Congrats Mayo - Well Done .......

Cant believe we were beaten. Honestly didnt see it coming lads. I have to admit, I secretly was far more confident that I let on. Look Mayo, ye deserve it. Well done and congrats. Here's hoping we get a crack at ye next year to atone. We didnt perform atall.
Well done lads.

(wait.....what.........?? We didnt lose.....but......having read social media, mainstream media and general comment in the last few days its all Mayo Mayo Mayo........hang on.......whats the story!? We are still in it!!! Well feck that!! I was sure i Saw lads from all over the gaff congratulating Mayo for the last few days!!! Well in that case.............)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/09/2016 10:58:21    1916803

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Cant believe we were beaten. Honestly didnt see it coming lads. I have to admit, I secretly was far more confident that I let on. Look Mayo, ye deserve it. Well done and congrats. Here's hoping we get a crack at ye next year to atone. We didnt perform atall.
Well done lads.

(wait.....what.........?? We didnt lose.....but......having read social media, mainstream media and general comment in the last few days its all Mayo Mayo Mayo........hang on.......whats the story!? We are still in it!!! Well feck that!! I was sure i Saw lads from all over the gaff congratulating Mayo for the last few days!!! Well in that case.............)"
That auld Drumcondra monsoon must have cleared up. Better fishing conditions this morning. Poor enough effort compared to previous enthralling threads though I'd have to say.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 20/09/2016 11:18:24    1916814

When I started reading your post just for one split second there I actually thought WE HAD lost it. Feel like I've woken from a brief nightmare.
As reigning champions we have to accept this national love-in with all things Mayo.
It's beginning to feel like a siege. Joe Brolly, Mayo's new self-appointed cheer leader was nearly frothing at the mouth with the exuberance of it all. "Sure they were the better team, they deserve it now so let them push on now and do it...etc."
The Taoiseach, ex-soccer stars, Westlife, RTE, just about everybody in every bar the length and breadth of the country - barring Dublin- were craving a Mayo victory on Sunday afternoon. I am expecting a live address from Bono on the big screens in Croke Park before the replay wishing Mayo success.
People are just short of saying look Dublin, "ye were great champions but would ye not do the dacent thing now and just hand the friggin' thing over". Emigration, the Land War, endless decades of disappointment are all being cited as reasons why Mayo 'deserve' this one.
Yes, it's 31 against 1.
But we have suffered disappointment too.
Dublin will not rollover for anybody. Expect massive resistance in the replay.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/09/2016 11:19:57    1916815

Happy fishing Liam!!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/09/2016 11:21:03    1916816

Am I missing something here? Having attended the final on Sunday and leaving the ground after the match ended a draw, I feel like mayo somehow won the game. The media spin has gone into overdrive, marvelling at the performance, how they got their match ups and tactics spot on, how they seen out the game better, how they brought a level of unprecedented bravery and commitment to the game and how they made Dublin look human and not super human. However the harsh reality of it is they drew a game, it is irrelevant whether or not the should or could have won it and if they don't win saturday week then all this hype over the last few days means absolutely nothing. Yes there was a lot to like about their performance and possibly it will give them confidence to go on and finish the job but really nothing has changed since last week. Both teams have still the opportunity to win Sam and address the issues that arose on Sunday and the team that has learnt the most will more than likely win.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 20/09/2016 11:34:56    1916827

Mayo were shi** on sunday lads.. O Connors, O Sheas in particular.. 2 x OGs as well..

Ye were 5 up at ht and 3 up in injury time and didnt see it out.. Mayo will grab this 2nd chance by the proverbials..

Lookin forward to round 2!

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 20/09/2016 12:18:57    1916856

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Cant believe we were beaten. Honestly didnt see it coming lads. I have to admit, I secretly was far more confident that I let on. Look Mayo, ye deserve it. Well done and congrats. Here's hoping we get a crack at ye next year to atone. We didnt perform atall.
Well done lads.

