Referee confirmed for replay

Maurice Deegan has been confirmed as the referee for the replay.

Discuss ;)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/09/2016 12:59:12    1916880

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Maurice Deegan has been confirmed as the referee for the replay.

Discuss ;)"
good choice

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1801 - 20/09/2016 14:03:32    1916915

Bad choice.
A ref from Munster or Ulster should have got the job.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 20/09/2016 14:40:37    1916939

ah here look at this photo!!

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=261131

Sure like COME ON!!!!

Obvious bias already! Buddys with the Mayo lads! Prob thought half of them and drank with their auld lads!

This is a disgrace. Worth 5 points to Mayo already!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/09/2016 14:50:36    1916951

One of two things to be the ref in the replay or any Mayo Dublin game You need big balls not footballs or you need to be an egotistical header Because no matter how good or bad you are dogs abuse is coming your way How do i know Because i ship a lot of it

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 20/09/2016 15:14:52    1916974

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "ah here look at this photo!!

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=261131

Sure like COME ON!!!!

Obvious bias already! Buddys with the Mayo lads! Prob thought half of them and drank with their auld lads!

This is a disgrace. Worth 5 points to Mayo already!!"
More bull from you. Whinge, whinge, WUM, whinge and more WUM.

I know the man. He isn't a teacher. He lives 130 miles from Mayo. It's not unusual for officials to shake hands with players.

Would you go write another poem or something and send it into Ireland's Own.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2016 15:14:55    1916975

More bull from you. Whinge, whinge, WUM, whinge and more WUM.

I know the man. He isn't a teacher. He lives 130 miles from Mayo. It's not unusual for officials to shake hands with players.

Would you go write another poem or something and send it into Ireland's Own.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts:38 - 20/09/2016 15:14:55 1916975

Whoosh!!!!!!!

The sound of Liam's post going miles over your head buddy.

It happens to us all. Such is life.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/09/2016 16:37:08    1917012

Replying To Laois76:  "More bull from you. Whinge, whinge, WUM, whinge and more WUM.

Would you go write another poem or something and send it into Ireland's Own."
Wow
Just.......Wow....

that was so over your head you didnt even see it!!!

Incredible!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/09/2016 16:45:03    1917018

Sean Hurson from Tir Eoghan running the line. Hope he's still smarting over Keegan getting Sean Cavanagh his second yellow in the quarter final and keeps a good eye on him. His antics seem to be invisible to refs/linesmen until DC reacts.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 20/09/2016 16:49:08    1917021

His wit isn't going over my head at all, buddy.

But when posters try and analyse Sunday's game he comes out with this on another thread ' hope to see ye all back here in a fortnights times to give ye're verdicts when this GREAT team writes itself into the history books and shoves your bitter words back your bitter throats and ye disappear back of to whatever rock ye crawled out from under since Sunday.'

He's a great witty chap writing poetry etc when all is going well for him and he was sure of victory on Sunday. But now that things are a little less certain anyone that says Dublin could be declining are 'bitter'.

Just saying it straight MesAmis. And as i said on another thread i'm not anti Dub. Think ye have a great team, that plays the right way.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2016 16:59:52    1917028

Replying To Laois76:  "His wit isn't going over my head at all, buddy.

But when posters try and analyse Sunday's game he comes out with this on another thread ' hope to see ye all back here in a fortnights times to give ye're verdicts when this GREAT team writes itself into the history books and shoves your bitter words back your bitter throats and ye disappear back of to whatever rock ye crawled out from under since Sunday.'

He's a great witty chap writing poetry etc when all is going well for him and he was sure of victory on Sunday. But now that things are a little less certain anyone that says Dublin could be declining are 'bitter'.

Just saying it straight MesAmis. And as i said on another thread i'm not anti Dub. Think ye have a great team, that plays the right way."
That's all grand man but it doesn't mean you didn't completely miss the point of his post on THIS thread.

Maybe Liamo's talking a load of gubbins on other threads. I wouldn't put it past the scamp! But reply to him on those threads rather than taking him up wrong on this thread.

On your point about Dublin declining this year. I'd agree, I've said it all year. Any team that loses last year's footballer of the year, their best full back in ages and a talismanic figure such as Alan Brogan is going be weaker. 3 big losses.

Still capable of an All-Ireland this year though imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/09/2016 17:18:30    1917037

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Wow
Just.......Wow....

that was so over your head you didnt even see it!!!

Incredible!"
Of course i knew it's a wind up joke all along. Get ref and pic of opposing player. Joke that the game is sown up. So funny. Ha ha ha ha ha! But get over yourself it's not going over my head. It's not that original or funny anyway.

I should have posted my reply in this thread in your 'Snakes in the Grass' thread in hindsight. Where we're all bitter people for entertaining thoughts that Dublin might be in decline.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2016 17:19:53    1917039

Bad choice.
A ref from Munster or Ulster should have got the job.
Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts:2724 - 20/09/2016 14:40:37
Why should ref have to come from a neutral province?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/09/2016 17:34:38    1917048

Replying To MesAmis:  "
Replying To Laois76:  "His wit isn't going over my head at all, buddy.

Just saying it straight MesAmis. And as i said on another thread i'm not anti Dub. Think ye have a great team, that plays the right way."
That's all grand man but it doesn't mean you didn't completely miss the point of his post on THIS thread.

Maybe Liamo's talking a load of gubbins on other threads. I wouldn't put it past the scamp! But reply to him on those threads rather than taking him up wrong on this thread.

On your point about Dublin declining this year. I'd agree, I've said it all year. Any team that loses last year's footballer of the year, their best full back in ages and a talismanic figure such as Alan Brogan is going be weaker. 3 big losses.

Still capable of an All-Ireland this year though imo."
Fair enough MesAmis. I honestly didn't miss the point here but was put out by his comments on the other one and yeah should have repied on that thread alright.

Will leave it there so. Good luck in the replay!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2016 17:50:25    1917058

Very best wishes to Maurice Deegan on his appointment. There is no doubt that replays take on a life of their own and are often very difficult to handle. I hope Maurice has a great game and enjoys his day and that we will be treated to a feast of what is great in our game of football.
Where the referee is from - does not make a whit of difference.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 20/09/2016 17:56:19    1917064

When someone calls you out for WUMming, then it obviously hasn't gone over their head - he ain't helping himself with the fiery reaction regardless, kind of defeats the purpose of the call-out.

Anyway,

Been saying all year, the standard of refereeing has been worse than ever before, but Deegan is the best referee in the country. Not saying much and he may end up having a poor game (Dub v Mayo is just about impossible to ref at this stage!) but he is the best overall. I would query why he kept looking at his watch when consulting with Lane for that last free.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 20/09/2016 17:58:58    1917066

I'm not Mr. Deegans biggest fan I must admit, would have preferred McQuillan or Gough for the replay, anyway I hope it goes well for him.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 20/09/2016 18:20:08    1917081

Very poor referee don't know why he keeps getting big games

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 20/09/2016 20:33:34    1917125

Deegan is a poor ref and feel sorry for mayo fans as he favors the dubs, just go through his past dublin games and they have won all of them

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 20/09/2016 21:06:15    1917158

Replying To binman53:  "Deegan is a poor ref and feel sorry for mayo fans as he favors the dubs, just go through his past dublin games and they have won all of them"
Really ten brains !
Have they won any games he didn't ref?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/09/2016 21:13:40    1917164