Spillane on Brolly

https://m.soundcloud.com/the-throw-in-independentie/ep-15-pat-spillane-on-brollys-celebrity-loser-comment-are-the-dubs-lacking-hunger

Anyone else think the bould P sounds tired and emotional here? Strong words on any case. Would definitely doubt that Brogan is being excused from training!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2016 08:51:50    1918217

The Pat and Joe should is certainly a jaded force in terms of analysis.
It really is time to put the pair of them out to pasture.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 23/09/2016 09:47:37    1918240

Replying To Gleebo:  "https://m.soundcloud.com/the-throw-in-independentie/ep-15-pat-spillane-on-brollys-celebrity-loser-comment-are-the-dubs-lacking-hunger

Anyone else think the bould P sounds tired and emotional here? Strong words on any case. Would definitely doubt that Brogan is being excused from training!"
Just listened to it and his comments seemed very much tongue and cheek about Brolly. His comment about Ulster football again contradicts himself - just a number of weeks ago on SG he went on record to say he made a one off comment about Ulster football (Puke Football) esp referring to Tyrone game against Kerry in 2003 and then he went on to say he didn't mean that and in fact was a great admirer of Tyrone football style - so which one is it Pat? Defo playing to the audience of farmers with straw hanging out of the side of their mouths :-)

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 23/09/2016 09:48:14    1918241

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Just listened to it and his comments seemed very much tongue and cheek about Brolly. His comment about Ulster football again contradicts himself - just a number of weeks ago on SG he went on record to say he made a one off comment about Ulster football (Puke Football) esp referring to Tyrone game against Kerry in 2003 and then he went on to say he didn't mean that and in fact was a great admirer of Tyrone football style - so which one is it Pat? Defo playing to the audience of farmers with straw hanging out of the side of their mouths :-)"
Ploughing Championship?I wonder why they never hold this lark in the capital.I'd rather a few days in Guantanemo Bay myself.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/09/2016 10:10:58    1918252

He's said something similar a few years ago, along these lines. Seems very much tongue in cheek though.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 23/09/2016 10:56:02    1918272

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Just listened to it and his comments seemed very much tongue and cheek about Brolly. His comment about Ulster football again contradicts himself - just a number of weeks ago on SG he went on record to say he made a one off comment about Ulster football (Puke Football) esp referring to Tyrone game against Kerry in 2003 and then he went on to say he didn't mean that and in fact was a great admirer of Tyrone football style - so which one is it Pat? Defo playing to the audience of farmers with straw hanging out of the side of their mouths :-)"
Its all a show, he knows where his bread is buttered.
If that had been two northern teams last Sunday he would have been lambasting them both

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 23/09/2016 11:07:59    1918277

Visit the Donegal page and you will see that I've been the biggest critic over Donegal's style this past year however I will never have respect for Spillane after all the insults he has given us down the years .

He was an awesome player however he's always been a really poor analyst . He throws out a few stats to make up for his poor level of analysis . In fact , he's actually unable to analyse a match . O'Rourke is no better - just sits there .

Tomas O Se , Ciaran Whelan , McGuinness and Horan - these guys know what their doing .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 23/09/2016 11:09:12    1918281

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Visit the Donegal page and you will see that I've been the biggest critic over Donegal's style this past year however I will never have respect for Spillane after all the insults he has given us down the years .

He was an awesome player however he's always been a really poor analyst . He throws out a few stats to make up for his poor level of analysis . In fact , he's actually unable to analyse a match . O'Rourke is no better - just sits there .

Tomas O Se , Ciaran Whelan , McGuinness and Horan - these guys know what their doing ."
I like Dessie Dolan too, a very under-rated and likeable analyst. A bit quiet and less forceful than the more decorated analysts he's on with, maybe that's why he's quiet and quietly-spoken, out of respect to other analysts with Celtic crosses in their pockets. He was a great footballer and he's a self-confident analyst with good stuff to say without shouting or the need to say something controversial.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 23/09/2016 11:24:14    1918289

When Brolly sticks to football he actually knows what he's talking about. He has a bias against Tyrone, but it's understandable as a Derry man. But when he is talking about football or writing about it I could listen to him all day. When he goes off on one I tend to ignore him.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 23/09/2016 14:54:27    1918426