(wait.....what.........?? We didnt lose.....but......having read social media, mainstream media and general comment in the last few days its all Mayo Mayo Mayo........hang on.......whats the story!? We are still in it!!! Well feck that!! I was sure i Saw lads from all over the gaff congratulating Mayo for the last few days!!! Well in that case.............)"
More drivel from Liam. Well done. Just to be clear, the only thing I have heard is that Dublin didn't perform and will win the replay as they won't play that bad again. Sure it's that simple.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7882 - 20/09/2016 12:21:21    1916858

Was nearly as bad as reading the internet and listening to the panelists on the Sunday Game who you would have sworn that the result of Sunday was down to Dublin not playing and "sure they won't play as bad as that the next time". They were obviously watching a different game to I was.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/09/2016 12:39:12    1916866

Joe Brolly sums it up perfectly, on the one hand he writes a piece destroying Mayo and their credentials for winning the title pre-match, calling them spoilt brats. Post match he's their biggest cheerleader

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/09/2016 13:08:16    1916888

Replying To GreenandRed:  "That auld Drumcondra monsoon must have cleared up. Better fishing conditions this morning. Poor enough effort compared to previous enthralling threads though I'd have to say."
No ir would be the monsoon in limerick that would bother our Liam.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/09/2016 13:12:01    1916892

We survived an encounter with the unbeatable Dubs and yet some people think we're cursed! Yes, God sure did smile on us last Sunday!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/09/2016 13:54:26    1916912

Replying To Pericles:  "We survived an encounter with the unbeatable Dubs and yet some people think we're cursed! Yes, God sure did smile on us last Sunday!"
You survived and encounter with the unbeatable Dubs last year too, and we all know how that turned out ;)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/09/2016 14:04:02    1916917

Replying To CroiGorm:  "You survived and encounter with the unbeatable Dubs last year too, and we all know how that turned out ;)"
We definitely owe ye one Croigorm!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 20/09/2016 16:25:17    1917007

Replying To Pericles:  "We definitely owe ye one Croigorm!"
You do indeed. But ye had your chance on Sunday for that and didn't take it! We now owe you one. A wounded animal is a dangerous one ;)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/09/2016 20:15:43    1917115

Replying To TheFlaker:  "More drivel from Liam. Well done. Just to be clear, the only thing I have heard is that Dublin didn't perform and will win the replay as they won't play that bad again. Sure it's that simple."
We all know the media like to spin things a certain way to suit themselves, this is a great Dublin team, no doubt about that, Mayo had their chance but could not finish the job as we have seen from them countless times, they had Dublin on the ropes but haven't got what it takes to deliver the knockout blow,
so we get a draw and the reigning champions will be out to prove just how good they really are the next day,
Mayo will get a tanking, Dubs to win easy by 5+ game could be over by half time.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 20/09/2016 20:39:27    1917133

Replying To avonali:  "how does a post like this get passed???"
because even the person in charge gets peeeeeed off with Liam at times and if it looks like a duck walks like a duck quacks like a duck and even swims like a duck then its a duck

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 20/09/2016 21:03:01    1917155

Replying To cluichethar:  "because even the person in charge gets peeeeeed off with Liam at times and if it looks like a duck walks like a duck quacks like a duck and even swims like a duck then its a duck"
Speaks volumes about the poster you'd have to say. Incredible that it got through the mods.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2016 21:14:34    1917165

Replying To cluichethar:  "because even the person in charge gets peeeeeed off with Liam at times and if it looks like a duck walks like a duck quacks like a duck and even swims like a duck then its a duck"
And if he is the same weight as a duck he is made of wood and therefore also a witch. Burn her!!!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/09/2016 21:17:13    1917166

So basically all the geniuses on this and other threads are saying that Mayo only came close because Dublin under-performed.
And if by some fluke of nature, Mayo happen to win the replay, it will be because Dublin under-performed again, not that Mayo were too good for them ??

These teams are far more closely matched than most of the sheep on this forum seem to realise (for the record, I firmly believe that the best two teams in Ireland over the last 2 years have been Dublin & Mayo - in that order. Kerry over-rated by the majority of the so-called experts).
If you go back to the semi-final last year, first game was a draw (Mayo should have finished the Dubs off, but took their foot off the throat, which has been a serious flaw with this MO team), and in the replay, were 4 points up but lost it on the sideline (I suspect the players know this, and this was one of the main reasons for the heave)

I'm not saying that Dublin won't win, but I bet you wouldn't see this type of snobbery if it had been Kerry that had drawn with the Dubs

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 20/09/2016 21:22:53    1917168

NIce attempt at trolling by the OP.
Jack the lad..

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 20/09/2016 21:36:05    1917176