Darran, Gooch, Donaghy and Aidan showed this year that they still have the talent and ability to make an impact in games. Maybe the days of them starting are gone but are you telling me these guys can't make a difference coming off the bench? Never mind what they can do in a mentoring and standard setting role for the young lads in training.

On another day we could have beaten Dublin and you can argue Dublin put everything into beating us and might not have anything left in the tank. Not having a decent game until the Semi hurt us too.

We'll be back again next year to give it another serious push, Kerry are more than capable of making the 2017 semi-final/final.

I'd still expect us to pick up another All Ireland in the next couple of years and then hopefully have a real period of dominance again after 2020."
From my understanding there are 2 retirements. This won't be announced until mid Oct at earliest. The championship isn't finished so Kerry tradition dictates that's when announcements are made.
I think the future is glowing in Kerry with youth, and consider next years minors are pretty good too.

Murph (Kerry) - Posts: 45 - 23/09/2016 12:32:42    1918337

Replying To TheHermit:  "It's only September, in Kerry lads usually bow out quietly around November once the County Championship is done and dusted.

I'd still expect us to pick up another All Ireland in the next couple of years and then hopefully have a real period of dominance again after 2020."
That's if we can keep Tadhg away from taking the young lads to oz hermit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/09/2016 12:42:43    1918349

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's if we can keep Tadhg away from taking the young lads to oz hermit."
Ya that fecker would want to cop himself on and go off up the country for himself.

Plenty of glory and opportunities for a fella wearing a Kerry jersey, he can flog the false gold of Australia Rules elsewhere.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/09/2016 13:19:36    1918370

Far too soon to be talking like that. 3 AI winning minors is some achievement, but they have to transition through U21s first. McBrearty was an exception for Donegal, but most minors need a bit of time for conditioning (physical and mental). And as senior players get older, much depends on how they winter and if they stay injury-free. Plenty of pickings in Kerry - you don't need 2 million people to get a team!

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/09/2016 14:50:22    1918422

They're concentrating on their club championship at the moment. Why rush into a decision that they might regret?

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 23/09/2016 14:55:32    1918427

County and club championships. We'll all winter well please God.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7821 - 23/09/2016 15:19:46    1918446