I think Dessie Dolan is an awful analyst. He adds nothing to it. It is good that he is not forceful as when he does talk - as it is nothing but rubbish when he does. Tomas O Se just gives us cliches. Statements like 'Team X should just show off the shackles' or 'you always get a tough game in...insert random home ground of Division 4 team' are either meaningless or patronising statements. Ciaran whelan is a decent analyst to be fair. Dara O'Cinneide and Anthony Tohill were very good when they were on it too.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/09/2016 14:58:57    1918429

Replying To gotmilk:  "When Brolly sticks to football he actually knows what he's talking about. He has a bias against Tyrone, but it's understandable as a Derry man. But when he is talking about football or writing about it I could listen to him all day. When he goes off on one I tend to ignore him."
snap

he's actually the most knowledgeable pundit out there IMO, but looks to be controversial (see his huge grin to the extreme left or right of screen when he's waiting to get his piece in).

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 23/09/2016 15:13:50    1918438

Replying To bennybunny:  "I think Dessie Dolan is an awful analyst. He adds nothing to it. It is good that he is not forceful as when he does talk - as it is nothing but rubbish when he does. Tomas O Se just gives us cliches. Statements like 'Team X should just show off the shackles' or 'you always get a tough game in...insert random home ground of Division 4 team' are either meaningless or patronising statements. Ciaran whelan is a decent analyst to be fair. Dara O'Cinneide and Anthony Tohill were very good when they were on it too."
I agree on Dessie Dolan.I dont think he brings much to the table at al.No doubt hes a nice guy but hes pretty weak as a pundit.A bit like Kevin McStay ; plays it ultra safe and never remotely says anything controversial.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/09/2016 15:35:15    1918457

Replying To BlastCalyle:  "The Pat and Joe should is certainly a jaded force in terms of analysis.
It really is time to put the pair of them out to pasture."
That won't happen for another 20 years. RTE don't change their top pundits. Look at Dunphy and Giles trotting out the same clichés since 1990...

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 23/09/2016 20:32:41    1918552

Replying To cuederocket:  "Ploughing Championship?I wonder why they never hold this lark in the capital.I'd rather a few days in Guantanemo Bay myself."
Now you're talking.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 23/09/2016 21:33:55    1918569

Replying To cuederocket:  "Ploughing Championship?I wonder why they never hold this lark in the capital.I'd rather a few days in Guantanemo Bay myself."
Now you're talking.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 23/09/2016 21:34:20    1918570

Wait till Mayo beat ye next Saturday, you will wish you were in Guantanamo Bay than here !

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 23/09/2016 22:51:46    1918586

I wouldn't be a fan of Dessie Dolan at all. A nice fella i'm sure but i often wonder. When the Sunday Games analysed the various tackles and whether they did or didn't merit cards and what colour he was really bad. He just rambled on without analysing each incident one at a time and give a verdict.

Ciarán Whelan is one of the best but i think he shows a bit of emotion when analysing Dublin. And that's fair enough. Really there should be neutrals involved. I like Brian McGuigan and Philip Jordan Tyrone. No fluff, to the point. We don't see much of them though.

Colm O'Rourke is too fond of his history analogies. We all know about Napoleon's preference for lucky generals over good ones and he loves Roman history, his Indo article is full of stuff like Mayo needing to cross the Rubicon etc.

And if O'Rourke loves history analogies Spillane brings his stats with him to show his in tune with all things modern. He's not the worst but predictable. And Pat the analyst will never be a patch on Pat the player.

Joe Brolly is either fawning over a team or overly offensive to teams and players. Everything is exaggerated and he's often hypocritical and contradictory. But on occasion he can be insightful and brilliant. Something which isn't within the capabilities of Spillane or O'Rourke.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 23/09/2016 23:45:26    1918594

Fecks sake lads, he's in front of an audience and he is playing to them, well trying to!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 24/09/2016 02:54:05    1918599

Replying To Scarabin:  "Its all a show, he knows where his bread is buttered.
If that had been two northern teams last Sunday he would have been lambasting them both"
Exactly,he is very careful when Dublin play in what he says etc.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 24/09/2016 07:46:24    1918602

I'm reserving judgement on Dessie Dolan as an analyst. I do think he is very good as a co-commentator. He is observant and he gets the excitement across.

Unfortunately we are getting another lot of Martin Carney &Ger Canning for the replay.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 24/09/2016 09:36:12    1918618